Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Uganda Bride Price Refund Outlawed

Thursday, August 06, 2015

Uganda Bride Price Refund Outlawed

Uganda's Supreme Court has ruled that the practice of refunding the bride price, or dowry, on the dissolution of a customary marriage is unconstitutional and should be banned.

In many African countries, a man pays his future wife's family
 for her hand in marriage

The judges said it suggested that women were in a market place, and infringed on their right to divorce.

But they rejected the argument that the bride price itself was unconstitutional.
Campaigners said that the dowry turns a woman into the husband's property.
Should a marriage end in Uganda, the wife had been expected to refund the bride price - often paid in livestock.

But it was argued that as women tend to have less wealth than their husbands, many became trapped in an unhappy relationship.
The case was brought by the women's rights organisation Mifumi, who said that bride price encourages domestic violence.

BBC Report

I totally agree with this report because there are so many women in Nigeria still in bondage because of bride price not being returned,whilst the men move on and re.marry!
They should outlaw bride price in Nigeria or introduce groom price which also binds the men and prevents them from remarrying traditionally again!
This is my two cents.

#Fairplay!

50 comments:

1. So Stella had to deactivate comments on that Bisola hair post. HahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaHa
      Make dem no spoil ur market.
      Nice one jare
      LMAO!

2. Hmmmmm...they should not ban brideprice just yet in nigeria ooo...my money sha be paid

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

3. Left for me d women shouldn't return anything. If the marriage end then it ends. Everybody pack their load and go their different ways. The wear and tear on d woman's body nko. Can the man ever return her back to the way she was?

4. No refund,no new marriage u are bound to that person for ever.

5. Thought I was the only one who couldn't comment on that post..Stella!!

6. I'm with you Stella, banish bride price or impose groom price.

7. Bisola hair post gone bad...

8. And here I was wondering that for the first time no one made a comment on a post. So people unleashed on the hair lady? Chai I no see am oh!!

2. Good one! They should do same in Nigeria pls

3. The south south elders should take note.

4. Lol...Stella? I wish it can happen in Naija sha

1. Great move. This cud have b Nigeria,but it's not,as our fore forefathers lives on bride price as a ritual bindind man&wife which is a big myth.

5. Nice move. I love that! Very soon all these men feeling as if dey are doing gals a favour by marrying dem will be left in dia dream land!

6. I love this but then I don't think it can work here cos it's only when the bride price is paid that the woman is legally accepted into the man's life and family. If its scraped, will a man just pick any woman and marry her without any rights done on her? Maybe it should be that the woman can leave without refunding the bride price.

1. I doubt you know the meaning of legal. Legal means the law recognises it. The law doesn't recognize how may yams was paid to marry a woman. What you mean is custom. If bride price is scrapped, yes a man will pick and woman and marry her without performing any RITES. Will the family die if they don't collect yam. Na wa for women. You claim you want equal right Buh u still want to be treated as a commodity becos of rice and palm oil. Tueh. If they say bride price shld be refunded, it's only logical to say it shldnt be paid. #teamstrongwomen#

7. Very good move. Nigeria should copy this.

8. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Asin the thing just dont suit the ladies at all....

9. I pray Naija adopts this practice. There will be so any happier women

10. In Nigeria nah! I don't think it would work.

11. Lol @ groom price..
    Its a really great campaign though..

12. GUD ONE..NIG SHUD JOIN...TOMJERRYSWIT

13. In my place,bride price is 1,500 naira and which will be returned sef in the presence of people during the traditional wedding.Brides families too should chop small small.

14. Stupid tradition. If these people want to turn the woman into a commodity, pls tell me if you buy an appliance and use it for 5 yrs, all of a sudden it's not serving you again, pls go to where you bought it and demand refund! Come back and put ur story on Stella's blog.

15. THELMA ENEMUWE said..
    Nice initiative,same should go for 9ja too
    *faithful BV enemuwe thelma*

16. i wish they will do that oh my elder sister ex husband refuse to collet dowry and he is married to another girl and makes tie my sister down each time they fix a date to return it he will find excuss to stop it am tired of that silly tradition afterall they will collect their children and most of the lady belongings and they will not return the lady the way took the lady ...

1. Ur sister never ready to re-marry

2. Let your family members return it to the ministry of welfare. The guy can go there and collect it anytime he's ready. That way, your sister is free to move on

3. Jasmine u are right. In my cousins's case the dude no even dey ard, they returned it to umunnas.

17. some men will reject the bride price and the go ahead to re marry, whereas holding the woman down.
    Sometimes you have to beg for years before they accept it back just to punish the woman.
    Its really sad, I wish same can happen in Nigeria

18. Kikikikikikikii....., groom price indeed Stella

19. I agree with you on This one Stella, most cusToms and traditions affecTs women the more

20. For me oo,i dont think it can happen.Nigeria are too glue to tradition and culture .

21. Nigerian men will never agree to this
    Nma's Blog 

22. Bride price , dowry is approved by God not just tradition. The only thing is to advice tribes selling off their women by collecting high price and material things to desist from it, so that it will be easy for them invade of divorce. Why mortgaging your daughter's future for wealth, or are they meant for for family liberation or what.

1. Direct your questions to the entire Mbaise community in Imo state.

23. I wish they will do same in Nigeria. Return bride prize for woman wey you don use so tey…After turning her to second hand.

24. Groom price ke!lol
    I doubt if it will ever happen in nigeria

25. Please women . It is legal to return the dowry in the customary court. According to traditional marriage laws the official dowry fee to return is 60naira paid to the court with or without the spouse. Let's be aware of our rights and stop being in bondage !

26. Any child under 18 years stays with the woman until they attain maturity. The man pays welfare . Unless in cases where the woman has health issues or a threat to the children well being. Exercise your legal rights ! Stop being naive. This is 2015

27. Any child under 18 years stays with the woman until they attain maturity. The man pays welfare . Unless in cases where the woman has health issues or a threat to the children well being. Exercise your legal rights ! Stop being naive. This is 2015