Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: LUTH Accused Of Negligence Resulting In The Death Of A Mother Of Four #JusticeForNgoziUdebu

Wednesday, April 06, 2016

LUTH Accused Of Negligence Resulting In The Death Of A Mother Of Four #JusticeForNgoziUdebu

What a pity!

Friday, March 25th, 2016 was Good Friday. Therefore, it was normal for Mr. Ausbet Udebu and his family, who are dedicated Catholics, to spend the day in
prayer. It is a known fact that on Good Fridays, Catholic Churches the world over re-enact the suffering and crucifixion of Jesus Christ known as the 'Good Friday procession'. 

Mr. Ausbet Udebu and his family joined the Good Friday procession which took off from St Paul's Catholic Church, Oyingbo, Ebute Metta, Lagos to end at St. Dominic’s Catholic Church, Yaba, Lagos (where the Udebus worship). Thereafter, they proceeded to join in the celebration of Good Friday.

Afterwards, the family (Mrs. Ngozi Udebu and her four daughters) left the church for home, but without Mr. Udebu, who works voluntarily as a traffic marshal at their parish.Christabelle, the first child, called him on the phone saying that her mum was complaining of terrible abdominal pain. She was observing her monthly cycle which is usually managed with medications to reduce the pain. Mr. Udebu rushed back home and noticed that the pain was beyond the regular menstrual pain. He quickly rushed her to a private hospital where the doctor on duty examined her and referred them to the Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH) for further diagnosis and treatment. 

The Udebus got to LUTH at about 9pm with Mrs. Udebu writhing in pain which was apparently a case of a medical emergency. He was asked if he was registered with the hospital, he answered in the affirmative but could not remember his family's registration number. He was told he had to get a new one. While this extremely slow procedure was being executed, his wife was left unattended to in her excruciatingly painful condition.

Mrs. Udebu underwent some tests/scan and the results were ready before 7am the next morning. Mr. Udebu took the results to the pool of doctors, but he was asked to wait until the doctors are ready for the ward rounds. After about 90 minutes, a doctor finally turned up, checked her and confirmed she was stable except that the scan revealed some trace of ulcer. The doctor prescribed Gascol and an injection which were not readily available at LUTH!!! Mr. Udebu quickly rushed to buy the prescription outside the hospital premises which he luckily got. This took about an hour.

After administering the drug and injection, Mrs. Udebu had no visible relief. The doctor then prescribed another brand of injection called IV NEXIUM. Again, Mr. Udebu quickly rushed out to buy the injection. TALK OF A GOVERNMENT HOSPITAL WHERE THE PATIENTS ARE MADE TO PURCHASE EVERYTHING WHILE PRECIOUS TIME THAT WOULD HAVE SAVED THE PATIENT'S LIFE IS BEING WASTED!!!

The emergency unit where Mrs. Udebu was kept had NO LIGHT, NO FAN, POOR VENTILATION. Mr. Udebu had to use the flashlight of his phone to assist the doctor in finding the wife’s vein. He was physically fanning his wife because she was sweating profusely and having difficulty breathing due to the stuffy condition, coupled with a malfunctioning window directly opposite her bed which could not be opened.

By Sunday, 27th March, Mrs. Udebu (a patient who had now developed breathing problems after spending 48hrs in a very hot emergency unit with little ventilation) was moved out of the emergency unit to the female ward because according to the doctor, they move patients out of the emergency ward after 24hrs and she had spent 48hrs.

Since the beginning of this travail, Mr. Udebu never left his wife's side due to the fact that he perceived a certain lack of professionalism and necessary care on the part of the staff of LUTH. When it was night, he was told that no patient’s relation would be allowed to stay in the ward. Mrs. Udebu's younger sister even volunteered to stay and help her out in the case of any need. The nurses bluntly refused, saying it was against hospital policy.

Meanwhile, this was a person who suddenly developed severe breathing difficulties from her stay in the emergency unit. She definitely would have fared better with someone by her side to help out just in case something went wrong. They just refused, sticking to their ‘almighty’ policy.

During this time, Mrs. Udebu's condition consistently deteriorated and she needed oxygen to stay alive. LUTH SAID THEY HAD NO OXYGEN MASK!!! Mr. Udebu did not have much choice but to rush out, yet again, to get one. What a country where the life of an individual is not valued. NIGERIA’S PRIME TEACHING HOSPITAL! NO OXYGEN MASK?!!

Mr. Udebu then purchased an oxygen mask and his wife was placed on oxygen. Her breathing became slightly improved.Mrs. Udebu, in her weak state, pleaded with the nurses to permit her husband or her younger sister to be with her through the night, but her plea was equally turned down. "Daddy, don’t go" was Mrs. Udebu’s mournful cry asking her husband to stay back.  Mr. Udebu was asked to leave and almost forced out of the ward. Dejected as he was, he reluctantly left with his sister in-law at about 11pm. 

At about 6am the next morning, Mr. Udebu was back in the ward, in the company of his eldest daughter Christabelle, to offer her the attention she needed but to their deepest shock, the curtain over her bed was already drawn. Mr. Udebu immediately suspected something eerie.He instantly knew, but did not want to believe that his wife of fifteen years and mother to his four children was no more. Mrs. Ngozi Udebu died in the early hours of the morning. To make the pain more telling, nobody contacted the family when she passed on. The husband was rudely hit by the reality of his beloved wife’s death on arrival at the ward!

EVERYTHING ABOUT LUTH IS WRONG!!!
  • A ward with more than 35 patients with only two nurses available to attend to them
  • A patient gasping for breath and cannot be moved to intensive care unit
  • Another patient who earlier registered in any of the doctors’ private clinics will have an army of doctors attending to him/her because he/she has paid in the doctor's private clinic.
  • Lack of BASIC drugs and most painful of all, OXYGEN MASK!!! IN A GOVERNMENT HOSPITAL? THIS IS UNIMAGINABLE
  • Inaccessibility to doctor when a patient’s case gets critical. Throughout the three days in which Mrs. Udebu was at LUTH, she could not empty her bowel. The doctors were informed but they did nothing about it. It was her husband who tried to induce it but did not succeed. Are there no procedures and medications the doctors could haveadministered to help her?
  • Lack of (simple) fan, cooling system or even common ventilation in the emergency ward (this must have complicated Mrs. Udebu’s breathing difficulty)
  • The toilet area was completely submerged.The pool of water was more than 4inches high from the entrance to two toilets; no patient could use it for those two days.Mr. Udebu used putty as urine receptacle for his wife.It was a horrible sight to behold.
  • Gross negligence, neglect and nonchalance by members of staff of LUTH 

The doctors concluded that her death was caused by ULCER even before an autopsy was carried out.The result of the autopsy came out, to the surprise of everybody, it stated that she died of ASPHYXIA. Asphyxia is the loss of consciousness due to the body's inability to deliver oxygen to its tissues. What is the relationship between Asphyxia and Ulcer which was the doctor's ‘diagnosis’?

This is shameful, sad, disheartening, disappointing and above all disgraceful for Nigeria’s prime health institution. The nurse on duty when confronted that they may not have known when she passed on said that she passed on at 3am. She claimed that they battled to save her life. In order to buttress her claim, she showed an oxygen gauge which they changed when they realized that it wasn’t working well. Well, who knows if Mrs. Udebu was still alive when they realized that the oxygen gauge was malfunctioning? 

NEGLIGENCE OF STAFF!! 
A PATIENT LIKE MRS. UDEBU WHO WAS PLACED ON OXYGEN AND COULDN’T BREATHE? WASN’T THERE SUPPOSED TO BE SOMEONE ON GROUND MONITORING A PATIENT IN SUCH CRITICAL CONDITION WHEN HER PEOPLE WERE DENIED THE OPPORTUNITY TO STAY OVER WITH HER??? HOW CAN LUTH BE USING ANTIQUATED OXYGEN EQUIPMENT IN THIS TIME AND AGE OF ELECTRONICS?

I understand that God permitted it because if He wanted her to live,no LUTH lazy bone would have touched this charming, vibrant woman who was so full of life. An epitome of humility, happiness, peace and grace was the perfect description for Mrs. Ngozi Udebu. A God-fearing mother of four amazing daughters, a wife to Mr. Austin Udebu, a well-respected Teacher at St. Finbarr's College, Akoka, Yaba, Lagos and an amazing friend to many. 

Certain mistakes could have been avoided but for the legendary negligent tradition of LUTH. Out of the many people who have heard this story, not one person has had anything good to say about LUTH because they have had personal experiences with them as well. The recurring verdict is that LUTH does not value any human life at all. 

Life is short, Life is cruel, and Life can be Just. You can call this piece a complaint or an open letter to whoever cares to listen. It certainly wouldn't bring Mrs. Ngozi Udebu back, but it will go a long way to open the eyes of the people to see the rot in LUTH, a Federal Government flagship health institution, thereby putting a stop to another life being cut short like that of Mrs. Ngozi Udebu. Things must change. Ngozi Udebu’s spirit will start that movement.

Join the movement #JusticeForNgoziUdebu so we can put a stop to this banality.

*This writeup has a Right of response and if LUTH feels that this report on what happened is not accurate,they are free to state their own side of the story....RIP NGOZI UDEBU.

140 comments:

1. RIP to the dead.
    LUTH has killed many people over the years, nor b today and nothing has been done. Nothing will still be done. Thats d sad reality.
    Thats how a doctor was selling bedsheets in first rivers to patients. Yes o, selling bedsheets. The country is in a state i dont understand.

726 comment 2016

1. @ Default smile, I use first rivers and i have not experienced such there. I no there was a time I went there and it was an emergency with my Child. Nurse iyabo saw us and attended to him even without me getting out my card. She just took him from me and started on him. It was after he was stable I now did d other things. And I also had my twins there and there level of professionalism was on top notch. Except u are saying for this past 1yr I have not been there then they have changed.

I don't no about LUTH but in UPTH u must stay with your person.
      RIP to the dead amen

2. I had my surgery in luth, the doctors are wonderful. They work round the clock. they advice, treat with love and care. But the pharmacy get issues. The pharmacist hoard drugs and dey take it home to sell. And yet will charge you for what you did not use. The pharmacist are criminals. Even when I paid for drugs and surgery, they will still tell you to pay for what you did not use. Government should please look into this pharmacy issues.

3. They should not bother with their right of response which will be fabricated and garnished with lies.

If you have been to Luth, you will attest to the fact that everything written up there is true.

The doctors/nurses are so arrogant and difficult.Infact, dying is no big deal in Luth.

May her soul RIP and may God give the family the fortitude and strength to bear the loss.

4. My cousin was going to have her baby in general hospital to save cost. It was her first at 37 and very difficult. She laboured in agony for three days. Nurses only came around to get her vulva really sore from poking in and out trying to check the cervix. On the third day, my mum asked to see the doctor in charge of her case, behold there was none assigned! The nurses said it wasn't emergency yet, so she didn't need a doctor. But she had her antenatal care services here! Who was her doc? "Mute".
      My mum's sister's husband worked in the hospital but had left for another so she used that contact to get in touch with a doctor. Reluctantly, he pushed his bloated tummy into the ward where the poor lady was kept with others, practically loosing strength. And the doc's first utterances transfixed everyone. "You young couples always want to save cost. Why won't you come to my hospital and get better treatment? You came here for cheap article. Ok, now you're getting the worth of free care. I'm helping because of your uncle who was my colleague". Doctor!! Help!! Hmm
      He recommended iv pitocin and within 20mins, baby was born but very weak. He recommended the use of incubator IN HIS HOSPITAL!! Which means, finally they had to be transferred in HIS ambulance to HIS hospital. And in his hospital, they were treated like royalties because they were going to pay.
      Nigeria we hail thee, our own dear native land!!

5. CrazyHornyWife6 April 2016 at 11:33

Smh! The write up best describes luth!
      Have I been a patient in LUTH? Oh yes!
      Treated well? Yes because I was their medical student!
      Luth is just a dead zone!
      RIP mA!

6. Two nurses monitoring 35 patients ? In better hospital self, it's one nurse, one patient. How can she monitor all of them if they are all in critical condition and no relative to serve as an alert reminder ?

7. And yet the kind of money they steal from the government can change our hospitals, for every government official that steals any money,you are stealing the life of an innocent Nigerian.

8. Everyday Nigerians stay on twitter and be chanting that they want corruption back. Unfortunately, if the patient died of asphyxia, it still doesn't mean she didn't have ulcer. Possibly the ulcer was bleading, reduced the hemoglobin level and of course the oxygen carrying capacity of blood and predisposed her to asphyxia in the absence of good ventilation. That being said, it is the government that is responsible for employment, providing necessary infrastructure and enabling environment for people to even be alive.
      Having two nurses in charge of 35patients is OVERWORKING and there is no where round the world that you see healthcare workers being overworked like in Nigeria. Yet you expect RESULTS? Please let's be realistic, provide the infrastructures and create enabling environments and things will begin to work.
      Unfortunately, a precious soul is dead but with the current hardship in this country it will be unfair to blame any hospital for not having LIGHT, is the federal government providing special petrol for them? NO. So how do expect to see a cooling system and functional fan? Are the Nurses not fellow Nigerians?
      If you are on petrol queue and someone comes with 20drums to get petrol and say he is from hospital, you will not agree.

It is practical, even though the medical system deals with life. With all the hardship wey no dey look doctor abi nurse face, it might not be possible to treat these numerous patients same as someone that has paid you millions. That is the truth, it is not good but how many of us here is righteous? Every persons work deals with life, not just health care.
      Even in America and Uk, they don't give patients equal attention in public and private hospitals. I took my child to d hosp (Queen Mary) in London and I was seen by an Asian houseofficer. She opened up to me when she realised I was a doctor, she had discharged me to go but then later took samples for my child to do tests which revealed she had serious infection and we were admitted immediately. I was even the one who suggested for sepsis test to be done.
      What am I saying, you cannot expect the quality of healthcare of in America or London in Nigeria when you cannot compare our economy to theirs. You cannot single out the health care system and expect to meet an AC and 24hr light when the whole country is in blackout. The ambulance lane in Abuja is now politicians lane, it is still us that will go and block the lane when we are not supposed to use it. Things like this become glaring because someone is dead. This is the dividends of CORRUPTION, next time you go online to trend #bringbackcorruption, remember it might be you or I next. Why don't we trend hash tags like #operationrebrandourhospitals #improveourhospitals, #equipourhospitals. How many more people will we create justice hash tags for???? Can we prevent future re occurrence? Oh YES! But we will rather wait until people die to trend #Justice for A and B. Ain't no justice for the dead in this world!

9. Oh my God! This is my friend's sister. I am short of words. LUTH should be shut down if they can't do their job. May your gentle soul rest in peace. #justiceforNgoziUdebu.

10. Well said!

11. Anonymous 16:00 u spoke well. However,the attitude of d nurses and doctors there do not depict that of medical care practitioners. When u see make-shift clinics in war zones or other violence prone areas...even with their lack of infrastructure they show love and care to d patients.
      Aside the lack of equipments,these docs n nurses have this lackadaisical attitude. Just a little more attention can help save a life.

12. What a sad story..her death could have been avoided.

Anonymous u are right that the present condition of the country can aggravate incompetence in every area. Sadly the medical field that shouldn't be lax because lives will be lost, are greatly affected too.

A quick example. On my way home last night I decided to stop by TFC to grab some food, cos I knew I wouldn't be up to fixing anything at home. The entire place as I drove in was pitch black. At first I thought there were closed. And I saw a staff and asked, she asked me in that they were open. So where's the light na? As they were operating in the dark using those lights with battery.. the lady just whispered, that they was no light and they had no diesel yet. I was like wtf? In a public eatery where a standby generator should be operating?
      And how where they to preserve the food in their display refrigerator? Oh, I then decided to buy ruminant for my dogs, lo and behold, the stench alerted me that the food had gone sour. So, the whole idea of stopping by at TFC ended up a fuckery.

Point is they prolly have someone queuing up to get diesel and because of the petrol scarcity they were affected. I don't know. So I imagine what happened in Luth..Perhaps no diesel for light, nurses are cranky and they became grossly negligent, or perhaps they were expecting to be tipped by the husband but he didn't even think of that, hence they abandoned his wife... *sigh*

13. 200 billion likes for ur comments. No mind them.

14. My sister almost died in that hospital due to negligence. She was rushed from a private hospital cos she had a breach presentation with her twins. D doctors only walk into her room when they want to teach or show their students something while she was in serious pains. She had to shout for them to stop using her for an experiment and she refused to open her legs whenever she see a new group. The bad news is dat she lost her twins but she survived.

2. This country is where anything goes.I wonder why..am sorry to state that,the Govt has tried on their own part making available those needed materials and equipment even by providing. Funds but the management board are the problem we have..

Imagine 3yrs ago,I was at LUTH to pay a visit to a patient who was to be attended to but all we had was no diesel and no available fund to get it.imagine

Mc pinky

1. Imagine someone told me to buy her airtime before I collect my test result at main lab in luth. It's so bad.

2. LUTH has been known for negligence since time immemorial. The doctors are always busy with their private hospitals rather than paying attention to the patients at LUTH. My father almost died there. SMH. RIP to the dead.

3. Govt hospitals don't allow patient's relatives to stay overnight. Was in UCH over a month. Two nurses at night. Any emergency call doctor. Was moved to the ward after 48 hrs in the emergency room.

4. Had my own rechargeable fan sef.

5. Anon14:43, after 48hrs in the emergency, the doctor is moved to the ward? And you expect the person to see road. Govt will never employ doctors, they will employ few and work them to death.
      In General hospital Lagos, Doctors in surgery department do weekend calls Fri,sat,sun and Monday (if you are in team A) how many hours is that? 96hours at a stretch (PLEASE LET SOMEONE GO AND VERIFY). Are they not human beings? How do you expect such person to be productive???? They will be seeing double! Even Robots sef.

3. Hmmm to get good medical care in this country, u gotta be loaded. I thought govt hospitals were better cos there r very good private hospitals in lag but na ur pocket. RIP madame.

1. My sister you have to be loaded o. A private ward at that same LUTH costs 50k per day. 24hrs power supply, AC, clean ward.
      Normal ward na 25k per week. No power supply,zero care. Bad food. For a federal hospital, LUTH is terribleeeeeee. But our senators will not see that, they will be talking "oyel, oyel, oyel"

2. Lols, Missmusa oyel,oyel, oyel

3. Na wa o. Is it hotel they are operating? May God never allow any sickness befall us, so much to test our faith with these hospitals. I pray that child bearing will be our only reasons to step foot there. And that one sef require 40days and night fasting.

4. I curse those doctors and nurses,may they loose people very precious to them b4 2016 runs out,selah! I am so pained reading this.

1. Please curse dose dat are negligence and pharmacist that hoard drugs. A big shout out to all gynae doctors in Luth. Thank you all for saving me

5. So sorry for your loss, Mr Udebu. May God comfort you, your daughters and relatives IJN, Amen. This story right here is a painful one! It's becoming clear right now that nothing works anymore and when common sense is involved, we tend to act like animals! No feelings at all! It seems all the system is decayed and rotten! Negligence at its peak! I know for sure that its only in a care home that you can have 2 nurses to 25 clients in a unit but not in an acute unit! Poor hygiene, decayed environment, mean and half baked health care team!

1. Nigerian health care team are not half baked o? They are the pillars that hold the UK and American health care system (together with Indians).
      Provide the infrastructures and see for yourselves. Even for this Naija, if you get money you go get good treatment. Fine girl na money kill am. My aunt did a surgery at st Nicholas hospital and trust me, you won't even know you are in Naija. Na pepper rest. Which hospital wan give you 24hr light with AC for 15k? Na urine them go take turn petrol?

6. It's jst sad,i wish sumtin drastic wuld be done abt dis!RIP ma n may God giv ur family d grace to move on

7. LUTH,UCH and other teaching hospital are the same. Wicked towards patient always feeling almighty. My niece got injured on good Friday with fracture no body to attend to her until Tuesday after Easter. If not that the father have doctors friends there that gave her first aid.

1. Yea all same. Ubth na died zone. Dey won't allow u stay wt ur very ill relative,&dey re nt on ground to offer dt assistance to patients. Evil souls. Rip ma.

8. This is really pathetic. I experienced almost the same thing with my late mum at the Orile Agege general hospital in 2013. The matrons were really hostile. I was running helta skelta like a mad woman to get a facial mask cos she needed oxygen but the whole hospital didn't have. They just left her there while she bleed from her nose and ears. I was asked to go get some more drugs and when I came back, they had covered her up. She was dead. They were just jisting while i kept wondering if i was dreaming cos i was still tryna talk to my mum. The matron just said my dear leave there o, ur mama don die o. God knows ild be back for that matron. Cos the shock of my mother's death killed my father three weeks after. Walahi, ild get justice, no matter how long it takes me.

1. Can you imagine?
      So Sorry about your loss

2. Wow my dear sorry abt ur loss, it's so bad. God is still ur strength. The thing is if u get to hear what the matron has seen then u may forgive her. I think our medical practioners need to be taught empathy as a course, cos many of them feel dey are doin u a favor.

3. So sorry about your loss. That must have been a tragic experience for you.

4. Chai! So sorry. The Nigerian medical personnel lack compassion and I wonder what prompted their choosing the profession. Please take heart. Bless you.

5. Oh my God! I'm so sorry dear, as short as ur post is, it's heart wrenching. It is well with u.

6. Eeyah, pele.

7. I'm so.sorry for your loss. So sorry

8. Sad much 😦😳😟😠. May God never allow us pass through this type of temptation o.

I cried reading this. May her gentle soul RIP. God pls console her hubby and children.

9. The height of insensitivity and wickedness,pathetic people!!

10. The matron and nurses are not nice. Imagine nurse cldnt help me stand up from bed, same day I had surgery. She told me if I can't stand up myself, I should stay there dieing, only few of them are nice.

11. Jeez!!!! so painful. take heart dear.

12. Jeez, like seriously? So sorry dear. May their souls restbin perfect peace. Man's inhumanity to fellow man.

13. This really did bring tears to my eyes.
      I'm so sorry to hear this.

14. Wow so sorry for your lose dear

15. So sorry for your loss. Very sad. Justice will prevail

16. Chai....
      Dis is soo sad.May God comfort u dear.Chai.

17. This is so sad,I pray they continue to rest in peace,sorry for your loss.

18. Thank you FAM, God bless you all. How was able to survive that phase was simply God's grace. Honestly, many ppl have been made orphans, widows and widowers out sheer negleligence from some of these people which is really sad.

19. Ahhh??? And the matron is still alive? Oh she'd have been dead by now cos I would so pounce on her.. Ahh!! So sorry dear.

9. Nigeria health system is crap and the health workers,........ HORRIBLE! My sweet Dad died in UITH due to doctors and nurses negligence. Worse still.......they have no empathy nor sympathy for patients or their relatives. As a community/public health worker I my ears are full with sad stories. Even private hospitals are getting worse by the day.
    May her soul rest in peace and may God comfort her family.

1. Everybody that died in Nigeria is either doctors or Nurses that killed the person ie if not Amadioha from the village. Nigerians are meant to live forever.
      BTW, where are all the people that died from HIV, self medication, Diabetes and babalawo treatment. You bring dead bodies to hospital make e just be say them die for hospital.

2. Thank you. Doctors help patients everyday, sometimes even from their own pocket. Few ever testify.

10. Jezzz,, I had goose bumps reading dis sad story. Our Nigeria is just something else. God should pls continue to see us thru. R. I. P Mrs udebu

11. Shantelle loves Tuscany6 April 2016 at 08:46

After all this what next? The govt isnt concerned about its people. Stella i put it to you that nothing will happen after all this hash tags.
    Doctor vitalis that was featured on this blog in january,where is he today? The bastard is still roaming around freely. He even had the guts to advertise his hospital on the catholic church bulletin(back page) two/three weeks ago. My aunt attended mass @ st andrew catholic church(her org had a programme there).We were gisting on whatsapp and she told me about a hospital offering free eye care/test for ppl, so i asked for the name of the hosp' and gbam! It was Dr vitalis of De vitalis hospital,same adress with the one on stella's blog....my mouth hung open. I told her he's quack! She even took pics of the bulletin and sent to me,so this is confirmed.
    This country is sooo backward. Gosh! Evil ppl get away with so many things.
    Bad roads,not fully equipped hospitals,cultist/quacks opening private hospitals,polluted water,no power supply,no fuel....everything is wack! Nigeria remains a pot of beans!

Stella do you have any available German machine for me? I need to leave this country fast. Nigeria cannot be my destination. No no no!!

SHantelle

1. Wow, God come and deliver us from all evil oooo, why are we wicked like dis in this country. God forbid..,,

2. Hahahaaaha, my dear oo,i'm seriously with u on this..Nigeria is cursed. No hope..the best thing na to leave dis useless country

3. The same rot in d system is what u have in d hospital system. We nigerians are funny we do not do things well & expect to find heaven in midst of decay.ask yourself how efficient you are in your work place in d first place.if u & I are good,then we won't be having dis luth incidences in d first place.am not making excuses for negligence,I empathise with d bereaved.but we must know that d nigeria we are in ,is the nigeria we built for ourselves.let every man be incorruptible & thorough in their work place then things shall all fall in place.

4. LMAO, Nigerians expect hospitals to suddenly become heaven where everywhere in Nigeria is HELL.

Whatever is happening in Nigeria today is caused by Nigerians, let's keep promoting corrupt politicians. Stay online everyday and fight for PDP and APC instead of trending what will benefit the common man. A country that trends that they want corruption back should not single out hospitals as an exception. Now you all want to run away? Lols no way o, we all must remain here and build the country starting with changing our selves. Travelling is not by mouth o neither is it by wish. If wishes were horse,beggers might ride.

5. Anon 16:24 I weep for Nigeria, na only God fit save us. Oooooo, how our priorities are mixed up as citizens, I sat down today wishing I cld organise a rally where wld shut down d country and protest against our ill treatment by govt. I saw a picture today, dt d elites children where employed in CBN and FIRS but dey opened police recruitment to d masses. Kai na we good to suffer... Nigerian citizens wch way abeg? Let us stand for our rights oooo, we too dey reason only Stomach infrastructure, we don't think of 2moro..

12. Mehn!! May God not allow some see sickness that would warrant hospital trips!
    The thing i have heard about this luth ehn! Jeeez!
    Cant wait till i am president or my husband is...Nigeria has to change!!!
    It doesnt even end with fuel or light! Basic health care! Education! Welfare support!
    Nhs.. Is free in uk!
    Sweden is worse! Everybody depends on the govt for everything! Everyone is equal.. The rich and the poor have equal right to the same hospital,education,benefits etc!
    I am ashamed of my country!
    They need to put all these Luth doctors and Nurses out of their jobs! I dont even care! They are toooo nonchalant!
    Let them lock the place up! Refurbish the place and get new doctors! Let the old ones go. Awon lainise! Lazy and useless bones!
    I wish this man can sue them and win! 100million naira lawsuit! It cant buy the life of his precious life back.. But it can teach them a lesson and save other people.
    Rest-in-peace Maam! Nigeria failed you woefully!

1. I shudder to think what 80% of the Nigerian population (living below poverty level) are going through in terms of healthcare. I come from a fairly well off family (no, my parents are not politicians, just people who worked their way up to be successful) and when disaster struck over 20 years ago when my parents were shot by armed robbers(another grave issue in Nigeria), we had a private hospital to rush them to. But what if we didn't have the money? What would happen then? Still, we were extremely lucky. I have uncles that DIED in private hospitals because of negligence as well. In fact, one was unlucky to have been in a different state when he fell ill and the hospitals available there didn't have the basic necessities to help him. Yes, he died gasping for breath. My point in all this is HEALTH is WEALTH. It's not about making billions or flaunting your mansions and foreign trips on Instagram.I live in the UK now where there's free healthcare for EVERYONE irrespective of your financial status and I can only hope Nigeria can get there someday. That's why I laugh when people say they can't live abroad because they think there is no money here and only dead end jobs but guess what, that person in the dead end job has better hope of surviving a health scare than a billionaire in Nigeria.
      By the way, we need to stop that mentality of thinking Nigerians here can't get good jobs or be professionals in their respective fields. All you need is the GRACE OF GOD! Take it from someone who has been blessed beyond their wildest dreams.
      RIP, ma. May God continue to give your family the fortitude to bear your great loss.

2. You have said it all. Useless system.

3. Anon 8:47, those Sweden and UK doctors, can they work without light and desk? You are hilarious. In the UK alone, if you remove Nigerian trained doctors alone eeEe the healthcare system will shake and if you remove Indians together with Nigerians, their healthcare will become past tense. You cannot send a child to school without pen and book and expect him/her to write.

13. Offcourse luth would come here to tell theeir beautiful lines oflies.Novalue for life at all fed govt hospitals.

14. Offcourse luth would come here to tell theeir beautiful lines oflies.Novalue for life at all fed govt hospitals.

15. Oh Lord have mercy! What a loss...and these useless "polithievesians" refused to put things in order in Nigeria. Imagine a whole government hospital. What a shame! Ordinary social amenities which are citizens RIGHT are constantly denied. It shall not be well with those who keep on robbing Nigerians their Rights as citizens. What a country! I wonder if things would ever get better. May God console the family.

16. RIP madam
    MAy God comfort your family. Are we signing petitions?

1. Petitions to the same people that are dancing Ajasco with healthcare allocations. Na to take am clean nyash.

17. Waiting to read their (LUTH'S) concocted rejoinder on this case.

But then...for three days you suffered negligence and never made alternative arrangement? May God never allow me to have anything to do with government hospitals in Nigeria for health reasons.

18. My father is currently there and dear stella if you can please take this case to where it is supposed to go, the hospital will learn a lesson!!!!!!!! That place is for animals stella! Horrible. You constantly have to pray.... That nothing happens to your family. When someone dies... They move on to the next patient to practice on. Ohhhhh!!!!! Stella i am on my knees. Tears in my eyes! Pleaseeeeee take this to any length. Dont stop here. Luth has no right to defend anything. It is a known fact! Stella let God use you. God bless you as you continue to touch on things other bloggers find "not entertaining " enough. May you continue to grow and blossom in jesus name. Help my dad and other peoples parents and children and families in general.

19. In Nigeria, we pray never to get sick or to ur a hospital.
    I advise everyone, please, save money for medical emergencies. Like up to 2million. I beg you. Also do a research on the better hospitals since govt hospitals have failed. Hospitals that have 24hr light, emergency services etc. Please please please,

Also Lagos ambulance services with their emergency hospital at tollgate axis.

1. In other words, cash and carry.

20. Omg!
    This brought tears to my eyes...
    Rest on Mrs Udebu!!!
    If the hospital knows they cannot care for people, they shld close it down rather than killing innocent people.

21. Useless country until they start killing thieving politicians Nigeria will never get better

22. Chaii! So sad. I stoped going to LUTH when my son's temperature was so high i took him to children emergency, to my greatest surprise he was not attended to rather i was ask to use towel and cold water and administer all over his body. After some hours, i took him to a private hospital, i said to myself "LUTH BYE-BYE" LUTH is just existing by it past glory, the present LUTH is rubbish now. RIP Ngozi! The husband really tried to keep the wife alife, what more can i say than to accept my sympathy!

1. I was referred to Luth when my twins had jaundice on the 5th day they were delivered. When we got to the children emergency,we were told there was no bed space. A matron saw me crying and asked why, told her my predicament and she said i should buy fluorescent light for the phototherapy. We did and she got space for us, to say i was shocked when i entered the room is an understatement. You need to see babies with different ailment all i a small room. A girl of 6/7 years died in my presence, she was brought in by the dad dehydrated and was asking for water. Nobody attended to her till she died, i can remember her vividly like it was yesterday. I was pressed, went to the toilet found it locked.Had to collect the key from a nurse, in my mind i thought it will be clean,but to my surprise it was an eyesore. I managed it and i cried and prayed to God that my babies won't be admitted.They were admitted and spent like a week, if not for my brother in law who is a doctor and my mum, i wonder what would have happened to my sons.

23. You have just described the settings of a government hospital. It is extremely sad. I am a doctor and we watch these things happen. Unfortunately there isn't much that doctors can do. The hospitals are grossly understaffed. The necessary equipments aren't provided by the government or the hospital administration. Some of my friends work there and they constantly complain about the work load. There are few of them and very many patients. They themselves are over worked and over used sef. When it takes time for a doctor to see a patient, I can assure you that he isn't lounging somewhere, he is seeing many other patients. All those errands the husband ran should have been done by a staff but there is no one available to do it so the patients have to do it themselves.
    The government collects allocation for health, the hire fewer doctors and staff than they are supposed to and pocket the rest. The refused to stock and refurbish the hospitals. I have seen on many occasions where many doctors use their money for some things becos they themselves cant bear it.
    In all these complaints they stated, very little can be done by the doctors. These are the reasons doctors go on strikes majority of the time and then people still curse them. Our health care system continues to fail its citizens. Just from this report, we can deduce that their emergency ward is not up to standard, Probably their intensive care unit too, and their oxygen giving equipments are not working well. But the doctors aren't in charge of doing those things. It's easy to blame them cos they are the one that tell you these things are not available. Sometimes their perceived nonchalance isn't that at all, but due to their acceptance that things are very bad and there is little they can do.
    So I want you to remember all the money our politicians embezzle and just think if only a little amount is invested in health care, how much less people will die. You will begin to hold them accountable and stop saying "every body embezzles".
    Truth is many people die form causes that could have been managed and will continue to if nothing is done.

1. I couldn't have said it better

2. No doctor in any developed country can do half of what the do under very harsh conditions. No framework or backbone. How does one even begin to perform wonders in such dirty environment. The cleaners don't even care.

Over her in the UK, it is still not perfect but atleast you look forward to coming to the clean and serene environment. You just find yourself happy and smiling at patient. We went on strike (junior doctors) because the NHS want to make weekends call compulsory amongst capping our pay. When you pay a doctor 60pounds per hour (for some Locum) doctors, 10hrs a day is 250k per day and trust me we don't even do as much work as the doctors in general hospitals. Why won't you be happy with your work?
      My consultant in Nigeria at the time was earning 500k per month or thereabouts . You can't even afford decent school fees for your your children. Most of us here trained in Nigeria.
      I remember when I was working at Island maternity, I was depressed. You watch patients die, you know what to do but where do you want to get the equipment. I didn't save a penny, I spend all my money on patients that claim they don't have money, even 100naira to do urine test.

24. Lord have mercy! I have never been this touched. This country needs a revolution. Seriously all its sectors is messed up. Youths!!!! Arise and take your place. These old one has done enough. Will you sit and watch our families die just like that! It is well. I support a revolution let's come out enmass all of them should just leave abeg they done enough. No light, no water, no security, no health, no economy, no good education, life is what then?

25. Ohhhhhh! This is so painful to me kai! I don't know what to type again...RIP mummy, God rest your soul.

26. Luth,no body can say any meaningful thing about dat hospital,it only takes d grace of God for one to walk in and walk out alive.mymum stayed 3good months at Luth and will know wat will passed through.God will continue fighting for us all.

27. Lord have mercy. I have never been this touched. A life gone just like that. Youths arise!!! They've done enough. I support a revolution. No light,no water, no security, no economy, no education,no health, do we still wait and watch, suffering and smiling. Shouting e go better. Please a revolution Is needed. No fuel that's just ridiculous. Let's do this. They are old abeg they've tried. We can't just be loosing our loved ones like this.

28. I thought people said that LUTH is the best, same with UPTH,their negligence is on another level. RIP Mrs Ngozi

29. Na today
    Na DOCTOR JESUS CHRIST ,I dey look unto.
    He is my healer.

30. Hmmmm.this is so true about Luth.i stayed with my mum in the emergency ward,the same happened.i bought everything that was used including the gas mask,I stayed awake all night to make sure it was working atimes I would notice the bubbling has stopped I will run to call a nurse who would reluctantly come.they feel they are doing you a favor by attending to your sick one.even though my mum passed I thank God they allowed me stay with her during her last moments.may God comfort this family because no one else can.

31. Oh Jesus!...poor kids..just when she should be reaping fruits of all her labour,her life is cut short😣..
    Reminds me when my daughter had to see an optician the lousy nurses der n dia rudeness is out of this world..the doctors there are worse😠very unprofessional n kids too..one stupid male doctor's attitude almost entitled him a slap as he rudely gave us anoda appointment in June meanwhile we wer in Feb ooh!..nothing works..nobody tell me i shift go private. it's just so unfortunate. RIP to the dead n Mrs Ngozi..may our good lord grant the family fortitude to bear this irreparable loss.

#justiceforNgoziUdegbu

Stupid LUTH

32. This is disheartening but the reasons stated above has little or nothing to do with the staff. It's more of The government vs. The people.
    LUTHis a govt owned/managed hospital. Drugs, staff and amenities are provided by the government and sometimes out of share generosity well meaning individuals. But since the government has failed us then who are we to blame? The innocent Dr's and Nurses???.
    Yes government hospitals are short staffed of Nurses but they do not want to employ more hands. It's frustrating enough for the 2 nurses to even handle 35 patients and incoming emergencies.
    Usually every new case passes through the A and E (accident and emergency) unit of every hospital but because of the short staffed issue, this unit has been crumbled as more nurses are even needed in the ward to control the crowd and do Nursing Job. Dr's are human beings, they review over 100 patients in the ward going from ward to ward. This is not supposed to be so. Each team should have a patient they manage but common, we are short staffed and Nigeria cannot pay too many doctors working in one hospital and so you'll see 10 doctors doing review together on different patients. Of those 10, only one I is a consultant. The others are either house officers or Medical students yearning to learn (LUTH is a Teaching hospital). So which way Nigeria?
    The basic things we complain about are same things these staff suffer too no light, fan et al hence, they ask patient relative to leave so as to decongest the wards and create ventilation!
    This should be addressed to the government in proper.
    This happens everywhere in Nigeria.
    Yes the Dr diagnosed Ulcer but what killed her was Asphyxia so it was Ulcer, complicated by Asphyxia. He wasn't totally wrong, he was right too. Our Dr's are not Dundees the lack of amenities in our deplorable hospitals has made them look like that.
    Even tho the writer feels Dr's work on patients referred from their private hospitals, I doubt this is true because most patients who even have the choices of going to the private centres of this doctors do not come to the general hospitals. Why will they prioritise, is the money being paid by the patient entering their personal account? They only attend to these patient outside the hospital setting in thier own settings not prioritising them.
    Lastly, this writer felt the patient was not being prioritised. In the medical world, we do a triage system, it's a system where you prioritise the person who needs urgent care. This happens when you have less staff, amenities and you need the care to go round. There were some cases being handled on same day (I guess) that were far deadly and more urgent than this said case. For example, an obvious case of bleeding whereby patient has entered hypovolaemic shock! This case would be handled first before an obvious cas of Ulcer ( do not quote me wrong please) I meant to say in our deplorable state of hospital setting (low staff, amenities et al) some cases are handled while they keep others in waiting seeing that those ones can go another hour without being attended to.
    I sympathise with this family but I weep for this country. Health care is total rubbish in Nigeria and I just spoke from experience
    I am a Nurse and I worked for 6 years in Nigeria before I relocated to Canada. I have been working here as a Nurse for 2 years, and I see the difference. #donotblamethehealthcareworkers #blameyourcountry #blametheleaders
    Forgive my typos.

1. Sorry. I do not totally agree. The health workers have obvious attitude issues and it's clearly emphasized up there. And a flatly wrong cause of death cannot be twisted at all. Granted, our government has and continues to fail us but so also has our mentality and our approach to life and responsibility. It's indeed a collective responsibility and I refuse to exonerate the health workers in this apparent case of gross negligence and irresponsibility

33. Nigerian health system is the worst, that is y the life span of an average Nigerian is 47

34. Stella,plz Luth is a no for me o.my elder sister almost lost her twins there.they were premature and needed oxygen bt Luth didn't provide it when necessary.tank God my mum was around and whn she inquired for d oxygen she was told those in charge were nt available.it was a nurse who tuk pity on us dat spoke to my mum to go where the oxygen was and plead with dem.imagin pleading for oxygen.by the gym my mum got there,they said it was late until d following day and there was no light to take it thru d lift.my mum started crying and told them to put it on her head dat she will carry.after much pleadin before dey finally took it up.d doctors dat requested for the oxygen for the kids didn't push for it.it was more of our cross we had to carry it.plz Luth sld b looked in2.i was meant to av a surgery over there last yr bt I ran for my life o.

35. Tears...just tears..

36. Luth will be burnt down sop and doctors will be killed,enough of making a lot cry,soon we will destroy luth

37. Exactly ooo, Dats was how they also killed my beloved late Aunt...... total Negligence with little or no compassion at all

38. Painful, most of those Doctors will attend to you as if the are doing you a favour they do not value life a doctor will be buzy doing other things u call to attend to u he will say he is coming

39. Luth! I pray nothing ever takes me back there. Only God saved me 3years ago. The staff don't value human life. I came in as an emergency case and for 3hours,no theatre was vacant,until my brother who once worked there"pressed some buttons. Suddenly,there was a vacant theatre. We had to buy evrything....my husband kept running to a pharmacy outside luth,even gloves....that bad. On admission nko? evrywhere was stuffy, they had to keep bringing rechargeable fan from home,they chase your family members out,but in the midnight,if ure in pain and cry out...u'll b watching d nurse look@u. Luth is gone. RIP to the dead.

40. Stella its a terrible situation except you attend a good private hospital and have the cash forgerit Nigeria hospitals nah eyesore, a really sorry case. Doctors, nurses and other health workers are not happy and willingly doing their jobs. Nigerians worship money. They have no regard for human life. Let me tell you about UCH that i know since i have never been to Luth . If you ever go to UCH and come out alive just know that God value your life and didn't allow anyone to waste your life. If you want to pay at geriatric the ladies handling the Pos machine will give you attitude and waste time, go to the lab for test even when doctor have written emergency ordinary random sugar test you'll have to come back for the result minimum of two hours. Nurse go show color, doctors will prove supremacy. I later moved my patient to private ward. It was fair but not pocket friendly but we're talking about the life of my person. I can go on.... RIP to the dead i pray they get justice.

41. Stella its a terrible situation except you attend a good private hospital and have the cash forgerit Nigeria hospitals nah eyesore, a really sorry case. Doctors, nurses and other health workers are not happy and willingly doing their jobs. Nigerians worship money. They have no regard for human life. Let me tell you about UCH that i know since i have never been to Luth . If you ever go to UCH and come out alive just know that God value your life and didn't allow anyone to waste your life. If you want to pay at geriatric the ladies handling the Pos machine will give you attitude and waste time, go to the lab for test even when doctor have written emergency ordinary random sugar test you'll have to come back for the result minimum of two hours. Nurse go show color, doctors will prove supremacy. I later moved my patient to private ward. It was fair but not pocket friendly but we're talking about the life of my person. I can go on.... RIP to the dead i pray they get justice.

42. The moment a patient is referred to Luth just know his/her chance of survival has dropped to below 10%. Lost a friend's mom last month at the same luth. She was there for just 3 days

43. So sad may her soul rest in peace

44. BLood of Jesus!
    Was trying to hold it together but that "Daddy don't go" Just weakened me. Chai.
    Everything is just wrong with our country and its system.
    In dis age and time hospitals esp Government-owned Hospitals should be in TOP form. I mean even if We don't he anything else right,d Health Sector we must strive to sanitize and made habitAble and functional. Kai.
    Poor poor woman.Poor hubby and kids. May she rest in peace.
    And may God in His infinite mercy give d hubby and kids d fortitude to bear dis sad loss.
    Chai.From abdominal pain to Oyxgen loss to Death.... Chai.

45. it is just a pity. no value for human life. its an arrow. the enemy planned it all. may they never go Scott free in Jesus name.

46. This pained me to my bone marrow, may her soul rest in peace and may God give us the fortitude to this loss

47. I feel so pained about this loss cos it can happen to anyone. i am a medical practitioner previously in the public sector and now in the private sector. I have tasted both worlds and i know the truth. Nigerians may not believe it, and will not accept it; not to talk of acknowledging it. The truth be told, The Nigerian Government cannot manage the health sector adequately and with professional attitude and quality it deserves as it is presently constituted.
    No doubt every organisation has its bad eggs but Nigerian healthcare is being neglected--not out of want of not trying but becos the government has been overwhelmed.They cannot believe it is so financially demanding. At most the Government in reality can only run 6 tertiary centres, but the proliferation of two in every state has nullified and weakened their capacity.
    Way forward---The health sector needs a bailout. To improve quality service delivery and capacity, healthcare needs a bailout. Empower the private sector, regulate better and merge some hospitals for better service delivery. Just as there is the adopt-a-school programme, private corporaste giants can do "adopt-a-hospital" programme. Reform the NHIS. Healthcare is really about service delivery and due to poor attitude of govt staff, its failings in the public sector will only increase.
    My advise is better HMO/NHIS regulation, global health insurance for everybody, staff welfare and discipline...

48. \RIP to Mrs. Udebu.

When my junior sister was sick in 2008 she was rushed to Luth. What helped us what that God Almighty was on our side. She did not know where she was. All those things that they were asking for from Mr. Udebu, we went outside to purchase everything.

My sister stayed for 1 year in LUTH. I cannot quantify how much we paid. But I thank God that her life was restored.

Out of the 25 people in her ward, a photographer came to take pictures of patients who wanted their pictures taken, the photographer came to her and ask her if she wants her picture to be taken to show that this is what you are when you were in the hospital, she said NO. All those that took pictures in that her ward, none of them came out of LUTH Alive.

LUTH is a place that needs God's intervention. My Bishop before becoming a Pastor was praying siezelessly for her and God really intervened. If not OYO for be our case.

I pray for all who are in LUTH to come out alive AMEN.

1. So d ppl dt dey took deir picture, dey used dem for juju?

49. Stella, anyone wey die for naija hospital is just "sara." Bunch of unprofessional lots. Money before everything. Whatever happened to saving human lives first?

50. I'm so shocked,God help us.Some states can't even boast of well furnished private hospitals,where do we run to,what some do is private doctor,public Hosp equipments for maternity issues but for emergencies, the public hosps are the only ones.

51. oh my God! i am livid with anger. this brings back memories of my mother's death in 1997 under the hand of one fumbling charlatan of a doctor with a private hospital in Enugu.Carried out surgery on a patient diagnosed of HBP. I'd mention his name here but God's already dealing with him in his special way; heard he has gone blind. i am not gloating but when you negligently kill people and make orphans of children, rest assured that nemesis/karma will locate you.
    Stella if there is any public signature petition on this, pls bring it here i will sign a thousand times. RIP Madam Ngozi

52. Stinking country. I hate to be a Nigerian. It's a crime and a big mistake to be born a Nigerian !!!!

53. Jesus, this gave me the creeps, Oluwa please answer my call so that i can afford the basic neccessities of life. RIP to the dead.

54. No 1: A central monitoring team should be set up by the government to ensure that money allocated for a particular purpose was used for that purpose.

No 2: Every Doctor or midwife working in LUTH and having their own private hospital must resign with immediate effect.

NO 3: An internal control unit and Risk Management unit must be set up immediately in Luth to ensure availability of basic hospital needs and must also ensure a reorder level is set.

NO 4: zero tolerance for bribes, theft of hospital materials & equipment or any form of corruption.

I believe this will help.

May God comfort the family of Mrs Ngozi Udebu.

1. That No 2. Is so so important. Imagine my dad was seeing a heart specialist in LUTH. He felt he wasn't getting the best care,when he complained to the DR. The Dr said,if you want my best,register in my private hospital. Sad as it is,thats what my dad had to do. And he says the Dr is a totally different person there. He's more attentive,symphathetic and all. God help us

2. Clap for yourself. ...and your lawmakers will keep sending their children abroad for schooling and healthcare.
      how much do you pay them to make such laws, what infrastructure have you provided for that farmer you sent to cultivate 500acres in a minute.
      Go back to the roots and begin with the appropriate things to be done. Can you expect a car fly just by putting it on an aeroplane runway? Oh! Please. Until we begin to do things right, we will never get it right. Even if you sack all the doctors in LUTH, employ the ones from heaven under same condition and it will still be the same.

55. Hi Guys, My name is quincy Roberts! I made that write up because we do not want LUTH to go free this time. Justice must be upheld. Please go on twitter and your various social media platforms with hashtag #JusticeForNgoziUdebu and air your views. Thank you again for the condolences. We want Mrs. Ngozi to rest easy and this is the start. God bless!

56. I wonder why people always blame Doctors and Nurses for everything in the hospital.do u know what it takes for only 2 nurses to look after 35 patients and expect perfection. U don't expect Doctors to prescribe and be the one to provide the medications as well. Blame the system and the collapse of all institutions in Nigeria .

57. Hi Guys! I made this write up because we do not want LUTH to go free this time. So many people have gone through this same ordeal and nothing has been done. So I urge you to go on twitter and other social media platforms with the hashtag #JusticeForNgoziUdebu and air your views. Things must change! Thank you for the condolences. God bless!

58. The life of a Nigerian is truly hard! From selfish leaders, bad roads, no fuel, no electricity, death traps for hospitals...the list is truly endless. It is a wonder people are even able to get up each morning and still find something to smile about. No wonder religion has such a fertile ground here. People cannot survive without hope and anything or anyone who provides such hope, however false will always have a large following in such an environment. God help us!

59. It's so sad what happened to Mrs. Udebu. May her soul rest in perfect peace and may God console the family and give them fortitude to bear the loss. I would like to point out that the issue is indeed between the government and the people. I have seen cases where doctors in this same Luth had to contribute money among themselves to buy drugs for patients especially in the pediatrics department of the hospital. Many times they are understaffed and a single staff is made to do so much. We really may not be able to blame the doctors because they can only do so much.

60. You see why I was very bitter when some people keep reiterating Ibinabo killed a doctor. As if some lives don't matter. Doctors kill more than anyone in Nigeria. Don't tell me that I am jealous of doctors because you don't know if I have some. Not in Nigeria anyway.

61. Really sad. So sorry about the LOSS.
    This is not peculiar to Luth. Almost all the teaching hospitals in Nigeria are going tru similar issues.
    Can the searchlight be beamed on others as well.
    U don't want to be a patient in these hospitals. It's a horrible experience.
    It's not entirely the doctors faults. Sometimes the attitude may be a way to overcome the heartache they always feel at the way things are going and not because they don't care. Some Doctors spend their money on patients.
    God help our country

62. If you want your enemy to die quick just refer him/her to luth. Nobody will know your intentions. I have been there, seen them and may the Lord never give me course to go back there again, not even to visit a patient. Amen

63. Rest in Peace NG.

64. Ah..now am scared o. Am due in the next 3 months and iv been looking for a good hospital to deliver my baby. Iv got some fibroid issues and a small cervix so I really need a very good hospital. Someone recommended LUTH to me just yesterday saying it is the best hospital in lagos. Pls, blog visitors, if you know any other hospital that is very good, be it private or general, I don't mind the cost, please let me know. Thanks

1. Check Lagoon hospitals Apapa or Ikeja. Their charges are high though but they are among the best in Lagos.