Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nwabueze Says That Non-appointment Of Ministers Shows Buhari’s Military Hangover

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Nwabueze Says That Non-appointment Of Ministers Shows Buhari’s Military Hangover

Renowned law scholar and leader of the Concerned Igbo Leaders of Thought, Prof. Ben Nwabueze, has criticised President Muhammadu Buhari for delaying the appointment of ministers into his cabinet.

The Senior Advocate of Nigeria described Buhari’s refusal to appoint ministers over 80 days after taking office as a reflection of Buhari’s military personality.

He said this was why former President Olusegun Obasanjo (also a former soldier) failed to appoint ministers on time as well.

He stated that the country’s constitution does not allow the President to govern the country for more than two months without ministers.

Nwabueze, in an article titled, “Constitutionality of President Buhari Ruling Nigeria For More Than Two And Half Months Without a Council Of Ministers: The Concerns of the Igbo Leaders Of Thought,” a copy of which was sent to The PUNCH on Wednesday, said the President was expected to consult with “various executive bodies” before presidential actions.

According to the professor of law, it is not likely that anyone other than a retired army general and former head of a military government would ever think of ruling the country for more than two and half months without ministers, knowing full well that the governmental system established for the country by the constitution does not permit him to do that.

“And yet, knowing his antecedents and the influence they must have on him, Nigerians elected him as ‘civilian’ President in the March 2015 election. His election cannot but portray Nigerians as incapable of learning from past experience, a people lacking the degree of political maturity and sagacity required for the successful working of constitutional democracy,” Nwabueze added.

-Punch Reportage

The country’s constitution does not allow the President to govern the country for more than two months without ministers?
 I didnt know this!

86 comments:

1. All I know is that economically nothing is working, buisnesses are not moving, money rate still high, nothing is working for alot of people

1. All these u mentioned,during jonathans regime were they working?

One thing I know is that @least d power sector has improved,so if not for anything that should be a plus.

I'm ibo bt i won't stop saying it,y'all should just stop bickering and let d man do his job.

Funny how every ibo man wants to be in ds news,thereby coming on media to say trash.

Even if buhari likes,he should appoint ministers next year and if possible make them all hausas or yoruba,i don't fucking care,all I'm interested in,is that those he finally gets to appoint,should be free of corruption *@least to some extent* and do their work diligently.

Nigerians are just so insatiable kai

2. I haven't seen or feel the breez of change baba go slow promised.
      Nothing is working and all he does is 2 travel up and down!

3. Abeg he should go and rest in one corner. Everyone is critizing buhari, if they did with gej his admin might have been better.

Sometimes I think nigeria wasnt ready for demoncracy

4. Elena, if the power sector improves ,den kudos should go to Jona. Do you think it was PMB two months in office that turned around the power sector? As an electrical engineer, I tell you that it takes several months and even years to stabilize the elctricity of a city, let alone a state, or even a whole country. Baba, is obviously benefitting from the work jona did in the power sector. I jus hope he build on it and solve this nightmare of Nigerians.

5. Elena the power sector improved cos of Jonathan 's effort. Besides Nwabueze is not talking as an Ibo here, he's talking as a Nigerian. It's wrong that up till now Buhari is yet to appoint ministers. Just looking at him with side eyes. Let's see the big change unfold.

6. Elena, you dare call Prof Nwabueze 'just any person'? I don't know your background but social media has given opportunity to charlatans and some non academics to insult people who have spent most of their lives in the millieu of academics (academia). But Elena, be warned when academics are giving opinion just keep quiet and learn.

7. Elena say wat u want to say and stop claiming wat u are not just because u dnt want pple to blast u. A true born will know it's igbo not 'ibo '

8. Bekee thanks for pointing out the obvious.

2. Not again pls.

I hate tribal post with a passion but when duty calls, one mustn't run from it..

Waiting for some ndi-ofe that will come yarn trash..

SDK blog is my office today.
    Brb.

1. You are just a Clown. But one thing I know, is that Igbos are fearless. No matter how much PMB hates or detest them, they must surly voice their mind. #Nobodyputsigbosinacorner

2. Ezenwanyi Alusi n'onwenya! Nne, ke ije?
      Always nice to see you breeze in and out.
      I wonder what gives Buhari the impression that he can run Nigeria like his private property.

3. Ibi ta ba ro pe a ti ma ba opolo, ti a ba ba ago nibe, It is heart wrecking.
      Let's learn to respect our old age Ezenwanyi.

4. @Sunshine, can you speak English because Aguba does not understand ngbatingbati inugo.

Your heart had always been wrecked from time immemorial, you ve always been a loser and a deadbeat ofenmmanu pig.

Roseflower, you are sighted jare..
      Empress , wassup?

5. Grandmother Willow, pardon my ignorance. I thought you were a linguist..
      From someone her daughter used to teach how to type proper English to an English professor, delusional much?
      All i requested for was for you to act your age even if you are bereft of common sense.
      You ma, are a very foolish woman and i hope you dont pass it down the next generation. Stupid old tree bark.

6. Hahahaha @ Grandmother Willow.

7. Awwww..... Noe Sunshine is upset!!

Trying to figure Ibili Ogada, pls don't o because you will surely lose your mind.

I would rather be an old tree trunk than, than parade chess factory vagina and that is why you are always dumped!!....

You ve metamorphosed from Toluwase boo to captain boo and every other nonsensical boos, yet, you are hollow, broken,dejected,rejected because you were born with a curse and that's why you thrive on negativity.

Your mother would be addressing me as "" Ma"" if she see me..

Sunshine dabi eni wipe awon aiye ti pause kadare ....

Stop crying Sweetie.. It makes you look like a toad.

Bwahahahahaha.....

8. Sunshine sorry (ಥ_ಥ)

3. Baba Go slow and his co travelers can keep on hating the igbos but it can't stop the igbos from having the highest numbers of millionaires and billionaires among all the ethnic groups in the country.
    Whom the Lord has blessed no one can curse.

1. Gbam at money maker. THE OLD MAN ALL HE DOES IS TALK ABOUT WHO AMD WHO TO PROBE, He has not done anything since he resumed, they say power , electricity was given by GEJ before he left

2. Even with their millions and billions,what have they got to show for it?
      Always making silly statements without thinking. Ur fond of being tribalistic even when it ain't necessary.
      Even if u like call him baba go slow,it ain't gona change a thing,so if i were u,id just shut d hell up

3. Nobody my dear. Don't mind Ndi Ofe mmanu the betrayals.

4. You type a lot of shit out of the abundance from your ass!

5. How is this writeup tribal in any way. Did you even read it?

6. I don't like political and tribal post but I came to read your comment. When you go retire from this bubu matter sef? Lol

7. You sound like an insecure rat. Like you know you'd get entrapped any moment from now.

8. Elena, I like you.
      Your head's there.
      We need more Igbos like you.

9. Andromeda, na who tell you sey Elena bi igbo? .

10. Andromeda not everyone who claimed to be igbo is from the igbo tribe. Some are mixed blood. Take note of that.

11. Better a mixed blood than a full blown bigot.

12. Correction taken, and now I know she isn't Igbo but it doesn't change the fact that I like the way she reasons.
      Money maker, you really do have to stop the tribal comments.

4. Many things u don't know Stella. When it comes to naija constitution, what we don't know is more than what we know....

5. It is well with Nigeria. Peace be still

6. Buhari thinks this is the Military Regime.

7. There is nothing like military hangover.
    It is due to the century old envy and prejudice harbored by other ethnic groups.
    While the igbos are busy working hard and being successful others are busy gbenshing endlessly and making tens of children they can't take of.

1. Who the ibos don help? Them never even fit help themselves. Quit this hatred.

Don't go and die from HBP from PMB's matter.

8. Prof Prof. Guess you're vexed.
    Please leave this politics for stalwarts, the present Democratic dispensation is headed somewhere. Gradually Nigerians will see it.

Biko nobody should insult my Popsie's friend on- here.
    Comments only.

Meanwhile, my 32 is so out this morning.
    Lord I'm grateful.

In Lara George's voice:

Lord I'm acknowledging you for who you are, what you've done in my life.
    Oh I'm, I'm acknowledging you for who you are Dansaki re.
    Dansaki reee Baba.

Ti mo ba Fijo si mo Dansaki re
    So, when I start a dance. I Dansaki re.
    Ti mo ba Fiji si mo Dansaki re.
    Dansaki re Dansaki re Baba.

Baba oo oo Baba.

Good morning lovely Bvs.

1. I follow u sing jare. I don't know when the tribal thrash will stop. I look at this post and don't know what's tribalistic about it. But then again, there are those who just are on standby waiting for the slightest opportunity to unleash their bigotry tendencies. Sad pity. I jump them pass.

9. But wait o

Come to think of it.

He'll be 100 days in office in a few days, and we're still stuck in probing, probing and more probing.

The only change I've seen so far, is in the power sector.

I hope he's not stalling, so that at the end of four years with little or nothing done, he'll tell us to give him four more years, for the metamorphosis to be complete.

Abeg, tribalists in here, make una take am easy today.

MM,you especially....lol

1. That is if he survive this four years. His northern brothers are about to kill him, watch out.

10. Baba Go Slow is taking his time. He wants to meet the 100 days in office. Na wa for this country. 2 months plus now no minister.

i hope the ministers we will get will be good ones.

11. keep dreaming money maker, you are allowed to dream.

12. I'm tired of political banters abeg. Let them leave d dullard to run d country as he deems fit. Shebi he's been treating it like his personal property. Only him, president, only him petroleum minister, only him finance minister, only him food and agriculture minister etc. Make e continue, he no concern me again.

13. Let God's will be done in this matter.

14. I just read the post now. How this your comment take relate to wetin dey up there?

15. Good talk Elena, that money makers bile is just too much, even when it's uncalled for. It is very obvious he was somewhat abused as a child otherwise he wont have this much hatred in his soul.

His fellow Igbo people see his bigotry and tribalistic comments against others but the say nothing but once the people they spew hate against get upset and try to defend themselves that is when you see all of them coming out like flies and start chatting trash.

What is bad is bad regardless of who says it. God sees their actions or should I say none action and no one will ever come to their own defense in their life when they need defending. Do unto others as you want others to do unto you, they will soon start experiencing that expression in their lives.

1. Stop being jealous. Leave money maker alone, go and make your own money instead

2. Nzube, jealous you say? Receive understanding; anon said the truth. And be your own person not following the same senseless and destructive path Money maker's taking.
      From your comments on this blog, I see you as a right -thinking individual. Or was I wrong?
      Cuss me out if you want. Means nothing.

3. Bwahahahahaha.....

All these kinds words for Nzube?.. It is only a born troway that will not take an offense to tribal comments coming from ndi ofe on this blog.

Did prof call Yoruba people in his article?.. But you came out with tiger clawed amala face to offer an opinion and now, you want to cry.

16. Igbos should go get their appointment from Jonathan na, na who work dey chop abeg, next time they would know how to follow the winning team.

1. Shut up! U stay in stella's blog and continue to Luk for someone u wil enlarge her hip(s) and breast(s). Don't go and look for wat to do or atleast place a proper advert. Oops! I forgot u spent all ur days hatin on igbos, no tim for u to make money.

2. He reminds me of those Yoruba boys @ computer village that ask if you to enlarge your boobs. Bwahahahahaha.......

3. Ezenwayi wey geh plenty moni dey follow trek for ikeja to see boys wey dey under bridge..... I laff in swahili for some hyping people give themselves on this blog

17. The Prof is clearly suffering from something that has not yet manifested.

There is no provision like the one he is alluding to anywhere in the constitution. The constitution does not mandate the President to appoint Ministers within any given time or even appoint Ministers at all.

Stella, as a journalist, you can also read the constitution and enlighten people. Section 147 deals with Ministers, anyone can read it. Please Google it!

1. Can you talk to your father like that?stupid being

18. I don't know if what the sage said is in the constitution or not but he is a renowned Prof.

19. Ezenwanyi Aguba Ndi Eze the diseased and cursed daughter of a public dog we have been waiting for your senseless and hateful comments. I never even warm up yet because I have some urgent work to do. Let me respond to some priority emails and ensure money goes into my bank accounts this morning before I come back to face you and your broke ass bigot followers. With me it's always business before pleasure and I can't wait for play time.

1. Bwahahahahaha.....
      Don't work too hard ok?..

Another internet warrior with hairy hands.

Awon na da??...

2. How can u talk so rotten. Calling someone cursed. For those of u that use this platform like tomorrow no dey, be warned . Every word that proceeds from ur mouth u must give account. Ur comment is outright disgusting.

3. @spineless anon 11:45:
      Can you just STFU and stop hallucinating?
      For you information, the respected,highly educated and amiable Ezenwanyi is from a royal family. And she is happily married to Royalty.
      Just end the envy. It is pointless. Some people are just born to be great.

4. Lol..

You are right MM. Ezenwanyi Ibilibi Ogada Aguba Ndi Eze is Queen of Kings.

Guys, leave the onye ofenmmanu jare that hasn't had a decent meal since God knows when.

20. Can they just stop! Why not focus on getting federal Govt to develop the east irrespective of where the minister is from? I am igbo and it's high Time we start demanding for Govt projects in that region not petty appointments which won't change anything expect for appointees.
    The second Niger bridge which will also benefit others apart from Easterners are always dangled like a carrot few months before elections and they always fall for it. From Obasanjo to Jona, wetin change? Has the life of you and your family improved without you being related to appointee?
    Let appointments be based on merit and let's hold the ministers accountable if they are biased in carrying out their duties. ..let's stop this divide and rule mentality.

21. If a country's constitution is there to guide and a leader doesn't follow it, I wonder how he wants us to see him.

Thanks Prof for pointing it out.

Hope his ministers will perform magic when he finally do the needful.

This administration hasn't started working fully and what we're enjoying is still part of last administration. Eg. Power supply, abi dem don get minister?

22. Though Nwabueze is igbo and in an igbo group. I think the fact that his tribe is being analysed before listening to what he has to say shows exactly what is wrong with the country these days. This is the highest spate of tribalism I have witnessed in recent years. Why? Everyone is bringing tribal sentiments and trading blame here and there.

I think the injuries caused by the election are yet to be healed. There was a rift due to politicians taking the tribal route and these are things the new government have to address. You don't just keep quiet over these things.

In politics, you must reassure all stakeholders. You know your mind, doesn't mean they know. Has any envoy from the administration visited or reached out to the Niger Deltans or Igbos by visit or any means? Whether it is true or not that they are marginalised, the fact that they feel so is a problem in any democracy. We can't keep postponing these things.

As for the article, im not sure I have come across any law that says expressly that the president must appoint ministers within a certain time but Nwabueze is a foremost constitutional law scholar. Very respected. His words most likely have things to back them up.

When people talk, we must all get the message and sieve it. The road to tyranny doesn't start in a day. They also say that the greatest evil arises from the very best intentions. Even Hitler did a lot of economic good. He had great intentions for his people too but it quickly degenerated to tyranny when the Nazi party silenced everyone in the name of fighting past 'bad' leaders. There is a reason why democracy is run by many people and many voices. No matter how good a man is, he shouldn't control everything. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. Now they're saying they need 'credible and honest' judges to try those being probed and people are supporting that the executive should meddle into judiciary. The accuser determines who tries d accused? Where is it done? You will nod today but from corrupt leaders the tyranny might spread to the streets and affect u. Let due process be followed.

1. U make great sense.
      Which way, Nigeria?

aMazing and aWWesome

2. Bonaparte NN, stamped, sealed, and well drlivered!!

3. Thanks for the support dearies.

@ezenwanyi:
      Longest time, you just left us sha.
      Hope you're doing great...

4. Bonaparte NN, remain blessed!!

5. Bona you are also scarce and I missed your comments badly

6. But the absolute power is not the case here.. yes there's been a delay in ministerial appointments but it's for obvious reasons as was clearly stated by the Presidency. Background checks, credibility and integrity checks, proper scrutiny of candidates is of the essence. Don't forget that if the president makes an error on any of the appointments it'll affect the bunch.

23. yeah royalty of anal fuckers and demented animals, we know her story so drop the act.

1. Pls share..

I want to learn. Bwahahahahaha....

2. Anon 14:35:
      Haters everywhere.
      Just accept the reality.
      Whom the Lord has blessed no man can curse.

24. At least they work and have their priority in order unlike you and mumu monkey whose job is to troll different blogs all day long making yourselves feel important with nothing in your pockets, better go and beg for your daily food on IHN before food and handouts finish dia.

25. Sharraap my friend the old man is talking about Nigeria, Buhari and appointments so it concerns Yoruba people and the whole of Nigeria not like you mofos that put your mouth for Ooni of Ife and Yoruba tradition matter that one no concern una so stay on your mother fucking lane.

26. you are already cursed money maker.

1. Anon 21:09,
      I am blessed already by the good Lord.So cursing me is actually cursing urself and your entire generation,past ,present and future.
      Where you are fasting and paying to be is where I am.

27. Don't mind them they think it's still GEJ's administration where he appointed militants, ogogoro sellers and palmwine tappers.