Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Dino Melaye Tells Kogi West: ''Agriculture is our hope''

Monday, August 15, 2016

Dino Melaye Tells Kogi West: ''Agriculture is our hope''

The Senator representing Kogi West in the Red Chambers of the National Assembly, Sen. Dino Melaye has called for concerted efforts from the people of his Senatorial District to revive agriculture and ensure food security in the nation.

Speaking exclusively to newsnetng.com from his holidays in the United States, Senator Melaye said farming is the solution to the myriad of economic challenges the country is facing today.

He said: “I am glad that the people are talking now about agriculture. Our people are building initiatives, capacity and platforms for agricultural renaissance.

“A few weeks ago, some respected leaders from my Senatorial District converged on Kabba to discuss the way forward for agriculture in the area. Citizens are beginning to act. We cannot continue to pretend as if oil still matters in this country.

“I am currently working with some groups and international donor and development agencies to ensure our rural and commercial farmers are able to access credit and improved seedlings. I have held some unofficial meetings in the United Kingdom and the United States with friends and development partners. We shall escalate all of these to create new frontier for agricultural revolution “.

Melaye said Nigeria cannot afford to fail, saying the only antidote to economic meltdown is agriculture.
In his words, “No matter the degree of grammar we speak on the floor of the National Assembly , it won’t assuage the hunger on the streets. What will ameliorate it is our conscious and pragmatic efforts at addressing hunger.

“I am determined to lead the efforts at promoting food production. The world won’t know that Kogi State is one of the most viable agricultural destinations around Africa until we make the noise that will attract the right investments into the agricultural sector of our economy”.
Senator. Melaye dismissed as untrue, claims from some quarters that Kogi West youth are unwilling to farm, saying with the right approach, technology and marketing plan, the youth are ready to revolutionize our agriculture.

“We cannot continue to blame the youth for shunning farming when we are not driving a revolution of new agricultural technology. There must also be improved seedlings and good marketing plan. Youth won’t do the kind of agriculture that made our parents poor. We must promote the Rich by Green agenda “.

The Senator said he is determined to continue to struggle for a better Kogi West and a better Nigeria.

11 comments:

1. Buhari came with no Agenda... He now wants to turn everyone to farmers.

2. Yeah right!
    Little wonder he isn't a farmer but yet still has been able to amass wealth
    All these useless politicians sef

3. Lying liar how many farms has he set up?

4. Make una start farming oooo

5. I think it's the only hope for Nigerians entirely now cus our oil and gold is already failing us

6. "Speaking from this holiday in the United States" such aggravating statement. From there he is telling his constituents to farm, I feel so hurt. Only an African leader can do this, like must we all farm ?The one with masters in engineering should farm too? For their failure to create jobs they have this one size fits all solution -farm. How many of his family members re farmers? I'm so angry this morning, we cannot continue like this.

7. "Speaking from this holiday in the United States" such aggravating statement. From there he is telling his constituents to farm, I feel so hurt. Only an African leader can do this, like must we all farm ?The one with masters in engineering should farm too? For their failure to create jobs they have this one size fits all solution -farm. How many of his family members re farmers? I'm so angry this morning, we cannot continue like this.

8. You followed your clueless Grand Pa and later realise he had nothing to offer, hence the idea of agriculture.

9. Let him lead the way, not by talking alone