Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Governor Fayose Postrates For The Ooni Of Ife...

Sunday, August 14, 2016

Governor Fayose Postrates For The Ooni Of Ife...

This is a photo of governor Fayose of Ekiti state prostrating to salute Ooni of Ife Oba Adeyeye Enitan Babatunde Ogunwusi Ojaja II at the Abuja airport recently.....

What am i trying to say?

Call the handsome governor whatever but you cannot call him a man who does not know tradition.

Now,let's talk...

Obasanjo has prostrated before the Ooni who used to be and still is like a son to him..The Ooni used to prostrate before Baba back in the days.

Now my question....Must all prostrate before the Ooni?Is a handshake and bending of the head same thing as the bowing greeting?

What other form of greeting can one use to escape the prostrating greeting?I have seen several photos of the Ooni and other dignitaries and some of them do not bother to go down.

Is prostrating just for people from Western Nigeria or for all?

33 comments:

1. Stella,it is called tradition. That is why they call them second in command to the deity. Its all respect for what they represent.

1. Stella it's the tradition. And if you've noticed, even the Ooni bows a lil bit for people he reveres as well. He did to Fayose too. Now the interesting part is that it's often said that it is an abomination for any king to bow for anyone, as it's believed that it is bad luck to the person.. and in the extreme they say such who accepts the kings bow will die. That's what I heard o, so me no know whether it's true.

Then kings often bow for each other or they do one funny handshake to salute themselves. Mind you it is not the Ooni that they are bowing to, it is the office he occupies which is supposed to be the highest in the yoruba land. Even if the Ooni was a 5yr old kid and has been crowned king, even his mother must bow to him. Quite an interesting tradition I must say.

But it is however not mandatory that u prostrate to him.. say if you met him outside at a function, or if he comes to visit u like he went to visit Buhari and others. Notice Buhari only shook him...and I think others merely took a bow before him.

OK bye

2. Stella,Idobale lan koba nile Odua. No matter how young the Oba is, the moment he becomes oba he becomes the father to all. We are rich in culture in Yoruba land. Eni ro ba fin loba pa.

2. Prostrating is a Yoruba tradition and culture. If you are not Yoruba I don't think you have any business prostrating by force.

3. You are asking as if you don't know yaraba people again...
    They prostrate to ordinary people on a normal day talkeless of this their king...
    Oriegwu!...

1. We are called yoruba not yaraba

4. Sorry, we don't greet elders by bowing or shaking of hands.
    We prostrate or kneel down if you are a female.
    That's our culture.
    Kapish??

1. Wa sere eyan mi. We love our culture like. Awa o kin se omale to n fi pa ji baba e lori eni.

5. All I c z than man's well starched white agbada.

6. If you don't want to prostrate, don't go to him or close to his palace.
    Fayose no get respect.

1. And u don't have sense. How did u come about him not having respect from this post

7. They are prostrating for the office held by the king. It's a sign of respect to that office

8. It is called eye service cause one can respectfully greet without prostrating and looking like an Akpan

9. He's postrating for the crown...it's the tradition

10. It is a yoruba thing, but I am used to it when greeting older people especially the yoruba ones. I remember seeing Wizkid's stage performance with KSA. As soon as Wizkid came out, he prostrated FLAT on the floor. My heart melted at the show of respect. I love yoruba culture.

1. Same with me...am always overwhelmed whenever I come across that pic online.

2. God bless you Nmasinachi. Oni shi lete ,you will eat the good of the land.

11. Thanks Nmasinachi. God bless u and urs
    AMBER

1. Rollie come an c ya multiple disorder fren.now now she don turn Amber 2 hype hersef buhahahaha
      Amber ni,Red kor.Itz like yaraba pipo me send u aunty

2. Rollie come an c ya multiple disorder fren.now now she don turn Amber 2 hype hersef buhahahaha
      Amber ni,Red kor.Itz like yaraba pipo me send u aunty

3. LMAO. Anonymous, you are a joker.

12. I thought I was going to see him flat on the ground.

13. Tradition and religion slavery....... Yes Sir

14. Queen idiot, that u ppl can even kick ur elders on the head while greeting in the morning doesn't mean you shld mock another persons culture.

15. Queen of molue must you always be tribalistic in ur comments.
    All non Yoruba commented without abusing in any way.
    It only shows you are not properly trained.
    Please how are you raising your kids, because you are not a good example at allll.

16. British Prime Minister knelt down to greet the Queen.

That is the honour attached to such crowns.

17. Stella,that's the yoruba tradition,you have to reverence the king,you cant shake him,it's an abomination,not just oba sef generally,yoruba people respect their elders,I can remember watching olamide perform his hit song omo anifowose with Kwam 1,immediately after the performance,he prostrated flat on the floor, same thing as wiz kid did for KSA,it has been like that for centuries, you must prostrate or kneel down for anyone older than you.