Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Teenager Dies From Complications Arising From Birth Control Pills ...

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Teenager Dies From Complications Arising From Birth Control Pills ...

A teenage girl who was on the contraceptive pill died from an 'extremely rare' blood clot after returning home from a family holiday, an inquest heard.

Sophie Murray, 16, had been prescribed the pill for around eight months by the time she returned from Gran Canaria last September.
But two weeks later, the "happy and healthy" teenager, from Accrington, started complaining of breathlessness and chest pain.

Blackburn Coroners Court heard how tests by her GP confirmed she was suffering from exercise induced asthma (EIA), the mirror.co.uk report says.

She was prescribed an inhaler, however it was ineffective.

Mum Shelley Crichton told the hearing how Sophie woke up on November 8 last year saying she couldn’t breathe and shortly after had a ‘fit’ and her ‘lips turned blue’.
She was rushed to hospital however passed away later that day.
Dr Richard Prescott said Sophie died of a pulmonary embolism due to deep vein thrombosis (DVT) and a contributory factor was the oral contraceptive pill.

He told the hearing that the ‘large clot’ was 8mm in diameter and if it had been detected earlier she could have been given blood thinners and survived.
The inquest heard how Sophie was using the ‘common’ pill Microgynon and a leaflet accompanying the prescription warned how using it ‘increases the risk of developing a blood clot’ and in ‘very rare cases’ a blood clot can form but it is ‘very rarely fatal’.

Joanne Birch, a specialist nurse in sudden and unexpected deaths, said only six out of every 10,000 women on the contraceptive pill develop DVT, compared to only two in 10,000 without the pill, and that fatalities are ‘extremely rare’.

Sophie was a pupil at Accrington Academy and dreamed of being a paramedic.

*wow*OMG!!!..The pill has too many side effects!

83 comments:

1. Another side effect of pills...hmmm

1. At least they knew she was on the pill. In Nigeria, even when you meet them at the point of death, they will keep denying. "I don't even know what a pill is, I am a virgin".
      you cannot even get a truthful history from them, yet they want you to peform magic.

2. Bad sickness so sorry dear...RIP dear

3. At 16? Wetin she dey do with sex? Na wa for children of nowadays oh!

1. Idiot Birth Control is not meant for sexually activate be along ... if you're having irregular periods,overflow and heavy cramps(specially foryoung teenager) birth control can be use to correct the issue ...

2. My thoughts exactly... Pity sha..

3. Anonymous 20:35; why not just treat the infection which may be the cause of irregular menstrual flow, overflow, heavy cramps.

4. Na wah oo what is a. 16yrs old girl.doing.with.contraceptive pills ? RIP .

5. Why was she on a birth control pill at that age tho. Rest well girl.

6. If this child was not on this pill shebi she for live?

I don't even know what to type.

At 16,this child should not be having sex. It is medicine after death I know,but I will not want to be getting pills for my daughter at that age.. Yes there will be comprehensive sex education and an open door policy.

Sex will always be there,you will enjoy it belle full. At 16? Mbanu.

1. Even those that claim to be educated, mtcheew
      Birth control pills isn't only for sex please
      Get educated

2. Ify,nawa to u ooo. So u don't know this adverse effect of the drug could happen to anyone regardless of their age??? Abi,d drugs sabi d babe age,before it decided to kill her because she shouldn't have bn using it at 16 according to u. How do u even know it was prescribed for sex and not for some other thing??? And can u swear that u were a virgin at 16??? The thing is we Nigerians,are a judgmental lot. We dish out advice we ourselves cannot abide with.

3. it can be used to correct heavy menstrual flow. my coz uses it.

4. Don't mind iphie....president of I must too comment club......they read but never comprehend.....pills are not only about sexually active people, this article did not even say she was sexually active......this side effect is a ratio of 6 to 10,000 women who use the pill so it is a rare occurrence that is why the pill will continue to be used......like the article says if the blood clot had been detected early she would have been giving that blood thinner injection.....comment with sense not just come and give us unnecessary lecture next time

7. A 16 year old girl was already engaging in pre marital sex and taking pills. When you say don't engage in sex , they won't agree. These contraceptives aren't 100% safe. May her soul rest in peace.

8. She read d side effect n still went ahead to take it? Rip

1. So? Which drug doesn't have side effects? Over sabi.

9. Wow taking pills at sixteen?unbelievable

10. "Dr Richard Prescott said Sophie died of a pulmonary embolism due to deep vein thrombosis (DVT) and a contributory factor was the oral contraceptive pill."... What's all these medical terms for? The girl is dead and you're here speaking terminologies!

1. Those medical terms are important. Knowing the cause of her death will prevent another from happening, especially in that area.

2. Stfu, you ignorant fool. Did you know what DVT was before now?
      Have you ever heard of the word awareness?
      It is important that once someone is dead, an autopsy is performed to identify what caused the death (you can save a family member if it is a hereditary disease) and also to declare the manner of death (natural,sucide or homicide). People like you attribute deaths to Amadioha and the witches and that is why you are a nobody!

3. It's not for everyone to understand dearie.

Bottomline is that the girl up there died at 16 from an effect of 'The Pill'.

You're welcome.

4. Typical ignorant uniformed mind so am not surprised......for your information inquest are very common abroad.....they are done with deaths like this to find out exactly what happened....policies are changed etc so it does not happen in future.....if anyone was found negligent they will be sanctioned as a deterrent.... This is not naija where everything is always explained as Gods will and time without any lessons learnt.

11. Am struggling with this.

Of all the angles Stella could have approached her surmise, she chose the 'side effects'.

As a mother, an African woman & a human, what about using this as a message to our teenagers, some of who are already sending chronicles!? Yes these kids will do what they like whether we talk or not, but should we therefore not talk!? Side effects! WTF! Why not just abstain all together!? Birth control pills means sex without condoms! What about STDs? 16 years old!? Am not a saint & I never was, but I had finished from University before having sex, and me being a guy sef!

So no problem. Se its a new world, the jet age. Fuck it, let's leave them to live their lives any how they want. Let's not moralise & educate and tongue lash sef. Once u develop a pimple on ur chest start to fuck, after all na me born u!?

1. Stop being daft,birth control pills can be used for varieties of health issues not just sex
      Irregular periods
      Pcos
      Painful periods
      Etc
      Get educated

2. Wow Bro you as clueless as Stacy Dash😀😀😀
      And who told you birth control pill are purposely to avoid been pregnant ?

3. Wow Bro
      You are as clueless as Stacy Dash. Who told you birth control pills are made only for the purposes of avoiding been pregnant ?

4. You guys should correct without insulting, d person maybe a guy

5. All those correcting up and down he what if it was for sex?? What if it wasn't for any other use than sex. I for one know children abroad go for pills early in life and their parents support them not because they want them to have sex but they want them to be safe either way..

So if it was for sex and you are here defending like fools.. Was there anyplace that started what she was using it for..

Everyone knows what birth control pills are for. Other uses are not as common as using to avoid pregnancy. So shut the fuck up because you weren't there.. Stop making your self sound educated when you are not. Going from comment to comment to attack people

6. Anonymous you are the one to shut the fuck up.....we are correcting cos this article did not say why she took the pills so don't assume......we all know abroad children mostly sha are spoilt and some are sexually active early but we Nigerians are quick to start judging and giving lecture when u don't have all the details......do you know the kind of home she comes from and how she was raised? No

12. Birth control pill for a 16 yrs old girl?..nawaooh..God hv ur way..

13. These kids just want to grow up so fast these days, it unfortunate . Rip to her.

14. Hmmm @just 16. May you rest in peace Oo

15. Oh my God! Thank God I just stopped mine(microgynon)4 days ago after bleeding for 11 days since the start of my period. Had a fibroid surgery and was taking it while I get healed before I could start TTC. It's really a hard contraceptive. I even called the hospital today but was asked to continue with it, God forbid them I refused taking it again, NEVER. Rest in Peace to the dead.

1. Please,you cannot take a hormonal contraceptive if you have a history of fibroid. They cause rapid growths of fibroids.

2. Thank God for your life @ anon

3. Who gave you such after a fibriod surgery?

All these charge and discharge doctors ssef

16. Only 16 years and already taking contraceptive? Hmmm it is well. Rip.

17. Yeah contraceptive can cause breast cancer and blood clot

18. Chimo ohhhhh!
    So what we do now? Born every year?
    *sexinthebeachrequiresnocondom*

19. 16 years and already on the pill.

Great!

May her soul find peace.

1. The tin sef taya me. Must unmarried people fuck?

Jesus is Lord.

2. What if it was for hormonal imbalance?

Don't be quick to judge

3. What if it was for hormonal imbalance?

Don't be quick to judge

4. Am having that homonal inbalance thing the doc gave me contraceptive to use to regulate it I became so fat and blown out on the 2nd moth added so much weight that tin mow I cane loose it.
      Stella plz do a post on homonal in balance and how one can loose weight while suffering from it.
      Coz am getting married during Val don't want issues.

5. Bv getting married. Wash bitter leaf and drink 1st tin in d morning.half a glass.it will purify ur system. Do it 1ce a week for 1 mnth.thank me later. If u feel its 2 bittery 2 drink take a bitter kola b4 drinking it. U wnt feel d bitter taste.

20. Eyaaaa. Rip
    This is end birth control pills complicated.

21. Contraceptive is not only for sex. Young women use it if they have horrible menstrual cramp as it helps with the pain. It is used if a woman have irregular period to regulate it.

1. I was expecting Stella to explain that to her BVs

2. Oh Anon, thank you, kept strolling down, hoping some educated person will state this. Nigerians and their quick to judge mentality. Some girls take the pill to help regularise their periods.

22. Ok nah....no market wey no get hin own gain, na her own gain be dat. SMH
    Beta days ahead

23. Na wa o, @16 I dey fear to look guys sef talk less of sex n pills, she for face book oo, rip pretty.

24. The girl might not be using is because of sex Abel!
    I was 13when I started using birth control pills ..My mom and gynecologist made me talk understand the reason why I was being placed on such pills ...
    I understood perfectly.as soon as things started looking normal I got off it ...
    Btw. I'm 26and still a virgin ....
    Smh

1. @Anon 20:38, you are Sarah Afia my course mate. I know how you write... this is Bim***

2. Lol sorry, I'm not Sara Afia ....

3. Lol sorry, I'm not Sara Afia ....

25. Anon: 19:56. So true, people are too quick to judge. It is not only used for sex.

26. God bless you Anon 19:56 .. It is high time we get ourselves well informed before criticizing ....

27. God bless you Anon 19:56 .. It is high time we get ourselves well informed before criticizing ....

28. SAY WHAT? Contraceptive at such,tender age? This is tooooo bad..parents please lets wake up from slumber..we are Africans lets work the magic our parents and grandparents did on us abeg..such news was hardly heard of in those days but now
    ...God save this generation of our oo

29. Too much ignorance on here!

Bith control pills are sometimes given for hormonal imbalance, to regulate the cycle!! What makes you think it was because of sex!!!
    Folks throwing stones! Meanwhile you are taking plan B and smiling! Stop it! RIP to the young lady and much strength and comfort to her loved ones!

Signed
    a born again, Holy Spirit filled believer

30. Additionally

Birth control pills (estrogen) increase the risk of the blood coagulating (hence clot formation). Smoking also does likewise. Now imagine if you are smoker on birth control, who goes on a long flight...

31. I was on the same microgynon pill. Took it for 4 years. I started taking it at 17. And contrary to what all u holier than thou people think, I was taking mine for hormonal imbalance. It helped regulate my periods! Today, I am the mother of triplets.

Rest in peace dear girl

32. Wasted generation

33. RIP. No point crying over spilled milk. She's purchased the drug(How she got it doesn't matter) at age 16, read through it, used it. Got what she didn't planned for. All the same RIP sweet 16.

34. Stellas stand is perfectly fine.. it didn't state what she was on d pills for. The only useful deduction one can make here is that a married, matured woman taking the pills could as well have died.. health first, safety first ppl..

1. That's what I feel too. The effects of this drug could have happened to anyone taking d drug too regardless of their age whether underage,married or overage sef. But some peeps here just decided to focus on her age as if she died because she was 16 and in their myopic minds,she wouldn't have died if she was older and "ripe" to take contraceptive. Even some supposed intelligent "blogbrities" who i respect so much, also toed the same stupid line of thought..they didnt even know u could use some contraceptives to treat hormonal imbalance..Smh!!! Rip girl!

35. I was on this pill for 4yrs due to PCOS! I didn't think conceiving would be easy,but when I was ready,the Lord showed me grace.My son is sleeping on my chest now as I type this.To God be the glory.

36. I just discovered that most of us don't read posts here but only the captions, viam comments will start flowing.

Its a pity.

37. this is sad. 16 year taking birth control pills. not good at all. may God rest her soul