Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Afenifere Backs President's Call For Oil Exploration in the North

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Afenifere Backs President's Call For Oil Exploration in the North

Afenifere is backing the President’s call for oil exploration in the North

Crude oil,has been described as a curse by many people the Niger Delta because of the level of environmental pollution in the region.

The Yoruba socio-cultural group, Afenifere has said President Buhari did the right thing by asking the Nigeria National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC) to carry out oil exploration in the Northern part of Nigeria.

The group said the move is part of the restructuring that it has been calling for, adding that it will boost Nigeria’s economy.
According to Daily Post,  the Secretary-General of Afenifere, Chief Sehinde Arogbofa, said “There is nothing wrong if they find oil in the north. That is why we are calling for restructuring, if that is his (Buhari) own restructuring agenda, it is okay. We already have oil in the south and if he orders for prospect for oil in the north, there is nothing wrong in that.

“If that is what will hasten the restructuring of the country, he should go ahead. All we are saying is that the country must be restructured.

“We have said that any state that has oil should work on its oil and let other states without oil find their own natural resources to work on. God has endowed every state in this country with natural resources so let every state go and do something on them, the only thing is that the Federal Government should assist in taking off.

“If it is NNPC that was given the assignment, let them go ahead, there is nothing wrong with it but if it is a foreign firm I can say may be there is a hidden agenda somewhere.”

Dr Sunday Ola Makinde, a former Prelate of Methodist Church of Nigeria also said the current economic situation may cause the Nigeria to explode.

27 comments:

1. Buhari are you allergic to recovered loots???
    Stop all this merry go round and put the loot into developing the country at least fix power so that the economy can grow within. Can't another form of growth be found that is not oil????

2. Like d people that scavenged for oil in d past didn't search their oil empty lands before settling in d SS and SE. This one wants to go and be wasting money he claims d country doesn't have. Oshisco

3. With all due respect Stella, this article contains lots of typo and grammatical errors. Culled or not, kindly edit before posting.
    Thanks

4. I pray they discover oil there and I know once discovered. Nigeria will split in peace

1. If that will solve our problem, oh God please let it be.

5. Wow! Wow! Wow!

Just when the rest part of the world is at speed in search of cleaner and cheaper sources of energy seeing that Hydrocarbons have done more harm than good globally, Nigeria is nosediving into another era of backwardness.

A round of applause for our leaders, the same leaders who wouldn't stop ranting about diversification of the economy, the same leaders who had said repeatedly that Crude oil is synonymous to corruption, the same leaders who kept saying Nigeria's continuous reliance on oil as the major locomotive of the economy would bring Nigeria's economy to its knees when the 'source' fails, the same leaders who should be investing in agro-allied industries and thinking of ways to boost human resources in the north, the same leaders who kept clamouring on the shrinking of the lake Chad basin and how it's affecting the livelihood of their people now wants to shrink it further and pollute it, the same leaders... the same leaders...

It is well with Nigeria!

Did I hear someone say the exploration will be paid from their state treasury...odiegwu!

6. Wow! Wow! Wow!

Just when the rest part of the world is at speed in search of cleaner and cheaper sources of energy seeing that Hydrocarbons have done more harm than good globally, Nigeria is nosediving into another era of backwardness.

A round of applause for our leaders, the same leaders who wouldn't stop ranting about diversification of the economy, the same leaders who had said repeatedly that Crude oil is synonymous to corruption, the same leaders who kept saying Nigeria's continuous reliance on oil as the major locomotive of the economy would bring Nigeria's economy to its knees when the 'source' fails, the same leaders who should be investing in agro-allied industries and thinking of ways to boost human resources in the north, the same leaders who kept clamouring on the shrinking of the lake Chad basin and how it's affecting the livelihood of their people now wants to shrink it further and pollute it, the same leaders... the same leaders...

It is well with Nigeria!

Did I hear someone say the exploration will be paid from their state treasury...odiegwu!

7. They must find that oil o, Infact e don turn prayer point for me.

1. Hahahahahah you are indeed a clown. Make i follow join you for that prayer nne.

8. God truly blessed Nigeria! Every state or ethnic group has got its own blessing! The north has iron and tin ore, gold. East has oil, coal. West has rubber,oil( in little quantity)! Good luck with finding oil in the north!😁

9. Can they produce oil n ve food too? No!!
    I thought he said we should all embrace agriculture, why ve they hired foreign experts to come n explore for oil?
    Mba!!
    our God z not a partial God. Everyday, our gvt keep throwing money in the waste bin.

#i love that sound you make when you shut the fuck up.

10. We re here watching them,God will judge them all.

11. the afenifere just spoke my thoughts,it is very important that oil is found in the north ,nigeria really have to be re-structured so aa for us to grow.

1. Nna there won't be a Nigeria if oil is found in the north. So which restructuring are you talking bout.

12. He should keep searching for oil because this country will soon split. Northerners don't have any natural resources, so let them keep searching for the oil. If not, hunger go wire them, if we split.

13. Story for the gods. They won't find any oil. They av agriculture, Niger deltas av the oil. Igbos av the man power. Every side with his or her own destiny/blessing.

1. What is manpower? Better say Igbos have commerce. And there's oil at Egbema/Oguta are of Imo State.

14. I'm watching ....I should keep my mouth shut on this

15. May God help us.

16. It's 👌 now.

17. Probably the oil has/have dried up or relocated because of too much blood shed.

The fear of Biafra is the beginning of oil search
    Afenipeople keep backing clueless idea.

18. Nigeria and oil! No one is talking about improving the other sectors

19. Abeg south south no be biafra mbok.na we get oil stop clinching.famzers ,dey wan kill us and inherit our land.leav us out of ya biafraud pls

1. Viagra has oil oo, no one is clinching your oil oo, go and study Nigeria oil resources, you will know that Imo state and Abia has oil. There's been oil in Egbema/Oguta area of Imo State since 1900. Agip has been there since I was a kid. It may not be as much as the quantity in SS but we have oil. And we are also in strong in terms of commerce, so we can hold our own okay?

2. Biafra has oil oo, no one is clinching your oil oo, go and study Nigeria oil resources, you will know that Imo state and Abia has oil. There's been oil in Egbema/Oguta area of Imo State since 1900. Agip has been there since I was a kid. It may not be as much as the quantity in SS but we have oil. And we are also in strong in terms of commerce, so we can hold our own okay?

3. Biafra has oil oo, no one is clinching your oil oo, go and study Nigeria oil resources, you will know that Imo state and Abia has oil. There's been oil in Egbema/Oguta area of Imo State since 1900. Agip has been there since I was a kid. It may not be as much as the quantity in SS but we have oil. And we are also in strong in terms of commerce, so we can hold our own okay?