Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omugwo Chronicles -37

Friday, August 26, 2016

Omugwo Chronicles -37

Ha..ha..ha!!!

Hello Stella, 
here goes my Omugwo Chronicles.

I had my first child in the diaspora when I was doing my Masters degree, it was a smooth pregnancy and my mum had to come from Nigeria. I was happy to see her when she came. 

Being my first I really didn't know what to expect, my baby came few days after my due date, before the baby came, my mum was busy inspecting all I had bought and giving her opinion that they were too many and expensive, I was decorating the baby's room and she'll be speaking in my dialect "stop doing like oyibo, you don't need all these nursery decoration" we quarrelled a lot and had fun as well, some days she"ll complain of cold and others she"ll say my house is too small( 2 bed terrace duplex) that oyibo pple can be stingy ehn.

Anyway the baby finally came and she was with me all through and ofcourse being her loquacious self, she was everywhere in the ward and at a point they asked her to step aside for my hubby to be with me, she didn't pay attention to them but pretended not to understand English. lol. she took over the delivery telling me how to place my hand on my ankle and push. At that point I wasn't even listening to the nurses  but was listening and trusting my mum's directives. she was busy abusing(in efik) and smiling with  the Nurses that they were too soft.

I was discharged the following day with instruction not to bath but just clean the baby since it was winter. As a first time Mum I was obeying them to the letter while my mum was busy *yimuing* me. on the 8th day my baby wont stop crying, she rejected almost everything,before I knew what was happening my mum had arranged bath water, improvised a stool and off she went, she bathed the living day light out of my baby without my consent. my baby started sleeping and slept all through the naming ceremony.

We are all girls and I was never close to my mum but the period she spent with me from pregnancy to post pregnancy got us closer, she taught me so many things  I  enjoyed her company she was selfless, she cooked, bathed the baby and took care of the house. God bless my mum. 

LMAO..that hospital scene cracked me up.God bless your mum !

57 comments:

1. "She bathed the living daylights out of my baby" cracked me up. You know say oyingbo no dey baff (na joke ooo before the piranhas on this blog come for my ass), blacks must to baff wether the weather na minus zero degrees. No matter what, mums are the best. Kudos to your mum and continue taking care of yourself and baby, guess you are a single mum. It is well.

2. Ogbeni! Didn't you read the part where the nurses asked her mum to step aside for her hubby but she no gree...Please read and comprehend...aunty

2. Your mum is a good woman and a very dramatic queen.

3. May God bless our mothers, if not for them.. I wonder how so many would have been coping.

4. Wowww very experienced,nice and hardworking woman.nice story poster.

5. I smiled all through. Your mum was yimuing you. Hahahahahaha

1. I smiled all through. In love with your mum already😀. My kind of mama.

6. may God bless your mum, you are lucky to have a nice, caring and hard working mother.

All the best in your season two and three lool.

7. No wonder some oyibo people smells. so they dont bathe because of winter.

lovely omugwo stories. Thank God your mama did not listen to their english.

8. Hahaha I loved this one. Efik women no dey carry last. All I pray about is GOD'S protection throughout pregnancy. Immediately my baby is out my Mama don take over. She tries her very best to take good care of me and my baby. May GOD continue bless and keep good mothers like my Mama.

9. "She bath the living daylight out of the baby". 😂😂😂😂😂
    Nigerian mama! Your omugwo is sweet abeg.

10. You did not even mention anything about your horseband. I hope two of you are living in peace

1. Bitter leaf annon,how market?

2. Is d omugo abt her husband? Abeg mind ur bizniz. Oshisco

11. Hahaha at how she bath the baby. Truly, washing up with water is far different from wiping. I love your mum already.

God bless your home.

12. lol @oyinbo people can be stingy.

13. Efik language? I wonder how funny and strange it will sound to a normal non Efik person ear.

14. Lol mischievous Mum u gat...thank God for u Poster

15. are you sure we dont share the same mum?, coz thats so typical of my mum.

16. Yes oooooo she have to do it in our nigeria way not in oyibo way. Lolzz

17. Super Mum, Luv her for her role abroad..thumbs up..

18. I like the fact that she was free and made you enjoy delivery instead of panicking as most naija mums do

19. Nice one poster.

20. God bless your mom. She really came in handy.

21. So like my mom lol
    God bless our mothers

22. Lol😀😀I can't stop laughing;ur mum is funny nice mougwo😁😀😁

23. God bless ur mother and mine as well.

24. God bless your mum poster. Sometimes, is good to listen to our mothers, they are more experience than us and they know better when it comes to taking care of babies.

25. Bestttttttttttttt

26. Lol. Ur mum is behaving like my mother. Mothers rock!!! God bless them

27. #Don't worry over what other people are thinking about you. They're too busy worrying over what you are thinking about them*

28. Efik! A dialect i'd love to learn

29. Can't wait to send in my own omugwu chronicles... BABA God abeg oo open my womb

1. Don't worry Dearie...your (gift )testimony is on d way because d Lord is Good (Chidinma)

2. None shall be barren nor cast their young.....You are a fruitful vine and a mother of many nations by his grace, your land shall be fertile and it will end in praise for you. We will all celebrate with
      you when you come back to testify...just believe.
      Sholay

30. Are sm of u here blind, go back and read she mention hubby, u need extra Jesus 4 u 2 comprehend.

31. Am igbo but my mum behaves like ur mum though we are veryvery close, my mum is my bestfriend.

32. I had my handsome son abroad couple of months bk,sadly both my mum n mil r late...I did omugwuo by myself for the first 3 months,when I got bk,my dad did omugwuo for me...(not really,he just played with the baby while I slept)lol.I miss my mum everyday.Rip mami.

33. Your mum is suppereb!