Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Youth Inclusion in Governance and Developing Africa by Osasu Igbinedion

Tuesday, March 01, 2016

Youth Inclusion in Governance and Developing Africa by Osasu Igbinedion

According to the United Nations Population Division, in 2015 there were 1.2 billion youth in the world ages 15-24. 226 million of this age group lives in Africa, accounting for 19% of the global youth population.

In the past decade we have seen an emergence of young people in politics, all over the world. We need not look far, as neighbouring African countries such as Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and many more have Ambassadors, Senators and Governors 35 years old and below.

On The Osasu Show, which is my weekly television programme that focuses on sustainable development in Africa, predominantly Nigeria, I interviewed Kenya’s permanent representative to the United Nations, Ambassador Yvonne Khamati who was only 22 years old when she was appointed to the East African Parliament. This was quite a revealing interview. Here is what she had to say about Youth Inclusion in Governance and Developing Africa

11 comments:

1. This Osasu should go and sit down. Na so e dey start.
    Next she will join politics and steal like her condemned father.

1. For once I agree with you. They are always good until they enter office and start stealing money.

2. I am so proud of Osasu and her accomplishments. In such a short time, she has welcomed big wigs on her show, from governors to party chairmen. I can't even hate on this young lady, well done.

3. Osasu is such a ligt to this world, may God continue to bless her and may The Osasu Show continue to grow from grace to grace.

4. This is the type of thing I like to see children from rich homes do, not to be snapping picture of designer bags fro instagram. Osasu na beta pesin! carry go!

5. To be honest with you when she started this show I was a bit skeptical. Another rich kid has started a hobby woohoo.. however over the past year i've watched her growth and dedication to the program and she only seems to be getting better, gaining more audience, impacting more lives, thus showing her commitment. I read on her twitter the other day that the Osasu Show is turning one year old soon and it just goes to show this is more than a hobby for her, Osasu is really hardworking and I know God will reward her for her effort. Sorry for the long post but it just goes to show it is not good to judge anyone before you get to know them.

6. Anonymous-es without blog ID. Her friends? Oschisco