Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: BSc/HND Dichotomy Abolished - Your View?

Thursday, August 04, 2016

BSc/HND Dichotomy Abolished - Your View?

Minister of Education, Malam Adamu Adamu has confirmed the abolition of the dichotomy that hitherto existed between the Higher National Diploma (HND) and University degree otherwise known as B.Sc.

What this means from my understanding is that both degrees will now be placed side by side and none is higher than the other...

I know that for people who have the HND certificate,this is good news but i would like to know the views of those who know the implications of playing both on the same level.

WHAT DO YOU THINK?

48 comments:

1. Good news.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

2. Even if they abolish this,some banks will still pay Bsc higher than HND holders.Gtbank dont even employ Hnd holders as core staff,Access bank gives wide salary range btw the two.Its only Firstbank that doesn't discriminate,as long as you have upper classification in Hnd.

3. From what i heard(don't know how true) there will be no more HND only ND then you proceed to university. The ND will only be for practical base courses like Engineering and others.

4. Polytechnics should start giving B.tech that's the only tin that will stop the discrimination
      As far as HND is boldly on the certificate,discrimination will still exist

2. Well, to an extent because the HND has been sidelined for a long time. My fear is that the and would be completely useless now

3. Personally I don't care, good for the HND holders. Technically, a lot of them are better than their B.Sc counterparts in the same field. But verbally and socially, a lot of them are hardly able to express themselves during intellectual convos, and they have a way of throwing serious gbagauns left, right and centre.
    Anyway, who will now occupy level 7 positions in the civil service? Will it be scrapped?

1. IMT Enugu students are well known for this

2. Lol, so true, ur head de there

3. I have HND in Electrical Engineering and so proud of it. I can stand anywhere and defend it. Trust me, my grammar is top notch and most of my mates that graduated with Bsc can't see my back both practically and theoretically. Please speak for your dumb self. Btw, I have a very good paying job with my ordinary HND while y'all with Bsc are still jobless with certificates you can't defend practically.
      Take my advice, if you want to study any engineering course, choose poly.
      Did I also mention that I graduated with an upper credit from IMT Enugu?

4. Mugu, here, it's the bsc holders that throw lots of gbagun.

4. Well... I don't see any reason why there should be bias in both degrees... A nice step

5. baba go slow has done something good.

6. As an HND holder this is good, afterall HND is better in terms of theory aspect so kilode

1. You mean practical aspect?

2. Theory? Shey una don see why HND go still dey backwards, they no just sabi anything

3. Mimi....#inyhurface#4 August 2016 at 12:35

@oil money lmaooooooo. .u are nor serious 😂😂😂

7. As an HND holder this is good, afterall HND is better in terms of theory aspect so kilode

8. Does it really matter in this country???

9. While this is a welcome development for HND holders,i think it all boils down to the individual.If you let a piece of paper be the stumbling block to your progress well.......not anybody's fault.

1. You mirrored my thoughts.
      I work with both HND and B.SC holders and I have come to realize that it doesn't matter which you have.
      What matters to me is "Can you do the job perfectly?"
      "Can you express yourself well"

That's all.

10. It's not even asif there's job in Nigeria

11. I rilly dnt see any tin wrong in dat, cos most polytechnic carry out more practicals dan our Federal Unis. Some HND Grads. Hv more practical Experience dan BSc grads esp. In Science where they r only tot theories.

1. Mimi....#inyhurface#4 August 2016 at 12:37

Yes and a bigger practical experience In gbagaun 😆😆

12. hahahahahahaha. We all know this is a political statement now. Such dichotomy can be erased only in relations to securing a government job. This just shows that the people saddled with the responsibility of managing the educational sector know nothing about the job. The Universities and Polytechnics have a specialized curricula designed to fill/meet special needs. I nor get strength to type abeg.

1. Maybe you shouldn't have typed. You made no sense

13. Okay but they should remove that "D"! Because it still stands for Diploma and not Bsc. By doing this, they can use it outside the country as well.

14. This is a wonderful thing it has linger for long self
    personally i think HND deserve this and believe it or not they deliver more than bsc cuz they are used to practical right from the start and once they get employed they are easily adapted to their respective role on like BSC
    PS: Before u start menstruating on my comment am a BSC holder and am talking from.experience and my own point of view thanks

1. Na wa for Nigerians and this their 'am' trend, even our yeyebrities.

2. Your written English already proves you're a half baked BSc holder. It's good you spoke for yourself.

3. I'm happy to "cum" all over your comment because your written English and expressions as a B.Sc holder is equivalent to that of a road side mechanic with only FSLC. It is folks like you that created avenues for HND holders to question the supremacy of B.Sc over HND...after all na the same bad English all of una dey vomit.

15. I pray it come to reality in Jesus name. Anyone that says no is selfish.

16. Degree holders are not than HND holders

17. For me I see no Implications, This is simply because most HND holders are even more technical.
    One thing I hav realized is that some people who go to Polytechnics did so not because they ain't intelligent but it was a matter of situation or the way JAMB has frustrated them. In all, this is a good development because having a Bsc doesn't guearantee a good life.
    I am not intrested in how many professors that lectured in, what am intrested in is what have u been able to achieve by yourself with the education you hav acquired bearing in mind that the way Nigeria is moving, Entrepreneurship will soon take over. My take and don't sleep on it.

18. It is a welcome idea #idropmygoldenpen#

19. Good one.

The way HND holders are looked down on ehn, you'd think the degree is equivalent to School Cert.

Would it hold though? Trust our leaders to say one thing and do another.

20. All these our leaders don't even have any of the either. And they occupy big position and rule the Nation

1. Imagine ruling a nation like Nigeria with ordinary WAEC

21. This is the only gud thing Buhari govt have achieve so far.

22. anon 11:32 sweet@ use ur id then we can talk a whole cnn dey make mistake