Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omugwo Chronicles - 11

Friday, June 24, 2016

Omugwo Chronicles - 11

HIAN!!!...This wan pass Omugwo ooooh!

OMGoodness!!!!

Hi Stella,
In 2009, I got a call from one of my 'big aunties' (just one of those aunties that like you but not related) that her cousin is looking for a GF/Wife and  and she needed my permission to give him my no. I said fine give it to him and the next day the guy called and we talked. His calls became frequent and somehow we clicked. He came back every 4 months to visit me. His mother and siblings will call me and text.

He is a physician in the US while I was a final year med student in UI.We are both ibos and from the same place .

In 2012, we got married and I came over to the US. I came in May and his mother came in August. Prior to her coming to the US, I told my hubby that I needed 'us' moment as a newly married couple and asked him to tell his mother to calm down cos she had 6 months to come here  from the time of issuance of her visa.

He tried discussing it with his mother and siblings and they said( the new wife don change nau nau, that how can I ask their mother not to come to the US after she's been through hell to get her immigrant visa. Apparently , she's been denied a visa before now and she reapplied years later.

The morning after she came, I wore a bump short after bathing to come and prepare lunch and she was like"Hian, Biko don't dress like this.I overlooked it.
In 2013 I had my baby and I couldn't tell my mom to come for OMUGWO cos MIL Was around . I was to be discharged the following day after my delivery and I had made arrangement for a photographer to snap us before going home. 

My MIL in her usual manner dominated the picture moment. She took the baby and will ask her son to come in the pic while I am just standing and watching them. It was a 30 min session that I paid for and at the end of  it, it was mainly my old MIL that was in the pics.It was as if she was the one that had the baby. I overlooked it.

We got home and I was still doing everything despite having her around. Atimes, she will cook for herself and hubby alone.

3 weeks post delivery, hubby decided to take me out. We went  to buy some more baby stuffs. As we got home, MIL descended on me. She said things I can't even repeat here like "I want to finish her son's money, I left my baby to go shopping, is that how my mother trained me, I lack home training , I should never leave my baby with her again etc etc.I felt so bad and cried . I called my parents and told them what happened. They were like I should forget it and be happy. That she's an old woman. My mom called my hubby and told him to talk to his mother to stop giving me wahala.

After like 18 months, I asked hubby when his mother is going back to naija. That I need to know and he said she's just here to get her citizenship. Mind you, you need to stay for about  5  years to file for citizenship as a parent of a citizen. I told him she needed to go to naija because this house was not conducive anymore. She insults me when he's away and when he comes in, she plays nice.

She eventually went to naija and came back after 5 months and the this time was terrible. I tried to ignore her as much as I could. I was unhappy all the time and I was indirectly hurting hubby. I won't cook, fuck, or do those things that "wifey" is supposed to do. Truthfully, he talks to his mother but she doesn't listen. He is the last born and you know ..

June,2015 was my EDD  for baby no 2. I told hubby that his mom needs to go back to naija so I can ask my mom to come for OMUGWO. He said she can't go because she needs to travel less out of the US so she can just get her citizenship. I told him that I will leave his house to somewhere else  but he didn't mind that. I processed visa and all for my mum and she came for OMUGWO 2 weeks after my delivery. She and this Woman will trade insulting Words to each all day. 

She will tell my mom that she came to partake to finish her son's money. 2 months after, my mom packed her luggage and asked me to change her ticket so she could travel to Nigeria  that weekend.Na so I take change the date and she travelled . She told me not to tolerate any nonsense from both hubby and MIL . She told me that hubby is a very weak man and I needed to change that and make him realize that he has a family now.

5 months ago, MIL called me a thief cos she was looking for her slippers and I got so vexed , I went up to her room and gave her a hot SLAP. She called all her kids and told them that I wanted to kill her, that I beat her up etc.Her son came back and was very angry that I slapped her. Anyway, I denied that and still denying that today that  I didn't slap her.

It's been 5 months and things have never been the same. I sleep with one eye open. We are living like flat mates and not as a couple. We only talk about things pertaining to the kids. He said he can't get over the fact I slapped his mother.

I am depressed , unhappy, frustrated and just want to run away.
I want to just divorce him, so he can now marry his mother .
BV's, who has a wicked MIL?
 I work and I have my own money to take care of myself and the kids while waiting to get into residency.

What do I do?

223 comments:

1. Chai any omugwo post with Patience alias Mama G i know say na wicked mother in law. With Osuofia na funny mother inlaw. Ok Stella you don give me the logic.

Kai this one get as he be. Please are you working in the US or you are just a housewife. Better look for something to do and remove these hatred and depression in your mind. It is your marraige and dont run away from it. Find a way to win MIL heart ooo. EKPELE OOO

1. Y will u tell ur MIL not to come over just bcos u want an "US" moment?
      Some DIL can be so mean......see the way u painted the poor woman.......are u perfect ?
      Tell us how u treated her n stop dwelling on how bad she is?
      Will u complain dis much if it was ur mother.
      You got married to the son,so you should also accept his mother the way u accepted the son.
      Women always wanting to put confusion in a family........stop complaining n look out for her good side.
      Nobody is perfect.......allow the woman enjoy her son b4 she dies!
      You don't knw what she went tru to give ur husband the good life u are enjoying now.

2. Doing the same thing most Nigerian women do when they are married and taking to the US. They suddenly turn mobsters. How can you even conceived the idea of slapping your MIL?? I read your post word for word and the only thing you kept on hammering on was , your MIL leaving your house, your MIL staying back in NIGERIA. You are really a terrible woman. If someone else slapped your mother, how would you feel?? If you try such with my mum,I will break your bones in pieces and feed you with it. You are a terrible woman.

3. Ooooh,she slapped her MIL?
      I didn't get to that part!
      I pity u......@poster what if it was ur mother,will u slap her?

4. I was actually pitying you small small till i got to the part where you slapped the Mother of your Husband. What for?
      She is not your sister, friend or child. Can you even slap your sister, talkless of your Mum.
      Im sorry but to be frank, you are not a good person at all. You are not wise, pray to God for wisdom. Because you are ruining your marriage. Leaving the house with your kids earlier out of frustration would have gotten you better attention from DH n he will realise how bothered you are. Slapping his Mum. Yet if he had slapped you , you will scream, Cuss n probably call the police on him.
      I agree with EJ, it has happened to many times, once you get what you want, you are inconsiderate of others. You could have made her to love you in many ways. But the 1st step of trying to postpone her coming already gave her a bad impression about you.
      Check it, when did she start getting nasty to you?

5. Portable mumu so you did not read everything but you rush to comment.

6. I don't support her slapping the mil but seriously what the hell is the mil doing living with them. They are a young couple so they really need that 'us' moment to understand themselves better as a couple and lay the foundation for their future without a third party there. Can't the mil get her own place and who should chop a man's money if not the wife and kids. The husband is truly a weak man cos he needs to do the right thing and stop letting his mom ruin is marriage and first step being getting her out of his house. Doesn't she have other kids to go stay with. I'm sure she's an illiterate that's why she's being such a nuisance.

7. My gosh! Poster, as much as I empathise with your plight, slapping your mother in law was the wrongest move ever! How could you? I don't know where you can go from here to be honest, but I am glad you are financially independent.
      I have a cousin who slapped her MIL back in the day. She was sent back home and, because her husband loved her, he fought hard to have her back. Anyway, they are now divorced- that had not been the cause for the divorce but I guarantee it was considered in the long run.
      Wrong move indeed.

8. Portable are u married or still searching? Do u kw how important US moment is for couples? I don't lik d fact dat u slapped ur MIL,but please ignore der wahala.i kw how it feels wen ur hubby is weak.trust m,nd pls f*ck ur hubby well,ask mama to forgive u,b over good to her nd ignore her wahala . leaving ur hubby is nt d solution. Tnks sdk

9. First, you are wrong for slapping her.
      However, your hubby is a weakling who can't act as the head of his own home.
      I stayed with mil for 5 months, I almost killed myself. The mental torture, the shades, the side talks and lots more.
      I eventually ran away so as not to end up like this poster. The reason for my running is my hubby who took the decision of getting a better place for us.
      All we do now is talk on phone once in a while.
      The wrongest idea I've ever known is for mil/dil stay together for too long.
      A man should leave his father and mother and cling to his wife.
      The Culprit is the Weak Husband!

10. Portable viv, hope you're not thinking that 'US' moment means United State moment?

Will you allow your MIL to move in with you 3months after your wedding?

The only wrong she did is slapping the woman. I think her mum encouraged her.

I can't really blame you sha cos I'm not in your shoes. Temperament differs. If na me, I go ignore her to the extent she go dey ask herself if she still exists.

11. Lafresh I think u need a dick to reset ur brain

12. @anonymous 17:21, that bible verse you are quoting only works 45% in the western world. Sorry to say but girls especially Igbo girls that are married out turn out to be monsters. Anyways poster be expecting your own slap when your kids grow up. Mother nature doesn't lie and your mother am sorry to say didn't teach you the virtues of a woman

13. Hahahaha...Lefresh lefresh
      Real 'United States' moments
      Nice one lol

1. If ur husband slapped your mother shey u wud tell him 'thankyou'? Pray hard o!

2. Poster I agree you shouldn't have slapped your MIL. But I understand why you did that. You are not wrong to have asked for "me" time.. For you to be happy, take radical steps to reclaim your home. Reconcile with your MIL but thread with caution. Win your husband back. Ignore you MIL, ignore, ignore and ignore again. You will need lots of prayers and the Holy Spirit to guide you. Learn to forgive, learn submission. It doesn't make you weak it makes you the wise one. Remember a wise woman builds her home. A foolish woman destroys it.

3. Your mother's advice was totally wrong, that was what gave you audacity to slap your mother in law

How could you
      Apologize to mother and son and acting good wife

4. But wait o,e b lik say u go com help m slap MIL as I no get liver to do am,maybe she go receive sense nd leave m to enjoy DH.i dnt mind buying her ticket for the slap.......lmao

5. Pls dnt even think of taking a break in 9ja o,if u need 1 biko stay der bfor dey tie u down wit juju......prayer is d key duo huh

3. I know you would have been frustrated with her but your action just made things a whole lot worse. I don't think your marriage can be the same anymore

1. Her marriage can be the same. She is a human being that did wrong. She will beg her man Nd he will forgive.

2. I know its possible. I'm just honestly being realistic. This isn't about the couple alone anymore.

3. Slapping your mother-in-law was extreme. BUT its just an act. A mistake. Your Mother-in-law and husband have been making a 3years old mistake.

A wife is sacred. In the bible, the church, God's community was a wife to Jesus and he did forsake everything to be with them. A man must leave his family, his kindred and will cleave to a woman. It is absolutely wrong to bring a 3rd party into your marriage for whatsoever reason. They can always visit, but a man allowing his mother live on with him for years in his marriage is WRONG!! There can be no justification. Especially if he knows the kind of mother he has. Perharps he's the last born or the only son but the mum demonstrated a lack of will to leave her son to grow up and have a family. She is totally evil. There can be no justification for you as a mother to not allow your son enjoy his marriage.

-First, she started complaining about how the woman dresses in her own house. What can justify this thing? She still sees her as an outsider she can chide and command. For chrisakes, it is her house now.

-She openly calls her a gold digger and curses her.

-always wants to take centre stage in her home. Be the centre of attention in pictures and everything. Madam, you have lived your own life, its sad your husband never provided such luxury for you. You cannot be 25years again. Accept it and accept he now has a younger woman and kids in his life whom he wants to care for.

-What does she need the citizenship for? What are her plans afterwards? If she plans to move out later and work, why cant she do so now? What kind of husband will bring his mum to become a citizen rather than siblings.

-She insulted the woman's mother gravely and made life unbearable for her. Calling her own mother a gold digging pauper and you expect this woman to be happy? To be civil? To a woman who sees your mother as a rag. How many of you can do it?

-calling her a thief in her own house?

If the son had planned his life like a married man who is responsible, all this would have been averted. He was weak and without plans. Like WTF.

It sounds insolent that this woman could slap her own husband's mum but when your back is against the wall. I mean, youre stuck with a woman who is going nowhere in the next 5 years, who your husband doesn't believe can hurt a fly. Who makes people around you leave impromptu. Who criticises your every move. A woman who you cant leave your bedroom without seeing her heavy dissaproving face and getting the end of her tongue lashing and youre stuck, so stuck! Its frustrating enough to slap her for. She has lived her own life, why is she all up in this poor woman's business.

Her husband should ask around.
      He should ask his friends at work whether their white wives will tolerate such? They should go to a therapist and see who will be blamed? They should go to a divorce court and see who the law will side?

You brought a 3rd party to remain permanently in your marriage now theres no mending the fence. Some people just cant stay with some people. A reasonable man should have known this and separated oil from water long ago. Now the oil is diluted and the water is stained. There can be no reconciliation. His best bet is to choose between his old family and his new family. He will think this is unfair but he brought it upon himself. Simple.

I looked at the whole picture and not just the slap. Some insults are more stinging than any slap can be. I'd prefer im slapped than for you to call me a gold digger and a thief. I'm sure theres what will also hurt that woman more than a slap. Do to others what you want done to you. Simple. Even God who instituted marriage cannot support that woman. Theres no war, she is not a refugee. She has no business staying with a daughter in law she knows she dislikes. Very simple.

4. Be it as it may, you shouldn't have slapped the old lady, it's %1000 wrong. You sound like a very impatient person, plus the American lifestyle. jeez na wa ooo.

Chronicles loading.

una life wet in concern me.

1. Poster slapping your MIl,is not acceptable at all,all shades of wrong,I won't tolerate her attitude but won't slap her even if she calls me a whore,I went for my younger sister's omugwo and her MIL has similar character like yours so attached to her son's money,she told my sister she's so lucky she had a baby boy if not she would ve dealt with her,she 'mistakenly'poured hot water on my hand and screamed that it wasn't deliberate and I did nothing,was holding the jug for her to pour the boiled water into the jug only for her to mistake my hand as the jug,so painful,but I let it go cos her son will never support her wicked ways,she sent me ede(cocoyam)when it was my turn I called her to say thank you.
      My own mother inlaw never slept in my house for a night talk more of coming to do omugwo.

2. Bia, who's ur Maths teacher? Is Dat how dey told u dey position the %?? He or she needs flogging walahi! Kai!

Kelvin Dat Edo Boi ( Stellz Cousin )

1. Anger is a Momentary madness...am sure she dint mean to. It was wrong though, but I she must have been pushed to the Wall. @ writer, give them space

2. Poster take a break to Nigeria with the kids. Give them space. Take leave from work and all.

3. @cissy, if your mother push you inside wall will you slap her? Highest you do is ignore her.

4. Maybe someone has 'Bad eyesight' in reading my comment. @ writer like I wrote before IT WAS WRONG for you to have slapped your MIL, I get it...you where, angry, temperamental, depressed as well, and knowing that your MIL will be spending the next 5yrs with you must be really frustrating...you need space, take a vacation with your kids to a whole new environment, you have SO MUCH Bottled-up anger that u need to clear out. You have to make your marriage WORK. Change your mind-set. If you have a mentor that can counsel you, please seek his/her advice...
      Goodluck

5. "Runs girl" said something meaningful. The poster needs to leave the house to gain sanity. She could have gone home to Nigeria and threatened to give birth in Nigeria(no auto-US citizenship for the kid) the husband would have begged. And those criticizing her for the slap, she denied it meaning she knows she fucked up

6. For some odd reason this made me laugh

1. Lolll you're not the only one!

2. Elena why won't it make you laugh. This is why haven't and may never marry in your sad life

3. No be only u,i laugh tire especially when I read about the slap. Are we sick? Covering face
      Hahahaha

4. No be only una oo. I laff tire. I wish I have dat kind of liver. My MIL was worst(sometimes I felt like biting her) but I waz able to ignore. May send in my story one day.

5. Yes you are both sick. Lol

7. In fact you're lucky you didn't slap her in Nigeria, na broom they for use sweep you commot for house.

Aluuu

8. Haha, get out joor! It was very wrong for u to av slapped her. Wat rubbish. No matter wat she said to u dat was very wrong, that means u can slap ur mum, haha, jst thank ur star d guy no be my brother I for go beat ur mama for house. Stupid woman!

1. Don't mind the idiot, she wasn't even ashamed still saying it that she slapped a woman (MLM) old enough to be her own mother. This one lacks home training.

9. Okoligba. Nne, is your mother Patience Ozokwor's sister or her fan?

10. Oloriburuku iyawo..u slapped ur mother in law? U r depressed?uv not seen depression,na suicide thought remain...u n ur husband are both from useless families.both mothers are not fit to be called mothers.oshisco

1. I think d lady's mum encouraged it by saying she should not take any rubbish.

11. I know my Wife would read this one. Lol
    Pls come back early from work o. It's Friday and am hungry babyyyyy. You know we didn't do this morning ...kisses. R

1. So your wife is at work and you are at home looking waiting for her to come back and give you pussy to fuck?...
      Man for mouth!...useless men everywhere...
      Shame on you!,..

12. I know my Wife would read this one. Lol
    Pls come back early from work o. It's Friday and am hungry babyyyyy. You know we didn't do this morning ...kisses. R

13. Seems like you truly lack home training. You caused all these yourself.

How will you ask your MIL to stay back awhile for you to enjoy the 'Us' moment, you can never do that to your mom.

You entered that marriage with the mindset that all MIL are bad and started acting on it, since she knows some Daughter In laws are bad too and can go any length to change their husband's mindset towards his family, she decided to treat you as one.

You invited your mom to Us, prior to her visit, you downloaded bad stories about your MIL to her, instead of her to come in peacefully and Understand your MIL in order to wisely know her to follow her as a responsible Mom will do, she started reacting based on all information you gave her.

Prayer yo God for humility and discernment spirit, Your MIL has very good sides only if you know where her "Mumu button" is.

Do not use your hands to Break your home, Your husband appears as a very gentle man.

I'll personally not take this shit from my brother's wife in future, because she has no idea about the family's hustle.

Lemme not call you useless and lacks home training

1. Her hubby was wrong to have told his mum that his wife does not want her to come.

How will my MIL come and live with me few months after my marriage?

Madam, very very wrong for you to slap your MIL. Your mum too has bad character. Try and make your marriage work. Who divorce epp?

2. Didn't read the part you slapped your MIL you are a bastard dear. Born by mistake

3. See the way you analyzed it kike you were there or you can take half of what she took..imagine!! You that is uncouth as filth! Please calm down..you are not one to advice or throw blames..girls like you would do worse especially you with gold digging tendencies.

4. Anon 14:09 aka poster Weldon.

5. Anon 14:09 my uncouth mouth get limit. Idiots

6. Don't mind her. All this people judging and talking shit better pray you don't get to have a mil from hell cos by then u will realize all this your analysis and forming psychologist won't mean shit. I don't support her slapping the woman but I can imagine what she went through and is still going through. Poster just don't bother yourself. Apologise to the woman for slapping her and ask God to forgive you. If you know you can be patient enough then continue in the marriage but if you are tired and unhappy pls get out of it and go take care of your kids and be happy

7. The MIL came to live with them just few months after marriage. Haba!!! No o. I won't take that one abeg

14. Wow, poster you shouldn't 've slapped her na. Some MILs can be a handful. You should 've carried out your vex on your hubby, give him a strict warning and all. Then u should 've given her better insults rather than slap her. If u r that unhappy then I think you should leave the house for a while. Gosh his family must really dislike u n from afar it looks right.

1. Dear poster, learn how to tame a lion.. Come on women are lot more stronger than men.. You can do it poster. Invite God to your home there is a lot of strife going on there.

15. Your mom obviously didn't give you home training,how would you have felt if he was the one that slapped your mother???

16. I don't care if your mil called you a whore and a their, you shouldn't have raised your hand to hit her.. Gosh that's so wrong . can you hit your own mum? And what if it was your hubby hitting your mum? Pls go and beg her

17. My dear, everyone has a breaking point and you had yours but you shouldn't have gone to the extent of slapping her to prove your point, you can see the strain that has put on your relationship with hubby. You are now officially the bad person while she is the victim.

Find a way to reconcile with hubby cos when MIL leaves hubby will still be there cos he is the one you are married to. Try as much as possible to get him to understand that her being there is like a thorn in your flesh and that you are not functioning properly with her there. Above all pray!!!

1. Honestly she reached her breaking point! Years of torment, it's not easy truly. The husband should consider giving his family breaks from his mum na, haba! Send her home for a few months, it won't affect her getting citizenship abeg

2. She is married to the whole family both sisters and cousins.she'd better do a public apology

3. Easier said than done.can you fit in her shoes.though what she did was wrong.

4. I just feel sorry for the 3 of you, you, hubby and mom-in-law.
      See I'm not going to cuss you out for slapping mama, cos I believe that the guilt is already dealing with you.
      Please you just have to suck up your ego, yes, pocket your ego and 1st of all apologise to mama, go to her room, kneel down, cry and ask for her forgiveness. And don't get up till you hear something positive from her.
      Then, do same to hubby.
      Please don't scatter a united family, try and be more accommodating.
      Just open up your heart and know that you are a 'bridge builder' and not a destroyer.
      Is it coming to be difficult, YES, but with understanding, good sense of humour and lotssss of patience you will restore peace, love and laughter in your home again soonest.
      Please be strong.
      Apologise to mama and hubby.
      Don't worry, you will be fine.
      E-hugs to you and the kids.

18. Choi. You slapped your MIL. Seems you consume alot of liver. I hail o. Wait are you for real? You really slapped an old woman? Your husband is a good man o. Try that with an Edo man especially my etsako people and you will know the meaning of marriage. I don't have any advice for you biko carry your cross.

1. Lmao @consume a lot of liver. BVs won't kill someone.

She was very wrong to slap her MiL!!

2. Im pissed today. Thats how ur daughter in law will slap you too.
      Aswear you will get a record in that USA if na my Mama. If anyone tries that with my own Mum, walahi, we will both sleep for cell. Do you know what she must have gone through to send your now husband, her son to school abroad, how she suffered to train him the right way for you to fall for him. Hisssss.
      You even wrote HOT slap, you are not remorseful. Kai. So she wanted to show in the 365 pictures so what? You could have snapped more too but i guess you were just irritated that she was even there at all. You 4 marry oyibo with zero fam bonding

19. I'm sure everyone will agree that you should NEVER have slapped your husband's mother. Is that what living in America has turned you into? A woman with no values? I'm a medical doctor too and I've lived outside Nigeria for 10 years. I cannot imagine doing what you did. You have single handedly ruined your marriage and your husband will almost never forgive you.

Your best bet now is to come clean. Go and beg that woman. It doesn't matter what she did to you, you have completely diluted the significance of all her bad behaviour by that one act on your part.

You need to call an urgent family meeting where your family is present and your husband's family too. You MUST BEG AND APOLOGISE.

Your did wrong. You will not accept it, ever if your husband slapped your mother. I'm afraid your marriage may not stand this test, but you must try.

Dr S.

1. I don't think it's about living in America; this one just totally lacks respect and home training.

I'm sure there are lots of things she did wrong that turned the woman against her.

If I were your hubby, trust me you'll be gone by now. How I wish the woman had reported you to the authorities and prosecuted you for assault!
      Silly woman with zero decorum.
      I'm so vexed!

2. Eccgse me Dr S, how has she single handedly ruined her marriage?

How would you like your MIL disturbing you in your own house? She never gave them a chance to be husband and wife, she has lived in their home since, insulting her.

To be honest, I would not like it nor stand it. Her MIL and boneless husband had their hands in it too.

Nice you had the courage to slap the woman, savour the feeling. Now see how to organize yourself, she will always hold unto it.

3. Hisssss its better you do quick with the divorce you are thinking, you will be doing him a favour. Who go lose. He will marry a calm, cool, and collected lady that will pamper his mum. The way to ur hus heart is not food but his mum.
      Note- YOU CAN ALWAYS BE WIFE TODAY AND HIS EX WIFE 2MORO, HIS MOTHER WILL REMAIN HIS MOTHER TILL DEATH. The thing just dey pain me cos it could have been handled better

4. Best advice ever.

5. Too quick to judge!

Im not sure anyone will tolerate a MIL who calls her a whore, thief! Complains of what she wears, cooks, how she lives in her own house.
      And this same woman may have called her own mum all sorts of names, witch, gold digger! Abeg. Lets not exonerate this bitch of a woman just cos she's his mother. The guy should have made provisions for the mum to live. Im sure hez the only average guy in his family, thats why she has the guts to yarn like that. Theres much one can take. Coward of a man.

20. Get down on your knees and apologize to your man for slapping his mum. Then get an apartment and move in there till she gets her citizenship your man can come to your house to eat and fuck

21. You clearly lack home training for slapping an old woman
    If she were your mother would you have slapped her no matter what she might have done?
    Now you're asking what should you do?
    Go to hell for all I care.

1. She lacks moral upbringing!!!!
      Her mother is suppose to advice her daughter on how best to go abt it in other to bring peace,but no she went n added fuel n then came back to naija.......I love the silent treatment ur hubby is giving u,he could have divorced ur ass

Wisdom is profitable

22. Nawa oo, you went too far dear. The best is to give the woman a silent treatment. Since you denied slapping her from the onset, stick to that oo. Give the MIL some space, since she's not going back to niaja soon. Concentrate on your hubby and children.

23. No matter what,you would not have slapped his mum.if na ur mama u go slap her?.if some girl slaps your mum ll u b okay?.jst appologise to d woman n ur hubby, try to tolerate her for d Next 1 yr.what has a beginning,has an end

24. I really feel your pain but the truth is slapping her was very very wrong. Because no matter how much your mum annoys you you will never slap her. Apart from that she's an elder. It was wrong of you. Ask she and your God for forgiveness.
    There are other ways to deal with a wicked woman. Always act happy. Pretend to have long funny convos on the phone. Be nice and extra loving to your husband. Especially in her presence. Always let her see you praying psalms against your enemies. You're younger and more agile so you should be the one intimidating her.

If she gets you really angry the best thing to do is to buy some laxatives you can hide where neither of them will see. Slip some just enough to make her miserable for a few days. After a month she will be very humbled.

My mother-in-law was a bitch. Anytime she vexes me too much I will use the laxative trick. And before I use I will shout my prayers to GOD to purge and make all those that don't wish me well uncomfortable.

After a while she became scared of me and was very humble. She couldn't call me a witch because I was always nice to everyone and it was God I was praying to.

My dear there are better ways to handle these things.

1. Evil genius. I like ya 👌

2. I never had mother in law issues,my mother will always come two weeks after I put to bed and spend only two weeks cos of her job,after my 3rd child she said she won't come again.

3. U bad! U kno it!

But I love you girl!

You just the taught me a whole lot.

ANONYMOUSLY MOI

4. Oh my God....tnx 4 d advise....used it already on my mil&she's been purging all day.....ndiala

5. Oh my God....tnx 4 d advise....used it already on my mil&she's been purging all day.....ndiala

6. Kikikikiki
      Anyways, I'm just here wondering why mama wants to be a citizen at her old age.

25. You slapped your MIL?

This just killed all the accusations you heaped against her.
    Would you slap your own mother?

It is wrong! Very wrong! I can't even begin to explain how wrong it is!
    She's older than you! You don't go dishing out slaps to colleagues. Jeez!

I can't deal abeg. The "slap" has wiped off whatever advise I wanted to offer

26. Immediately I got to the point of slapping her I just exclaimed haa u're wicked ooh n whatever u sow u shall reap,how can u slap ur mother in law?can't u ignore her or u lock yourself in your room when she starts her wahala,if I were ur hubby I would do even more he"s doing now,hehee some people get mind sha

27. Hmmmm this is too much but I believe you love your husband before MIL ISH and I also know, you know what to do to him and get on his good side please don't think of divorce have a dialogue with your husband and sort it out.

28. Biko go ND appologise to ur MIL nd husband nd gradually tell hubby that he's ma needs to go!!!

29. This comment has been removed by the author.

1. Exactly! YOU are not yet married! You are so clueless!
      #singlegirlsalwaysyappingwhattheydontknow

30. Dear Poster, you shouldn't have slapped, you just shouldn't have.Mother in law from hell. Poster pls don't make the mistake of bringing those kids to Nigeria cos they will just hijack them from you. You are in the US so Na you get house. Try n send mother n son out of the house or you leave for them. Get a place you can pray, make yourself happy.

1. She should send them out of the house? Are you for real now?

2. What is this mumu saying?

3. My dear poster, DON'T LISTEN TI THIS YEYE ADVICE

31. Pack out and go before you guys record first casualty. You mean you slapped your mil ? You get liver o.
    You are all at fault here.

32. Na wa for u oooooo madam. Did u knw right from time dt she wanted to process her papers for citizenship? If yes den na you dey @ fault from the onset. You knw she is your husband's mother and not your own. U can't treat or behave d same way u treat ur mum. U wld hv just obeyed her every whim, her type are those that thrive on respect. As she told u dt u are wearing bumshorts to cook, u wld go and shop for long flowing gowns. I hv realised that d mother in law is more important than the hubby sef in naija. I don't call mine often bcos I don't want to over do anything, but if she comes or I go to visit I treat her like a queen and I try to b subtle in my dressing and the rest. When u see ur mother-in-law is d type that complains dt u are eating her son's money, when ever she is around tone ur dressing,hair,make up e.t.c. it's better they complain dt u look like who dey are suffering. Na imm det sweet dem pass for belle. Madam I wld advice u calm down in that house and apologise to her. U sef u stubborn too. If your hubby is a citizen why didn't u just come back home and give birth. After d omugwo u return to your base.

33. What can I say?
    Your wahala too plenty.
    Arggggggh!!!
    You shouldnot have landed her slap. Am not saying I wouldn't do it... Right now I don't even know if I will do it or not... Every one has her elastic limit and knowing mothers(not to talk of mother in laws), the elastic limit short weeeeee weeeeee.
    Honi I don't pray to be in your shoe. Since you are already there, is there no way to make amends...like it or not you crossed your boundary... You shouldn't have slapped her.
    How did you even court your hubby?
    Did you not discuss with him about issues concerning family?(Yeah you said you did. But via phone? Cos he stays in the US)
    The lady that connected you and him nkor? Abi she don run? Or she join dey shame you.
    Please dear try and repair the damage(I think you also have a hand in it).
    I still maintain am not a saint and Am not sure what I would do if I were you. Goodluck.

34. You slapped your MIL hmm my dear you try.
    Ask for forgiveness and surrender all to God in prayer.

35. You just failed yourself, hubby and kids.
    How dare you slap her? Even if you deny it, u know the truth and mind u, u guys will never tlbe the same.
    Am sure you will personally kill whoever slaps ur mum and u know how men are with their mums.
    You are lucky sef else he would have thrown you out of the house.
    Its cos of people like you guys put in extra offering so as not to fall in love with your type.
    Other peeps have talked about how they found a way to bond with there mil, but u chose to slap. I cant even get over it. If my mil slap me sef i will just walk away as i cant even insult sef

1. Lol @extra offering so as not to fall in love. Well @Poster u are all shades of wrong and I don't like the advice your Mum gave you. Your marriage can still work,just pray to God ask for the Spirit of patience and understanding, don't leave your home just like that. Sincerely apologise to your MIL,be more loving to hubby trust me he wants you but just be bendable but don't break. Have a beautiful home.

36. I am sorry for all that has happened but you should NOT have slapped her. I wish you were in nigeria, i'd have given you some suggestions about how to go on and break the ice, but since you are in that place, family bond is not very important there, i don't even know wt to tell you. Chai

37. God punish you for slapping your husband's mother. Your husband really is a weak man that's why you're still alive. If that was me, I would destroyed you and go and destroy your family in Nigeria you piece of shit. From your chronicles, you are a manipulative and heartless bitch and so is your mother. 1 month after you arrive you want to prevent his mother from coming because you just got married and you came into the house like a boss. You brought the whole situation on yourself and no one else. A bit of patience, understanding and love could have been applied seeing that you were coming into a new family but noooo the bitch wants to be in command. Go ahead and divorce him already because your marriage is over for good. Take it from me as a last born your husband would never forgive you ever. No matter what you do or how much you beg you have destroyed that thing you didn't care to understand. It's called the love between a last born and a mother. No point trying to repair the relationship. I would have kicked you out the very first time you complain about my mom. Tell your husband to grow a pair and kick you out already you piece of shit. You are a classic example of the kind of woman not to ever marry...

1. Yes she is a piece of shit. She really is.

2. The way I was raised I can't even talk back at my elders. It is obvious she has no home training.

3. It America. ..He can't "kick" her out...Must Nigerian men always kick their women out? sort. ..smfh.....If the man slaps the wide''s mom...IT still has to be the woman who packs out..Having said that..girl..u didn't try at allllll...

38. You shouldn't have slapped her....slapping her was totally wrong biko. How ll u feel if ur mum calls to tell you that your brothers wife slapped her? Apart from the fact that she's ur mother in law,she's more or less ur mum. Pls look for a way to make peace with her codedly without involving her son,she'll forgive u & there'll be peace. Even if u won't be close to her which is not a must,beg her.I'm not even a fan of getting close to in laws,my mother in law is late & my sister in law makes it clear that she does not like me,I don't like her either & our paths don't cross bt I av peace in my home & I don't ever interfere in her business with her brother,there's so much peace when you're on your lane

39. Dear poster I will like to asked you a question before processing, how about if it were your own mother that was slapped by your hubby, how will you feel?? You just lost everything I wanted to say in your favour immediately I read that part of I slapped her, will you slap your own mother? If for example you can't tolerate her? Now I see your mother in-law is right in that aspect where she said you lack home training. Yesssss you actually lack home training,and for you to be bold enough to raise that your fucking hand to slap a woman hold enough to be your own mother, you shall know no happiness and you are expecting peace in your home no dear you've killed the peace because even God in heaven will ease your peace and happiness nonsense. Am not saying your mother in law was right putting up with you guys for God knows how long it will last but raising your hand on her, you are cursed already, I just pity your future.

1. He will forgive her,so forget your curse,it will do nothing to her. She only have to swallow her pride and apologise to the mil and try to accommodate her.but gradually give the husband reason why his mother should not live with them.

40. Kwakwakwakwa hot slap😂😂😂Nne pls u need to slap her frequenty...Tf! Y are all ds women so wicked nd your husband won't even take action..mehn i cnt deal i swear jst poison her or leave dah man..18months!!! U try shaa

1. Hmmmm you ar WICKED for this advice

41. So after she gets her citizenship where will she stay? You don inherit that woman be that oo. Doesn't she have other children? The solution to this problem lies with your husband. Both of you need to go for counseling so some sense can be drummed into his ears.

42. God have mercy.

43. Poster, u r very rude, uncouth and ill trained fellow. U lacks proper parental upbringing. It is due to your bad character that you always have problems with your MIL. Ur horseband has been over looking ur bad manners bcos he is a weak family man.
    Did you say you slapped his mother?
    It is bcos you knows that ur horseband is a sissy, a good for nothing man and he cannot do anything about it. If it is me,I will not say what I will do to you bcos no one will believe it

44. Your hubby & MIL got it all wrong but YOU, are a selfish, self centred young woman. If you treated that woman the same way you would have treated your own mother, she probably wouldn't have been such a bitch.Your resentment started even before she came to the US. you probably didn't know you were showing it. Going as far as, SLAPPING your husband's mother shows the kind of person you are. Now you have money abi? This is exactly why guys in the US have murdered their ex wives in cold blood. You are selfish period!

45. Your hubby & MIL got it all wrong but YOU, are a selfish, self centred young woman. If you treated that woman the same way you would have treated your own mother, she probably wouldn't have been such a bitch.Your resentment started even before she came to the US. you probably didn't know you were showing it. Going as far as, SLAPPING your husband's mother shows the kind of person you are. Now you have money abi? This is exactly why guys in the US have murdered their ex wives in cold blood. You are selfish period! FRESH

46. Madam, install nanny caneras so you can capture how she behaves when others are not there and show hubby. Btw, you should not have slapped her at all. Na only God fit deliver you from that singular mistake

47. This Omugwo chronicles should change to mil chronicles or better still wife's chronicles since sometimes the culprit could be the wife's own mother. One thing I thank God for is that poster is working and can take care of herself in case she splits up with her husband. You can't expect the man not to love or take care of his mother but his weakness is that he doesn't know the sacredness of marriage and how you don't allow interference from third parties no matter how close you are to them. Once your wife complains about something and you see it is affecting her (women are emotional) if you don't act quickly things will degenerate to the point that the home can break, and divorce imminent. Not that he be rude to his mom but let her know he cannot tolerate his wife being unhappy on her account and can send her away for that or even rent another place for peace to reign. While doing this he would still be taking good care of the mother and try to bring both parties together. Once the mother realizes that manipulation can't work and that things are better for her when she is in peace with the wife she would back down. Only strong men can do this. Poster please try to kill your mil with kindness even when she abuses you, God will fight for you and who knows you may end up being friends. Pray for her, prayer is never overrated, that is why I will not get tired of recommending "war room", even though some BVs hate this. Don't give up on your marriage so soon as you have not mentioned your hubby being bad to you personally. Also show your hubby you love his mother, because men begin to hate women who they believe hate their mothers. Apologize to both your mil and hubby for the slap. I guess you were provoked but that's why you need self control or else you can do something you will regret and everyone will not consider you were provoked, besides she is your elder. I wish you the best and pray for divine intervention. This too shall pass.

48. OMG OMG. U slapped a woman old enough to be your mother?

I hv to commend ur weak horseband for showing restraint.That show that he has good upbringing and parental guidance.The truth is that 95% of men that like their mother will go physical on you and damn the consequence.

49. You just used your hand to ruin your marriage.Forget it your husband can never forgive you.Prepare for husband no 2.

50. If you divorce him, you'll be declaring her the winner. Stay in your house with your husband and your children.
    I think lying about slapping her is making matters worse because your husband knows you did and just wants the truth.
    You can tell the truth and ask for mercy. Explain your part to him. Cry very well too, that may touch his heart.
    Since fighting with her is not working and won't ever work, please stop it. Find another way. Kill her with kindness. Do those nice you normally won't do consistently, ignore her and keep smiling because you have your end goal which is a peace filled home and pray for patience because it won't be easy..

Fuck your husband o. If you don't there is a long line of women waiting to do it for you and in every style, position and methoď.. Drive The oga crazy so he wants only you.

The only person that can change your husband is God. You have bad habits you cannot stop is it a full fledged human being you want to change? Ask him(God) to do that.

Be wary of those on this blog shouting leave him or divorce him and etc. If you believe them Ehn, I sorry for you. Most of them are in worse situations and don't leave. They will come here to give life to their alter ego's and deceive people...
    P.s. Teach your children to love the M.I.L.. Don't indirectly make them hate her.

1. New Eve God bless you for this advice. Dear poster, you can do it

51. No matter the push, you should never have slapped her.

52. You shouldn't have slap her, but the deed is done, start begging your hubby and mil from today.

Call who ever you know that can talk to her and hubby, cry and appear remorse, don't worry you will take your own pound of flesh back but not now.call all you know, be humble, you don't fight this kind of battle shouting, sometimes it is good to appear clueless and wait. Start the process of reconciliation with ur hubby,swallow the humble pie and wait,u time will come.

1. You win this battle on your knees, not by flexing muscles. I swear to God I will show excess love to my MIL no matter how wicked she may be to me. I cannot say I love my husband and then hate his mother.

53. Wow! Am shocked @you slapped your MIL, You better go beg your MIL and do whatever it takes for her and your hubby to forgive you, no matter what your parents do to you, you don't slap or beat them up or else your daughter in law would slap you too. Maybe even your own child would do worse to you so please do whatever it takes to rectify this mistake and know that no matter how terrible a person is there's always a good side to that person and you should take your time to find that out....

54. I just pictured ur MIL as patience ozokwo.
    I'm sure by now you kno u were wrong 2 slap her n regret ur action. Just come out clean to ur hubby since he already guessed right that you did it, Maybe your denial is what's even provoking him the more.
    Visit ur Mil cry, in short naked urself and roll on the floor, and beg for her forgiveness, not for hersake but for that of your home.

1. Hmmmm confessing is the worst thing she can do abeg.

55. You gave your mil a hot slap? As what ?Americana? Super woman? Thank your starts your hubby isn't my brother.
    I don't even understand this your story. So what happens after she gets her citizenship, will she continue to live with your guys? You were obviously aware of what she was coming for hence requesting for the 'us moment' before she did so I don't get why you want her to go back. Would you have slapped your mum if she accused you of stealing? It's obvious you have been exchanging words with her if slapping her was the next best thing to hurt her more so why are you asking what you did!
    You slapped a woman old enough to be your mother! Arrange that your chic well o cause your slaps are coming from your daughter in laws .

56. Poster wetin you chop beleful?that canale raise hand on an old woman!please watch your anger

57. Hubby would have goten a place for mil to stay since she is staying for long. Pls dear try nd ignor her.

58. Wow! you were wrong for hitting your MIL, No matter what you shouldn't have done such.

Am sure your husband is hurting and disappointed,you either apologies to him in front of his mom or give him space to heal.

Do not ask for a divorce yet especially if you still do love him becos if you do, your husband may easily give in due to pressure from his family. give him some time to heal

Better still,you can travel back to nigeria for sometime so as to clear your head and be sure of what you really want to do.

When this phase is settled, sit your husband down and dicuss on how to manage his mom to avoid further problems.

Set rule and regulations and let everyone abide by it.

59. I dont blame you for slapping her...she went too far and I would have done worse if I were in your shoes!
    Your husband sef isnt helping matters ....when next he demands for sex ,tell him that his mum is around and that you are shy!
    Please dont move an inch from your matrimonial home.Stay there and protect it,when shes tired,she will run!Be nice to her whenever your husband is around and as soon as he steps out,be yourself!

1. She is wrong for slapping her mil but the mil is very wrong for enjoying her own Hubby and still stopping her dil from enjoying hers.

2. Poster if you listen to this crap of a advice then you are doomed! Infact, you are already cursed for giving your MIL a "HOT SLAP" as you've emphasised. Just know that what goes around,comes around!

60. Abg if na me na serious beating I for give Her..u did d right thing jhorr...GO GET A PLACE OF UR OWN N TAKE CARE OF URSLF N UR KID ..UR HUBBY NA MUMU

1. Beating kee, in America Smh. She is lucky the mother in law didn't call police. My dear na d man go comot for house no be the woman. America no be place when men throw women out of the house like naija so calm down. Lady remember the Bible said respect your father and mother so that you will live long. Husband the Bible said you will leave your family and become one with your wife. What will your mother use the citizenship in her old age for or is she doing it for your siblings. It is not that important that you will sacrifice your marriage for. Your mother enjoyed hers let her allow you too to enjoy yours. Lady please apologise to your motherinlaw.

61. Hmmmm I understand your pain but you took it way too far by slapping your MIL, no matter what you shouldn't rise your hands against someone older than you talk more of your mother in law! I swear if I were to be your MIL's daughter I will take the next flight to US and beat you blue black! I remember How much I slapped and beat my neighbor when I rented a room self-con In akoka as a unilag student, she hit her mother's head against the wall and I heard the sound and cry of the poor woman from my room,i was angry I beat her with all the strength in me, she got me arrested and I told everything to the officers at the station she ended up being locked up instead of myself. if she was to be your mother and your sister in law slapped her, I'm sure you will over react. We women/ wives should learn to live in peace with our husbands family,life isn't all that hard. I know people are differ but I can cope with anyone, I study people and I try to avoid their bad side. And my mum is way too difficult but I coped with her and I never rised up my eyes nor voice to her, I condone all she does and that is because she is my mother and there is nothing I can do, the worse I do is to cry and ask God what a mother you gave me. Then when I got married,my husband brothers wives told me how much my mother in law is troublesome and I shouldn't be close to her else I will regret it, I just smiled and say she can't be as troublesome as Iya Damola. MIL has 4 sons and 2 daughters, her 3 daughter in laws no dey gree with her even her daughters always ask me how come I don't have issue with mama! She boast to everyone that cares to listen that I'm the best DIL that everyone says she is troublesome but how come she hasn't quarreled with me, she doesn't know how much i try to condone her cause my husband loves her too much, maybe cause they share the same date of birth and I don't want to have issues with my husband cause he can do anything for me, he goes out of his way to please me, aside that I don't want anything that will make me leave my marriage. So madam kindly apologise to your MIL and your Husband, make peace with everyone. Salah

1. Thank you dear.you are a blessing.what has happened has happened.if I may add to your advice,she should go and appologise to her mil in private.since you denied it to your Husby,maintain your stand that you didn't slap her but go privately to appologise to her.buy her good things that she likes.from this moment,anything she does,ignore it.just assume that she is your mother that way,you will be less angry and condone whatever.as I type,this we are in similar situation.i am living with my mil for years now.i try to ignore her most times for peace to rain,she even abused my family,non of my family members sleeps in my house because of her.my mother will come for omugwo and stays at most 2 weeks because of her.not that she doesn't know how to retaliate but she considers me first that I will be the one to suffer if she acts otherwise.so many things to talk about but let me stop here.my joy is that his son is the wise type that knows the truth from false otherwise,I don't think I will be in the marriage by now.she can push you to the extent of wanting to kill her but what do I do,I will just use mouth to bail my self and enter my room to cry.another secret,stop complaining to your Husby about her mother.just keep all her insult to your self.if your mum is not the humble type,don't tell her what you are passing thru because her advice may ruin your marriage.be wise.the lord is your strength.

62. Hmmmm I understand your pain but you took it way too far by slapping your MIL, no matter what you shouldn't rise your hands against someone older than you talk more of your mother in law! I swear if I were to be your MIL's daughter I will take the next flight to US and beat you blue black! I remember How much I slapped and beat my neighbor when I rented a room self-con In akoka as a unilag student, she hit her mother's head against the wall and I heard the sound and cry of the poor woman from my room,i was angry I beat her with all the strength in me, she got me arrested and I told everything to the officers at the station she ended up being locked up instead of myself. if she was to be your mother and your sister in law slapped her, I'm sure you will over react. We women/ wives should learn to live in peace with our husbands family,life isn't all that hard. I know people are differ but I can cope with anyone, I study people and I try to avoid their bad side. And my mum is way too difficult but I coped with her and I never rised up my eyes nor voice to her, I condone all she does and that is because she is my mother and there is nothing I can do, the worse I do is to cry and ask God what a mother you gave me. Then when I got married,my husband brothers wives told me how much my mother in law is troublesome and I shouldn't be close to her else I will regret it, I just smiled and say she can't be as troublesome as Iya Damola. MIL has 4 sons and 2 daughters, her 3 daughter in laws no dey gree with her even her daughters always ask me how come I don't have issue with mama! She boast to everyone that cares to listen that I'm the best DIL that everyone says she is troublesome but how come she hasn't quarreled with me, she doesn't know how much i try to condone her cause my husband loves her too much, maybe cause they share the same date of birth and I don't want to have issues with my husband cause he can do anything for me, he goes out of his way to please me, aside that I don't want anything that will make me leave my marriage. So madam kindly apologise to your MIL and your Husband, make peace with everyone. Salah

63. Madam, your marriage is good as dead. Some sins are unpardonable. This is one of them.
    And you never said your horseband did not love you. But your actions killed the love he had for you. And nothing can bring it back.
    The only way out is divorce. Go and become a single mother. Yeye thing

64. You have gone really far to have slapped your mil, no matter what she must have done, you shouldn't have raised your hand on her, you just have to go on your knees and beg mama if possible go and get elderly people around you to beg her forgiveness and make peace with her for christ sake.

65. I think your husband is wrong in allowing his mother live permanently with him and his wife. A man who doesn't know how to handle his home cannot have peace. Its absurd to put your mother in your house for so long no matter the reasons.A man should LEAVE his father and mother and CLEAVE to his wife! If he is the last born,doesn't he have other siblings that mama can go and stay with for a while-at least give you a break? And what does she need the citizenship for? So she can stay forever in your house? All of these are all the shades of wrong and I put the blame squarely at the feet of your husband. I wish I could see him to talk some sense into him. If I were him, my wife slapping my mother is a signal of worse things to come. I would take steps immediately to end their staying together.Make alternative plans for mama.Full stop. Haba.

1. 1000likes,just wat i wanted to say.d woman was wrong for slapping her MIL but i ca never stay wit my own MIL for more than a week.it cannot happen.my mum sef has never spent a night in my house and i hav 2 kids and pregnant now.my home is VERY peaceful and hubby takes my side in anytin.so i dont complain often but anytime i do he rises to my defence and kindly asks his parents wen de are leaving.its not aa if they wont come back.i respect them to the core cos de are yorubas.but dat wiman has just overstayed.can u imagine?staying since 3months after d wedding.wetin happen?abeg dere us a limit to everytin.i no even get maid as i love me and hubby's time togeda like kilode.i work but am back be4 him,i cook and we do d cleaning and washing togeda on d weekends.i also supplement wit my bale business.abeg d MIL doomed d marriage from d start.if she was educated she would know this.but d woman sha went too far.haba

2. Thank you. Everyone is talking about the slap when DH is at fault for not controlling his home.

3. Thank you for this sensible contribution. Unlike pple blaming the girl. At least she was honest enough to admit slapping the mil

4. The husband is not wrong in keeping his mom in the house. My sister's husband is an only child. The father in-law is late and the mother in-law has been with her from the first day she got married. For 18 years they've been together under one roof and nothing is wrong. They are one big happy family. They go shopping together and do lots of things. If you see where my sis is buying supplements for the mil you will think it's for herself. My mom even get jelly that my sis is paying more attention to her mother in-law than her. The woman cooks sometimes but my sister does most of the cooking. Let's just learn to accept our in-laws.

5. Says the one who doesn't let family members stay more than three days. Nwa Amaka give advice you can take!

6. Anon 14 :26 it all depend on the relationship you have with your mother. U can even kill your mother after all Some people has done it in the past

66. I think your husband is wrong in allowing his mother live permanently with him and his wife. A man who doesn't know how to handle his home cannot have peace. Its absurd to put your mother in your house for so long no matter the reasons.A man should LEAVE his father and mother and CLEAVE to his wife! If he is the last born,doesn't he have other siblings that mama can go and stay with for a while-at least give you a break? And what does she need the citizenship for? So she can stay forever in your house? All of these are all the shades of wrong and I put the blame squarely at the feet of your husband. I wish I could see him to talk some sense into him. If I were him, my wife slapping my mother is a signal of worse things to come. I would take steps immediately to end their staying together.Make alternative plans for mama.Full stop. Haba.

1. Very valid points.
      Nice write up.
      But while they are all staying together, let the wife be patient and be more open minded.
      Just be diplomatic when dealing with certain situation.
      Praying that peace, love and laughter be restored in your home soonest.

67. Poster you should have ignored her, that slap spoiled everything. Now your hubby is so bitter with you, if it was your mum giving you such issues would you have slap her? No matter all the trouble she made you go thru, imagine just the slap alone has covered all her wrong did.

Anger is a very bad thing.

68. You are impatient, you lack discretion and you made a terrible mistake.

You shouldn't have hit her, no matter what! No matter what.

From your mom's actions when she came, and the advice she gave you before leaving, it's not surprising that you hit a woman old enough to birth you, your own husband's mum for that matter.

That alone is enough to make everything she's put you through so far, very moot.

Not only did you slap her, you made her look like a liar.
    No admission, no apologies.
    Babe, you strong o.

There's no difference between you and a man who hits a woman, hope you know.

And I don't blame your husband for acting the way he's doing right now.
    Infact, he's a gentleman, in my opinion.

They are hundreds of ways to live in 'peace' with a somewhat troublesome MIL.
    Some MILs behave in ways worse than you just recounted, but their DILs still find ways to live with them, without alterations ; sometimes making the old women love them, whether they like it or not.

And that's what you would have done, upon discovering that she was going to stay with you both for a while.

Obviously, the prospect of her staying with you both got you so uncomfortable that you started giving off negative vibes which she noticed, and decided to start acting up before you did.

So, on what grounds are you going to get a divorce?

* smh *

69. U ve no right to slap ur MIL no matter ow bad she may be.u ve cross ur limit for slapping her infact u proved dat she's not ur mother.

70. You lack home training and everything you said about the woman it's a big fat lie. Because he married you , He should forget about his family? Your father was the one that took him to US and gave him money to pay bride price. You came looking for round of applause or what. Fool that's what you are. I know you're Igbo.

71. Madam you were so wrong for slapping your MIL you shouldn't have done such no matter how vexed you were.Now you husband is hurting and disappointed, just apologies to your MIL in his presence or better still give in some time to heal.

Don't bring in the issue of divorce especially now if you still do love him, else he may jump at the offer due to pressure from his family.

Why not travel down to nigeria for your Omugwo so you can have the time to think through with what you really want for your marriage?

When this phase is gone, sit your husband down and dicuss on how to manage your MIL presence since it obvious she will be staying around for a long time.

Afterward both of you should set rules and regulations and let everyone stick to it.

72. You went too far,at this point you need to ask God for forgiveness and also your MIL too.You need to come clean,so that God can heal your marriage.
    Think on this,you will be a MIL someday and the law of karma might make your son's wife treat you much worse.
    May the Lord guide you!

73. Kai Kai Kai U slapped your mother in law???
    I mean not ur sis in law or cousin in law but your mother in law?
    Na wah o!
    I understand she has Bn pushing u but my dear why can't People just ignore people giving u wahAla?
    And it's not as if she hit u o.

I sha blame ur mom. She fanned the embers.

74. Slapping your mother in-law made me conclude that you are the witch that is trying to destroy your home.
    You lack home training sef.
    I can find myself seated while an elderly person is standing.
    You raised your hands on your mil.

Deal with whatever you get.
    Silly girl.
    If na me be your Dh na divorce straight. Nobody tries shit with my mom.

1. The slap she gave her mil and the silent wicked beans treatment is same dear.
      Yes!! She is very wrong for slapping her mil,she has sinned against God and man but we must not forget she is human. Her weakness got the better part of her. So instead of abuses,she needs our advice.
      Go to God in prayer dear,sincerely repent of your deed against your elder,so that you days may be long, then go to your mil and apologise sincerely to her and make sure she forgives you. Go to your Hubby also and apologise. Change your attitude towards mil by being tolerant,if after being nice and loving towards her for six months and you still feel like she should leave then you can loving discuss with your man and and make him understand how uncomfortable you feel with his mother around.

75. I dont have anything to tell you but just one payer. "You will have children both boys and girl and you will grow old, you will visit them but their wives and husbands will beat you thoroughly and disgrace you in the public and do 1000 times to you what you did to that old woman. Girls stay single if you know you can not be nice to your inlaws. This type of girl dont have any business getting married in the first place.

Your behaviour is not western att all, in western world you will pay grately if the victim files for assault. If you have done this here in Sweden be rest assured that your MIL will be richer by now and you poorer. You dont raise your hand on anyone irrespective of what they might have said to you especially the elderly and vulnerable. Yoruba people will say "Omo oju ori ola ri"

76. Kai!!!

Mother in law from hell.

But you never should have slapped her. Haba!!

You didn't handle this well.
    You just spoilt your case.
    You who should have been the victim is now the villain!!
    You no try at all.

I know you are hurt by the whole situation especially all surrounding your own mum's visit n reached your breaking point.

My take on this:
    Some confessions no dey pay oo.
    keep denying but Soften your demeanor, stop fighting. Humble your self.
    Start begging her n hubby serious begging o but keep denying with cry sef.

Or how do I say yes baby am sorry I slapped ur mum pls forgive me. Then call his sisters in Nigeria who are also in their husbands houses with worse MIL and say yes I slapped mama but am sorry.
    Hmmmm. E get as e sound o.

Abeg just dey beg, dey roll for floor dey cry but continue your denial.

I swear it wasn't a slap I jst touched her hand and walked away when she was shouting on me and poking her fingers in my face.
    Haha 😂 ds my lie self, e no make sense. Don't mind me oo.

But then your angry reaction sef no make sense.

ANONYMOUSLY MOI

77. you slapped your MIL? Your husband is really gentle I must say, wo if I was your husband would beat you ehn hospital will reject you. If I were to be your SIL will sock your Cain inside alchol for 3 days with blade the way I will flog you, you will think you're yhe devil will all pray against. Better tell that your mum that adviced you to start fight with your MIL that you don enter hot soup, just keep begging Your MIL to forgive you. Even if you leave your husband I'm not sure you will last in another man's house cause this stupidity is in your and it will follow you everywhere you go. You started the trouble from the day one of your marriage and you will be a mothe in law some day o! Karma is a bitch anyways

1. What a wonderful mind set, beat the hell out of your wife Bc of a slap to your mother ? And that makes you better than the poster . Try that in America and find yourself behind bars. And if you are a woman and you advice your brothers to do the same thing , you are just as stupid and useless .

2. Black mango are you the poster? Cause I don't know why you're this pained!!! Go on and beat your MIL, it's obvious you kick and beat your mother too. Ewu, Omo ale jati jati !

78. She did no wrong in asking her MIL to postpone her trip when she first moved there ?Is marriage a package deal with a MIL? Even if it were my own mother , I would ask her to wait a few months . As a mil living with your son, you have to respect boundaries and realize that you are a guest , and not the woman of the house . The MIL is a devil's incarnate that wanted to destroy her son's home . Yes the poster cracked , it is not easy to be subjected to abuse and not crack . It was wrong to slap her yes, I don't support violence, but the evil witch deserved it . She should swerve abeg. American citizenship for what? So she can get in and live in their home forever .Her son should rent her a place .

Poster never ever admit to slapping her , one day have a heart to heart with your husband that it is obvious his mother wants to frustrate you out of your marriage , even to the extent of lying that you slapped her. If you can rent a place for a few months , tell him that he has succeeded and it's obvious you can never light a candle to her, so you are leaving them. Before you make this move try and be extra nice to MIL, tell her that you are apologizing for any way that you have wronged her, make sure he sees you making an effort . You have to be as sneaky as a snake to fight this woman.

79. What should we call you? You had the guts/courage to raise your hand and slap your mother in-law? You girl is bad! If you can not tolerate your mother in-law; then you can not tolerate even your own mother. Your mother by the way, gave you a wrong advise; what kind of a mother is she! She came to America with grudges for your mother in-law because of all the negative things you told her prior to her coming.
    And as for your husband, he deserve an abusive woman like you! Are there no longer decent girls in the America; that he had to go marry a girl from Nigeria. Most of you women that they marry from Nigeria always act this way, is either they don't respect anyone at all, insult people or sleep around.
    The reason you're restless is because you also lied on your mother in-law's head that you didn't slap her. I'll advise you accept your mistakes, apologize to her and your husband. Make peace with her and live in harmony with your husband.
    How would you feel if your sister in-law lay her hands on your mother whether she did wrong or not?
    Please women should learn to pray for the spirit of tolerance.

80. Go on your knees and ask God for forgiveness, also go on your knees and ask your husband and MIL for forgiveness. When they forgive you, start doing eye service for her, laugh when she insults you life is not that serious. If she says you want to finish her sons money, say mama God has blessed him that his money can't finish. Just beg her sha and make peace please for you kids sake

1. Everything she does from the point of the slap till now will seem like eye service. It sorry n.a.. thank you ma. Ok ma , from now on.

81. The deed has been done. My dear look for a way to apologise to her, buy her a gift to show that you will change and start overlooking/tolerating her. No one knows how she/he will end up in life. DO not leave your husband, ask God to forgive and give you direction on how to restore peace/calmness in your home, its not garagara or being a doc.
    Swallow your pride and apologise, the house is your home not your MIL's and she's not in any competition with you, definitely she will go some day but what happens after it only God knows, make peace while the sun shines.

82. Because of a single action, ppl who wud have supported you are now blaming you. I feel you badly though. Can't imagine living with such a mother-in-law for years sef. It's annoying and frustrating but...slapping hee is extreme. You for just ignore her. How will you feel if your brothers wife were to slap your mum? Marriage is for better for worse. To live in peace and prevent her other kids from decending on you when you visit naija, meet your mil, kneel down and apologize. Tell her you are sorry for everything you have ever done to offend her and that you want you 2 to start living in peace. She will not be willing but remain there and keep begging. If you are going to remain with her for some more years, this na your best option. If you guys were based in naija, cos of that slap, your marriage would have ended. Consider your kids and it seems your hubby is a nice man but mummy's boy. Good men are hard to find. If he was beating you, I for say make u divorce him and tell his family to fuck off

83. Your husband too made a mistake for allowing her to come soon after wedding...him no get brain? Is he really matured, why would he tell his mum that his wife doesn't want her to come now...haba! He should've called his mum to order initially so that she won't cross the line.
    The solution is to ask/beg her to forgive you, that's if she's a Christian and understands her Holy Bible.
    -Make up with your husband no matter what, he's yours.

84. Honey you crossed the line the day you slapped your MIL. I would suggest you make peace with your hubby first of all and then call a family meeting where you will kneel down and apologize to your MIL.

You are a woman remember? Win your husband and his mother over with love.

85. You all have forgotten where the Bible says parents should not provoke their children, that is what the MIL did, I don't support her for slapping her MIL but she so deserves that slap. Poster never agree to your husband you slapped his mum o! Always deny it. Sha try and make peace with your MIL and husband, cook well for him, fuck his brains out and show him love nd also you have changed. Above all, put your marriage in prayers. Please tell us how it goes later

86. Not many women are fortunate to have peaceful mother in laws. As much as I sympathise with you, I can imagine that before you even got to the point of slapping her, you probably had traded insults with her and played nice when your hubby returned home. As much as you wanted an alone time you shouldn't have mentioned it to hubby, you set the tone for her coming over. I'm sure she is staying just to spite you. But how could you slap her!! Imagine it being done to your mum? How would you feel. And of course things will change in your marriage because your husband will definitely believe his mama. She is his mum! First seek the face of God,change your rebellious nature towards your mil for your sake and the sake of your kids, because you seem to have a good thing going on if not for this massive thing with your mil. To make peace you would have to confess the truth and be truly sorry ( to both hubby and his siblings ) and then to his mum. Or better still on a day its only both of you ( mil) do something nice to show your regret.

87. Every one is just pin pointing on the fact she slapped her and 4getting the main issue here wat she is going through ...u all re just quick to judge bcuz ur not the one in her shoes...I blame the husband bcuz he is the cause of all the problems from the beginning and now his angry if he wanted peace he would hv spoken to his mother with a firm feet on the ground...yes slapping her was bad noted...my dear don't apologise move out for a while with ur kids think bout it wat u want to do clear ur head but I can only imagine wat ur going through..immediately after ur wedding ur mil haba dat 1 is not nice @all being the fact that it is also an arrange marriage kilode she needs time with her family alone not another wheel she can come nd visit but not stay permanently nd also try explaining to ur big auntie abt everything that has happened she should try and talk to him

1. As in...all I just read is SLAP, SLAP
      Must of this Bitches here will Poison their MIL's
      Nobody cares what she was going through...she never spent time with her hubby n now MIL is d 3rd party in her marriage
      Eh!!!

88. Dear poster, no matter how angry u claim to be NEVER raise your hand on ur MIL. Can u slap ur own mother? Ur MIL came to live with u not do omugwo or what is it called. In as much as ur MIL seem wicked as u have said u shud have tolerated her or get ur hubby to support u but u lost his support day u slapped his mum. Simply apologise to ur MIL and ask her to treat u as her daughter and not DIL.. and talk to ur hubby as well. All d best

89. You guys from Nija that go outside the country always have a way of misbehaving and showing yourselves kai! I'm not here to advice oh biko.

Those anonymous that knows how to praise mother in-law should advice you. I will be left with my imagination of all these MIL, SIL, DIL drama which I prefer to the real drama biko.

90. Dear poster, you are a very stupid woman. I just wonder why most female doctors can be so full of themselves.. seriously... How on earth would you slap somebody's mother not to talk of your husband's mother. You nor dey fear God?
    You are lucky your husband is a weakling. If you had a man like me, your village would know I am a monster in human flesh. idiot woman

91. It amazes me when you people have mother in law wahala o! Some daughter in-laws are busy bodies before marriage they would be doing unnecessary govt work for their mother in-laws. Cooking for them, calling them 24/7. When they enter the marriage, most of them don't actually change o! Its kids and all that take their time then the in-laws would then say she has changed. Meanwhile some mother in-laws are busy bodies. Why would u go and be saying your daughter in-law is wearing shorts at home? How does that concern u? Is her husband complaining? And why would u dominate their pictures? Na u use ur tohtoh born am? Won't she seat her ass in one place and wait to be called to take pics? Meanwhile poster u are wrong for slapping her tho. Eshan people say if u wan kill rat u go de lure the rat with food and every then slowly u kill it! U for give am silent treatment make her redundant in the house since she wan die for america. What is she using citizenship for? Edede like her. Well its always best u keep ur in-laws at arms lenght . call when necessary. It doesn't mean u hate them its just d best to avoid unnecessary see finish or talk. From the onset make them know u are not the friendly type and u don't want to be close to them. That way they would give u your space and not try rubbish with u. Note, no one can ever be like your mother. Time for omugwo, make sure your mum comes first or better still hire a nanny and save yourselves these drama! In a but s shell, na daughter in-laws de cause all these tins. De do busy body for in-laws. Truth it, whether u makebtyem your best friends or not, they would still say u are bad! So to your tent oh Israel! Everybody stay your lane. Poster apologise to her and follow the eshan adage! My 2 cents dear! Kisses!

92. Dear poster, you messed up big time...but you can still fix the situation. Marriage can be sweet even with a mama's boy. Step 1 apologize to your MIL when your husband is out of the house. She will heap insults on you, but persevere. Please knock that chip off your shoulder and let go of your pride. When your husband returns home, tell him you need to talk to him and his mother, and ask him to come with you to wherever she is to speak to her. Beg him if you need to, as long as you have their combined audience. Get on your knees, tell your MIL that you have offended her, tell her that because of the shame you felt with your actions, you also lied to your husband. Tell her your are very sorry. Fill the apology with loads of BS that will make her head swell. Tell her that you've been forming American wife and you almost forgot your culture. Tell her bad friends(don't mention any names Oh!)advised you and in your weakness you listened. Hold your MIL's foot and cry on it like Mary Magdalene. Tell her to forgive you because you know that your marriage is over without her. Tell her that you know that it is because of her hard work on your husband that you have the good life that you have now. Tell her that change has come. Tell her to remember the day she gave birth to your husband and the joy she felt on that day. Tell her that you want her to be happy like that everyday and you will do everything you can to make it happen but first you need her forgiveness. Yes, she will shout, even cry...take it in stride. After all the drama, prepare a fine meal and serve both of them and watch them eat like a good village wife. Fast forward to bed time, give your husband the F***K of his life after you beg a little. It's going to be tough for a little while but keep your eyes on the prize.

1. I am the poster, this is the best comment and I will do just as you said. Thank you to everyone for your advice.
      I will keep to it. I will go and beg everybody that this has affected. But most especially my MIL and DH.
      But the comment of rolling on her feet like Mary Magdalene got me ROTL. I will cast away my pride and ego to beg for forgiveness.
      I felt bad after the slap. But my MIL has shown me pepper for 4 years she's been here. Her mouth is sharper than iron. She lies to her son about me. If I am on d house phone talking, she picks up the spare phone upstairs to ease drop .
      She cooks differently cos she doesn't eat salt and pepper. I lost my cool because she had really pushed me to the extreme. I just lost my sense or whatever u call at that moment.
      But I will come back here to testify by God's grace.
      Kisses to everyone

93. All of you criticizing her should just keep quiet. She has made a mistake and she is asking for how best to atone for her mistakes. If you don't have anything meaningful to say just read and pass jor.

Who among you haven't done worst than her? Some mothers are very annoying that you will just want to stab them to death. Why won't the old woman being that she has experience and kids treat her nicely? Does she treat her female daughters that same way? Are her daughters not finishing another man's money? Who is disturbing them? Please before you crucify people over a mistake so many people have done, try to think.

Both of them are at fault even if I support she should apologise to mama for slapping her. Even the Christ instructed parents not to test their children to anger haba!!. I didn't want to talk about this but the fact people are chopping her raw made me step in.

Please leave her alone and face your marriage or business. Poster, just sincerely apologise and make peace with her just for the sake of your marriage and kids. I promise you henceforth, mama will know her place and you both will start respecting and loving each other. People must fight to have mutual agreement.

94. My advice for you, call a family meeting with his mother and his son... Kneel down cry and apologize please. Why is that nowadays the solution is always divorce please that is not necessary. Before the family meeting fast for 3 days and cry to God to touch your husbands heart and MIL's heart. I hope you read this comment... God is the solution to any any marital problems you face...
    Please tolerate her and be kind

95. My brother always says before you decide to marry a woman, study her mother! This poster's mother is obviously a bad mother! Imagine telling her married daughter not to condone rubbish from her hubby's family, that's just a sick advice coming from an elderly person. Whenever i report my in-laws, My mother will always take sides with them even when she knows they are wrong just so she doesn't encourage me to misbehave towards them. Mothers should always advice their daughters properly. If its not a case of domestic violence, no mother should advice her daughter as poster's mother has done.

1. And you think verbal abuse is nothing. Her mother is a bad woman....his mother nko. Abegggg