Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Is Losing Out On $75 Billion Global Leather Industry Because Of Pomo Consumption

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Nigeria Is Losing Out On $75 Billion Global Leather Industry Because Of Pomo Consumption

Mr. Olufemi Aluko, of the Faculty of Clinical Sciences, Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) , Ile-Ife, says Nigeria is losing out in the pack of countries competing for the 75 billion dollar global leather industry because of ponmo consumption.

Aluko blamed the situation on the country’s neglect of the leather products industry in favour of oil production and consumption of its hides and skin as ponmo.
The don cited global industry report as confirming the situation urged the nation’s policy drivers to refocus on the sector as it holds great potential for export earning and employment.
As we strive to diversify the nation’s economy I advised the Federal Government to create sound, supportive and transparent policies that will revive leather goods industries in Nigeria.

Gov Fayose Buying Pomo
Aluko said, “Nigerian leather goods businesses must develop procedures to ensure developed markets where products are compliant with environmental and social responsibility requirements as well as international standards.’’
The lecturer explained that the formal leather goods industry had declined almost to extinction which could only be revived by transparent business policies.

According to him, the formal leather goods sector must be revived particularly to supply the domestic, regional and international markets.
He said that considerable hard work would be required by the public and private sectors in coordination for the sector to make considerable further progress but this is necessary as we refocus our economy and use of our abundant hides and skins for leather products rather than for consumption as `ponmo’.
The lecturer added that economic growth and employment benefits from the sector were potentially considerable.

“Nigeria is, globally, perhaps the most important exporter of light leather.
“ The leather tanning sector has made remarkable progress in recent years as it has progressed from export of raw and wet blue leather to finished leather.’’
In spite of the fact that `Ponmo,’ a delicacy made from hides and skin has been popularised mostly by the people of the South West, it has no nutritional value, Miss Yemisi Olowookere, a Nutritionist at Garki Hospital General Hospital, Abuja, said.

“Its continous consumption has continue to generate concerns on its adverse effect on the tanning and leather industry in the country,’’ Olowookere said .
Olowookere said that Ponmo only appeals to the taste buds when properly prepared and has no nutritional benefits.
According to her, Ponmo, is basically cow skin that has been processed to look similar to beef which is sold in the markets and an important ingredient in the preparation of several stews in various cultures.

“Most Nigerians love Ponmo so much that some believe a good day meal is incomplete without It; Ponmo is a regular sight at parties and several public outings, served in different forms.
“It would be quite shocking for some people to know that Ponmo contains little or next to nothing in terms of nutritional value,’’ Olowookere said.
She said the classification of Ponmo was based on their mode of preparation and colour, adding that some are white, cream and brown.
Olowookere raised concerns over some of the health status of some of the animals killed which must have been ill and undergoing treatments.

He noted that rearers sometimes ignore such situation and will go ahead to kill them, leaving the buyers vulnerable to chemicals in the animal skin.
“Some of the animals because of the ailments, they are usually given injection with contains chemicals.

“People don’t allow these chemicals to complete its cycle and be removed from the body; they sometimes go ahead to kill these animals.
“So, if you consume the ponmo, the tendency is that you are consuming the chemicals directly because the skin part of the animal retains most of the harmful substances,’’ Olowokere said.

She warned Nigerians to be careful of consuming` ponmo’ as the cow skins are usually not prepared in the best conditions.
Olowookere said before the ponmo was brought to the market, a lot of different unhygienic substances such as trash, wood, charcoal, rubber tyres and so on, are thrown into the furnace to sustain the blazing heat.

She, however advised that it was best to eat fish rather than ponmo.

Mr Yakub Matanmi, Chairman, Ponmo Dealers Association, Mushin Market said that the consumption of cow’s skin has been an age-long practice which no government could stop.

Vanguard edited reportage

*Scrolling back to look at that plate of egusi soup with Eba..Its been long i had that kinda meal shaaaaa*

77 comments:

1. If meat is cheap,maybe pomo won't be as attractive anymore.Abi,poor man no go get protein again? Make una dey fear God o.

2. All I see is the eba and efo pictured.

Click my name for all your celebration cakes and cupcakes, cheers

3. Stella abeg this is not fair oooo. Why the torment nowww? That's how i was forced to cook Afang soup because of the torture of seeing the ones posted on In house news. Now, na egusi. Chai!

Need a yummy Birthday/Wedding cake in Abuja? Home / office delivery. Also send a gift of cake to your loved one in Abuja.Pls click on my ID to see pics and my contact details.

4. My dear kpomo is not protein and is not even suitable for consumption especiallyfor growing children. I

5. Pomo is better less fat and evrything make them just forget that mater

6. Wjatever. The stance remains that "money cannot buy everything". Kpomo lives on🙌🙌

7. Abeg let's keeping the billions o, I can't stop eating Kpomo abeg.

8. There! that rubbishes the statistics of Nigerians living under a dollar a day with billions of dollars in our belly annually..

2. Make dem no talk nonsense here o, they should not try rubbish with my Kpomo. They should block the politicians stealing our money, reduce the jumbo pay of our legislators...anything, but not my kpomo.

3. Ah! Lets continue to lose abeg. Pomo over everything.

1. If this is a ploy to ban kpomo, they hav failed before thinking it sef!
      Na this issue go bring the much anticipated revolution in 9ja. Make dem trya

2. Stranger u no well... No be only pomo over everything.

3. Christabel u are in the spirit.. However kpanla leads the pack..then snail...then beef. Goats can rot in hell. But however you wan look an, kpomo lives on!

4. Azin ehn, Goats can rot. Thought I was the only one that dislike goat meat

4. I don't really know what is so special about pomo. I just hate it . It doesn't taste nice to me.

1. Cos u don't know how 2 cook it 2 taste. U people should just leave our ponmo 4 us o.

Jesus is Lord.

2. Chai you have no idea mehn

3. Have u heard of sauced kpomo? Is called bumper2bumper for a reason

5. Hahahahahahahahahahaha. Kpomo wahala.

6. Who eat pomo such nonsense and worthless meat without any nutrients
    Mtchewww

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. * raises her right hand*
      Aunty!! See me here!!
      I DO!!!!!
      #TeamPomoTilliDie

3. Am sure you are dieing go have one now
      ..oversabi housewife @tayan abi na wetin be your name

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. I hate pomo with every fibre of my being. The look alone disgusts me. Very unattractive piece of nonsense. I've never eaten it and will never eat it. Dunno how my other family members love dat nonsense.

6. Who eat's' pomo! Kai, this tayan babe, what did English ever do to you?

7. At least u've shown all members of ur family were born with sense except u.
      Team kpomo forever.
      Nomoneyfor7ksnail.
      Cynthia

8. Will only eat kpomo in my house. Sure its cleaned well and hairless. Hairy kpomo is like hairy balls. Nasssssssty. Kpomo lives on!

7. Please they should leave pomo for us oooo.

Your comment will visible after approval

1. Thank you o!!!!
      They should leave Pomo for people like me!!
      Imagine eating a plate of Abacha without Pomo and odu azu, mmba nu!! E never complete.
      #TeamPomoTilliDie

8. Una father left nyash...i.love kpomo

9. Super story! Ponmo has come to stay irrespective of whatever ailment they claim it gives.
    Now it's no longer the ailment stuff it's now the leather industry and the billions Govt us losing. Una think say once Bubu hears about the so called billions he will ban ponmo. Upe!!!

10. The yoruba's lik pomo n they r d highest pomo consumers, me lik it too sha

11. See better egusi soup even though i dont like egusi soup much. ABEG POMO MUST CONTINUE TO BE WACKED.

12. They cannot stop Nigerians from consuming it.

13. I cannot imagine what a pot of efo riro will look like without diced pomo

1. Thank you oh with enough dicing of the pomo inside the Efo riro,they should not try it.

14. Hehehehe…You want to stop Nigerians from eating kpomo????..hmmm..That will be tough. lol

15. Ponmo any day for me. I no like red meat, but I dey gbadun ponmo and cowleg.

16. I just bought hot amala with enough crunchy Pomo, and will gladly eat it!

17. Instead of Fayose to concentrate on his work,he is bust vising different markets buying pomo. Foolish man, he can start with his state to revive the leather industry, useless man.

1. Idiot, he went to inspect an ongoing project then stopped to buy. Foolish ppl everywhere.

2. So Your father never go market for him life @ Anon 11:46? Fear God

18. Nobody should play rough play with me and my pomo oh.

My pomo and I are inseparable.

19. I love Ponmo to the point that If I see Ponmo dem use do leather belt, if u nor hold me, I go use the belt make stew

1. This is funny. Lemme hide my bag from you o.

20. These people sef.....after seeing that sumptuous plate of Egusi Soup who wouldn't want to eat Pomo. abeg, make i go buy Pomo, stock fish, smoked cat fish and goat meat take cook correct egusi soup.

21. Mr Yakub Matanmi, Chairman, Ponmo Dealers Association, Mushin Market said that the consumption of cow’s skin has been an age-long practice which no government could stop

Never knew we had an association!
    Bwuhahahhahahahahhaha

22. Lol @ let's continue to lose abeg. But seriously kpomo hennn! Make I no talk abeg. They should recover their loss else where abeg. Even if they stop kpomo consumption and export what ever, it will still be looted by some so what's the point? Leave KP for people jare.

23. Haahahha oya take the belt make stew nau! Chai! Funny.

24. Even though they produce leather and make all the money,will the poor man see it?abeg they should leave pomo alone..o its one of the obstacles we need in soup.

25. Even though pomo has no nutritional value, i like am like that. If this na joke, make una stop am!!!!!

26. This comment has been removed by the author.

27. Ain't giving up ponmo for nothing, except if they'll give me a share in that 75 billion dollars

28. I love ponmo o, I can't cook any soup without it.

29. And d ponmo is becoming an export target good. Abeg leaveour ponmo for us o.

30. Eka Joy you are the idiot and the most foolish person on this blog if you haven't noticed. Have you ever seen any western governor or governor in a civilized country go to inspect a project and then stops to buys meat for his wife or himself to take home? people like you are the problem in this country, dumbo.

1. Na Wa oo!! The Man is just been real. Been a governor shouldn't prevent him from mixing up with the common people.
      Abeg Fear God.

2. Did u nt see obama dat went to a deli to buy burgers n fries?pls dnt be foolish...being a governor doesn't stop him frm being a hhuman.If d men in ur life dnt buy tins dnt take it out on others.

3. Chinyelu, abeg leave dis first class oponu!

31. Wen d govt hasn't provided us wit enough food. They want to starve us in order ti export. God is watching all of u.

32. Mixing with common people and buying ponmo for his household are two different things. He can go to the market and buy ponmo on his own time not on tax payers time.

33. All pomo haters, may God 4give u for u know not what you missing.

34. Please stop adding the letter k to yoruba words such as Pele not kpele, pomo not kpomo, etc.yoruba words are not the same as Igbo words. I am not a tribalism just to put out a disclaimer before there is an out cry.