Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Indonesia Set To Execute Nigerian Drug Convicts,Others

Thursday, July 28, 2016

Indonesia Set To Execute Nigerian Drug Convicts,Others

Indonesia has confirmed it will execute 14 people on death row for drug crimes in the coming days.
UN human rights officials have expressed concern over the planned executions, urging Jakarta to put an end to “unjust” capital punishment.

The inmates have not been officially named but they are known to include citizens of Nigeria, Zimbabwe, Pakistan and India.
They will be executed at Nusakambangan Prison Island.

The prisoners have been notified of the plans for their executions, in accordance with Indonesian law, and could be put to death as early as Friday.

Attorney General, Muhammad Prasetyo said the 14 had been put in isolation. The executions are due to take place by Sunday at the latest.

Zeid Ra’ad al-Hussein, the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, expressed concern that the inmates had not received a fair trial, and urged Indonesia to halt the executions.

“The increasing use of the death penalty in Indonesia is terribly worrying and I urge the government to immediately end this practice which is unjust and incompatible with human rights,” he said in a statement.
“The death penalty is not an effective deterrent relative to other forms of punishment nor does it protect people from drug abuse.”

Mr Hussein called for the country to reinstate a moratorium on the death penalty it lifted three years ago.

Family members visited the prisoners on Wednesday at Nusakambangan, where Indonesia carries out executions.
Indonesia has some of the world’s toughest drug laws and executed 14 drug convicts – mostly foreigners – last year, to widespread international condemnation.
Human rights groups and lawyers have lobbied President Joko Widodo to grant the prisoners clemency, but the hardline leader received similar petitions last year and denied them.
If the 14 executions go ahead this weekend, Mr Widodo will have put more people to death in two years than were executed in the previous decade.

Source: BBC

*I dont know about you but to even imagine this is traumatising for me.i can still remember the last ones and how i kept believing God would intervene but didnt....i wont be following the update of this story,i dont want to know...
In another few months,they will arrest another set.

May they RIP.

23 comments:

1. Indonesia made it clear they dont want drug traffickers in their country. Instead of begging them to change the Law why cant people stop this drug nonsense ...

No feelings....

1. I don't get it, indonesia says no drug trafficking in their country and if u try it u gonna die if caught so why on earth will u want to try it, abi u wan try them u think say them bi naija wey no dey get power do any thing. Well no feelings either!

2. They won't learn to stay away from countries like Indonesia because it pays more over there.
    I don't have pity for anyone that will not do an honest job to survive. And nobody should tell me that the country is hard. Even when it wasn't hard we still had drug peddlers.

1. It's not even them the convicted drug offenders we pity per say.

It's their loved ones,Their mothers especially,d unshed tears in their father's eyes.The wailings of their younger ones esp their sisters..... Ah! The agony! This is just heart-breaking!

2. You are right @ TGW.I pity their parents and probably wife and kids back home who have no idea what their father or son is doing abroad.

3. These people shroud stop breaking my heart na

Try as much as I can to sound " I don't care!To hell with them for Bn this crazy to commit drug offences in a death-penalty country, I do and their impending death breaks me.

These People should stop doing this.If not for anything but for their totally broken parents.
    Na wah o!

1. When people value money more than their lives...I don't have tears to waste abeg.

4. This is a commendable decision on the part of the Indonesian govt.
    It will discourage future copy cats.
    Zero tolerance is the best way to fight crime.

5. The wages of sin. May the innocent ones be vindicated.

6. My people are too stubborn they will never learn oh how I wish the government pardon these ones. It is painful they are going to die an untimely death caused by them.May God accept their souls.

1. Oh my God, this Indonesia people too mean o. Another tragedy will soon befall them. May their soul RIP.

7. Frau Stellz, diese Menschen wuerde fruehzeitig in Bild und Ton gewarnt; WE HAVE ZERO TOLERANCE FOR DRUG TRAFFIKERS.

Trotzdem bemuehen sich diese Verdammten jedes Mal Droggen in diesen Land zu bringen weil sie auf jedem Fall Geld haben mussen. Egal ob viele Menschen davon Droggensuechtige werden.

Es ist mir Scheissegal, ob die Regierung sie umbringt.

When they are done selling the shit, ruining lives, making and flaunting their ill-gotten wealth, stealing peoples girlfriends and wives and intimidating people they will come to social media with their stupid attempt at remorse, hoping for clemency.

8. Very good,
    The Indonesia leaders must be very tough

9. When u do d crime, be ready to do d crime. They knew there was a possibility of them getting caught, but they still went ahead to do d crime. I don't feel sorry for law breakers.

10. Ko ma pa won lo

11. Kill them all. They continue to give Nigerians a bad name and reputation. Kill them all

12. I honestly don't understand why people do drugs when its been frown at almost everywhere. I feel no pity for them, why do the crime when you cant do the time well in this case accept the fate.
    Those countries are horrible, when my brother was in Malay, they will be in school and police will go to their houses and be searching, looking for God knows what, my fear was that what if they'd planted something so they could be indicted. Thank God he came back in one piece.

13. DO YOU KNOW DESPERATION AND PURE HUNGER? THE INMATES ALL FROM POOR COUNTRIES. THERE IS FRUSTRATION IN OUR LAND AND IF WE KEEP PRETENDING NA WE GO HEAR AM CUS BROTHERS AND SISTERS LOOK AROUND YOU THINGS ARE GETTING WORSE AND IT WILL CONTINUE, EVEN THE TRILLIONAIRES OR WHATEVER ARE COMPLAINING. DEAR GOD ARISE PLEASEO!

14. If the country is hard so pushing drugs is the way out, i do not feel any pity for them except for their 👪.