Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omugwo Chronicles -42

Wednesday, August 31, 2016

Omugwo Chronicles -42

Most Mother In Laws use the Omugwo period to visit and rest..lol

Thanks for giving us a platform to share our experience and also learn from others.
I gave birth to my first child two days to my due date,both families were eager for the child to arrive because ‎he was the first from both families. 

‎I laboured for like 24 hours,i was discharged the next day and MIL came a day after,she brought a lot of food stuffs for us(God bless her for that).
The day she arrived she slept all through the night and I blamed it on stress cos we do not stay in the same town and the journey can be very stressful. 

The next morning she woke up to bathe the baby, and everything was cool,thank God one of my senior wife had already advised me on how to go about everything (I actually thought people around me will be the one taking care of me lol).My younger sister was around so she helped with the cooking,cleaning the house, washing cloths, in fact everything.

Well,i forgot to add that MIL said she came to rest and that she has promised herself that she will not enter the kitchen I said ok..The next night she went to the other room to sleep again,My sister and i were left with the baby and both of us didn't even know how to handle a baby.Hmmmm,my baby can cry for Africa and my breast milk was not even flowing for like 4 days so some1 advised us to get SMA Gold Which we did‎.

In all this stress I was seriously angry at my mum for not coming on time, for like six consecutive nights my sister and i did not sleep until the arrival of my mum.

My sister kept on with the cooking and everything, until this fateful Sunday morning when one of my MIL's relative came and all hell was let loose,she complained about the food (meanwhile my BIL staying with us told me what she eat is liver and fuku(sorry I don't know the English name for that) and we cooked her food separately cos she does not eat the type of food we eat.

Throughout that day I was just crying and disappointed, this is the person that says so many prayers for me anytime i serve her,infact that morning she still did same so I was so disappointed, she could have told me or her son staying with us or even my hubby.

When hubby got back from work I told him what transpired and he was not happy about it,so he called his mum and myself and asked what happened and she could not say any tangible thing that I did wrong o,i guess she was now ashamed of her act,the only thing she could say was that she asked me to burn the sponge we bath the baby with and that I did not answer her........haba.

We sha went on as if nothing happened, I sent my sister to the market to buy turkey, meat,fish and cut it big big,at times I use to wonder how a single human being can finish two pieces of those stuff at once. I will wake up 5am to peel beans for either moimoi or akara cos she complain I don't cook on time,all this while I was cooking with my money,that was the reason why I was so pained.

She left after one month,I got her some things and when she got back to her state,she started calling me almost every day and started sending me credit almost every week, until I felt uncomfortable with it and told DH to tell her not  to send me credit again.

The next time she came to visit us, we were best of friends, we bonded well but when I had my next baby it was another drama,but this time I was emotionally matured to handle with wisdom cos the first time I was always crying like a mumu.

LOL,thank God it ended well cos as i read i was just tensed not to read that you warned her or asked hubby to tell her to leave...You used wisdom indeed.

52 comments:

1. my biggest fear? Child bearing n motherhood. It is well!

2. God blessed you with wisdom. May God keep your home in peace and love.

3. God bless your home poster!

4. This my best segment on this blog,i find it weird cos I'm a guy

1. Its not weird, i think you are learning and would make a good father.

2. Lmaooo, this made me laugh, it seems u like amebo oo

5. pls bv,medically,they say we shld drink 3-4 litres of water. in my house,i make satchet water. so how many satchet water is 3-4 litres ?

1. As many as possible, sha don't over do it. Too much of everything is bad.

2. 100cl=1l
      If you make Maje pure water, you should be able to know how many classes is in a satchel of pure water. In my locality, aqua rapha pure water is 60cl a sachet. Do the maths.
      You are very welcome.

3. 7-8 sachets of pure water.

6. 😁😁😁😁Crying like a mumu. And the part where sends you credit was a creepy oo.. Wisdom di very importakpa sha

7. I concur with Stella. We should always use our wisdom in whatever we do but for me thankGod am Igbo so no MIL is coming for my omugwo.

8. Hmmmmm thank God you are now matured to handle all these. Some motherinlaws do have them

9. Poster....you buy turkey, meat, fish and cut it big big...and you wonder how someone would finish bla bla......bia was it not meant to be eaten??? Hian

1. I don't like very big pieces of meat, I'm sure the poster feels the same way, I wonder how people eat big big chunks of meat,very unhealthy lifestyle

2. You must be a glutton. Fat people forming thick

3. Anon 13:33,so since it's meant to be eaten,her MIL should gulp all at once inkwa?Poster,you must be a Yoruba babe. Hhhmmn!that is how I married into Yoruba family and got initiated into cutting meat in large chunks.lol

4. It's better to eat large child of meat instead of large chunks of Eba.' Meat is protein

10. Cooking with ur money for someone who doesnt appreciate it,una dae try o I won't try it for anything.

1. Yeye dey smell. Na so Una dey talk until you send your own chronicle

11. Thank God u use wisdom cos I suspect she did everything intentional so dat she wil knw ur reaction

12. Thank God u used wisdom cos am suspecting she did everything intentional so dat she wil knw ur reaction .... God continue to bless ur marriage

Wow I comment again #dancingshoki#

13. Tank God u ve grown so next time u wnt cry like a mumu.

14. A good daughter becomes a good sister. A good sister becomes a good friend. A good friend becomes a good wife. A good wife becomes a good mother. A good mother becomes a good mother in law.
    I discovered that bad mothers in law were terrible daughters in law in their time and knowing how bad daughters in law could be a pain in the ass, set out to maltreat their daughters in law as a preemptive act.
    I discovered that good daughters in laws even when ill treated by their mothers in law still keep their heads straight and don't retaliate with their own daughters in law but rather show a lot of love to them.
    One thing newly and yet to be newly married girls should know is this, the complaints are almost always about mils and sils
    You should know, therefore that as you are coming in wondering how your mil will treat you, she also is wondering how you will treat her. So if it is true that blessed is the hand that giveth than the one that reeiveth, why not concentrate on how well you treat your mil irrespective of what she may be than concentrating on how she will treat you.

1. U said it all.... thumbs up..

15. God bless and furnish you with more wisdom. Your MIL is not a terrible person, blame what she did on imperfection and remember we are all imperfect.
    *God bless my Angel in human form*

16. Good you did not fight your mother in-law. She realised her mistakes, that was why she was sending you airtime to make up for her 'ish.

Poster, why do you have to count the number of meat one eat with in your house? How do you even think of serving an elderly person with a single piece of meat?
    Anyways, thank God you're grown now with wisdom.

P.S I hate meats chopped in big pieces.

17. The idea of my Toto expanding like rubber band during child birth scare the shit outta me. Hmmmmm no be small drama go happen during my time sha.

18. Different strokes for different people.

19. #Life goes on... with or without you*

20. You did well for not quarreling with that mother in-law of yours.

21. Honestly I thank God I am Yoruba, all this omugwo shit is not compulsory, no time for drama, everybody visit, greet baby and go, got nannies to do what I want, I wonder why you expect your mother in law or your mum set to become house help for you because you gave birth, some of you women are unreasonable, with three children of mine I never hassled anyone and the love I got was overwhelming. Come, greet baby and vamoose

1. May God bless you. People feel entitled

2. I trully wonder oh,i will go to a secluded place where nobody will be able to come to do omugwo when next I give birth.infact i'l put off my phone for 2 months.kai I can't pass through anymore drama jare

22. Honestly I thank God I am Yoruba, all this omugwo shit is not compulsory, no time for drama, everybody visit, greet baby and go, got nannies to do what I want, I wonder why you expect your mother in law or your mum set to become house help for you because you gave birth, some of you women are unreasonable, with three children of mine I never hassled anyone and the love I got was overwhelming. Come, greet baby and vamoose

23. Honestly I thank God I am Yoruba, all this omugwo shit is not compulsory, no time for drama, everybody visit, greet baby and go, got nannies to do what I want, I wonder why you expect your mother in law or your mum set to become house help for you because you gave birth, some of you women are unreasonable, with three children of mine I never hassled anyone and the love I got was overwhelming. Come, greet baby and vamoose

24. My mother-in-law is no more,how I miss her...*tears* things wouldn't be the way they are right now if you were still here. Rest on mum..we all miss you like crazy..

25. Me that hate stress talk more of when I born pikin, mother in law wan add join. I go arrange on time o. Nothing like omugwo visit.. nobi by force.

26. This omugo story is similar to mine. Just that I had no sister to cook. I was virtually doing everything. Mama's work is just to bath d baby in d morn and evening.i dropped frm 82kg to 68kg within 2 weeks. What did I get frm over satisfying her? Complaints. I dnt like talking about it. Yoruba omugwo is the worst

27. Thank God you handled it in a matured way

28. But really, I don't get some women. How can you leave your house and go to the house of someone who just put to birth and say you came to rest? Why do women like being wicked to one another? You and someone who just gave birth who deserves rest? If you ain't coming to help why not stay in your house where at least you won't be a burden? I can't deal abeg!