Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Conjoined Twin Girls Allegedly Held To Ransom By Enugu Hospital

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Conjoined Twin Girls Allegedly Held To Ransom By Enugu Hospital

My Beautiful Friend Caroline Danjuma is championing a cause I am interested in...These Conjoined twins need our voices right now..please spread this on until someone powerful intervenes.....

103 comments:

1. #only in Naija can a hospital forcefully kidnap you and insist on operation. They should free the kids. Am sure Caroline husband can single handedly foot their bill for operation abroad.

2. Carolyn danjuma. Pick a battle that you can fight. Who told you that these kids don't need to stay up to nine months before the surgery? Have you seen the MRI scan? How do you know if they are sharing any organ or not. Why didn't you tell us who delivered the mother of the children? Can a quack deliver siamese twins?

Do you know the parents of these kids keep them on roadside to make money from the public? You are talking about a professor that knows his onions.
      For your information, the medical team has the LEGAL right to take decisions concerning a paediatric patient even if the parents refuse because they want to keep using them to make money.
      Do you know how many siamese twins that has been separated in Nigeria by our professors? This particular one on this photo doesn't need rocket science. Do not judge the surgery based on your ignorance. That MRI scan you want to forcefully take, did you send money for it? Can a Nigerian hospital force a US hospital to release patient information through a third party that doesn't know anything about medicine?
      There is a protocol involved in transferring medical information and it is called REFFERAL system. The hospitals must communicate directly or tomorrow Lawyers will sue the hospital for giving out patient information without following the referral system please Sisi Eko, does a doctor have the right to take appropriate decision on a paediatric patient or not.

This is why Nigeria will remain a third world country. Carolyn that has not seen the four walls of the university and oblivion of the Law and medical intelligence will be deceiving the gullible public. Surgeries like kidney and bone marrow transplant has been done successfully in this country, when the Americans abandoned ya all during the Ebola period, did they even believe that Nigerians can contain that virus without foreign help. Do you know how many medical officers that came here to learn what we did? Why didn't you add who has been feeding that family since those kids were born? You twist everything so that you will be seen as a hero. If the hospital indeed want to assist in taking care of these kids, let them follow appropriate procedure and believe me all patients information will be released to them. Meanwhile, why are you hiding the name of the hospital? Nonsense.

3. I think there is more to this story. A professor cannot put her job inline like that.

4. Blood of Jesus!
      End time wicked ppl again?
      Holy Ghost fire consume all of una... wicked doctors

5. Anon 13.47...what's the way out. If the operatiom can be done, why not?

6. Anonymous 13:47. The only intelligent comment , so extensive and covering all loopholes and educating the gullible ones.

Pls forgive them, they write what they don't know out of sheer ignorance.
      Caro kindly educate your self on the subject at hand, the due protocols , patient confidentiality , the meaning of MRI, obviously you don't know the complications of the said ailment
      Plssssssssss save yourself the embarrassment from, those who are professionals and know what this entails.

7. PeOple kip talking about patient confidentiality, if the patient agrees to Information passed to 3rd party, who is the hospital to be ot

8. Stephanie Okereke teamed up with Nigerian Doctors and even bought equipments that has helped to save thousands of women with VVF. Do you know how delicate that surgery is? She didn't call out professors! That is someone that has patients interest at heart.
      Oyibo they know it yet, yet They misdiagnosed Dora Akunyili. This same UNTH told Dora that she had cancer.

9. Anon 13:47 beautifully put, I don't know what is wrong with many blog visitors, here jump into conclusion, condemn without critically analysing what is on ground.

10. Thank you anonymous 13:47. Caro shld go n sitdan.

11. Anon 13:47....well put. Caro got me laffing when she said they want to hand over the case to student drs! How many separation consultants don do b4 SRs sef go see do???

12. Anon;13:47 thank you so much for the information. Caro you see your life ? Now you know that knowledge is power.

13. @anonymous 13.47 Bitch take several seats. People like you are the demons in this country. What have you done for those children you ignorant goat. When last did you check up on them, have you ever smelt the four walks of education local illiterate the stupid fool of her village coming here to insult a woman fighting for the rights of this innocent kids, gosh thenilliteracy in this country is epic, the hatred is real, ur main concern is to spill out trash from your smelling rotten mouth about carol instead of concentrating on how to help those poor kids, illiterates like u are commending your stupidity, I blame your upbringing , you were certainly an used from birth that is why u lack any form of emotions in you, local cheap moron with reptile like finger typing garbage . One doesn't need to be a doctor to see those kids need better help u demented fool. If you were so smart you shld Hv started your own NGO to save those kids but yet your tucked up brainless skull only allows you to think of negative things and nothing fruitful. The person that cursed you is dead . Go kill ur self demon

14. Anonymous 13:47 you are so right. As I read the post I was already coming down here to object to some things she said, only to find your explicit comment.

For the avoidance of doubt...the Federal and state statutes legislating a minor’s right (may be applicable in Nigeria).... to medical confidentiality are often vague, and many times the decision  whether or not to disclose medical information is left to the doctor’s discretion. So you are right dear.

Also, the rather subjective decision as to whether or not consent is informed or transferable rests with the physician. So the doctor is within his rights. Not unless they declare that they can no longer treat the children because they lack the appropriate equipments, protocols must be observed madame Caro. Perhaps the kids parents do not know this, someone should enlighten them so that they do not feel victimized.

15. thank you Caro for speaking up for these people, God bless you ..please don't relent...God bless you and your family. now we need names pictures everthing . .notgong bad must happen to those babies oh. they are not experiments.
      have they thought of uf nepa rakes light during operations...abeg lets donate and send those babies to a top hospital abroad

16. thank you Caro for speaking up for these people, God bless you ..please don't relent...God bless you and your family. now we need names pictures everthing . .notgong bad must happen to those babies oh. they are not experiments.
      have they thought of uf nepa rakes light during operations...abeg lets donate and send those babies to a top hospital abroad

2. Smh at d so called doctors! Isnt it up to the parents to go for surgery or not? Na by force, wanna shine ontop another person's sad story.

1. Stella please kindly send someone to investigate this case. This is how Nigeria will keep forcing Doctors to discard poor patients. I know this woman, she is one of the best/if not the best paediatric surgeon in Africa. They invite her outside Nigeria to perform surgeries with team of Doctors. If she has any serious case, she invites foreign doctors who she has tested and trusted over here to assist her in the surgeries. Inviting the surgeons here is cheaper for the patients in most cases and sometimes saves up to 10million for the patients. She is very very good. She knows good paediatric surgeons all over the world, what does Caro know about surgery? If she had done the right thing Prof will refer them to very good hosp abroad and they will even treat them better since they are coming from her.
      I am sure it is something that can be handled here and so there was no need to refer the patient.
      This is bad, I doubt if she will want to go on with that surgery after all these.

2. What if I would rather have the surgery abroad? Na by force?

3. It is not by force darling. Pay the hospital the money you owe them and carry your nemesis and go. Doctors will still be paid and UNN will not collapse.
      It is your money talking darling. You can't ask for result of medical consultancy you haven't paid a dime for.

4. Anon 19:09, do you even have the money? Why go to UNTH in the first place? They would have gone abroad since nauuuu.

3. That hospital wants to kill the babies. They should go and join rats together and use for their experiment.

I pray they find the necessary help.

Useless hospital.

1. Lols, may God forgive you. Why didn't kill them during delivery. Look at those kids, do they look like people that are suffering in the hosp.
      Look at the quality of the baby's court they are placed. Why don't they snap the surrounding of the hosp if really they are not up to standard.
      How many hospitals in Nigeria has an MRI scan? Which is one one of the most expensive equipments. Go and search your Google.

2. Who are you? Are you from the hospital? The question here is that it is teparents choice who should decide who would operate on their kids. Na by force?

3. Yes,the parents were aware of the preparation of UNTH. Why are they coming out now if ever they were not consulted. Please go to Google and read previous reports on this case and bury your face in shame.

4. Anon 19:10, the child belongs to the state. The chief doctor in the medical team has the right to take the best solution in the patients interest. My consultant has taken a court order before and gave blood transfusion to a child born to Jehova witness parents even when the parents refused.
      If someone wants to take over management,it is never a problem. Follow due process and leave the hospital, no one will stop them.
      Once they start all these Drama then They are OWING and don't want to pay.

5. Exactly what they want to use them babies for, EXPERIMENT! If they succeed, they'd make a name for they useless hospital... My own child again you'll hold hostage in hospital. These folks be sniffing on some cheap cocaine

4. Jesus!...
    My own Enugu?...
    Which hospital is that?...I know one Dr Obiayo in UNTH...
    OMG!...

1. Caroline knows why she didn't want to mention the name of the hosp. Is UNTH not equipped? Yet prof has been separating twins even when I was still a student.

2. Mrs Danjuma next time research well before trying to tarnish ones image with your ignorant desperation to ride on peoples back.

First the womans full name is
      PROF NENE ELSIE AGUGUA-OBIANYO
      A paediatric surgeon.
      She became a professor of paediatric surgery in 1992.
      She was among those that poineered the separation of conjoined twins in Nigeria which she took part in enugu teaching hispital in 1988.
      She also took part in another one in 1993.
      She has presented several papers abroad America, England, Tokyo japan etc on her experience in separation of siamese twins.
      I can go on and on about this woman, A former provost college of medicine enugu.
      And you that have not stepped you foot on 4 walls of college of medicine is there talking trash.
      You are lucky she picked your called by the way who is that damn dr that requested for MRI thru a 3rd party without putting it in writting.
      You know that in medical practice we respect our seniors, that damn dr cannot stand some nigeria consultant let alone a professor of paediatric surgery that has separated individual joined by liver etc.
      You are there shouting as if she is your so called specialist mate.
      You claimed not to have seen the scan and you are questioning the profs decision to operate after one yr. For your info depending on the mri and test result they can delay them for one yr and operate.
      You with your contoversial life want to tarnish the image of someone that train drs and has been practicing for more than 3 decades.
      If you insist tell the parents to go and DAMA and stop your e-rant but note those are in hand of one of the best hands in nigeria and the world and if she cant she would refer but do things right if you think abroad is the solution.

3. Yes o let the parents go and DAMA.ie Discharge (their babies) Against Medical Advice. I believe no hospital can stop them.

4. Bla bla bla... Nothing must happen to those babies or else all this rubbish you are saying won't go no where. Get ready for the worse if the hospital does not do the right thing . Killer doctors in hospitals using children as experiments .

5. Caro I just love ❤ you for this

6. This is so sad. And the longer they are left co-joined, the garder it would be to separate them right? What is the name of this enugu hospital?

1. What do you know about Medicine? So because of that you separate them at two weeks when they haven't had any immunizations or when you haven't completed preliminary tests.
      When they get real bigger is when you have issues. Even common circumcision, why is it not done immediately after birth? Why wait for 2 weeks.
      Ignorance!

2. my son's circumcision was done in the US 2 days after birth and he was ok, they don't have to wait 2 weeks.

3. Is the environment in US the same as Nigeria. In US, did they give your child immunization for TB, measles, Yellow fever,??? Why did you skip immunization???

Do they have the kind of infectious disease we have here? Is their environment as dirty as ours?
      In Nigeria age of fetal viability during pregnancy is 28 weeks, in the US it is 26 weeks while in the UK it is 24weeks. Question that. Do you even know what fetal viability mean? Please don't engage in an argument that is above your class.

4. Why them no do am at first day after birth?

5. Madam, my son's circumcision was also done a day after delivery in US but guess what? I had to do a recircumcision for him in naija at 5months...so stfu

7. Stella contact Toyin Saraki's foundation biko.

8. Why wait till when they're 4months? May favor locate them asap

9. This is scary! Why is the hospital so selfish. Upon all the parents have been through now this? Please they should get legal advise too and anyone who can should pls step in and assist these kids. Gosh-the things we go through as Nigerians.

1. It is only in Nigeria that a doctor will use money from her pocket to save patients and still get cussed out. Look at those kids, who bought clothes for them? Who feeds them? Who's money do they use to do MRI? You all are the reason Hospitals are getting wiser, yet when they refuse to attend to them you will all come here and spew trash.

2. Was that the lie she told you that she was footing the children's bill. This dr must really be a scam

10. What sort of nonsense is this? Why won't they release the twins to their parents? I wonder this sort of rubbish will stop happening in this country.Stella,it's a good thing you got involved.I really hope the people behind this are dealt with.

11. What nonsense is that, why refusing when you guys don't have the right equipment to use for the surgery?

Please the right authorities should assist.

12. See me see trouble, what type of stealing and wickedness is this. Please the hospitaL and its owner should be locked.

13. Ndi mmadu!!!
    It's always all about the money in this country...sigh!

14. My God!!!!
    They want to use the babies for experiment.
    Why are they not co-operating?
    Please save them God.

15. Wickedness...God will keep the babies

16. Enugu hospital una wan use these children do experiment.

17. Can you imagine...... The hospital is taking the piss, are they the parents of the kids?

18. Which hospital pls... Heavens!

19. As in is this a joke? Hospital would hold my children ransom buhahahhahaha! This has to be a joke esp since i ain't owing them jack. Mr n Mrs please sue this hospital for way more than u n3ed for the surgery.

20. It's well. May God see them thru. Stella and Caroline God bless you guys even as you fight for these kids.

21. Where is www.tlc.com @TLC pls come with your cameras and crew. If the Nigerian doctors in Enugu are able to operate pls document and show us everything, we believe in our doctors but we want transparency, show us the evidence that you can be successful with their operation. We want the babies alive that's all.

22. Well done Caro
    God help these beautiful kids .

23. Carol and Stella thank you very much. I hope the children get justice so that they can transferred to the US for the surgery

24. Omg!
    Can somebody explain the cause of things like this? Chai!
    I felt for this kids Oo and I wish them a successful operation carried out by master Jesus ( I do not care if it's done home or abroad) all I care about is a successful operation.

25. How's that even Possible? Like the hospital is claiming rights to these babies?
    Even if the biological Parents are poor don't they have their own voice? I don't get!
    Like can't they walk out with their babies? Unless they owe the hospital bills, even at that the hospital have no right to use them as Lab rats. This is how their story will change, for any medical student that touches those Babies Without due consent the Parents should sue their asses!

1. Ones you go to a teaching hospital you have to deal with that. That's why they are better than others

26. Hmmm I can say anything yet sha cos I don't believe the hospital mean any harm.
    The parents should asked for their girls discharge n pay up their bills cos I don't see y the hospital will keep them if the parents ain't owing
    Who told them the hospital is not equipped?
    Did the parents pay for the said MRI?
    They should carry their babies home na, n I hope all these social media people can help den raise the money these abroad hospital ll charge
    All the best

27. What is happening to this country of ours, while will an hospital want to take this serious risk of doing try your luck on people children, God save us and save this kids

1. Doctors that will operate on them when they go abroad are super heroes right?

28. Pls helper of the helpless, giver of life, intervene sir

29. Lord have mercy!

30. Na wa ooo,if true the hospital should know they stand to lose a lot if something happens to the girls.
    Why they want a glory,when they don't have the adequate equipments for the surgery,is sheer callousness by them.

1. They have no equipment yet you request for the MRI and CT scan they did. Illiterates. An un equipped hospital that has an MRI and CT machines. I guess you think these two machines are like blender and tin cutter in your kitchen.

31. Anon13:47...wow! You are the real MVP!

32. Caroline or whatever you call yourself, Stop seeking for cheap popularity! If truly you are ready to take up this patients care, just simply ask the parents to request discharge against medical advice and you can take them abroad! But asking that a hospital shares a medical record of a patient through a novice third party with another hospital is just cheer ignorance. Mind you, Prof Nene Obianyo has successfully in the past separated conjoined twins in Nigeria who have grown up to adulthood today! Do your research before coming to social media to display your ignorance. She is a Pediatric Surgeon of repute! And world renowned and even the president of West African College of Surgeons! Please choose your battle wisely and respect people who have attained academic excellence that you may probably never reach in your lifetime!

1. Oh!!! My own Nene?!!! World renowned pediatric surgeon? Shut up carolyn whoever you are...case closed

2. Don't mind stupid people. Caro did not do her research well. She must have thought Prof Nene is just any body she can call up on phone and disrespect. Even the twins she separated are older than the whore.

3. Save me that rubbish world renowned surgeon yet babies die literally every week under her care. She has paid her family members to come and comment. Make sure those babies do not die if not una go hear our voice well. God bless Mrs Danjuma

33. there is more to this story. don't be too quick or ignorant to judge the hospital. The parent and hospital need to narrate the whole truth before the public can assist.

34. The only reason why a hospital will refuse to release a patient is if they are owing the hospital! The Hero Caroline, kindly settle these patients bills and take them against medical advice and no one will stop you! Stop spitting ignorance on social media so that people will think you actually want to help. If you want to help these children, you know what to do! Pay Up and take them!

35. For even championing this cause ehn, my God will bless you abundantly Carol.

I really don't know much about this so I'd rather stay out of it. Your generous heart is all I see.

May God replenish the energy and finance you spend on people.

36. Every story av different sides to it. Let's wait for d hospital side b4 crucifying them.

37. Anonymous14:47, hahahahahah. You just finished Carolyn. Hahahahahah and you're right. She shouldn't give the public any information without proof and legal backing. The hospital can withhold a patient on some terms: owing bills or when it's dangerous. The USA hospital cannot be asking for private patient information, it's not done anywhere. The USA hospital is also interested in money and fame. They probably will use their medical students too. The parents want the kids for roadside begging. While Caroline maybe wants some popularity or wants to be some goody goody, knowing that gullible Nigerians will dash her some God bless you prayers. Hahahahah .

Moral of story: every party has its own agenda. And please Nigerians, stop believing everything you hear, without some critical thinking and research. Abeg we are all graduates. Reason before you speak. No sentiments, let's do things that are right, not sympathetic.

1. Don't say what you don't know. America will never use medical students for something this serious

2. Bwahahaha...mumu...dose babies will be examined every second by everybody in any hospital in the world ...that is how you build knowledge which will benefit your next case conjoined twins sho gbo?

38. @ Anon13:47, zillion likes!

39. Mrs Danjuma next time research well before trying to tarnish ones image with your ignorant desperation to ride on peoples back.

First the womans full name is
    PROF NENE ELSIE AGUGUA-OBIANYO
    A paediatric surgeon.
    She became a professor of paediatric surgery in 1992.
    She was among those that poineered the separation of conjoined twins in Nigeria which she took part in enugu teaching hispital in 1988.
    She also took part in another one in 1993.
    She has presented several papers abroad America, England, Tokyo japan etc on her experience in separation of siamese twins.
    I can go on and on about this woman, A former provost college of medicine enugu.
    And you that have not stepped you foot on 4 walls of college of medicine is there talking trash.
    You are lucky she picked your called by the way who is that damn dr that requested for MRI thru a 3rd party without putting it in writting.
    You know that in medical practice we respect our seniors, that damn dr cannot stand some nigeria consultant let alone a professor of paediatric surgery that has separated individual joined by liver etc.
    You are there shouting as if she is your so called specialist mate.
    You claimed not to have seen the scan and you are questioning the profs decision to operate after one yr. For your info depending on the mri and test result they can delay them for one yr and operate.
    You with your contoversial life want to tarnish the image of someone that train drs and has been practicing for more than 3 decades.
    If you insist tell the parents to go and DAMA and stop your e-rant but note those are in hand of one of the best hands in nigeria and the world and if she cant she would refer but do things right if you think abroad is the solution

1. Right now you must really think you just made a lot of sense but your stupidly is so obvious . You must be related to the dr or one of her ass wipes . You have found Guinea pigs to run your practical may the God of heaven prunish you all for trying to kill those innocent babies

40. Caro don vex anon o !! Chimo oooooo . Caro Goan hide . *runs out *.

41. Anonymous 16:53. You nailed it. You said my mind. You must be my colleague. Kisses from here.

42. Blogs will put up whatever rubbish they see to garner views. Madam, do ur research well before you help mad women with hero complexes. Why don't you involve the police if u feel something wrong is being done. U r busy looking for cheap publicity.

43. Blogs will put up whatever rubbish they see to garner views. Madam, do ur research well before you help mad women with hero complexes. Why don't you involve the police if u feel something wrong is being done. U r busy looking for cheap publicity.

1. Exactly. She is calling of big people, why don't she provide solution first before moving them out of the hospital.

44. All these Annonymous commentators using the exact same wordings, I guess you all have the same mother, in fact the same name...... If the parents say they do not want that hospital to operate on their kids, then the hospital does not have the right to keep them there. If a Cat scan or MRI scan has been done on the kids and it is being requested by the parents to be given to an american hospital, the Enugu hospital does not have the right to refuse to do this. If the parents have given Caroline permission to pursue this on their behalf, the hospital has absolutely no right to refuse to hand over these scans to her.
    PROF NENE ELSIE AGUGUA-OBIANYO might be a brilliant surgeon, but it does not give her the right to highjack someone's babies and decided she and she alone will operate on them.
    As for that ignorant fool saying because a hospital has a Cat scan machine and MRI machine, they are fully eqquiped to operate on co-joined twins - why don't you shut your mouth up and go do your own research. There are lots of hospitals in America and the other western countries with cat scanners and mri machines but they would not claim to have the necessary equipment to separate co-joined twins. This is surgery that could take 8-20 hours and in Nigeria with our electricity situation, who knows what could happen during surgery. If it was your kids in this situation and you have the chance for them to be taken abroad, are you telling me you will insist you want them operated on in Nigeria. Do you realize that no two cases of co-joined twins are the same, the risk associated with each separation depends on the shared organs. If you feel PROF NENE ELSIE AGUGUA-OBIANYO has the right to sharpen her skills on these twins simply because she has done a few and she is an eminent professor, I shall pray for you all to have your own co-joined twins whom you can hand over for her to separate. In the meantime, I would suggest people show more interest in what exactly the parents of these kids want done and less interest in what these sterling surgeon has decided is in the best interest of the kids.

1. Let me address you right away! Conjoined twin is not a very common condition in western countries! I have practiced in the US for 15 years now and have not seen a single case because when they are detected antenatally they are usually gotten rid of! Such conditions are more common in developing countries and from my research Prof Obianyo has participated in seperating tons of such twins! They actually did one in UNTH in the 80's and she was part of that team. I also found out that she gets invited to take part in such surgeries all over the world. Most western hospitals are better equipped to handle such surgeries but they lack the technical know how because it is not a common condition over here. What they do is invite experts from countries that see the condition often and people who do such surgeries often to be a part of the team! Like I told you, Prof Obianyo has been invited numerously for such outside the country and please never ever discredit such a brilliant professor. Caroline was wrong to come talk about Prof on social media, that is disrespecting a woman that has earned the respect of tons of physicians the world over! What effort did Caroline make before going on social media because the only reference she made is that she spoke to a certain professor. What even gave her the guts to call Prof! Where has respect gone in Nigeria? Has she made attempt to go see this prof and settle the bills I assume must have piled up? Let's refrain from this attitude of thinking that once I go to social media, they will crucify her! Mind you there are still well thinking Nigerians that just don't reason from their anus! Caroline Danjuma in my opinion is just an ant to even stand Prof Obianyo in all ramifications of life!! Money will never buy you all those years of real hardwork, self development, research and astounding success in pediatric surgery!

2. Thank you!!!