Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Cocoa Farming - A Pathway Out Of Poverty.

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Nigeria's Cocoa Farming - A Pathway Out Of Poverty.

Cocoa farming is not the easiest way to make a living in Nigeria, but more and more small farms are popping up.

The drop in the price of oil has led to greater investment in the business of cocoa, which once thrived in Nigeria. And for some, it is proving to be a pathway out of poverty.
Report by Al Jazeera

I love Farming and love to watch things planted grow,i would have loved to have a cocoa farm as well...

28 comments:

1. I need to visit my village then.

The only thing we farm is cocoa until young men started to "tear eye" they now turned most of their cocoa farm to marjuana farm.

2. Food n Cash crop production to the rescue of Nigerian economy.

3. I love farming too, but every Nigerian wants white collar job. Some even wants ego mbute lol

4. I'm a proud farmer. You can own a cocoa farm for as 300k and nurture it till its ready for harvest.

5. The Government should support young cocoa farmers to grow. Go to places like Ikom, Stung in Cross river state. They have massive lands they use for cocoa farming. I nelive they need to be educated and reoriented more on how to harvest and make good profits from cocoa.

They produce but seem to be poorer than those the sell to.

#PrayForCrossriverians

1. But do we have to wait for Governmnt? Eka Williams and Sunny B who are major cocoa traders in that area can't they team up and align a cocoa trading system that benefits both farmers and merchants? The problem with us is our selfish mentality. Once we start eating we forget everyone else. I won't spill what I know about those men here. But it's Not everytime Government. Sometimes individuals can rise up to it too. Rich men who have sprung from Ikom and Etung, what have they done with the cocoa money? In the days of my grand father he influenced the whole region up to Ogoja with his Cocoa money. So what are we saying?

2. We know how greedy those men are. We be to get them oriented fully on the cocoa business. So many are wasting with their farms flourishing

6. Enter your comment...nice development. just like my fishry & poultry are paying off

7. Thank God say nor be wetin person plant person dey eat, if not hunger for kill me oh cos I nor fit farm work.

8. Just remembered my grandpa's cocoa farm. Rest on sir

9. Chei!!! Lemme start running to my grandpa's cocoa farm ASAP. No time to dull.

10. Farming is lucrative but it is not easy,when you don't have mechanism

11. Well, my grandfather was a cocoa farmer for 60 years of his 83 year old life. He had 8 wives and 32 children. Trained ALL with cocoa. Home and abroad. My father is a cocoa merchant. Imports and exports. After white collar job messed up, he went back tit he drawing board. And today we are more than happy. I will quit my job and tow that line shortly. But it's easy for me because if the huge plantation my grand father left. Acres and acres of land. Those who don't have such land will find it difficult to do so, cos of family interferences and ethical issues. But trust me, cocoa money sent me to school and built us houses in Lagos. There's MAD money in it. God bless my grand father. Heard he left John Holt to go back to his hometown and farm. His friends laughed at him. So he married 8 wives to show them he was 'the winner' 😂😂. Heard they used to carry him on their shoulders whenever he was going out, they sing his praises cos cocoa money developed the whole village and busily schools. Unfortunately, I was 4 years old when he died. But I remember vaguely he used to give me Palm wine when we visited ☺️ I wish I had the opportunities to sit at his feet and listen to his stories the way my older siblings did. Agriculture is the future of Nigeria. We better believe it.

1. Yes, agriculture is the way out of our economic problems.

12. I'm not a westerner by the way. There's cocoa is southern Nigeria too.

13. Farming is not easy oo,Tom up 👆 for those in it.

14. Wow nice one,i love farming although is not as easy as it seems.

15. Some rich people still do this cocoa business, but codedly. Now that the economy requires everybody to be productive....hopefully, monopoly will stop

16. Coincidentally I bumped into a cocoa business writeup on facebook and I have started my research on it. Thinking of delving into an aspect of farming in the nearest future. May God grant my heart desire.
    I heard cocoa is lucrative but the merchants make more money than the farmers.

1. That's why we need ethical business policies and solutions in Nigeria. Western companies trade ethically with many African regions. But Because there aren't ethical policies, Indegenious businesses like Dangote Group will Trade with resources from an area and not develop the area because they can get away with it. I noticed that Government usually insist on ethical policies when it's foreigners coming in to do biz. They don't use the same spoon with indegenious companies.

This is why merchants will use the farms to enrich themselves, while the farmers get a very little fraction of the money. However, if you can be both farmer and merchant, that's the best. Cos if you don't monitor your farm you will be cheated by a lot of bags before the cocoa gets to the ports.

17. Aunty Stells truly farming is a way out. Just started an 11hectare farm and trust me it's not a walk in the park. If you want to make it be ready to invest your time and money. Lots of it.