Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: RE- When Plagiarism Becomes The Cancer Of Blogging...

Friday, March 11, 2016

RE- When Plagiarism Becomes The Cancer Of Blogging...

The Only reason i am addressing this is because my name is mentioned and I need once again to clear that air.......

Let me state here that the photos were sent to me by someone who claims they took the photos and I did not put my water mark on them.
I only put my watermark on stuff i am sure  is exclusive or when i am breaking the story or photo.I can only speak for myself,perhaps the others you mentioned fell victim of same thing- being sent.

As a trained Journalist,I know how bad it hurts when someone steals your work and doesnt give credit for it.I have been a victim,and i am still a victim
However, I APOLOGISE FOR THIS.
I will be more careful from now on and urge you to please stop mentioning my name from now on 
in any post that has to do with stealing peoples work.I try my best to give credit and i try my damn best to get my original content.this blog does not STEAL OTHER PEOPLES HARD WORK.
Once again,I apologise for the error and will bring down that post if i get a mail stating so.
On a second thought,Instead of this embarrassing call out,you could have done us all a mail asking to be mentioned as source of photos!
I hope this calms you down?
And the name calling?That was so not Necessary but its okay,I understand!

108 comments:

1. Long S E R M O N

@SHB

1. All this epistle just because of pix...
      Mtcheeeeeewwwww

2. Stella, you are a very intelligent and smart woman. It is good you did apologise and reiterated the fact that almost every blogger has been a victim of PLAGIARISM. Now,to most of you that argued that other road users must have taken the pictures,,,it is NOT possible that two independent devices would capture an image in an exact angle,quality,and other objects at the same angle except they are standing inside each other and the cameras have same settings and megapixels.
      A picture can be analysed you know, there are photo specialists that can analysed so called independent pictures and tell you that they are all the same.
      Facebook may not have copyright policy attached on pictures but you cannot now go and lift his own write up on facebook plus comments on his page and claim that it is yours.

I feels that his call out should have been more professional, a mail or something would suffice and another necessary actions if the corrections were rebuffed.

All that being said, there is NO man that would ever be happy for others to take credit or shine from his initiative or sweat. I have once made a diagnosis on a patient but my overzealous colleague was quick to take credits from our consultant while I was running around to gather materials for the patient to have an emergency life saving surgery. Till I left the hospital, my consultant treated this Doctor with so much respect and bias because that diagnosis saved our department from problems. Just that singular act, imagine if there was a political appointment and he was to chose between both of us.
      I felt bad but there was no way I could have gone to start dragging diagnosis when I wasn't at the place when the guy took the credits. However,my joy is eternal springing from the fact that my patient survived.
      In summary, monkey dey work baboon dey chop should not even be our portion.

3. They shouldn't mention your name but you can mention people on your blog. Oshi

4. Anon, 11.49, I like you, you are smart

5. Hmmm...to think that some people watermarked the picture knowing fully well that it isn't exclusive to them? I can understand those who reposted without water marking it.

C'mon...this is embarrassing

2. I don't understand. Is Stella apologizing or reposting Linda ikejis apology?
    Who understands this post Abeg help !

1. You must be dull. Jeeeeezzzz! Please what don't you understand in this post? As simple and straight forward as it is. I shame on your behalf

2. Stella is apologizing for herself, because the original owner is accusing them for taking credit for his work. Moreover Stella state she received the story from a BV, and she did not put her watermark because it was not her exclusive post.

3. Do you understand anything at all?

What do you use your brain for apart from insulting people like a virus? Dullard. Abeg go back to night school.

4. Thanks @angel O. Chukwu Gozie gi.

1. Pls wherr is sdk's name? Too tiny to read all.anyways,he was d only one that thread that same road all through the time the man was there or what????

1. Y is he advertising his blog na

2. People wey dey write like this can wicked ehn.. Lmaooo. They will drag any matter with you no matter how minute.. but eh, I understand his grouse though.

5. Hmmm..wasnt this picture taken in traffic? Was he the only one driving through the traffic? Couldn't another commuter have seen Pastor Paul and also taken pictures of him? Is this article just to garner sympathy while throwing shade at other bloggers? Just different questions in my head...anyway sorry bros.

1. But others didn't take the picture and upload it. What will stop you from acknowledging you got the pictures off someone's FB page? It's his 'work' and Stella is right to apologise. #CaseClosed

2. I tire o. Someone else could've taken pictures too. Abi he has exclusive right to camera or camera phone too??? Abegi

3. Jessy ur head is there o Jare! @"stella apology for what? Was he d only person in traffic ni? Or where other comuters sleeping? Kunle u r a skinny fool, just trying to gather pple to his blog, stella this now looks like a Linda call out #endthebeef #liftafellowwoman

4. I wonder!!! I was abt to say same thing..how is it possible u would be d only one that took pictures when a whole Adeferasin is controlling traffic??? U think say na only u sabi d pastor??? So many articles on fb is usually copy and paste,cos i saw same picture on almost all d group i belong on fb,so how are d bloggers to know u are d original source,assuming no one else also took pictures of the pastor in the traffic? U would ve uploaded and watermarked on ur website. This way,when they "steal"it,everyone will know it originally came frm u..it's a dog eat dog out there and everyone is trying to survive. Sorry ooo

5. Good points you raised. In the end, I read the story on sdk blog.

6. OK let me play the devil's advocate for a minute.

What if Pastor Paul in turn decides to slam him for unduly taking his pictures to publish online without his consent too? How about that? Uhm?lol

OK bye

6. You've done well by setting the records straight.

Hopefully, Mr kunle olabode will put the matter to bed.

7. Way to go Stells. Taking responsibility for your action & apologising is a good move. Impressive.

8. Abeg too long an essay. I need light to iron my clothes. Instead of fighting, channel your power to tackle Lagos state government for failure

9. This comment has been removed by the author.

10. This Kunle Olabode is attention hungry. Piss. Off guy

1. Shut up brain dead as licker. Say it as it is. Good on u Stella for owning up. Do better in future.

11. Y dis person dey cry na, stella aabegg no mind am, e dey pain am say no body am.

12. This is nothing but a hungry yoruba man's rant.
    Oga, why didn't you put your water marks on the pics? Abi Facebook na your property?

1. Lol.. u are mean

2. Lol.. u are mean

3. Stupid money maker, stop displaying your stupidity online

4. You are just a nuisance. God himself knows

13. Stella,you are giving this person an attention...
    Learn to start ignoring some call outs mehn..this piece does not worth a post...

14. Go and read Facebook laws. You have no copyright over any pictures you post on Facebook. Nyash down

15. I understand how you feel man but come to think about it.. the picture was on your Facebook wall not on your blog, mind you we have so many friends on Facebook,
    Don't you think someone on your list might have lifted the pics and circulated it on his/her wall thus it went viral which is very normal..

Now I see how you indirectly advertised you blog don't worry this will earn you traffic.

16. And u were d only person who saw him trying to ease d traffic abi?? Oga abeg take a chill pill cos I did too.

17. Stella dnt worry ur big head over dis issue the guy only wants his 5mins of fame and u have given him, case closed.

18. And u were d only person who saw him trying to ease d traffic abi??? Oga abeg take a chill pill cos I saw him too

19. Wrong is wrong andd right is right, mr kunle have the right to be angry. Weldone stella for apologising.

20. We will visit your blog...#hastag

21. If he isn't guilty of such then we can throw stones, most bloggers re guilty including him. Mitcheew

1. Don't mind him...like he never copied and pasted anyone's story before.. Failed blogger looking for 5mins of fame.

22. This is the issue with "technology", "social media" and plagiarism.

It's so annoying when I see useful materials online but I can't use them for academics because it's from an "unknown source".

Young man, I understand how you feel and of course, you have the right to feel that way...

But how can this even be curbed?

23. Yorubas like complaining I have noticed it, oya chop your pictures and when you die take your pictures to your grave, its a short life no need hating complaining and dragging things

24. Naaawaaoo! Well I'm glad you acknowledged your fault @ Stella and apologised. I dislike plagiarism in any form. Peace Out!!!

1. Stella had no fault here

Facebook clearly states that you have no copyright over any picture you post on Facebook. If Stella took it from his blog it would have been a different issue

Then again pastor Paul was navigating traffic on a popular road, it's very possible other saw him too and took pictures of him and sent to blog or was the road not busy enough and weren't people passing by

Thirdly he should go and sit down please and stop making noise up and down over little things. Everyone wants to complain about plagiarism

2. Funny thing is the guy thinks that the picture earned bloggers money by way of traffic.. nah. While I know that Pastor Paul is a personality worthy of mention or attention, I however do not think that this particular pic was a buzz as he's making it seem. As though somebody got an award or got paid for blogging the picture. Nonetheless I think that those who watermarked it are day light robbers. Loll

25. I love u Stella....Kunle sorry she has apologised and Stella i feel your sincerity

423 comment 2016

26. Even when you don't,we remind you. You don't plagiarize. You didn't water mark d pics either but Linda did. When pics are sent,you state and when it's an exclusive you state. Na all these overzealous peeps wey go send one pic to multiple blogs. No vexs o mr kunle.... I wouldn't know y adefarasin controlling traffic is news anyway.

27. Bia bros, all this long story becos they did not give you credit for your "awesome journalism". Four or five lines will have gotten ur message across. Ok, ndo o. Bloggers biko, u have heard the man eh, next time, biko credit him o. U know his story was breaking news.

28. Some languages are just lazy and shameless on top of it.
    What is "some people's hardwork" about snapping pics on a Lagos main road and putting it on Facebook.
    It is not like someone invented a drug for HIV or a car that runs on water here.

29. olori western union11 March 2016 at 10:08

See as Stella just give this man unnecessary attention
    Mtsheeew!!

30. I once did an assignment ,just small thing i copied from google ,i was sent an email that all my assignment been cancelled based on plagiarism.stella good you apologised kudos

31. Sum1 will think he took pics of location of chibok girls. Sorry wont still visit ur dead blog. Besides u uploaded d pic on social media where things go viral so shutup idiot

32. It good you took to corrections at the same time it will only make you popular more...

33. Ok. So now we know where you blog. Knowing is one thing tho and opening it is another.

34. @SKD: You have just been scammed! The guy just used you to gain publicity and possibly drive traffic to his "dead blog". A simple apology should have sufficed.
    Word of advice: Next time, just email an apology and post a screen shot of your email.

1. SKD- Stella korkus dimoko?

Kikikiki!

2. If he didn't communicate his grievance to her via email,.then he doesn't deserve that privilege my dear.
      This sort of guy would have screen grabbed the email and posted it, just to make it seem like Stella is scared and is begging him codedly. I think this pattern is better jare

35. Stella biko sharrap. U like to claim u are this and that. U ain't shit! Thief. If u like approve or not. As long u don read am, good enough for me.

36. I honestly do not understand this fame tasty human being of a man. you saw someone in traffic, too a pix of him and posted it on Facebook without his permission. O fine, was the road meant for you along to drive through that no one else recognized him and also too pix of him or you think you are the only one who could have taken pix of pastor Paul? did you even take permission from the pastor before taking pix of him? is Facebook not for everyone? my dear you are so baseless and so jobless. You are just an opportunist looking for means to promote your blog but this is a wrong way cos i wont even waste my free MB to visit such blog.

Stella you really get time to dey reply such nonsense and baseless accusation, make i just cool down before i type 100 page on-top this rubbish story.

NEXT PLZzzzzzzzzzzz

1. You are the only person who shares my view on the angle that he also didn't seek permission from the pastor before he took his pic and posted it. C'est fini.

37. You should've removed where he puts his website. Plagiarism isn't good tho

Sterra apologised because she knows what plagiarism is or can cause.

Plagiarism can never stop as far as we have facebook, whatsapp, etc esp whatsapp.

Next post pls

38. Go and read up facebook law,there is nothing like having ownership on any post. Besides it was not on your blog that the post was lifted.And how are you sure you are the only one that took the pictures since it was on a holdup??Anyway stella nice move for appologizing and oga facebook is not your house.

39. Stella

I love this post of yours and your honest apology and also how you've handled the issue raised by the dude.

I am one of your hard critics but for this I keep you thumbs up.

40. This man is PAINED over some other things not just about this error.
    Sorry Mr Kunle, accept the apology. But the way you took it is all shades of wrong.

Next time hit their mail box.

41. seen, you are indirectly trying to attract attention your blog. for that reason, I WON'T BE VISITING YOUR BLOG. Were you the only one driving on that road that day and why would you think your were the only one that took pictures of Pastor Adefarasin while managing the traffic situation? Go and sit down my friend!!!

42. Mr kunle, were you the only one in the traffic or the one person with a device to snap
    The only person guilty here is the one who copy your text

E pele sir atleast you got an apology from good lady Stella. Next time put a stamp on your work

43. Bros, it was on your facebook wall. Next time put your own watermark. But someone for don take pictures from the same angle too. Hehehe. Stella you get time to apologise, Linda no get that kain time. If the guy like e go knack head for wall where she de. Lol. Not like it was lifted from his so-called blog.

44. How have i just been scammed?SMH

Did he ask me to do this post?if he gets traffic from this fine but let us see how many original material he is able to post that has no one elses work...or maybe he stands 24/7 in traffic snapping celebs...hissss!

make he take any traffic he get,I wish him well.

45. Abeg make he go sit down jare.
    Meanwhile I haven't even heard about his blog before
    He needs fame and traffic

46. Bros deh use style advertise him blog

47. HA! SEE ME SEE TROUBLE OH! THIS LONG STORY ON TOP OF SMALL MATTER.

SAY PERSON TAKE YOUR WORK NO GIVE YOU CREDIT NA HIM WARRANT ALL THIS SO LONG A LETTER - YOU TRY MY BROTHER.

I GOT BORED READING THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER AGAIN THAT I HAD TO STOP READING. IN MY OWN OPINION, THE GUY JUST WANTS TO USE THIS ONE TIME GOLDEN OPPORTUNITY TO GET PEOPLE TO READ HIS BLOG... ABI NA ONLY ME SEE WHERE HIM ADVERTISE HIM BLOG?

PEOPLE JUST WAIT FOR YOU TO MAKE THAT MAKE AND THAT IS FINAL. NIJA AND SHARPNESS SINCE 1960.

48. Too much literature, making little sense.

49. See English, Queen of this blog?

''Stella,you are giving this person an attention...
    Learn to start ignoring some call outs mehn..this piece does not worth a post ''

CORRECT ENGLISH.......
    ''Stella,you are giving this person attention...
    Learn to start ignoring some call outs mehn..this piece ''IS'' not worth a post ''

Are you sure you and the illiterate student Sexiet mum are not sister's. Please you people shld go back to primary school. Go and learn Nouns, past tense, when to use A and AN,learn how to construct sentences. Did they marry you off like sexiest mum before you completed your education. Is ur hubby yet to send you to school as promised. Now I see clearly ur lack of education and exposure.
    The only thing you lay claim to is marriage and ur hubbys riches,which is just above the poverty line of where I stay.

kisses
    Sarah iyawo omo igo said so..........

50. My question is why didn't the guy post the so called pix on his blog and watermark it, he is just looking for cheap popularity by mentioning the well known bloggers, the last I checked, neither Linda nor Stella watermarked that picture. Beside he posted the picture on Facebook, he should go read Facebook law first before yearning dust, it was on Facebook and they don't need your damn permission to use.

51. My question is why didn't the guy post the so called pix on his blog and watermark it, he is just looking for cheap popularity by mentioning the well known bloggers, the last I checked, Stella didn't watermarked that picture. Even if she did, why didn't you put your own watermark and post on your blog.Beside he posted the picture on Facebook, he should go read Facebook law first before yearning dust, it was on Facebook and they don't need your damn permission to use, someone definitely sent the picture to each of them, that person could even be you.

52. Stells of life, i love ur humility, God bless u n make u bigger. Av bin observer on dis blogger n i tot its time to start commenting. Pls make una wlc me wit love o