Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Olisa Metuh's Family Release Statement On His Continued Detention By EFCC

Friday, January 08, 2016

Olisa Metuh's Family Release Statement On His Continued Detention By EFCC

The family of the embattled spokesperson of the Peoples Democratic Party, Olisa Metuh, has spoken out about his detention in EFCC custody.
Statement below...

''The Metuh family - the Obi-Ezeani-Nnewi- has noted with grave concern the continued incarceration of their Diokpa and spokesperson of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Chief Olisa Metuh (Ugochidebelu Nnewi) since his arrest Tuesday by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission
(EFCC).

Whereas the charges for which Chief Metuh is being detained for over 48 hours now have not been formally made known to the family and the general public, we have noted some sensational publications in a section of the media claiming that our son collected the sum of N1.4 billion from the arms deal cash and has been collecting N4 million monthly as from the Office of the former National Security Adviser.

We have confronted our son with this allegations and he assured us that they are completely false. However, he acknowledged that in the course of his duties as the National Publicity Secretary of the PDP, the then leader of the party and President of the country directed him to carry out some urgent national assignment relating to his office, which the former President duly funded and which he duly carried out to the satisfaction of the former President.

The family therefore views the publications bandying the figure of N1.4 billion and alleged collection of N4 million stipend from the Office of the NSA as deliberate blackmail aimed at inflaming public sentiments against our son.

Our biggest concern for now is the health and safety of our son, who even before his arrest has alerted the nation about various threats to his life, a stance that is not unconnected to his position as the spokesperson of the opposition. Our position is more so as he has refused to eat following fears of intentions
to poison him in detention.

In view of the above therefore, we DEMAND that the EFCC immediately release our son, Chief Metuh (Ugochidebelu Nnewi) from detention or charge him to court''.

Signed:
Chief Gilbert Metuh,
for and on behalf of
The Obi-Ezeani- Nnewi.

33 comments:

1. While it is within his right to be released if no charges have come forth, his family members cannot tell the government to withdraw charges simply because they "asked their son and he denied" knowledge of what he's being accused of. That is left for the court to decide.. with tangible admissible evidence. No time to whip sentiments into anything abeg. No one is above the law.

1. Hahaha @ we have confronted our son,that line sounds so juvenile.
      You expect your son to say he received his share of the loot?lmao.

Anyway, the EFCC should take cognisance of the Constitution whilst discharging it's duties.

They can not detain him indefinitely and should follow due process.

2. Pdp thieves every where. Dont respect sudden billionaires anymore. Oshi oshi every where

3. Family says 'charge or release'..u cnt hold pple indefinitely wtout charge. Do y read @all or u must just comment on each & everytin. ..smh

2. Shut- up old fool and stop patronising mediocrity. A number of people from the North have been detained. Who is Metuh??? If Dasuki was to be an Igbo man. Only God knows what will happen.

3. "We have confronted our son with this allegations and he assured us that they are completely false". What else will he say?  

4. thanks to everyone who wished me well and those who yabed me I sincerely love ❤ u all . God bless sdkers

5. It's sad that the family does not even know why he was detained. The sensational media do not even help in matters like this. Let the case be taken to court ASAP so justice can be duly served if needed.

Make Up Trends that are Fascinating

6. He is not the first to be detained by the EFCC, he should be kept till the EFCC deems it fit to release him after clearing of whatever accusations.
    He is not eating because he is not hungry.
    Families always quick to release statements, like they have it somewhere waiting to flip it out whenever the need arises.

1. Obviously u all are running a barbaric government

7. Don't worry, they will charge him to court. You bunch of thieves.Now that you the family is coming out so early to deny allegations even before Olisa is being formally accused, I believe you are all thieves. Jonathan, can you hear again!!! Shame on your life. Why is Olisa not eating? He never hungry??? Ole gbogbo....

8. We will all watch this collapse, and there is nothing anybody can do about it.

9. Wow, una press release don finally convince me say your diopka dey innocent. I am certain that EFCC after reading the family's statement will release him with immediate effect. They however failed to tell us that their diokpa has never stolen anything in his life hence his inability to divert and embezzle funds.
    All they need to do now is ask that he be charged to court so they can come and repeat the content of their press release, am sure he will be acquitted of all charges. Uchu!

10. Poison kor, he should better eat before he die of hunger, I hope there is still space in kuje prison

11. For I care he can be detained for eternity, mtcheew

12. Hahaha,see shameful family,u call 4milion stipend?ccn u see what des thieves hav bn doin,wen d minimum wage is 18k,do Yu knw hw long an average nigerian wil work to earn dat?probably his lifetime,som pple need jst a percentage of dat to beter der lives and families,and u are sayin stipend,wen d poor wil die of not bn able to buy ordinary panadol to cure headache,it shal not b well wit naija thieves and der familie dt are defendin dem too shal die of hunger and ailment.im vry sad right.God pls wipe des old thieves once and fr all.

13. Chai! Onya Olisah Metuh ama na nkapi! Una go shout tire, but he must vomit all he ate.

14. When Buhari started his corruption charges, why did they not take off. See where he has landed. Family members keep off. Let them bring the money out.

15. Sometimes I want to be underground, not to comment on issue of national interest, but wit statement coming frm all dis pdp guys all of late, go's to show dat, there is a ground plan now frm all of dem, dat is de formal president dat sign or approve de money for dem all,which make dem have no case to answer,dat all issue should be directed to de formal president. I will say dis here, if de formal president most go to jail for wat he did as de president of Nigeria. So be it. Mine u, I'm frm de same Niger delta at de formal president, but poverty does not knw where u are frm or village name. God bless Nigeria.

16. I don't think he is hungry yet, when he is, he will eat.

17. He should eat o, nobody wants to poison him anywhere. He should just eat because it's a long road to freedom

18. O u critics!!! Wait 4 him to be charged b4 u start running ya mouths na.let due process be carried out by charging him to court.if he is found guilty,send him to kuje,if not send him to his family.don't keep him there to silent the opposition biko. #leavetrash4lawma

19. Mtcheeeeeew this can only be nigeria, where some is being question on allegation of fraud and you see family members and different groups coming out to defend the culprits.

20. Mtcheeeeeew this can only be nigeria, where someone is being questioned on allegation of fraud and you see family members and different groups coming out to defend the culprits.

21. if he no won chop< make he dey fast. he don chop the national cake na. some famile eee waiting the man won talk na lol