Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: American Based Nigerian Businessman Who Scammed Partner Of N7Million Arrested And Arraigned.

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

American Based Nigerian Businessman Who Scammed Partner Of N7Million Arrested And Arraigned.

The police have arrested a United States of America (USA)-based businessman, Uzoukwu George, for allegedly obtaining N7 million from a couple under false pretence.

The police alleged that George, from Imo State, but resides at No. 22 Ogunlana Street, Aguda, Surulere, Lagos was arrested while he was trying to flee to the US.
George, 31, was accused of obtaining the N7m from his business partners, Mr and Mrs Joachim Ezirim, on the pretence of forming a joint venture business with them.

The police said after collecting the sum, George left for the US, and remained there for some time while the couple were searching for him in Nigeria.
“The suspect sneaked into Nigeria, sold all his property and was about to leave the country with his family when he was arrested by detectives of the Area ‘A’ Command Lion Building, Lagos,” a police source told The Nation.

George was arraigned on Tuesday before Mrs Abimbola Komolafe of the Lagos Magistrates’ Court in Igbosere, on a three-count charge of conspiracy, obtaining by false pretence, conversion and issuance of dud cheques.

Prosecuting Inspector Abass Abayomi told the court that George and others at large conspired to commit the alleged offences sometime between 2011 and 2014 at No. 6, Bamgbose Street, Lagos Island.

He said the defendant “obtained the sum of N7m from the couple on the pretence to form a joint venture business with them but converted same to his personal use.”

“George issued post-dated FCMB cheques No. 03002064 and 03002066 in the sum of N1 million and N2.5 million to Joachim Ezirim for the refund of the money invested in the business, knowing full well that there was no money in the account and the cheques were rejected on presentation,” the prosecutor said.

The offence, he added, were punishable under Sections 409, 312 and 319 (b) of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2011.
The defendant denied the charge and his lawyer, Chief M. C. Ikwunoh, urged the court to grant him bail in liberal terms. “The defendant was granted administrative bail by the police and he did not abscond. He came to court voluntarily,” Ikwunoh said.

This was opposed by the prosecutor on the grounds that the defendant had already concluded plans to leave Nigeria.
“He is currently based in the United States of America and it was very difficult for the police to get him arrested,” Abayomi said.

In a bench ruling, Magistrate Komolafe granted the defendant N5 million bail with two sureties in the like sum, who must be gainfully employed and one of whom must be a blood relation.
They were also ordered to make a deposit of N250,000 to the court registrar’s account while the defendant must deposit his international passport in the court’s custody.
The case was adjourned till September 27, for mention.

The Nation

*This is hilarious.he scammed 7million and bail was 5million with one of his blood relation as surety and international passport seized?Why dont they just force him to pay back..lol

29 comments:

1. Just like some yorubas most imo state people are known for fraud especially mbaise, greedy set of thieves

2. Anonymous 11.23 itibolibo!

Wash your numb skull ..get an education at least and stop shaming yourself and loved ones!

Are you for real? Scam artists are mostly Yoruba and Mbaise people?

Gbupu asu!

Espikikwela this kind mpu in the public of igwe madu in such an audacious manner!

In the meantime rikwa nshi oku dia!

3. Atleast not cheap juju . Idiot @sdkb liver.

2. Sometimes when you decide to partner a biz with someone, e ends up scamming you. Why evils?

3. *This is hilarious.he scammed 7million and bail was 5million with one of his blood relation as surety and international passport seized?Why dont they just force him to pay back..lol

Stella I tire oo

4. Sometimes when you decide to partner a biz with someone, e ends up scamming you. Why evils?

5. My igbo brothers very sneaky anything to make the mulla.

6. Abi na im be Bobrisky sugar daddy? #7m

7. But Stella that's the idea nah,he either pay n settle out of court or waste his time n that of the court.

8. Yawa don show! Brother maka whyyy? Your fellow Biafran? You no see others?? Nna mehn idisappointgo m

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Gud to knw he was caught though... For this hard economy you dey collect up to seven million from person, What kind of wickedness is that abeg....

10. Stupid man. Let his blood relations bail him out.

In this hard time, you are scamming your partners of their N7 million.

11. Bad business.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

12. Stupid judgement. He should just pay back.

1. You do not understand how the law works. So I cannot fault your ignorance.

2. What makes the judgement stupid? Mtcheeew. Don't say what you don't know. His crime is grevious. Plus do you know how much it cost to get ahold of him and how long?

13. That's why I cant marry someone from igbos state.. They love money too much, I can only befriend igbo not marry.. Illiterate bunch. Bims

1. And you just displayed your outright stupidity! Anuofia.... Ezi!

2. Bims keep befriending them o nne!

Keep giving them your bim bim bum bum free of charge!

Ha ga ara out gi Las village ga luru nwata di tam tam.

14. OH HAIL THE SCAMMER.... TWALE FOR YOU

15. That's how he would have move and nobody will see him again. God anybody that want to do me evil by collecting my money and run away fire frm above should burn that person.

16. Good for him, how on earth did he think he will scout free with somebody sweat and hard earned.