Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lassa Fever Hits Rivers State

Wednesday, January 06, 2016

Lassa Fever Hits Rivers State

At least two persons have been confirmed dead in an outbreak of Lassa fever in Rivers State.

The state Commissioner for Health, Dr Theophilous Odageme, who confirmed the outbreak Tuesday in a statement, advised members of the public not to panic because the state government had taken a proactive measure to contain an outbreak.
The statement further called on residents to report any of such symptoms as persistent high fever, stooling, vomiting, bleeding from the nose, mouth and anus to nearest health centre without delay and to maintain good hygiene and quickly report any case of lassa fever to the nearest health centre.

culled:dailypost

Bvs in this region please stay safe oooooh.

45 comments:

1. Bimfem hair care products for edges and healthy hair. whatsapp (07032378915)6 January 2016 at 10:36

Jehovah take control.

1. We just got alert from the min of health. Lassa fever is in warri already. People are travelling more this period so it can be anywhere withing days. Everyone please be careful.
      God bless!

2. This bole n fish way I wan buy don they fear me o as I no know where n how d woman house dey.
      Have to curb my longer throat mehn

3. Cover all food items properly
      Be careful about garri purchases this period
      Clean all canned items properly especially drinks before consumption/use
      Use your nose if it smells funny no manage o, throw the food item away
      Fumigate/ clear rats and other critters away from your abodes and block all entrances in for them

4. Higher hygiene standards
      Cleaner environment
      Do not give opportunity for rat droppings or faecal matter from other animals around you/children/food

2. Ahhhhh I am in Ph o.....I cover my spirit, soul and body with the blood of Jesus. Baba God please keep me and my husband safe.

37th comment, 2016

3. Hia! It's too early o

4. It is well. Please let's keep our surroundings super clean and kill at sight any rat

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    God help us....

6. Hmmm. God protect your children.

7. GO GET UR OWN NEWS, STOP STEALING POST FRM MY BLOG.. 'Lib'

1. Lolzzzz Anony take it easy. It's a new year

8. This must be the disease Pst Adeboye confused to be sexual trans disease... They won't see vision for better thg, mtcheeew, its always the inevitable, obvious thgs that surely happen, imagine seeing vision that harmattan will come by Dec.

1. Do not type condemnation into ur life..

2. Dnt invite the wrath of God, be careful

3. Lassa fever is not an STD and it is not a new disease. It is an hemorrhagic fever like Ebola but just doesn't kill as fast as Ebola.

It's been in the country since last year. Hopefully containment procedures are effective and it dies out soonest.

Please be careful, people and wash your hands regularly.
      Get back to using hand sanitizer a if you ever stopped...

God bless Nigeria

4. Lassa fever has been in existence before ebola sef!

5. I wonder how convenient it is for u to say a man of God is confused.....so u knw....lassa fever is transmitted thru direct contact with infected human blood, excretion and secretions,including SEXUAL CONTACT.....dts if d diseases he prophesied abt is lasso fever and not smfin coming later.....i just implore we all b careful with out speech....no fyts o.....#justsaying

6. Lassa fever is not new,it has been in existence for years
      Pops up around this time of every year,claim a few lives And its curbed. I know a doc in Ebonyi that died of lassa a few years ago sadly.
      So no it has nothing to do with prophecy
      And no its not sexually transmitted.

9. They don start again?
    God helped us to conquer Ebola, nw na laser fever.
    All I know is dt we shall overcome dis too by God's grace (Amen).

10. Cover your food while eating or taking a break during meal. especially those living in slum areas

11. Tout professor Agbolahor former Vc of AAU found a cure to it, na wah ohhh, I fear that fever die.

12. @Stella,this is not true!
    Am currently in PHC and there's nothing like that!
    Who Lassa fever don kill?
    Meanwhile all those who are still in the village should be careful of what they eat,who touches them and be prayerful...Hian!

1. You aren't in every part of Ph na

2. So because you are in ph,you know everything that's happening?
      Nawa to you o
      You must be everywhere....mtn

13. I'm in Ph o..haven't heard anything. Lord take control

14. Lassa fever in Port Harcourt? Ok information taken and noted

15. bad symptoms... bleeding from the anus. God help your children in this country called Nija

16. I read it too PH and Taraba...God help us

17. Na wao
    It should be contained oh

18. Why River State all the time? Ebola enterd Nigeria,d next port of call was PH,now Lasser fever,straight to PH again? Hian

19. How are we sure it is not ebola they are covering up that its lassa fever?let's be safe sha!

20. My God now am scared of goin bck

21. God please protect the good people of river state, protect my family members too cos I can't bare suffering another lose again

22. last year they started the year with Ebola now 2016 with lassa fever hmmmm I cover myself and my family with the blood of jesus.

23. God help and keep us safe, na your hand we dey. One can never be too careful, all the same we must take precaution.
    RIP to the dead.