Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Budget Padding: Security Agencies Probe Jibrin’s Assets In US, UK, Dubai, Others

Monday, August 29, 2016

Budget Padding: Security Agencies Probe Jibrin’s Assets In US, UK, Dubai, Others

Chei Chei Chei!!!

Security agencies have begun investigations and profiling of assets both in Nigeria and abroad allegedly owned by former chairman of the House of Representatives’ Committee on Appropriation, Hon. Abdulmumin Jibrin.

New Telegraph gathered that the embattled lawmaker-turned anticorruption crusader is said to have multi-billion naira assets in Nigeria, Dubai, United Kingdom, United States, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. The assets are mostly houses.

The lawmaker is also said to be maintaining bank accounts in these countries. Jibrin had, at the weekend, confessed being a beneficiary of a questionable office maintenance allowance for members of the House to the tune of N650 million.
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) is already investigating him. This revelation came barely a day after he accused the 10 principal officers of sharing more than N10 billion in fraudulent proceeds.

The Kano-born lawmaker, who regretted taking the loot, however promised that he would explain how he used his ill-gotten N650 million. “I have records and account of how I spent every penny that I have taken.

In fact, it has been published in a 150-page book. “However, I have never been comfortable with the money! Thank God the wasteful allowances regime has reached its Waterloo! The country and House will be better off!”
Jibrin had confirmed. But a reliable source in the National Assembly close to the Presidency told New Telegraph yesterday that President Muhammadu Buhari had directed security agencies to do a thorough background checks on Jibrin.
According to the source, it was discovered that Jibrin owns multi-billion naira assets scattered both in Nigeria and abroad, adding that the security agencies, including the EFCC, have made appreciable success and are still working.

“I want to let you know that because of the series of allegations being churned out by the former appropriation chairman, the Presidency had directed security agencies to do background checks on him and the report revealed damning things about him.
“The preliminary report shows that he has properties worth billions of naira here in Nigeria, Dubai, US, UK, Switzerland and Liechtenstein. In fact, by what I gathered, Jibrin is far richer than imagined.”

According to the source, the president was shocked at the revelations so far made. “His assets are stupendous and the presidency is still shocked at how he made such wealth. Although, it is understood he was into business, the source of his assets is being tracked by the security agencies,” the source stated.
He said the security apparatus have also compiled list of his activities when he was chairman of the House Committee on Appropriation during the 7th Assembly. The source explained that it was because of these investigations that Jibrin has not been allowed access to President Buhari since the budget padding scandal broke out.

“This must have informed the decision of the Villa not to grant him access to the president. Buhari was said to have been irked by the amount of stupendous wealth he has garnered at a youthful age,” the lawmaker disclosed.
It will be recalled that Jibrin had, at the beginning of his allegations against Speaker Yakubu Dogara and other members of the House, cried foul over deliberate efforts to stall his access to Mr. President.

According to the source, Jibrin’s decision to confess that he also benefited from the alleged illegal allowances to members of the House was taken after news got to him that the Presidency had ordered a secret investigation into his assets.
“You know, he’s very smart and intelligent. When he accused the 10 principal officers of sharing over N10 billion in illegal allowances, he didn’t mention his own. But as soon as he got wind of the news of background checks on him, he offered to explain how he expended what he was paid.

“He has, all along, denied that he was not part of budget padding but in this case, he also implicated himself,” the source stated. Jibrin had, last Friday, said Dogara allegedly got the lion’s share of N1.5 billion out of the N10 billion with deputy speaker, Yusuf Lasun, benefitting N800 million; Majority Leader, Femi Gbajabiamila, N1.2 billion; his deputy, Buba Jibril, N1.2 billion; House Whip, Alhassan Doguwa, N1.2 billion; and his deputy, Pally Iriase, N700 million.

Others were Minority Leader, Leo Ogor, N1.2 billion, his deputy, Chukwuka Onyema, N800 million; Minority Whip, Yakubu Barde, N700 million and his deputy, Binta Bello, N700 million. All attempts to get Jibrin react to this latest development were unsuccessful, as calls to his phone number could not go through.

lol...Now i truly understand the adage ''He who comes to equity must come with clean hands''

22 comments:

1. Yanga sleep,trouble go wake aM o

1. How come the speaker and co arnt being investigated? Even if he stole, what about the others he stole with?

2. See how Jubrin singlehandedly finished his career because of oversabi. Imagine ehh

You had all these and still had the temerity to scream blue murder? I used to think you were intelligent. I like how the presidency zoomed in on this matter. Let me hear somebody say witch hunt here.

Haba Junrin, gaskia Alhaji. Only you. Your first will be having a hearty laugh wherever she is. You just put yourself up for public scrutiny

Tuscany, unfortunately for Jubrin he didn't wait for the so called padding to materialize before he blew the whistle. So no crime has been committed yet, hence there's nothing to investigate as such. According to him, the padded budget was returned na. Meanwhile his own loot dates back, so he's culpable.

3. So, he should keep quiet because he has all this? Sisi eko, dear.

Whistle blower is whistle blower. A tainted witness can still testify. How does the FBI nail people. E.g the mafia? A caporegime or someone in the caucus usually testifies against the don. Whether for money or leniency; Dogara should be looked into unless people will never come forward to expose such again. Its not about his sins or not. Do you think Sanusi who opened the lid on the said 20billion had no sins? Sanusi was massively massively corrupt(I speak from a point of knowledge). Jibrin put himself on the line of fire. Many would be whistle blowers dont divulge because they have enough money and dont need drama. Dogara must be probed and all accusations must be satisfactorily debunked.

2. Instead of the useless Jibrin to say he would return the 650m..he is here regretting and telling us he would give us details of how he spent the money.....dull man! Prison awaits all of you.

1. Thought this man was ready for anything when he started the whole brouhaha ... it is well

3. See what busybody has caused you...

Mmabasi Efcc will suck you dry since you been no wan get sense.

4. Why will EFCC investigate him, what about others.

Shame on the crusaders of corruption. Some people cannot be touched. Vuhari you see ya self

5. ....and this is the best way to fight corruption, what happen to dogara and co. Worst administration, I regret ever voting for this administration.

6. Only in NiZooria would such financial heist be accommodated. Fucking Zoo.

7. Does he also live in a glass house??!! Hian!

8. God continue to confuse them like Ahitophel!

9. See Nigeria money this people shared among themselves hmmmm it is well!

10. The attention has shifted to him. I said it all along. Dogara is Buhari's man and nothing will be done to him. Whistle blower eku se. Now how will people decide to expose miscreants in government. Even me typing, I know im just a regular business woman but tomorrow, if I talk against govt, dey may say the alhaji that bought phone from my store did it with govt money and I get arrested or my father that retired as an army colonel made away with 10million in 2001 and he used it to pay my schoolfees so im a beneficiary of corruption and property of d state, so I get imprisoned. The country is a mess right now.

1. But whistle-blower admitted he stole na, so he's not a victim of whistle blowing. Lol

11. When the hunter becomes the hunted. Chai naija I hail

12. When the Blower becomes the "Blowee"πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

13. Jibrin should av just kept his mouth shut when he knew his hands were not clean too pot calling kettle black lol

14. DO THE RIGHT THING AND RETURN THE MONEY. SHOW THAT AT LEAST YOU HAVE SOME INTEGRITY MORE THAN THOSE YOU ARE ACCUSING. THIS IS ALL NIGERIANS WANT. LEAD AND LET OTHERS FOLLOW. RETURN THE MONEY. NO STORES ABOUT WHAT YOU DID WITH IT, NIGERIANS ARE NOT INTERESTED IN THAT. YOU ARE RICH ENOUGH TO RETURN THE MONEY. SHOW THAT YOU HAVE A CONSCIENCE AT LEAST FEAR GOD. AS YOU HVE SAID THAT YOU WANT TO CLEAN THE HOUSE, LET THE CHANGE START WITH YOU!!! FOR A BETTER NIGERIA.

1. Exactly. He should sell all the properties he bought with the money and refund it. That'll be a right step towards restitution. End of.