Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gambia's President Yahya Jammeh Bans Female Genital Mutilation

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Gambia's President Yahya Jammeh Bans Female Genital Mutilation

The Gambia's President Yahya Jammeh has banned female genital mutilation (FGM) saying it is not required in Islam.
The announcement at a rally was met with a huge applause, AFP reports.
Three-quarters of women in the mostly Muslim country have had the procedure,according to Unicef.

In the procedure's most severe form, after removing the sensitive clitoris, the genitals are cut and stitched closed so that the woman cannot have or enjoy sex.

FGM, also known as female circumcision, can be extremely painful, lead to tetanus, gangrene, HIV, hepatitis B and hepatitis C and effective sterilisation.

The president's announcement said the ban was effective immediately.
It is not clear when a law will be passed to allow the ban to be enforced.

Types of FGM
•Clitoridectomy - partial or total removal of the clitoris
•Excision - removal of the clitoris and inner labia (lips), with or without the outer labia
•Infibulation - cutting, removing and sewing up the genitalia

•Any other type of intentional damage to the female genitalia (burning, scraping et cetera)

culled from BBC.

OMG..this report gave me goose bumps...WTF!

34 comments:

1. It seems that the man loves big clits.

2. Its not just enough to ban it on media, what are the effective measures you have put in place to monitor the implementation of the ban?

3. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Observed....

4. Good for them!
    Where is Gambia in d map again?
    North Africa abi?mtcheewwwww

1. Marian Mumu. It seems even the brainless emjay is even more intelligent than you.
      Gambia in North Africa. smh

2. Its sad that u can expose ur illeteracy with such confidence

3. Did you go to school at all? Ignorance typified, imbecility redefined.

4. It's not their fault that your clitoris was chopped off. Make e nor too pain you abeg. Gambia is in West Africa.

5. Lol @Omasiri.Your head dey there.
      BTW. Stella. Why did you remove the first comment?It seems your own was chopped off too.

6. Omasiri, the educated illiterate mumu.
      Do you know the meaning of chew at all.
      Emjay and Marian might even be more intelligent than you. Smh

7. NAwA o!
      Na so una fear me for dis blog reach?
      Hehehehehehe!
      Why not show ur ugly faces?
      And as for u omasiri,ur own case na lagatin injection u nid for Dat ur kolo brain....oya off to yaba left u go!

5. Good one Mr President. Inflicting so much pain on women isn't right biko.

6. Good news,better late than never because I can't imagine they still practice this act when the whole world have long condemned it.

7. Hi dearies, sorry for not adding my location...Blizshen cakes is based in Ebute Metta/Surulere, Lagos. Thanks.

8. Nice one there....at least these guys will see something to stroke, chew and lap on and the female folks will be more sexually excited n have real orgasm. Lol.

1. Your head dey there!

2. Omasiri, the educated illiterate mumu. Emjay and Marian might even be more intelligent than you. Smh

9. Uniben is a useless school with heartless and corrupt people at the helm of affairs. It should be rated worst school in Nigeria

1. Bode, why don't you transfer yourself to Cambridge

10. God bless your soul sir.......we all should be feminist