Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: University Of Ibadan Can Only Admit 3000 Out Of 33,000 Applicants – DVC

Sunday, August 09, 2015

University Of Ibadan Can Only Admit 3000 Out Of 33,000 Applicants – DVC

The University of Ibadan, UniIbadan, yesterday declared that though over 33,000 candidates applied through JAMB for admission into the institution for the next academic session, it could only admit 3,000.
This was disclosed in Ibadan by UI’s Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academics, Prof. Gbemisola Oke, at a stakeholders’ forum organised by the Distance Learning Centre, DLC, of the institution.

She therefore encouraged prospective students who met admission requirements, but could not gain admission to embrace Distance Learning to satisfy their needs of qualitative tertiary education.

According to her, “If we can’t meet the need of our people through the regular face to face mode, then we should use the Open Distance Learning, ODL.
“Education drives growth and development and it must be at the centre for any nation to make advancement,” she said.

The DVC assured that the university would ensure qualitative and standard distance learning education, with strict adherence to the mandate of the nation’s premier university.
Dailypost cullage

Education is another sector that needs proper attention in Nigeria.I pray President Bubu looks into this ASAP and appoints a minister that will bring back life into that sector.

32 comments:

1. Going to school is nolonger useful,d purpose is bn defeated in naija,after going to school,no job. Others shld go into business or learn trade or handwork,those are d things that pay off in today's Nigeria.

1. Really? U gotta be kidding me.
      Without education no matter d amount in ur bank account,believe u me u r half fulfilled.

Getting a job ain't all dt difficult,jobs are every where bt d problem and pertinent question is,is d pay good enough or is it befitting.

Mind u,not every1 dt goes to sch is educated,u cld pass thru d walls of a university bt yet remain an illiterate.

I'm glad I went to sch and i wldnt have traded it 4all d riches in da world *aldo i like money sha*

4get what u get to hear,truth is a good command of english,looking properly dressed and ur prospect can tk u places money cant.

2. I tell u!!!
      90% of what they teach in school isn't applicable in real life ......
      A lawyer learning tailoring(fashion designing) / hairdressing.....
      An accountant taking tutelage on business life from someone that stopped attending school after primary education.....
      With d way I suffered in school, my monthly take home should be nothing short of 500k.....
      If u meet me during egg transactions, u will Neva believe I am a graduate of BIOCHEMISTRY!!!!!
      9ja, which way???
      Hmmmmmm........

3. Sexy are you a graduate of ekiti state university? How could u say 90 percent of what you learn ins school is not applicable. You chose not to apply them because you're in a haste to start working and making money. Please all the instances you gave above are that of a feeble minded juvenile.how can a primary school drop out tutor a graduate? Maybe in the part of the world you're from or probably all these street business. Education still remains the bedrock.

4. Biochemistry is no joke Mehn! Especially in Uniben. @sexy boocalher i totally feel u.

2. Why use Uniben gate though?

1. I shock too, abi they have same gate?

2. I finished frm UI dts ui gate,Its probably the same as uniben

3. Abeg look well, na UI gate be that. The center for knowledge & sound judgement

3. nawaa o! 3000 out of 33000. What will happen to the 30,000 candidates left? And this will happen in different schools as well. We need more schools mehn not all this private schools that demand for life savings as school fees.

4. This is why we have high crime rate in this country.

5. Happens every year especially in federal universities, my advice to those seeking admission is to start a remedial programme. There are a lot of candidates seeking admission into every school.

6. you can buy your way in forget all this things,#nigeriauniversitiesarefortherich

#GODWIN™

7. How can they admit more with all their dilapidated structures?

8. Comparing Nigerian education system, Learning a good trade or talent is always the best now. What the essence of going to school and most people cannot defend their course of study due to corruption in schools, sorting and settling. It need total reformation just like Nigerian banks in those days. Many people troops into higher institutions only to come out and be jobless. Millions are graduates who cant defend their discipline and are yet to find a job and millions are seeking to enter school with no hope of adequate employment from the government. Which way Nigeria?

1. Atimes I get befogged at the juvenile posts I see. Now let me pontificate vehemently that education is for self enlightenment not for job. A self enlightened homo sapien knows when to do what to do. I get astonished seeing posts like this even in this 21st century that education seems to be the corner stone of most succesfull countries in the world. I presume you're not a graduate. If you're , then you're synonymous to those that cannot defend their course of discipline because I sincerely doubt if u saw the four walls of a teritiary citadel of learning to be posting such hug-wash.

2. Atimes I get befogged at the juvenile posts I see. Now let me pontificate vehemently that education is for self enlightenment not for job. A self enlightened homo sapien knows when to do what to do. I get astonished seeing posts like this even in this 21st century that education seems to be the corner stone of most succesfull countries in the world. I presume you're not a graduate. If you're , then you're synonymous to those that cannot defend their course of discipline because I sincerely doubt if u saw the four walls of a teritiary citadel of learning to be posting such hug-wash.

3. Okpoyibo grammar school at anon; we know you went to school.
      True about the importance of education, but Queen Zibah also made a point. You'd see that if you weren't so arrogant, pompous and self-righteous.
      People will always have their own opinions. You as an educated person should understand and pass your own message without pulling others down. Or you weren't taught that? I sincerely doubt you were.
      And it's hogwash.

9. In that case, they should not sell more than 3000 post UTME forms.

10. In that case, they should not sell more than 3000 post UTME forms.

11. Hello, why using a UNIBEN picture for a story on UI? I'm a proud UNIBEN alumnus and I'm really mad about this...

12. What a country! This is why crime rates are on the high side. Learning a skill while waiting for this said admission into the university is KEY. I wish I knew this earlier. God help us.

13. Since dey knew dey wud be accepting only 3 yhoisand persons, y sell 33 thousand forms...everywhere ppl be playing politics
    **vianson**

14. So what will happen to the remaining 30,000 candidates seeking for admission?
    Spend another extra year at home?

15. What will happen 2 d remaining candidates? It's well o