Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Signs Bilateral Agreements With UAE On Recovery Of Stolen Funds

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Nigeria Signs Bilateral Agreements With UAE On Recovery Of Stolen Funds

President Muhammadu Buhari led government, on Tuesday, signed different bilateral agreements with the United Arab Emirates, UAE.

The agreements were essentially on trade, finance and judicial matters.
While the agreement on trade was to promote investments and business dealings amongst the two countries, the judicial bilateral agreement would also enable the country to extradite, or transfer sentenced persons.

The signing of the agreement in Abu Dhabi was witnessed by President Buhari and the Crown Prince of the United Arab Emirates, Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Al Nahyan.

A statement by the special adviser to the President on media and publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina from UAE stated that Nigeria’s Ministers of finance, Trade/Investment, and Justice singed the respective agreements on behalf of Nigeria’s government.

“Nigeria’s Minister of Finance, Mrs Kemi Adeosun and the UAE Minister of State for Financial Affairs, Obaid Attayar signed the Avoidance of Double Taxation Agreement, while the Minister of Trade and Investment, Mr Okechukwu Enelamah signed the Agreement on Trade Promotion and Protection with the UAE Minister of State for Financial Affairs.

“The Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami and his counterpart in the United Arab Emirates, Sultan Bin Saeed Albadi signed the Judicial Agreements on Extradition,Transfer of Sentenced Persons, Mutual Legal Assistance on
Criminal Matters, and Mutual Legal Assistance on Criminal and Commercial Matters, which includes the recovery and repatriation of stolen wealth”, the statement said.

culled:vanguardng.

Chei another no go area for looters oooooh.

26 comments:

1. All those looted funds and no where to run

2. So much of Nigeria money hidden in that country.

3. The looted funds wey dem Atiku don take build sky scrapers for jumeriah ,Atiku wey me see with my two kurukuro eyes for mall of emirates in 2013 with two body guard ,dh dey form star struck na so body guard block am from greeting the man ,for that man to get that kind power for uae u think say na small money him don invest,Buhari go back home and start the maths from 1+1 all those looted funds have been invested in malayisa uae singapore and even america and europe

1. Truth is, not all the monies will be recovered. No matter how hard they try to trace the looted funds or properties they've acquired with the funds. I think the ones who have been refunding cash to Nigeria are the recent ones wired abroad. Most of them have invested the monies into properties and it'll take a long time to establish which was from the country's fund vs personal fund.
      I listened to the minister of foreign affairs yesterday, and he explained their stride in recuperating funds. To which he said that days ago, more monies have been recovered and some European countries have promised to send even more. I just tire

4. Chai! Baba mean business. I commend his efforts, some of the money he can recover will help fund one or two things in the budget. I only wish he would delegate more and pay some attention to the economy.

5. Fayose has been taking money there too. He has properties there, in the UK and some of these Asian countries. China, Singapore or Malaysia. He has been very busy stashing his loot there in readiness for his second impeachment. Oh yes he knows it will come sooner or later and he's determined that the second impeachment won't catch him unawares - broke and unprepared- like the first time.

6. BREAKING NEWS:Governor Fayose Disappears From Ekiti again!

Like a walking shadow or a vagabond musician, Governor Ayodele Fayose
    has disappeared from Ekiti State again barely two weeks after a Dubai
    trip that set tongues wagging in the Government House about a missing
    N250m.

This time again, the governor has jetted out of the country in his
    routine trips to ply a trade he so much worked for and he is now
    reaping the benefits.
    Just back from his Christmas and New Year trip from Dubai over which
    he collected N250m for 10 officials as travelling expenses but was the
    only one that made the trip, it is now obvious that his Sunday flight
    to Dubai is a confirmation that if something is not pursuing Governor
    Fayose, he is definitely pursuing something, going by his disappearing
    acts of recent.
    Since he came back from his controversial trip from Dubai over which
    tongues wagged because he allegedly took huge sums of Ekiti State
    money with him, Fayose has been behaving funny.
    His first action that signalled that all was not well with him was
    that he unusually and tactically handed over state functions to his
    Deputy, Kolapo Olusola, whom he had since relegated to the background
    in state matters by not giving him any sensitive assignments in
    government since they were sworn in on October 16, 2014.

Fayose's "generosity" towards his once redundant deputy governor is
    seen as strange by those who had worked with Fayose, and know him very
    well as somebody who will never delegate his authority under any
    condition. Hence, when he told the Local Government Chairmen that they
    should henceforth be relating to the Deputy Governor on official
    engagements as he will not be available most of the time to attend to
    state functions, many people were surprised.

The first sign that he would no longer be present at state functions
    manifested in his absence at the Armed Forces Remembrance Day ceremony
    where he was constitutionally required to lay a wreath to honour the
    dead soldiers. Instead of attending the ceremony, Fayose was holed up
    in his Afao Ekiti country home from where he now rules Ekiti State,
    having abandoned the Government House and Governor's Office to attend
    to state official duties.
    At the laying of wreaths for the Nigerian Fallen Heroes on January 15
    in Ado-Ekiti, Fayose was represented by his Deputy, signalling that it
    was clear that something was amiss.
    As tongues wagged about his absence at this ceremony which in the past
    he would have exploited to display his usual stunts to deceive Ekiti
    people, Fayose fixed a meeting with some communities and his
    Commissioners at Afao -Ekiti for 4pm last Saturday Jan 16, but he
    suddenly called off the meeting around 3pm and hurried out of town
    with the excuse that he had an urgent call from Abuja and had to
    travel immediately.
    He also told his security details to give him a breathing space, as
    it was obvious that he didn't want his security guards to know his
    movement plans again. For now, the governor is only relating to his
    trusted security aides, particularly Gbenga Joseph, who led the
    governor's killers squad during his aborted first tenure between 2003
    and 2006. He specially requested for Gbenga Joseph and his gang's
    transfer to Ekiti again after he became Governor in 2014. One of the
    members of the gang he influenced their posting from Abuja during the
    era of former President Jonathan is one Shaba who was among other
    policemen indicted for political assassinations in Ekiti State by a
    Presidential Panel of Enquiry set up by ex-President Olusegun
    Obasanjo.
    In a manner suggesting that the governor is greatly troubled, he also
    directed that his puppet House of Assembly, which was expected to
    resume legislative business this week, should wait till February.
    However, The Monitors has confirmed that Fayose didn't travel to Abuja
    as he claimed, but was in an undisclosed location where he asked some
    of his aides to bring huge sums of money to him. The money was
    contained in three big Ghana-must-go bags in N1,000 denomination.

7. In a manner suggesting that the governor is greatly troubled, he also
    directed that his puppet House of Assembly, which was expected to
    resume legislative business this week, should wait till February.
    However, The Monitors has confirmed that Fayose didn't travel to Abuja
    as he claimed, but was in an undisclosed location where he asked some
    of his aides to bring huge sums of money to him. The money was
    contained in three big Ghana-must-go bags in N1,000 denomination.
    Fayose was frantically calling his aides on phone and monitoring their
    movement until they delivered the money to him.
    Next, he was sighted in Lagos where he directed that the money be
    taken to one Alhaji who changed it to foreign currency with which he
    reportedly travelled outside the country last night for the second
    time within a month.

8. The questions on the lips of many keen observers and Ekiti people are:
    Why is Fayose no longer comfortable staying in Ekiti and discharging
    his functions as Governor? Why did he abandon the Government House
    and the Governor's Office and instead chose to operate from his
    Afao-Ekiti country home? Why is he in a hurry to travel out and always
    conceal his movements? What is his mission with his frequent visits
    abroad? Who are the people Fayose meeting abroad and for what purpose?
    Is he suffering from an undisclosed ailment requiring urgent medical
    attention? Why did he order his security aides to give him a breathing
    space and only relating with the policemen who he used during his
    aborted first term to terrorise the opposition? Why did he ask the
    State House of Assembly not to resume till February?
    Only time will tell, but then The Monitors shall keep you posted on
    further developments as they unfold.

1. Taaaa.. see as I was reading, hoping to grasp a tangible reason for the assertion, and I found none. This is without substance abeg. Is there a lacuna in the affairs of the state, which found the governor lacking in his primary duties? Any that would suffice this bias and baseless propaganda? Huh?

9. Lmao,
    Baba goslow aka tourist

10. End time missing walking talking money.

11. Pls bubu shd focus on d country o! A few scape goats to show he's serious and then he shd move on. Create jobs etc

12. N400m bail was given to Metuh,d exact amount he collected...take d money from him n send him to prison for a loooooong time n change his name to Metuh-selah

13. Mr buhari is a smart man.. Nigerian politicians own a lot of real-estates across U.A.E

14. Sisi Eko and General's wife.. I will like to give u head, I mean a good head to make u flow like ocean... So much like sisi eko nd general's wife.. Each time I see una comment.. My dolon dey stand gidigba.

1. Ewooooo.. Ahahah.

I don run ooo.. wetin be dolon?

15. Sisi Eko and General's wife.. I will like to give u head, I mean a good head to make u flow like ocean... So much like sisi eko nd general's wife.. Each time I see una comment.. My dolon dey stand gidigba.

16. Sisi Eko and General's wife.. I will like to give u head, I mean a good head to make u flow like ocean... So much like sisi eko nd general's wife.. Each time I see una comment.. My dolon dey stand gidigba.