Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omugwo Chronicles -36

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Omugwo Chronicles -36

Your husband can do the Omugwo too..I hope you know that?

Good day Stella.

This is my omugwo story.....
I  travelled at my 34th week to my parents house,though the hospital is not too far from there.By God's grace i gave birth to my baby on the exact due date(two days before my birthday....same month).

So Dh came down to see us and lastly took us to my parents house to spend some time there because my mum could not leave her business and come for my omugwo....ok ooo(if mohammed no go mountain,mountain go travel go see mohammed).

As first time mum nahhh,i just mellow....my mum took care of everything ie bathing the baby,sleeping with the baby,cooking for me and massaging my body but i started washing clothes after the second week.After three weeks,we left for my house because we dont stay in the same town.I had learnt most things but if i experience a problem,i call my mum or elder sister on the phone.

One thing i never forget was the day i almost fell with my baby at night while rocking the baby to sleep cos my eyes were heavy chai.na waah.

My baby is two months now going to three and i have been managing my house cos i have no help.Dh has been very helpful and supportive,he is always with baby while i cook or do house chores,we take  turns at night to carry the baby and sometimes he helps with cleaning of the house and he goes to market to get food stuffs without blinking an eye.

I thank God for him cos some men won't do it.Mother in-law is old so she only came to see her grand child and left four days after,my younger sister who is in school here comes once in while to do stuffs for me.Still on the matter sha.....omugwo things.I thank God for the good health He blessed me with.

We will all survive whether your mum is there or not just pray to God to make a way for you.
Shout out to all new mums....they call us inexperienced but we will soon be like them.......lol

Thanks.

*When you say you started washing clothes after three weeks,do you mean you starting washing as in with hand? or you just throw them into the washing machine and dry them out?
Your husband even tried helping you,some men will not do such and only arrive home at night when everyone has slept.

61 comments:

1. It is well with you. God bless your home

1. Stella sounds like she was never in ds country n its wrong to wash cloths wt ur hands. If she's strong enuf,y not? We used our hands before d advent of washing machines n if u can't afford it,pls,do ur washing wt ur hands! I rem walking coast my mum in 95 a day after she had our last born cos I wasn't expecting to see her washing downstairs at d hospital.

2. Na wah for Stella oh!!
    Do you think it's every one that has a washing machine here?

1. Epp me and ask Stella oo lol
      Poster i bless God for you and your baby, may He bless your hubby as well. It's not easy

3. I don't pray to marry a man that won't be able to help his wife in such case. Na only the woman do the thing? God bless your home and your hubby madam, regards to that Angel of yours

4. Hiaaaa! See JAMB question from Stella! Washing is washing whether with a machine or hand. Lol

5. Your hubby is a good man, sha

6. Stella please stop pretending as if you were born in Germany. What do you mean by did she wash plate with hands?

7. Is three weeks too early for her to be washing with hands? Y'all make this Omugwo thing look like the woman is sick.
    Iya Demola, my former neighbor will start washing,cooking and even sweeping 2days after giving birth
    I want to be like her when I grow up.

1. @CHI My mum gave birth to the 5 of us at home, without any midwife o and she will start doing everything including house chores that very day she gave birth. That woman is too strong and I pray to God to just bless me too like my mum

2. Chi just chill untill you born first inugo?
      A di agwa ochi nti n'agha esugo lol

3. My dear,d thing tire me sef oh. Childbirth no be sickness nau. Except u suffered complications from childbirth or did c.s,u shld be up and running within 7 days nau. While u might n3ed help with d baby,u shld be able to do housechores.

8. I pray u get a washing machine soon,it's not easy doing all the chores and washing manual with no help.

9. My husband was very supportive, he was the one waking up every night to feed the baby (not breast ooo, feeding bottle), hubby was the one pressing my big operated belle every night (gave birth thru cs), he was the one cooking for me. He did all of these after his sister left after she took care of me for good 2 weeks.

1. Madam sufrey talk lie! How do they press cs tummy???

2. After my first baby through Cs, my mum press my tommy. E get im own technic. You don't go near the scar, that's just it.

3. Heheheheee anon 14:41, just becoz you're a big phat laya duznt min every1 iz ooo. Yes he pressed ma tummy!

10. Stella it's not everyone that has a washing machine at home biko.

11. Stella it's not everyone that has a washing machine at home biko.

12. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

1. Visit kontaguwa market and get clothes in gbanjo! Stop begging and emphasizing on 15K job as a graduate. Who graduate epp?

2. God will bless you with something bigger

13. Shout out to handsome husbands who helps their wives.

The ones that dont help are ugly horsebands.

14. Lovely story *smiling* God bless ur marriage...

15. But Stella sometimes you are neutral while at others you are biased negatively. Why ask whether she washes with her hand or with washing machine. Those who can't afford machine are less human I guess. Because of this mindset, many people I know went to buy Washing machines so people would see them as real humans and not subhumans. They were using the machines and taunting those that didn't have. But immediately we were issued with pre paid meters, most of them packed their machines and reverted to hand washing. Those of us then that didn't buy were using our hands, paying people to help us and taking to dry cleaners and are still doing that pre paid or no pre paid.

By the way the rich has ever existed even in pre historic times. Now tell me twenty years ago when the magnanimity of the oyibo had not brought us machines for washing here, what was the rich using? Rich, rich, rich, ...it will be easier for the Carmel to pass through the eye of the needle than the rich man to see the kingdom of God. Dit it say except a rich clergy or lay man, rich businessman or rich criminal? No. Something's ate better not said especially when they concern another

1. Haaaaaaa this one go soon enter market o. Ogbeni pls calm down,its not that serious. You go dey alright

16. Stella she wash with her hands like most women in niaja,i like men who are supportive

17. Stella i tire for this your question. No i think the machine washed and she rinsed with her hand. Hehe

18. Whatever Stella, what washing machine can do, your hands can do so. Congrats madam.

19. That's a caring n supportive hubby u got, God bless ur home

20. Some women are stronger than other, some will go into the labour room and scream the place down others will go in and come out as if nothing happened. Some will give birth and start doing chores or even Hawking immediately, others will be bedridden for days. I just think we have different level of pain tolerance. God bless friends and families that assist new mothers... No be moimoi.
    *God bless my Angel in human form*

21. What is wrong in washing even with hands after 3weeks of delivery stella? She didn't mention she birthed the baby through cs so it's no big deal.

Madam, may God bless your home. You married a good husband

22. Stella you are omo oju o ri ola ri. You better thread softly. She use bare hands for laundry today she go buy machine tmrw. Take it easy abeg.

23. She washed with your hands Stella inukwa jamb and Gce question.

24. My hubby even told us to slp in the nxt room.

25. Washing after 3 weeks is not big deal na......me wey MIL called a day after naming and i gave birth tru CS that I should help her cook stew with fish and ponmo.....me that can not even stand straight o.

1. I can relate...kai
      CS pain no be here.

2. I hope u did not cook any nonsense stew? What's wrong with some people sef? Bet she wouldn't do DAT to her daughter.

3. I hope u did not cook any nonsense stew? What's wrong with some people sef? Bet she wouldn't do DAT to her daughter.

4. I bet your MIL is Yoruba. Na so dem be

26. Wow poster pls send me kisses to the new born.

27. You guys should leave my Stella alone....na beg i day beg... Lol

28. I think Stella is just trying to clarify if she washed with hands or a machine since Washing with hands is more stressful.

You all should chill out

29. If I remember some of the things my mum did to me when I gave birth I am not supposed to be talking to her again sef. I started washing my baby's clothes from day 1, I think after a while she felt bad when someone saw me washing and scolded me. I was preparing my meals and my husband's , sweeping, mopping and I had her with me o. Let me go anonymous because of the people that know me