Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Niger Delta Avengers Set For Dialogue With Govt Announce Committee Members

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Niger Delta Avengers Set For Dialogue With Govt Announce Committee Members

The Niger Delta Avengers (NDA) today announced a seven-member committee to represent it in dialogue with the federal government.
In an unsigned statement, the group named the members as follows:

1. CHF. (DR) ORJI UZOR KALU
2. PROF. STEVEN ODI-OWEI
3. ETIBOM (DR) ANTHONY A. ANI
4. MR. NALAGUO CHRIS ALAGOA
5. CHF. (MRS) ALICE MOBOLAJI OSOMO
6. PROF. WOLE SOYINKA (ADVISER)
7. MR. ANIENIMI BALLANTYNE AGIRI

“We trust and believe in the quality and pedigree of members of this committee,” the statement said, explaining the group had mandated its contact, Mr. Ballantyne Agirias, to constitute the seven-man team, and that the nominations were approved by the Supreme Consultative Council (SCC) of the eastern central division of the NDA

“We believe this committee shall accommodate [inputs] from personalities of oil producing communities within the region as well as outside the shores of this Nation,” it said. “The Nobel laureate Professor Wole Soyinka who is from the South West is also a member of the approved team as advisor. He had met with briefly with President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR on the proposed dialogue weeks ago and had since been consistent in the media.”

The group expressed the hope that given the agenda for discussion, lasting peace and tranquility will return “if the people and government of Nigeria will be sincere, considerate with the spirit of love and justice to the people of the region that have sacrificed and given all for the past sixty (60) years to keep Nigeria alive and united.”

Text of the statement:

THE AVENGERS OF THE CENTRAL AND EASTERN NIGER DELTA AVENGERS SPEAKS

28th August 2016

On behalf of the Niger delta Avengers of the Central and Eastern Zones in the Niger Delta States, greets the good people of the Niger Deltans, Biafra, Nigeria and the entire world. The journey so far has been enormous, herculean, demanding and pane staking, yet we have remained resolute with reasoning and vision.

We promise our people of Niger Delta that with God Almighty on our side, we shall never let the Ijaw people down. We are only fighting against the demonic powers of oppression, slavery, injustice, extra-judicial killings, total neglect and impoverishment of oil rich region. How be it , over two months ago we partially and now have heed the clarion called to a total cease fire to dialogue on peace and development with government. 

We Avengers of the Central Eastern Zones comprising of Bayelsa, Rivers, Ikwa-Ibom, Cross River and Splinter from other states making up about 75% of the total fighting force reached out to and mandated Mr. Ballantyne Agirias our contact to constitute the seven men dialogue team with federal government which done and approved by the Supreme Consultative Council (SCC) of the eastern central division of the Niger Delta Avengers.

We trust and believe in the quality and pedigree of members of this committee. We believe this committee shall accommodate inputs from personalities of oil producing communities within the region as well as outside the shores of this Nation. The Nobel laureate Professor Wole Soyinka who is from the South West is also a member of the approved team as advisor. He had met with briefly with President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR on the proposed dialogue weeks ago and had since been consistent in the media.

We truly and sincerely hope that with the agenda for discussion, lasting peace and tranquility will return if the people and government of Nigeria will be sincere, considerate with the spirit of love and justice to the people of the region that have sacrificed and given all for the past sixty (60) years to keep Nigeria alive and united.

Dialogue committee members are:
1. CHF. (DR) ORJI UZOR KALU
2. PROF. STEVEN ODI-OWEI
3. ETIBOM (DR) ANTHONY A. ANI
4. MR. NALAGUO CHRIS ALAGOA
5. CHF. (MRS) ALICE MOBOLAJI OSOMO
6. PROF. WOLE SOYINKA (ADVISER)

7. MR. ANIENIMI BALLANTYNE  AGIRI.

19 comments:

1. These NDA guys are a bunch of confused fellows.
    What are they fighting for again?
    I thought they said that Hausa people are their friends and igbos are their enemies in the past .What happened to their friendship and brotherness?A bunch of jokers.

1. Mumu times infinity aka NDA

2. The bitter truth is this is an exercise in futility.
    An Hausa president to give you control over your resources? They should keep dreaming

1. So they should just sit down and take it. Are you angry that an Ibo man is on the list?

3. Jonathan who should have been in best position to give them control over their resources was there for 6 solid years and nothing happened instead they were enjoying the loots and freebies they were getting now to want to hold a nation to ransom over their own stupidity anyway I trust Buhari, threats will never move him. When next we are opportune to have a Niger delta president, we will think with our heads and the other way round. Greedy bunch

1. May your lineage be very intelligent and blessed. May they know the true God early in life and may they always be successful. #The best comment on SDK blog since I started visiting.

4. Buhari should make the best out of this dialogue and negotiation

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This Avengers are seriously mad i swear...

6. Hoping for d best In Sha Allah...

#prayfornigeria

7. This comment has been removed by the author.

8. Mixing criminals with Men of high dignity

9. This will not work...the NDA alone cannot roll out names of representatives. They have to reach an agreement with all other militant groups, otherwise, this will be an exercise in futility. moreover, every ethnic group in the Niger Delta has to be represented.

10. Peaceful resolution is the only way forward, I don't subscribe to violence...

11. 75%beyelsa,Akwa Ibom, Rivers, cross Rivers and a handful from other states abi? But major oil producing states like Delta is insignificant abi? What about Ondo, Edo states? Pls Lets not repeat what happened before where a particular tribe hijacked the whole process in the past. All stakeholders grievances should be addressed and all oil producing communities benefit from the outcome of the struggle not when you are sending people for training you send a particular people and neglect other tribes. Summarily we appreciate the respect so far human lives by the Militants and minimal loss of lives of innocent ones. Let all stakeholder tribes be adequately represented and the dividends spread round. Long live Nigeria.