Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerians Beware! - There Is Fake Quinine Sulphate in circulation

Sunday, August 21, 2016

Nigerians Beware! - There Is Fake Quinine Sulphate in circulation

Did you read this News yesterday somewhere?FINE,This is a Reminder!

The Federal Government has stepped up vigilance within the drug supply chains in the country on the circulation of two confirmed falsified versions of Quinine Sulphate.
A statement said the Federal Ministry of Health received a medical alert that the two falsified drugs contain zero active pharmaceutical ingredients.

The statement signed by Mrs Boade Akinola, Director, Media and Public Relations of the ministry, on Saturday said the drugs were circulating in West and Central Africa. Akinola said the two version of the drug were circulating in Cameroon and Democratic Republic of Congo.

She said the quinine Sulphate was used in the treatment of malaria.
According to her, “the implication of using the falsified one is that it will not be effective and may also lead to other health challenges.
“One of the fake products was named Quinine Sulfate 300 mg with 1000 Tablets per container, Batch Number 10H05, expiry date 09/2018 and it manufactured 09/2014.”

Akinola added that the drug manufactured by Novadina Pharmaceutical Limited, London, United Kingdom was first was discovered in Cameroon.
The director said the other version of the fake drug was Quinine Sulphate 300mg with 100 Tablets per container; batch F4387, expiry date 11/18 and its date of manufacture is 12/14.
She explained that the product was manufactured in India by CAD Pharm, and it was discovered in Bunia, Democratic Republic of the Congo.

The ministry urges Nigerians to also report it the following GSM no +234-8037881120, +234-8055056727 and+234-8035902679.

The statement added that. “If you are in possession of these products, please do not use them.
“If you have taken this falsified product or if you suffer an adverse effect following its uptake, please seek immediate advice from a qualified healthcare professional and report the incident to NAFDAC.’’

Dailypost

15 comments:

1. God saves Us. They won't kill us

2. Fake maleria in circulation? How do we identify it and how proactive is NAFDAC

1. As in eeeeh, did you even 'BOTHER' reading this before rushing to comment??
      And go back and try and read it, do it slowly while at it.

3. Now that Buhari is back in power everything has gone down. Fake drugs are back. Did Dora die in vain? He has taken us backwards not forwards.

4. Omo yibo,this one na from Aba.

5. I pray Nigeria gets to a point where all you could buy in a pharmacy will be multivitamins ,paracetamol and pain killers supplied to the pharmacy directly from the manufacturer. Anything asides that,will be prescribed by a certified GP,and you get this from the pharmaceutical section of the hospital which will be strictly controlled by an org. How can someone use his\her money to buy death?

6. That's why I am always ask God to take sickness far away from me and my family. 👪

7. Jeezzzz
    Ever since late Dora akunyili left NAFDAC, it has never been the same again.
    May she continue to rest in perfect peace
    Amen
    As for those fake drugs peddlers, Na una generation go die from d fake drugs, & not innocent human beings.

1. And when the culprit are caught and punished we will be hearing 'how good a man/woman he is'. Meanwhile so many death may have resulted by their wickedness and greed.
      May God save us all.

8. People who indulge in manufacturing and selling fake products God is watching you and His wrath will definitely fall on you