Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: El-Rufai Orders Kaduna Officials To Withdraw Children From Private Schools

Tuesday, August 09, 2016

El-Rufai Orders Kaduna Officials To Withdraw Children From Private Schools

Governor Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna State has stopped senior civil servants in the state from sending their children and wards to private schools.

The directive will be enforced from the next academic session.
Ahead of the time, the affected government functionaries have been directed to withdraw their children and wards from private schools and prepare them for admission into the public schools.

In an interview with our reporter, the Commis­sioner for Education, Prof. Andrew Nock, said that plans have been concluded by the state government to restore public schools to their past glory.

According to him, “the state government has given order to all directors to withdraw their children from private schools to our own schools” with a view to improving teaching and learning in the schools.

On the failed attempts by successive administrations to implement similar policy, Nock said that “our government is not like the previous ones. What we will do is to monitor it to ensure that this order is carried to the latter.”
The commissioner said that as part of the efforts to revamp education in the state, 15 public secondary schools have been converted to boarding schools with effect from the next ses­sion.

He named the schools as Queen Amina College, Kaduna; Government Girls Secondary School, Kawo; Government Technical College, Malali; Bare­wa College, Zaria; Girls Science Secondary School, Kwoai; Government College, Kagoro; Government Girls Secondary School, Soba; Government College, Saminaka; Rimi College, Government College, Kaduna, Government Secondary School, Kachia; Government Girls’ College, Zonkwa and Government Secondary School, Giwa.

Nock recalled that some of the schools were originally boarding institutions before they were converted to Day Schools.
To this end, Nock said “plans are underway to renovate and upgrade the hostels, library, clinics facilities and total landscaping of the schools to give them an aura of academic environment.”

Source:authorityngr

43 comments:

1. Nice one, but it shouldn't be compulsory though.

1. Hmm, I see his point. But where does his own Kids school ?

2. This is a very nice move. I've always desired a situation where public officers should be made to go through what the common man goes through so they can be moved to do the right thing for more.
      Imagine a commissioner of education with a child in a private school. What will he care about the real state of other children's education.
      Since they are now affected, their selfishness will drive them to care more. And It will definitely rub off on the common man, no matter how small.

3. It should even be made a rule.
      If you are a public officer, use public facilities.
      Imagine if public officers used public hospitals, utilities, roads, schools etc.
      It will pinch them to make things better.

4. Lead by example.

5. But it shouldn't be by force. If they can afford the private schools for their kids, why not?

6. Double standards! Yet his children school abroad and be party in hard on insragram with wads of GBP on display... Abeg, park well Mr governor. The stunt is for the unsuspecting masses wey no know you

2. is it by force,why must we always bully people into submission,cant the public schools operate fine without this irrelevant draconian directive,what sort of constitution is nigeria even practicing?

1. @Lucky Sparks, its a pity that you don't understand the problems of Short men, worse still the type of el-rufai, Midget.

All they are concerned is for people to notice them. Their gra-gra no be here o. I thank God I escape that height.

2. Latest promixing training,organic materials,all your 100% skin care products BBM 2B97FEAA Whatsapp 081608453609 August 2016 at 10:59

Hehehe funny u @ Anonymous.but it shouldn't be force they decide wot dey want.which one did his kids attend?mk I hear.

100% organic cream,silicon molds,crude kenacol,half cast oil,Kamana etc Online training going on now.

3. While this is kind of good, I hope his kids will attend the same Public Schools.
    My second issue is that of security. I hope all the Schools will ave adequate security to prevent another Chibok saga.

1. Inukwa command!
      The last time I checked, there's something like freedom to chose. Oga Governor, your can't force anything on anyone you hear, you can only make an appeal and hopes that they see reason with you.

2. I agree with u Ify!
      His intention is noble. But why the force?
      It's their prerogative to send their kids whichever school they want.

But that Bn said,u know that these our Naija politicians and public servants are a "special" kind of breed. So maybe this is the only way they can be gotten to fix the public schools,hospitals and so on.

I see many of them sending their kids out of the state to go "live" with Relations and friends.
      Kai!

El Rufai,El Toughie! Lol

4. He ordered the civil servants to withdraw their children from private schools n bring em to public schools were little or no fees r paid.
    Lolzz...
    He has plans of not going to pay the workers their salary for a vewi long time.

1. Your myopic mindset is epic!!
      Three gbosa for you *smh*

2. @school life, u sure say you go school at all? What's your IQ? Are u up to 12years cos When u talk, I wonder. Your mental reasoning is still less than that of a 6year old.

5. I hope he has also made plans to withdraw his kids from universities abroad and enroll them into Kaduna State University?

1. Oga Charlie na you follow pass! Double standards indeed! Has he withdrawn his children from universities abroad? Govt of the more you look the less you see. Willie Willie governor! Otondo!

6. Errr much as I commend the sentiment, he has no right to force officials to so this.

7. He is a mad man

8. Meddlesome government! How is it your business where I send my kid to? Yet your own kids attend foreign Universities? The cheek of it!

9. Is it by force?

10. Working from the arse! Are you not supposed to improve the schools to their lost glory first before forcing anyone to go to public school?

11. Odiegwu. End time command. I wouldn't want to be in their shoes right now

12. when most of your children schooled in LONDON and the US... Oga leave Mata for Mathias jare

13. Yipeeeeee! I don see school wey my daughter go go!thank u el- rufai.

14. maka why El-rufai? is not by force joor.

15. A beg leave matthias alone joor....no mind that confused person wa leave him job they do another.that man should come out public and tell us (NIGERIANS) that any of his child graduated from any of the universities in the country. Shummmmm

16. Hmmmmmm!! You want others to put their wards in public schools. Okay oooo!! But Oga *govonor* , where are your own wards schooling? Yeye dey smell...

17. Na by force? Hope he'll do same with his kids....

18. Hw can he impose such on people like dt?wat happend to upgradin d schools to high standards before askin dem to quit private schools?ds isnt nice at al.

19. Hope his children will attend the schools too

20. All these useless APC governors that dont know anything like their oga at the top. What a useless command is that.

All your children have finished schooling in Europe and you are now enforcing others not to have good quality education for their children.

Behaving like the pharisees in the bible

21. Hypocrite.... his son is in a private university in abj! Bunch of selfish people. Hiss....

22. It shouldn't be by force, upgrade the public schools to a standard level and let it be attractive to everybody. In this way they will decide to send their children there or not.

23. he was probably high sef when he gave such directives imagine the rubbish. why wont he give such order when he knows his kids are done schooling?all this APCheaters be behaving as if they are some kind of god, like they will just give and order and expect people to follow it to the letter. they seem to forget that the masses put them in that position. useless imbecile. bia its too early for me to get pissed, let me goan do what is needed to be done.

24. Are you kidding me? Is dat why u re in govt? This guy na real wako.... Chai! It's a pity

25. Na by force? Because all his kids has finished Pry/Sec school abi?