Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Olympics 2016: Nigeria Beats Honduras To Win Men's Football Bronze

Saturday, August 20, 2016

Olympics 2016: Nigeria Beats Honduras To Win Men's Football Bronze

Sadiq Umar scored a brace as Nigeria won an Olympic bronze medal in the men's football with a 3-2 win over Honduras in Belo Horizonte.

Nigeria, the 1996 Olympic football champions, are now the first African country to complete an Olympic medal sweep having won a sliver medal in Beijing in 2008.

Aminu Umar had hit both posts before Sadiq Umar scored from close range in the 34th minute after captain Mikel John Obi's fine run.

Four minutes after the break, Mikel's strike was half-punched away by Lopez and it fell for Aminu Umar, the Turkey-based forward, to calmly finish inside the box.

Sadiq Umar got his second and his fourth of the tournament in the 56th minute to set the Eagles in flight and put them 3-0 up.
But Anthony Lozano pulled a goal back after 70 minutes, and Honduras' late fight-back was firmly on when Marcelo Pereira scored with four minutes left on the clock.

The Dream Team VI held off their opponents' late rally to win the country's first medal of the Rio games.

At Atlanta in 1996, they became the first African team to win the gold medal.

They also finished runners-up at the 2008 Beijing Olympics to take silver, where current under-23 coach Samson Siasia also coached the 'Dream Team' in China.
BBC cullage

*Congratulations to Nigeria...why were they spreading tales before the match that our players refused to come out until they were paid their allowances?na wah oh..who heard?I actually got a call asking me why i didnt blog it and i said ''ah''

37 comments:

1. That's a good one, congrats to the Nigeria football team

1. Congratulatiooooooooons! Nigeria

2. We did it. They made us proud! Thanks to the Japanese billionaire for motivating them with that fulfilled promise.

3. That striker leg no be here in
      Kikikikiki
      Very long

2. Congrats Dream Team VI.
    At all at all na im bad pass

1. Thank God o,we got a medal if not na BLB ni o ba bade.

2. Abi. At least they carry something for neck.

3. Nice one * what do i even know about football*

4. Why Nigeria football team like bronze pass gold?

1. Abegy..after loosing at d final all in d bid to win gold.. No joy in winning silver ooh..

5. Congrats guys, God bless new sports minister Mikel Obi becos that fool is no my minister

6. So someone said d only gold Nigeria has is Adekunle Gold.. I couldn't stop laughing. Such a silly thing to say.

7. I'm so proud of them
    Kisses guys
    You all have done well.

8. Nice one!!!!!. Weldone guys

9. At least they got a medal.

10. CONGRATULATION TO THE TEAM AND NIGERIA AT LAST ONE MEDAL. THANK GOD.

11. Replies
    1. I BELIEVE YOU. WE WERE ALL EXPECTING GOLD BUT MY DEAR ..........HALF BREAD IS BETTER THAN CHIN CHIN.

12. Hehe Stella o LOL @ 'I said "ah"

13. I did not watch the game,did they celebrate?

1. No, they only clapped hands.

14. N ur darling Germany won a rusted Aluminium..congratz Brazil

1. Buhahahahahaha..for real? They lost?.. Lol

2. Buhahahahahaha..for real? They lost?.. Lol

15. Enter your comment...Congrats! Our Gallant Dream Team VI, you guys made us proud. I am overwhelmed with joy at least our country came back with a medal. Not withstanding the shabby way they were sent out for the game. Kudos!!

16. Yeah great news. They put up a good fight against Honduras. Greater news was Brazil beating Germany. Kikikikiki