Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Made In Nigeria Goods Trends In Naira Campaign....

Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Made In Nigeria Goods Trends In Naira Campaign....

Culled from BBC.

I think its about time those importing good face made in Nigeria goods,we can make it work if we try and encourage local producers....that sandal up there looks great and can even be exported for sale!

32 comments:

1. I don't think the question is if we are buying NMG4 but if Nigeria can produce enough to take care of the demand,Nigeria is a huge market

1. Some days ago,The Senate president was at the tradefair exhibition which took place at Garki ABJ,and he was commending the locally made products as well..

If only the government can stop pursuing shadows and just give the youths the materials and platform required,then i dont think there is anything that would be needed to be imported in Nigeria..

Naija has A lot of talent when it comes to just anything but the government is refusing to help the creative minds..

@MARTINS ABOY

2. We can build our market. Atleast we have seen that people are willing training others through the IHN. If you have a skill, train someone who will train someone. We have a population of about 150 million citizens. What we need is the will power and determination.

3. That will be nice.
      Just that nigerians are good in producing fake products

4. If an enabling environment is created, Nigeria can produce a lot to meet the demand, only a few things will need to be imported. There are a lot of potentials wasting in this country.

2. Stella I so much admire your passion for naija despite being married 2 a whjte.

1. That will even make her miss naija more and be more passionate. Marrying a white person dsnt mean you forget where you come from biko

2. Bwuhahahhahahahahhaha.......

Sweetie, still feeling dope?

3. Yes Stella, I support d campaign. Its jst dt sometyms it cn be discouraging bcos Naija cn produce substandard goods ehh! So people dt love quality go 2 find it somewhere else. SON and dia various sister bodies should brace up and do dia jobs.

1. They produce substandard goods because number 1. Raw materials aren't purchased in Nigeria

2. They put into consideration the poor which makes up at least over half of the population in Nigeria.. If they make something of good quality it cost a lot of money and people might not be able to afford it. That's not to say that they don't make quality products and I have seen some Nigeria products that last very long..

Even in chine when you ask for price list they give you for 3 qualities. Low quality, economic quality and high quality. Now depends on what you can buy..

Know that China is home for almost every country to make products because of cheap Labour

My problem with all this is the fact that at the end of the day, we can't start in a day to manufacture everything. We don't even make common pencil.. Wools and cottons are also imported for fabrics. Materials for making shows are imported. All manufacturing companies import items to make the products before bringing out the end products. Some manufacturing companies just assemble already made products and just have their names printed on it..

We don't even have a table light to help in all this.

It's a gradual process. Of they have figured common pencil will be produced in 2017 then that means there is is a problem

2. Thank you FAB MUM! I million kisses for you.
      Poster, you forgot to add that the products are quite cheap, if they spoil you buy another one or repair it.
      Gucci shoe can go for like 150k, use that 150k and buy 150pieces of made in naija and let's see who lasts better. You can't compare a shoe of 1k to that of 500k.
      I have bought aba shoes that lasted for 2yrs.

4. We're getting there
    Visit www.mimiubini.com for juicy gist

5. I don't know why we so much detest our own product..... #BuyNaijaToGrowTheNaira

6. Buying our goods is not a problem but we are. We are dubious people and this will be taken for granted. Remember when we used to export rubber? And why we were stopped from exporting it?
    You buy a cup of garri but get half when u get home........we are our problem and we need to change.

1. Every country has fraudulent people..

Try buying a container of something from China and you would see what you would get. You will pay for high quality products and they will end up mixing it for you with low quality products. You have to keep complaining and talking before they will change. Sometimes you have to even change supplier

Oh try ordering something online. Not what you paid for usually get to you. They send something that is of lower quality. Haven't you seen people put up the what I ordered and what I receive post.

This things happen every where

7. I totally agree with Stella. If tge importers face Nigerian made goods, Nigerians will be encouraged to produce more.

8. Some people will not touch a product unless they see Gucci on it. I don't think d problem is patronage,though most don't buy. I think finance should be made available to support local trade so that the quality of products will not only be high,but there will be enough to cater to the large populace and even export.

9. *yinmu!...
    Let rain beat the owner of that sandal and he will know what's up!...
    Abeg all these Aba shoes,bags and cloths no follow..
    Wear at your own risk cos it will surely disgrace you...

1. You are so wrong linda eze. Go to aba now, they have factories with machine that produces cloth and some stuff that you won't even know it's made in Nigeria talk more aba. Most of my foot wears are made here. I just go to the shoe maker, see his designs or I search for designs online and he makes it for me. Truth is, it lasts more than so many imported stuff.

2. Nigerians travel to Dubai to buy Aba things.

10. I think this will encourage the young people to learn handwork

11. No Stells..that sandal looks 'made in Nigeria',lol

Let's encourage our young people..

You young people should strive to use quality materials in manufacturing your products so you are justified at the end of the day...me inclusive

12. They need to be quality enough for me to buy. I personally don't care where it's made as long as it's what I want.
    We can't stop imports, instead things should gradually be put in place to support local industries.

Electricity not constant or not available. Basic roads, train networks and other transportation. We don't have agriculture developed to a point where it can provide the raw materials. We need appropriate technology for indus tries and research . And so much more.

So do we expect people to operate at such high costs of production, knowing fully well that the people cannot afford the selling price?

Most of our products are still made by hand and on such a small scale because of these limitations and many more I'm sure I don't know.

In summary if a nigerian made shoe is as good as a gucci, I will use it.

13. The main issue is the quality of what's being produced.
    They can't stand the test of time.

Let them improve on quality and see if people won't patronise them.

14. If only their Charity will begin at home. The people campaigning will never patronize not to talk of the elites, at the end of the day its only the lower class that would be force to buy. Who is deceiving who?

15. If we can patronize made in Nigeria goods, it generate employment and it will better our economy, some of the things they bring from China are rubbish

16. don't mind buying local if the products we really need are available. besides most are assembled in nigeria, we import most raw materials.