Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Searches Badeh’s House And Recovers $1m Cash

Monday, March 07, 2016

EFCC Searches Badeh’s House And Recovers $1m Cash

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has recovered $1m cash from one of the houses belonging to the immediate past Chief of Defence Staff, Air Chief Marshal Alex Badeh(retd.)...

Punch correspondent learnt the money was recovered after detectives searched a mansion located at 6, Ogun River Street, Maitama, Abuja.
A detective at the EFCC, who did not want his name in print, said, “We have seized several properties belonging to Badeh. A few days ago, we returned to the mansion located at 6, Ogun River Street, Maitama.

“In the presence of several witnesses, including neighbours, we searched the house and recovered $1m in cash. The money has been lodged as evidence.”

When Punch correspondent visited the mansion on Sunday, the EFCC seal was seen on the gate, with the warning, ‘EFCC, Keep off!” written all over the fence.

The property, which is said to be worth over N1.1bn, is one of the five properties seized from the ex-defence chief.
Some of the properties were said to have been purchased, renovated and furnished for a son of the former CDS, Alex Badeh (Jnr.).

Badeh also allegedly bought a commercial plot of land at Plot 1386, Oda Crescent, Cadastral Zone A07, Wuse II, Abuja for N650m.
They were said to have paid N878m for the construction of a shopping mall at Plot 1386, Oda Crescent, Cadastral Zone A07, Wuse II, Abuja, and another sum of N304m to complete the construction.
The anti-graft agency also accused them of paying N260m to purchase a duplex at No. 19 Kumasi Crescent, Wuse II, Abuja, for Badeh’s son.
The sum of N60m was said to have been paid for the renovation of the property and another N90m to furnish the property.
The retired Air Force officer also allegedly paid N330m to one Honourable Bature to purchase a duplex at No. 14 Adzope Crescent, Off Kumasi Crescent, Wuse II, Abuja.

They were also accused of paying N240m to Rabiu Isyaku Rabiu to buy a semi-detached duplex at No. 8A Embu Street, by Sigma Apartment, Wuse II, Abuja.
They also allegedly renovated a private property at No. 2, Nelson Mandela Street, Asokoro, Abuja, with N62m.

In the charges, signed by EFCC’s Deputy Director, Legal and Prosecution Department, Aliyu Yusuf, the anti-graft agency alleged that Badeh removed the sum of N3.9bn from the accounts of the Nigerian Air Force.
But Badeh had, last week, denied ownership of the properties seized by the anti-graft agency.Badeh, who has remained in the EFCC custody since February 8, has been charged along with a firm, Iyalikam Nigeria Limited, before Justice Okon Abang of the Federal High Court in Abuja.

He is set to appear in court today Monday.

*They always deny ownership!...I wonder who these monies and properties will go to after they seize them....We know he will walk free like Metuh and the others,we know!.....In Nigeria the law works alright but it only works with the poor folks..Mscheeeew!

27 comments:

1. Hunnie;What exactly are u trying to say??? pls if u must use English ,then let it be explicit otherwise learn french,it's cheaper esp for chronic know nothings (ckn) like yourself

2. Queen Linda Eze same as Sexiest Mother shut your trap and watch first do you work in EFCC?

2. All these monies they are mentioning, where do they always keep it? Nawa o. N Naija are still crying for money.

3. A EFCC detective did not want his name in print? How sway
    Pictures or I don't believe

1. Even with pictures, I still don't believe

Lie lie EFCC

2. Na APC propaganda

3. "A EFCC...."

Go learn how to write before becoming a defender in this team!

4. This is why properties are so expensive for the ordinary non-looting citizen.

Just imagine the millions and buildings in choice areas...

They are even too dumb to steal!

5. We have heard how it started let's watch if we can see to the end. NIGER go better

6. Hi everyone please I need a handheld machine,if u sell or knows anyone that sells pls reply .
    Location is Abuja ; mararaba/Nyanya or any closer place thx .

7. Jeez!! Every now and then, Efcc recovers money here and there. Pls we tired of this stories now and then. The government should give it citizenry the basic needs of live. Poor electricity, high bills for services not rendered, poor health care system, poor minimum wage, etc. I am personally tired of this propaganda by the present administration. Am glad you are recovering money, but your governance has no positive impact on the masses

8. My dear, why will u brand it a lie from EFCC, there are proof which are being reeled out and yet you question its authenticity. Its really painful how this people bleeded Nigeria

9. Ole burukus in high places, una cup go full one day.

10. Sha don't come and show us pics of cash gotten from mexico

1. Abi o like d last time Mexico money in blue drums. APC members got no shame.

11. If he is denying ownership then she should be taken to court ASAP to prove the properties are his and not releasing figures and properties list to the media.

I read badehs memo last week and I think all this media trial should stop. Take them to court immediately and stop detaining them unlawfully. Prove what you have to prove and let their sentence start already or let them walk if they are innocent

12. How many $1m dis they recover?
    Is this different or the same recovered in a soak away pit?

But these people get mind o. They prefer to watch the country crumble than to utilise the monies for what it's meant for?

It will be well.

13. If they are sure, why wont they put their names in print? EFCC make una sofrey sofrey dey lie for this country