Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Oby Ezekwesili Denies Report Calling Out President Buhari Not Deserving To Be President

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Oby Ezekwesili Denies Report Calling Out President Buhari Not Deserving To Be President

This drama happened on Saturday...How did i miss it?LOL

''I woke up yesterday to read a fictitious report credited to me by Sunday Tribune that I claimed President Muhammadu Buhari does not deserve to be president.

And on the basis of the fiction weaved together by a reporter, he let loose one of those now-very-common indecorous and rumor- inspired verbal assault from a presidential spokesman, Mallam Garba Shehu. 

However, today, in one of those uncommon but very professional decisions, Tribune newspaper not only recanted on the story but also apologized to me. 

While I thank the newspaper for toeing the path of honour, I hope Mallam Garba Shehu will also be decent enough to admit his error of judgement and tender an unreserved apology for his falsehood and unwarranted attacks at me. 

Notwithstanding, it is important not to lose sight of the real issue which is about the fate of 2000 young Nigerians who were employed into the Nigerian Immigration Service, after a rigorous and transparent process by the last administration, only for their services to be cynically dispensed with by the current administration. These are Nigerians from across the country. 

Incidentally, I was drawn to their plight just because in driving past where they had congregated, I saw among them a friend and BBOG colleague, Hajia Aisha Yesufu, who, as it would turn out, had taken up their cause. I spoke with them briefly, and I had pleaded with the president to look into their matter. Fortunately, in correcting the earlier wrong publication, Tribune has helped to bring out what I said in its story of today as captured below:

Tribune apologizes to Oby Ezekwesili

FORMER Minister of Education, Dr Oby Ezekwesili, never said President Muhammadu Buhari did not deserve to be president.
Our sister publication, Sunday Tribune, had attributed the statement to be part of what she said over the plight of 2,000 immigration service recruits who slept at the entrance of Aso Villa from Friday till Saturday morning.

Ezekwesili, while addressing the recruits, had said “I am, therefore, appealing to the president to immediately ask the military as well as the Nigerian Immigration Service to do what is right, give justice to all these young men and women who, on the basis of merit, were appointed into positions in the NIS.
“I want to say that if justice is not given to them immediately, I certainly will join them in sitting here every day until they get their justice. Justice is to be able to come to the table with them.

“Whatever the challenges are, let it be known, but don’t let anything be done in secrecy, and let nothing be done with such opaqueness. These young people are the present of Nigeria, not just the future of Nigeria. If we don’t treat our young right, we are laying ourselves up for what we already have troubling us in the country.

“So, I join my voice with them, and I appeal to the President whom they have come to see to immediately do something about their cause. And I also use this opportunity to speak to the Federal Government, there have been too many instances of allegations of illegal recruitment into the public service.

“If our public service is dysfunctional, and you are worsening it by recruiting people through the back doors, people who don’t have the talent, skills, competence, capacity, character to be able to give us good service in public service, then, we certainly have no plans to be better than we are.
“So, we should just from henceforth desist from doing this. And usually, when these illegal recruitments are done, we sacrifice the best for the worst among us. Usually, when these illegal recruitments are done, what ends up happening is that the children of the poorer segment of our society who struggle to get through their education are left behind, then, that is the basis of worsening inequality.

“We cannot afford this, and an unequal society is a society laying itself up for implosion and God forbid that would be the case with our nation. I want to just applaud all of you for coming out and standing, standing for your cause. I want to say that I would actually be speaking to a lawyer who will become your lawyer in this matter, so that, not just would you be on the streets, but you would have to get legal redress of your situation, because that’s very important.
“I also applaud the fact that you have been civil. Today is Saturday; I don’t know what your plan is, Saturday is not a work day. Sunday is also not a work day. So people might say they are not at work, that’s why they are not able to speak to you. Maybe what we would do is have a discussion among yourselves and perhaps resume your sit-out by wherever you chose to do that, by the first day of the week. Then whatever you want to say to the President, I think you should give the opportunity for all your members to speak to the President. He’s the one you came to see.”

The Tribune Newspapers hereby tender unreserved apology to Dr. Ezekwesili, Aisha Yesufu and the Presidency for the misrepresentation.

Let me again state that the injustice that the #NigeriaImmigration2000 protesters allege needs immediate Presidential resolution considering that all other levels of authority have failed them. If Garba Shehu was not deploying his time and talent to the wrong priorities, he should have brought the issue of 2000 disaffected young people to the President's attention when they occupied the gate of his office last Friday. 

I advise him to do so now. 

Obiageli (Oby) Ezekwesili

*Garba Shehu have you apologised?

22 comments:

1. So these newspapers just sit down and formlate gists with peoples names just to sell papers, make gains then apologise? Hmmm
      Anyways whatever the case, the Garba shehu somebody gave a very unprofessional response for a presidential spokesperson.
      I mean where do they pick these people from, replying anyhow without thinking like market women
      He left the issue at hand(which is the immigration recruits) and faced the messenger smh.
      Buhari should look into all these his incompetent subs, cos its rubbing off on him

2. Oby Ezekwwsili a combo of brain n beauty ...

1. Brain? I totally agree,beauty? Not so much.

2. Stunning slim onye ara. What beauty. Kwakwakwwaa

3. LOL. U know Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

And yea,I think she is beauty and brains too. And no,I ain't kidding. No make up,no hair.no nothing and she looks the way she does? She is pretty I agree.

3. Na wa oo, garba apologize nau. Saw her last week with her hubby,she was actually checking her phone and complaining about something while I passed by wondering what was wrong...

4. Oby Ezekwesili a combo of brain n beauty ...

5. Lol drama every where. My neighbour want to rename his dog, he asked me to suggest a name and I said I don't want to be arrested by EFCC lol

6. Waiting for comments from SDK BLOG Airheads who supported Buhari.
    Osetigo
    Fan Emmanuel come and follow me chop this popcorn while comments roll in. Fresh, anonymous CJ, eesah, jay Moore, the general wife. Please comments

7. The fear of Bubu....

8. I love this woman. She says it like it is. No sugar coating .some people from somewhere don't like her because she doesn't support their criminal ways.so they call her a bastard. I wonder if that word now has a different meaning

9. This comment has been removed by the author.

10. In my opinion, the Nigerian government is being held to ransom by the terrorist because of the noise being made by peo about the Chibok girls....thousands of peo were kidnapped in the northeast and some of them have been rescued but no one is giving kudos to the government about it. Are we saying that the lives of the Chibok girls is mote important than every other person kidnapped by the Boko Haram???? Why is no one raising a voice for the other people????? Am afraid that if we do not stop making noise about the Chibok girls they may never be found...in any case, they have been married off to terrorists and many of them already have kids while some have lost their lives as in suicide bombers......Let us raise our voice for the return of every kidnapped person in the north east and in every other part of Nigeria....the Chibok girls are not more important....

11. Ikwakwakwakwa, fear of Sss and Efcc

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Babe don humble.... Lolx...

13. @ Morgana..... Where did you hear terrorists and Bring back our Girls in this talk now?
    They are talking about 2000 Nigerian Youths whose jobs were taken from them and given to the children of the so-called privileged rich and here you are just like Garba Shehu spewing trash without addressing the issue that was raised.

Who asked where they get these people that talk like market women? See one for the blog so no need to find where Shehu crawl come out from

14. C’est un acte d’humilité, de présenter des excuses

15. well even a baby born today knows the truth,hehehehehehe