Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Jos University Teaching Hospital blocked by protesting Health workers

Tuesday, August 02, 2016

Jos University Teaching Hospital blocked by protesting Health workers

The joint health workers union JOHESU of the university of Jos Teaching Hospital JUTH yesterday 1st August 2016 staged a peaceful protest barricading the main entrance of the teaching hospital and crippling its activities...

it faulted the insensitivity of the hospital management led by the Chief medical Director, Professor Edmond Banwat.

Speaking to the Plateau state JOHESU Chairman, Comrade Mustapha Kabir, said that the union had resolved to embark on a peaceful protest today pending when their April and May salaries are paid and also pass a vote of no confidence on the top management for  total system failure. 

He lamented the non implementation of the MOU signed at the instance of the minister of health since they called off the strike on 6th of June. Out of over 2000 staff only about 270 received salaries and some were paid N500, N200 or even N100. 

He called on the intervention of the Federal Government as a Federal Teaching hospital should not be faced with issues such as this and further called for the removal of the Chief Medical Director and change of the entire management team.

A Doctor in the hospital also confirmed that it was rather an unfortunate situation and it was painful that it has generated to this, stating that the entire management led by the CMD has been Insensitive to the plight of the entire staff and that for the past 7months the hospital has not been effectively functional. 

Another hospital worker also confirmed that the hospital seems to be running to a halt as basic facilities in the hospital are unavailable and therefore most hospital services are almost at zero. Most patients have to be taken to other private medical centers for issues that are normally resolved within and further confirmed that some workers received as low as N100 for a month salary after unjust deductions as only a handful have received salaries.

As at the time of filing this report all activities at the hospital was at a stand still as there was no entrance into and out, even the medical students writing their exams seems to all be on a stand still. 
The protest is schedule to last the whole day with rumours that the doctors will also join in the protest if issues are not resolved

Photo Credit Matthewtegha

11 comments:

1. Welcome to Nigeria, a nation where absolutely nothing works! Not even its leaders.

I wonder when Zahra will realise her dad needs a new accessory to go with his gucci shoes, a footmat maybe? so Whenever he's at a function and they want to introduce Buhari as the president of the giant of Africa,all he has to do is raise the footmat to correct that statement.

2. It's not beneficial to buhari in anyway to change the CMD or minister of health,of what use is that to him in his fight against kworruption? Is there stolen loot in Jos hospital? so ya'l keep protesting,Buhari has selective hearing issues. When they were protesting against the minister of finance right under his nose here in abuja,he turned a blind eye and ear,na for Jos hin wan come hear una? Last last na the masses go suffer am and life will continue.

3. Gone are the days when Good luck will be begging and begging for understanding. Calling round table to discuss and try to reach a mutual understanding. Now all Nigerians get is resounding silence! If u people like sef,hack ur CMD to pieces a hundred times over, all u will get is a Northern replacement from Daura with zero qualification. This is the time of Pharaoh o, he that has ear better use it. if u know the heat is scorching on your side, start crying to God of Moses,to let your family go.

4. Our once revered and respected JUTH,who cursed you? When will you return to the path of honour and glory? Enough of this bad news about you already. Mediocrity should never be preferred to competence

5. Na waah. See what Buhari has reduced Nigeria to. SMH

6. Same thing happened in benin city yesterday, close to ubth, but the militant was the cause of that,had to trek to uniben from uselu Mtcheeew.

7. @Godchic, I don't find your ignorance amusing but so as not to descend to your level, kindly answer this question. Do you consider a replacement from your village more competent than a medical doctor who is of Northern extraction or as you said Daura?

8. My sweet money making machine is a radiologist there, abeg oooh pay them there salary so I can have my own monthly allowance.

1. Radiologist is your money making machine. Don't go and get a job . So babes will die poor. Stop depending on a man.

9. Fg should ban any medical doctor that has a private clinic from working for the govt cos they make sure they run down the govt hospital then siphone patients to their own private clinic. Beside Hospital administrators shld be employ to manage hospitals and they are not going to be medical professionals,medical professionals salaries shld be made public, and above d administrators u will see our hospitals will fall back on the line

10. Stranger pls hush up! Apparently u don't read the news or keep up with what Buhari is doing with the economy. Ure the ignorant one here. I was an ardent supporter of Buhari,I even voted for the man.who's trying to amuse anyone?If ure looking for amusement,hit a comedy club. Stop building on my land biko.