Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Sends Man To Prison Over Alleged Theft Of Yam,Vegetables...

Friday, August 26, 2016

Court Sends Man To Prison Over Alleged Theft Of Yam,Vegetables...

Abeokuta Magistrates’ Court in Isabo, on Thursday remanded a 30-year-old man, Samodi Olorodo, in prison custody over the alleged theft of 18 tubers of yam and a bunch of vegetables.

The accused, who is of no fixed address, pleaded not guilty to the one count-charge preferred against him.
The Prosecutor, Insp. Olakunle Shonibare, told the court that the offence was committed on Aug. 1 at about 10:00 a.m. in the Oke-Odo Area of Osiele, Abeokuta.

According to Dailypost,Shonibare said the accused stole 18 tubers of yams valued at N10, 000 and a bunch of vegetables worth N50, property of one Mr Adeney Safiu.

According to him, at about 10:00 a.m. when the complainant got to his store, he saw the accused person coming out from his store with the tubers of yam and a bunch of vegetables on his head.
He was interrogated but he could not give a reasonable answer, which led to his arrest.
The prosecutor noted that the offence contravened Sections 516, 383 and 390 of the Criminal Code, Laws of Ogun, 2006.

The Magistrate, Mr Idowu Olayinka, ordered that the accused be remanded at the Federal Prisons, Ibara, to enable the police carry out more investigation.

He adjourned the case to Oct. 5, for further hearing.

*Na wah..Can the Judges not grant Mercy in cases like this?haba!!!

31 comments:

1. Hunger in the land, he should be free, hunger pushed him to it.

1. It is well. The bigger thieves in Asia rock are still walking freely

2. Excuse me? Grant which mercy? To a thief? Did he have mercy on the owner of the goods he stole? Is that not someone's means of livelihood?? Stella sometimes u amaze me.

And I know some people will say "there are bigger thieves in government bla bla bla"..as usual. When we should condemn in totality we start to make absurd comparisons to absolve a THIEF of his wrong doings. I just shudder.

2. Yeye judge, you no see better politicians wey be thieve???

3. People are hungry. The government is giving deaf ears.

A reminder for people like us who stay in the streets! There is serious hunger in the land, my pot of soup was stolen from fire last week. I took the mattet to the police, investigation us still ongoing....Plz be very watchful when preparing ya food.

4. What a shame in this country. Anyway there is no big sin or small sin. Sin na sin.

Next time, he wont thief again.

5. Abeg they should tampa mercy ,haba

6. Stella these yams get nipples...wetin happen???
    There is hunger in the land and so what do they expect a hungry man to do.

7. Walahi aye poverty Oni da!
    Buhari se you dey see so?

8. Nawa ooh
    They should know that there is hunger in the land infact they should buy food stuff for the man

9. dont mind all those useless judges, they too are criminals yet they send people who are far better than them to prison. how many polithiefcians have they sent to prison, only the poor ones are be criminals. useless people.

1. OK so every hungry person should enter market and start stealing from other hungry people that are hustling to survive. Right? Then we would all live happily thereafter. Kapish

10. Haha,n the likes of sarariki are still walking around with police escorts. Nigeria we hail thee

11. Haba na, Deriz hunger in the land... "Ur sins are forgiven, go and sin no more".Simply wht Jesus would say if he were d judge.

12. Ewoo! Indeed there is hunger in the land!! God have mercy

13. Do The Crime, Pay The Time....But why are our judges so quick in remanding petty thieves in prison?

14. erm..... NO! The court wont for reasons ranging from the fact that he has no fixed address and the fact every big thief started "small". Under Islamic law where leniency would have been shown, he also falls short because the yam stolen is clearly not for feeding due to the number and value.

15. The rich are never sent to jail for stealing billions while the poor are incarcerated for stealing a few tubers of yam. stealing means one thing in the one and another thing in the other

16. Vegetable #50! Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm na hungry do d man go steal d tins. Pls make them leave him.

17. There is hunger in d land..

18. Stella that is how bad the system has become.
    The source to obtain staple food has become a luxury in Nigeria.

19. although a thief is a thief but this man should not be in prison CUs of this.. not even in a country where people are stealing billion and claiming to have impunity, all is well

20. this my English sef get as e be. biko i need an English tutor, e no easy to go night school.

21. They only grant mercy to those that steal millions and billions.