Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Governor Okowa’s Convoy Crushes Man To Death And injures Journalists

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Governor Okowa’s Convoy Crushes Man To Death And injures Journalists

An elderly farmer has been reported to have been crushed to death during an accident involving one of the vehicles in the convoy of the Delta State Governor, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa, around Umutu, in Ukwuani Council Area of the state.

According to Punch the accident happened on Friday when one of the buses in the governor’s convoy was returning from the Niger Delta Stakeholders’ Meeting, held at the Petroleum Training Institute, Effurun. It was hosted by Chief Edwin Clark.

A source within the convoy revealed that the bus carrying the pressmen ran into the man, who was said to be returning from his farm. He was said to have tried to dodge a pothole along the Agbor/Abraka expressway.

Some of the pressmen in the vehicle also sustained varying degrees of injuries, prompting them to almost lynch the driver, until Okowa personally intervened.
The governor later ordered that the victim, whose name could not be immediately obtained, be rushed to a hospital.

The journalists involved included some correspondents of the state-owned newspaper, The Pointer, DBS and other national print and electronic media. However, they were barred by the state government from divulging the details of the accident to newsmen.

It was gathered that the victim had earlier been rushed to an undisclosed hospital in Abraka, the home community of the Delta State University. Later, he was said to have been referred to Asaba for medical treatment, where he died.

Another source, who confirmed the development  refused to disclose the hospital where the victim died. He, however, said that the corpse had been deposited at a morgue in the state capital.

The driver of the 18-seater bus conveying the journalists was, as at Wednesday afternoon, still being detained at the police headquarters in Asaba, awaiting investigation on the incident.
A senior police officer at the Delta State Command confirmed the development to Punch but warned not to be quoted, based on the sensitivity of the report.

But when contacted, the spokesman for the Command, SP Celestina Kalu, could not immediately confirm the development. She promised to investigate and call back. However, she had yet to call back as of the time of filing this report.
However, it was gathered that there was grumbling among those said to be part of the trip, as a result of Okowa’s failure to ask after the state of health of some of the injured journalists.

One of the journalists involved complained bitterly that they were not catered for by the state government.

Efforts to speak with the state Commissioner for Information, Mr. Patrick Ukah, or have the governor’s spokesman, Mr. Charles Ehiedu Aniagwu, to speak on the incident, proved abortive.

23 comments:

1. If the journalists dey complain wetin farmer people go do? Repair road no,patch hole mba, drive slowly lie lie, see d result?

2. Rip to the dead, state burial and heavy compensation to the family

3. Bad news all the time from that dead country called Nigeria...
    Why won't they kill someone when all the roads in Nigeria are dead traps?..
    Tufiakwa!...
    RIP to the deceased!...

4. I still do not understand why government officials must move around in convoys. Misplaced priorities. mtseeww

5. RIP man. Your own is good. Okowa will now take care of your family for you.

Na wa

6. The farmer that lost his life is the most important thing here and not the journalist involved who couldn't control the driver to drive carefully.

7. I hope the family will be compensated well.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

1. Alloy is that all you got to say?
      Wl money bring back the dead?
      oooh I forgot you are a low life Igbo man that can allow me to crush his brother in exchange for money.

I am directing my comment to Alloy and not generalizing... before hungry bitches and whores will come and say am referring to all Igbos.

2. Alloy is that all you got to say?
      Wl money bring back the dead?
      oooh I forgot you are a low life Igbo man that can allow me to crush his brother in exchange for money.

I am directing my comment to Alloy and not generalizing... before hungry bitches and whores will come and say am referring to all Igbos.

3. Madam take it easy. The farmer is dead and not be brought back to life. The driver is in police custody so it's proper for the family of the farmer to be compensated. It happens everywhere

8. A life was wasted and some people are complaining of not receiving brown envelopes. Shame on them!!!

9. Bad roads, bad government,. This wicked government officials and their drivers where are they always rushing to? Who is after their lives? Now they have wasted the poor farmer's life. The common man can not even walk on the road!

10. They are always moving too fast,maybe they taught they were flying. Smh
    R.I.P to the dead

11. Law makers, law breakers; come and see them in uncontrollable speed. Useless government officials. He better compensate that family heavily. Poor man coming back home from farm..sad

12. And I saw Him this morning strolling with an entourage waving to only God knows who...