Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC To Grill Jibrin Again Over N418m Contracts That Cannot Be Accounted For..

Monday, August 15, 2016

EFCC To Grill Jibrin Again Over N418m Contracts That Cannot Be Accounted For..

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission is set to quiz a former Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Appropriation, Mr. Abdulmumin Jibrin, again this week over a petition alleging “fraudulent award” of contracts worth N418m to firms linked to him.

The petition, dated July 26, 2016, was written by the Anti-corruption Unit of the National Youth Council of Nigeria.
The EFCC acknowledged receipt of the petition on July 29.

Jibrin was reported to have been interrogated on Tuesday over allegations relating to N17bn money laundering.
It was gathered that the EFCC had concluded arrangements to interrogate the former appropriation committee chairman again this week.

An officer, who confided in Sunday PUNCH, said, “Our operatives will before the end of the week, invite him to answer questions relating to the fresh petition.”

In the petition, the NYCN stated that in September 2014, the National Commission For Refugees, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons awarded 10 contracts to five companies in the combined sum of N418m in one day.

It noted that the contract documents merely directed the firms to make supplies to “Kano State”, but did not indicate the purpose of the contract, the location where the supplies would be delivered, nor the names of the recipients.

However, in each of the contract document, the agency copied Jibrin, who was at the time the Chairman, House Committee on Finance.

Part of the petition read, “All contacts were awarded in one day; all the contracts were awarded to Kano State.
“All the contract award letters were copied to Jibrin; three of the companies are located in the same EFAB Mall, Area 11, Abuja.Two of the companies, which got four of the contracts, used the same office address, Suite A47, EFAB Mall, Area 11, Abuja.”

Going through the contracts papers, Sunday PUNCH observed that one of the firms, M/S Eash Progressive Ventures, was awarded a contract to supply 140 units of computers for N47.6m.
Another firm, Eleku Construction Limited, was awarded a contract worth N44.1m to supply 2,452 bags of “maize and millet to Kano State.”

The council urged the EFCC to probe the contracts because of the “curious” nature of the deals, which did not include any other lawmaker or the Kano State Government other than Jibrin, who was copied.

It called on the commission to establish the “capability” or otherwise of Jibrin and the Federal Commissioner, who awarded the 10 contracts.
It added, “The unit cost of the supplies in the 10 contracts is outrageous.

“Efforts to trace evidence of completion of the contracts have proved abortive.
“The description of the companies is ambiguous, as they were all supplies to Kano State, without any specification to whom or what purpose the supplies would be deployed.”
The document to the EFCC was signed by the Council’s Coordinator, Mr. Ifeanyi Okonkwo.

The spokesman for the EFCC, Mr. Wilson Uwujaren, confirmed that the commission had received a petition against Jibrin.

Chei!!!...lol

16 comments:

1. Dis is to tell u dat APC don't want to be expose but dey want to expose PDP

2. When the hunter becomes the hunted....

3. May my mouth never put me in trouble in Jesus name,amen!

1. Amen ooooo
      People who live in glass houses will be playing with stones anyhow...hehehehe

4. This is why no one likes to blow the whistle in this country. It's almost like a suicide mission.

5. One thing is clear, you cant blow the whistle on corrupt people coa even if you are clean, they will bury you in so much investigation and petition that you wont even be able to do anything else.

6. This is serious corruption fighting back. Dogara will not let you scot free. You have dared the lion Jibrin, so you need to face it squarely.

I am sure you dont have supporters again because all of them are corrupt

7. I've always known this guy is a goat, and there still lots like him in Nigerian politics

8. I believe something was promised and that very pledge was not redeemed for this man to have come out with his expose. I do not believe that Jibrin suddenly caught the holy ghost for him to have known things of this nature and merely waited until the budget was passed before coming out withy his 'great" revelation.
    However, whatever motivated the man into making the allegations is immaterial. I expected that the relevant authorities would painstakingly investigate his claims... but, welcome to Nigeria where awhistleblower becomes the hunted. A country where the police freely gives out information to criminals as to who snitched on them.
    In the absence of good governance, they might as well entertain us with the season film.

9. The APC feels they re dealing with children. F..ked up old clueless fools in sheep's clothing .

10. The APC feels they re dealing with children. F..ked up old clueless fools in sheep's clothing .

11. all politicians in naija are corrupt. how do we now know and Vote the free once come 2019. Huh........... Nigerians we are on a long thing....

12. Na wah oh. Bushmeat don catch hunter,i feel pity for him though. Anyways as others, this case will die a natural death.