Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Egypt State TV Orders Female Hosts To Lose Weight

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Egypt State TV Orders Female Hosts To Lose Weight

Egypt's state broadcaster has suspended eight of its female TV presenters and told them to go on a diet, sparking uproar among women's rights groups.

Khadija Khattab wants viewers to judge whether she deserves to be suspended over her appearance

The Egyptian Radio and Television Union (ERTU) has given the women one month to slim down before they can appear on air again with an "appropriate appearance", the Al-Yawm al-Sabi website reports. The ERTU has a female director, Safaa Hegazy, a former state TV anchor herself.

The announcement prompted an outcry among the affected presenters. Khadija Khattab, a host on Egypt's Channel 2, told the paper that she wants people to watch her most recent TV appearances and judge for themselves if she is really "fat", and whether she deserves to be prevented from working. Another presenter said the situation had upset their families and should have been dealt with internally.

The Women's Centre for Guidance and Legal Awareness condemned the move, saying it "violates the constitution" and is a form of violence against women. It's called on the ERTU to backtrack. Despite the criticism, ERTU sources told the Veto news website that the decision won't be reversed, but that the women won't have their pay and benefits docked.

Egyptian media commentators are debating whether the suspensions were justified. At the state-owned Al-Ahram daily, journalist Fatma al-Sharawi says she thinks the policy should be applied across local TV stations. But author and academic Waheed Abdul Majid thinks the channel should focus on improving its content rather than the appearance of the presenters.

On social media, some users voiced support for the women, but others called them "bakabouzas", a term Egyptians use to describe overweight girls. One female Twitter user described ERTU head Safaa Hegazy as a "strong woman" for making the decision.

The presenters have been defended in parliament, though, with male MP and journalist Sayyid Hegazy asking: "Who is an ideal weight in Egypt?" He told the Sada al-Balad news site that a presenter "might be a little overweight, but she is eloquent".

bbc.com

*Maybe they went about it the wrong way but no one is born naturally fat.

52 comments:

1. Hahahahahaha stella @naturally fat...I've seen chubby kids that remained chubby o.

1. They went about this the wrong way. Maybe they would have sort of initiated a programme that will aid them loose weight even without knowing they have been conned into loosing weight.

I agree this is another kind of violation against women.
      Not fair!

2. Stells, some are born naturally fat. Some people are just overweight and no matter what they do they can't shed belong a certain extent.
      Although, there's no excuse for not watching your diet. But there's also no reason to sack someone for being a certain weight or not, if it's not affecting their job.

3. The body should have included it in their rule that fatness is prohibited in television broadcasting o,so that you will know it that having a job as a slim person you must remain slim and appealing to your viewers till you resign or retire lobatan. Hope men too must remain slim,,no pot belly and six pack will be added advantage.

2. She should better do that Asap.

1. This post got me 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

3. Body shaming is a worldwide case. Fat people are been stigmatized more than Aids victims. But no matter how they try to make them feel horrible about their God given size, fat people are goal getters!!!

1. No. It's not always the God given size. Some people can't help themselves from eating anything and everything. I was born skinny. Infact I was an underweight cajole and only started putting on flesh at say 11 years old. So I've always been really slim but I watch what I eat like no tmr. Especially as I never born yet

2. Hahahaha at fat people are goal getters..
      Make una continue deceiving una selves!...
      Tell me one single FAT person that is being recognized all over the world...
      None!...

3. Madam Judgina Linda, try Adele!!!

4. Adele@ Queen n boss, and no I'm not fat.

4. Too much of watching being Maryjane.

5. All shades of wrong.
    Encourage your staff to eat right, exercise and stay healthy, but never body shame them like this.

6. They should sue the tv station wtf!!!!

7. Choi! What a wicked world we live in. And this happening in Africa, the home of "Thick Madam's". Smh

8. Somehow this is funny but it's not fair.

9. They should loose weight joor

10. Yes no one is born naturally fat.

11. Fatness is due to laziness

12. Lol, they should be happy their employer wants the best for them.

13. Haaahaaahaaahaaa! Omo see gobe! The madam of the Station might be James and queen and boss of this blog's sister that 'screams' fat! Lose weight once they see a chubby fellow.
    But make them try lose weight naa it's for there own good and health.

14. Bro James has been right after all!

1. LOL @Fan Emmanuel. Fat people should quit being Lazy and shed some weight.
      Even fat people themselves know that it is wrong. But due to their laziness they will do nothing about their massive size.

2. Bro James? James is Queen and boss of blog. Ali anya omega gi Fan Emmanuel, mepee anya gi ahu uzo.

15. They are mad,because of fat,haba,do they know the emotional truma they will cause the family, they should not have done that.so so annoying

16. She needs to lose some weight but its not enough to get suspended for

Vote SDK for Best Blogger of the Year!

http://www.podiumawards.org/VOTENOW-PAGE/

17. Even though most fat people will rather go to jail and lazy about in the cells than do jogging and lose some weight, govt around the world should outlaw fatness

18. James you are crazy. Govt should outlaw fatness. Truly you no well

19. Ouch Stella! That's not something nice to say. And @James I reserve my comment for you. Olofo.

1. Anon 21:06 fatness is wrong. Please start jogging regularly every morning and lose some weight. It won't cost u anything

20. Hmmmm my mom said when she gave birth to me i was so big, that the doctor and nurses were surprised that she gave birth through the natural process... Fast forward to 20 something years and am still struggling with loosing fat.,am a gym freak, jog every morning to the gym even hubby dey complain say e go affect conceiving but i no gree....
    Yet am still chubby, sometimes i feel bad about it sometimes i just love me, no fat person should be mocked or embarrassed, exercise is not for the weary., just encourage them and teach them the importance of exercising and dieting, even me wey dey big better pads some slim people wey no dey exercise..

1. Madam Chidima, Hmmmmmmm
      First of all,u and other people like you should stop deceiving yourselves with the word chubby U all know the correct word. And u are still fat bcos you are not serious with your exercises. Stop jogging to the gym.. In fact forget about the gym altogether. What u need to do is to jog along your street early in the morning for at least 20 minutes every blessed day. Do it for 3 months and u will become slim. I am telling you from my own personal experience.

2. So James, you used to be fat?

Chidinma, I will advise you to read up on ketogenics diet. Loosing weight is 70% food and 30% exercise.
      If you keep jogging without watching what you eat, your workout is in vain.

3. Chinma Ujo is a gym freak but her stomach is a bottomless pit.

21. As much as this is funny it is unfair

22. It is commendable that those fat presenters were suspended until they lose some weight and become normal size.They will now be forced to do something about their massive size or lose their means of livelihood. Some people will never do the right thing unless there is a penalty for not doing it. This is a classic example.
    Nigerian companies and institutions should emulate this wonderful example.

23. Women too dey eat

24. The worse one is the fact that these fat people eat the most assorted of foods. Na dem even dey sabi the names of all the oyibo orishirishi pass sef.

25. Thank God its a woman that suspended them. If it were to be a man, all hell would have broken loose.

26. O set e go.

This world is turning into another thing. Well, they have their reason(s) and a decision has been made...So, she'd better do it asap.