Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Jails Secondary School Leaver 37 Years For Duping American $40m

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Court Jails Secondary School Leaver 37 Years For Duping American $40m

Justice Lateef Lawal Akapo of a Lagos High Court sitting in Ikeja on Wednesday convicted a 19-year old secondary school leaver, Tobechukwu Igbokwe and sentenced him to 37years imprisonment for defrauding an American, a sum of $40million( Forty Million United States Dollars) in an inheritance scam.

The convict was arraigned before the court on a 12- count charge bordering on forgery, conspiracy and obtaining money by false pretences. Justice Akapo found him guilty on all 12-counts and sentenced him accordingly. He was sentenced to 7 years on counts 1-8; 8years on count 9; 7years on count 10, 8years on count 11 and 7 years on count 12, making a cumulative of 37years imprisonment.

The sentence is to run concurrently with effect from October 28, 2013. The court also ordered Igbokwe to return the $40million as a restitution to the victim and forfeit a Toyota Corolla car, which is a proceed of the crime, to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

Igbokwe was arraigned on Monday, October 28, 2013 and pleaded not guilty to the 12-count charges pressed against him. He later changed his plea to “guilty” and was convicted by Justice Akapo accordingly.

Before the conviction, the prosecuting counsel, Kayode Oni tendered various exhibits before the court which were all admitted and marked as such. However, defence counsel, D. A. Omougbai prayed the court to temper justice with mercy, since Igbokwe has shown enough remorse for the offences he committed.
Tobechukwu Igbokwe (Alias David Prince) and his accomplice, Ifeanyi Obi were alleged to have duped an American: M. Silva, the sum of $40million in an inheritance scam. Silva was made to believe that Igbokwe and his accomplice had a huge inheritance which they wanted to move to a foreign account for safe-keeping.

The victim was asked to send money to “process” the transfer and in the process, he wired $40m in several instalments through Western Union to Igbokwe.
Igbokwe also confessed that he had duped other foreigners. Some of them are: T. Bedwell, $6,000 and R. Hunt $15,000.

Naija247news cullage.

*Hmmmm...so why would someone send so much money to people he doesnt know if he too didnt have an agenda?I dont understand!
As for the culprits...What a pity,this is a case of wasted intelligence!
WASTED.....WHAT A PITY!

32 comments:

1. 40 wetin? Could this be jazz at work? White people sha.

1. Hehe
      Mrs korks d donjazzi mama....
      End time thief giv end time thief collect am

2. That why you need to do proper research on stories gotten it's just 8 years imprisonment because it's to run concurrently.

2. How many times we go tell una wetin concurrently mean? 37 years my ass.

1. He's goin to spend 8years since d terms run concurrently..9 months make a year in d prison ,so dats like 6 years + his age,19.by 25 he's out..I hope he has a huge portionof d money stashed away somwia,he'l have enuff time in d prison to plan how to spend or invest his loot

2. "Sentence effective from 2013" dat means he has 3 years to go...if he still has d money,heshld just go and rest for d next 3 years

3. Sebi they will not assign Dasuki and. Cohorts case to Justice Akapo so they they can be sentenced to 85 "cumulative" yet instead of one judge that will give them 3 concurrent yrs.

4. All this our yahoo boys sef...why dupe Pple with so much cash??? Ask them for something very little and they won't even bother

5. Yahoo yahoo busted. A wasted intelligence indeed!!

6. It is only foolish and greedy people that gets swindled all the time.
    On

7. 19 year old duped someone of 40milla? Jesu!!! Say what!!! Ok. So he'll be 38 years old when he'll be freed? Wasted youth

8. 37 years is too much now...ahn ahn...d guy will b old by the time he is out.....BTW theres no work today in RiversState......im so at home. ThiS is bliss....Wike God will bless u for me

491 comment 2016

9. 419 tinz. The funniest part of this business is that the parties involved have criminal elements in them but only the smartest will out- smart the other. His intelligence was channelled negatively.

10. 2 points...1. To reiterate Stella's last point. Those Americans who became victims are mega thieves themselves! The U.S. (and other countries) need to pass a counter law on their end to have those who engage in it prosecuted! Secondly, not to condone what this boy did o...but it's amazing the alacrity at which judgement is passed when the common man commits a crime, whereas our esteemed leaders who should know better are allowed to "return" said stolen funds, or you never hear of the case again. Na wa for naija...smh!

11. So who exactly is the 19 year old in the picture above?

You did not state when this crime took place. Let us assume it was even 2013,(it can't be since it takes several months for the money to be sent in etc) are you saying the 19 year old was 16 years old at that time at the crime was committed?

I just wish some of you bloggers would think before rushing to copy and paste stories.

If a story doesn't make sense, why bother to copy and paste?

12. They had an Inheritance which dey wanted to move to a foreign account for safe-keeping.and the oyibo man,M Silva sent 40M Dollars.As in Dollars!

Biko how much was this Inheritance????

*whistling*
    Oyibo Man I go chop ur dollar
    I be d Master
    You be be the Mugu
    Na me be the Master oooo.....

13. sentence effective from 2013. Abi I didn't read well? Ok o. They should hang him already than this infinity sentence. And to the defrauded, it's greed that will finish people like you. As much as I don't support Internet scam(yahoo), the victims are just senseless.

14. This guy try very much. How did he do it. 19 years secondary school leavers can carry this, that means Nigerians are very intelligent. Oh boy i give you hand.

sorry ooo you will be 54 years when you come out.

15. And what happens to our politicians?
    That justice is very wicked.
    The person sending the money is so foolish n should even go to jail 4 being ds foolish..........see what excess money is causing.
    Whites can be daft at times

16. Nineteen year old. I wonder what he'd have developed into if he hadn't been apprehended.

Anyhow, for men having bedroom problems, you can finally begin to last as long as you want in bed. Click here for natural solution to quick ejaculation.

17. The guy at the left with wearing something like a uniform isnt 19 years... we grew up together in Festac Town. He attended Ambassadors college in Festac Town. He has been into this runs from 2002 when we finished secondary school. He can lie for Africa... i know this because he was NEXT DOOR NEIGHBOUR.

Am shocked they are just catching him now.... nigga has been in the game for years. he is my age mate, 32 years....and his real name is FRANCIS

18. Leave him alone. The white man was foolish...How about dasuki and the rest walking gallantly for hearing and getting bailed. Cursed country

19. olori western union17 March 2016 at 10:09

This is just too much, what rubbish!!
    What people fail to understand is that the victims are also very greedy....
    Our politicians loot billions of naira and go Scott free, but they have to sentence this poor guy to 37 years imprisonment? Wooow
    Stupidity at its peak

20. The 419 people present themselves as expats too in reputable companies or in government. They had data pages and all other document to verify their claim.

21. I've always said that this is a blog of illiterate. The highest your minds can assimilate are 4 letter words.

Go and ask someone with some sense the meaning of 'concurrent'.
    Mtsheww.

22. This our country with misplaced priority..politicians keep stealingand looting our country Of billions and going scot free. Now someone takes moneyfrom someone in another country and is sentenced to 37 years??? Isn't this outrageous? Na una money he steal? It's only yahoo boys and common thieves u guys pursue.. politician that are the real theives destroying the country u guys are looking atthem... the justice system of our country is dead and buried..ihave never heard of any politician that served jail sentence for looting in dis country. They always go scot free.. we are all humans and deserve equal justice..someone will steal 500 naira and be jailed for 50 years or stoned to death and anotherwill steal 5billion dollars and be made to pay bail of 100k or 1million.. I just shake my head for this country

23. Where are those that like to insult Yorubas on every post? I see they're quiet here.