Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Docked For Stealing Tithe's In Church.

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Man Docked For Stealing Tithe's In Church.

A 23-year-old church member, Elochukwu Nnoruga, on Wednesday appeared in a Tinubu Magistrates’ Court, Lagos, for alleged theft of N214,000 from church tithe box.

Nnoruga of no fixed address is facing a one-count charge of theft.

Prosecutor, Ben Ekundayo told the court that the accused committed the offence on Aug. 14 at about 2 p.m., at St. Patrick Catholic Church, Idumaigbo, Lagos.

Ekundayo said that the accused, a church member, stole N214, 000 from the tithe box after church service.
He said the offence contravened Section 285 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2011.

Nnoruga pleaded guilty to the charge.

The Magistrate, Mr Ade Adefulire, adjourned the case till Aug. 23 for facts and sentencing.

NAN

*He has pleaded guilty,why is the judge delaying again?.

So the Church could not handle this matter within themselves and had to take him to court?
 The pastor couldnt pray for him and deliver him from the spirit of stealing?NA WA OH!!!

30 comments:

1. He has pleaded guilty already, what facts are they still looking for?

2. Na waooh, church kwa charged a member to church for stealing...

1. Singing "Thief thief from thief- man no go vex...". Nonsense! The tithe no be thief dem thief am from ignorant people?

2. Thank you oh Anon. The pastor vex say person thief wetin him thief..lmao...

And he obviously doesn't also read that Bible passage in Corinthians about taking your brother in Christ to court.

These people and their version on Christianity Na real wa

4. I pity him though, may the Lord have mercy on him

1. Can never forgt a comment i read here sometimes ago about one big Abuja babe tht steals from her very big church cos shes an usher. She buys stuffs during d week on credit and ask creditors to come sunday evening for payments. I still shudder wen I think about her cos d suffering wont be for her alone. Kai!

5. Stellaaa! You're just being funny abeg. Which one is pray for him to deliver him from the spirit of stealing. LOL...

But seriously, the church should have handled it na. No be wetin bible talk?

6. U mean Rev.Father, not pastor. Shebi na catholic church. If them no charge am to court and take it with levity, one person fit carry offering and tithe box run during service sef.

7. Lol,so they could not punish him or solve their issues among themselves ,all these hungry and Greedy pastors everywhere misleading people

8. Hausa boi a.k.a Nutty Boi18 August 2016 at 10:24

Sometimes i wonder what is going on in churches today. Where is the christ like compassion? What happened to the days when the church catered to its members needs? Honestly i do not understand why some churches have millions in their treasury while their congregation can barely afford a meal a day.
    @James, he that is without sin cast the first stone.

9. DOES THE CATHOLIC CHURCH HAVE "TITHE BOXES"?

1 Corinthians 6:1 If any of you has a dispute with another, do you dare to take it before the ungodly for judgment instead of before the Lord’s people? 2Or do you not know that the Lord’s people will judge the world? And if you are to judge the world, are you not competent to judge trivial cases? 3Do you not know that we will judge angels? How much more the things of this life! 4Therefore, if you have disputes about such matters, do you ask for a ruling from those whose way of life is scorned in the church? 5I say this to shame you. Is it possible that there is nobody among you wise enough to judge a dispute between believers? 6But instead, one brother takes another to court—and this in front of unbelievers!

10. Imagine. Small thing they will run to court. If it is a man of God they will say let God be the judge. The boy was greedy quite alright but that was something that could have been worked out within Church. And that would have helped them know why and how to help him.

Come to think of it, isn't tithe supposed to belong to the poor? Like poor orphans, widows etc? Why do today Pastors think they are entitled to tithe? Are they Levites that are to share in tithe benefit? They should focus on Offering and Thanksgiving items that are theirs.

~~~~Her Majesty

11. When an accused person pleads guilty, the court still has to hear the facts from the prosecutor after which his counsel (lawyer) will do an allocutus on his behalf. That's the time you hear the lawyer plead on his behalf and ending it with 'temper justice with mercy'. Then, the court will sentence him. Hope you guys understand the reason for the 'delay' now.

12. I thought d bible is against Christians settling things in church? I wonder what kind of christianity we practice.

13. Another one? Oga o.
    Thieves everywhere.

14. So the church cannot forgive him and pray for him??? Smh...

15. Na waooooo God have mercy

16. Can you imagine? Churches of nowadays! Even Jesus Christ Himself advises us not to take issues that concerns the church outside.
    A pastor charging his church member to court because he stole some money; i am not supporting what the accused did, but the pastor would have asked for the money to be returned and scolded him.
    What a shame to the body of Christ! Now the members will still go ahead and defend him.

17. Instead of bringing his tithe to the church,he stole the one others brought .Double curse for him.

18. tif in the church, the pastor should please withdraw the case and pray for his church member.

19. Pastor never delivered himself na to cast out spirit of stealing from his members.

The matter would have been dealt with within them. Na WA. Not many people come to worship God. Some have interior motives why they come to church

Foolish boy, he never paid tithe one day in that church. Ole barawo

1. Loveme jeje abeg introduce me to your bishop I need that breakthrough by fire by force

20. Times are hard but that doesn't warrant stealing abeg

21. Common this is a church,what then do we preach? Any form of condemnation would be real bad....Pastor/Priest was that what Christ taught you? A sure they would have handled in church and turn him to be a better person! I greet!!

22. Priest not pastor

23. They would have just settled this among themselves instead of going to court.

24. A lot people here are so out or reason. You don't know the whole story and you jump to conclusion that they should have settles the matter within the church and pray for the thief. Did anyone of ever think that for a church like the Catholic church to hand over a member to the police must be a serious issue. This guy must have been regular at stealing ans warned severally. We are quick to slam pastor/priest, the priest is now the owner of the church, the church has a council that governs it and runs the affairs and have disciplinary arms that deal with internal and external issues. This man for him to steal from the offering box has been doing it for a long time. Are some of you are that such a member call arm robbers to attack the priests in the night especially after harvest and fund raising activities? A thief is a thief and should be treated as such. During Mass many of them come to steal and not to worship. So don't let us spare the rod and spoil the child. The church may just let him be punished for sometime and later have him released just serve as warning to others.