Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police Say Man Who Named Dog BuhariI Has Nothing To Do With President Buhari

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

Police Say Man Who Named Dog BuhariI Has Nothing To Do With President Buhari

The Lagos zone 2 command of the Nigeria Police has dissociated President Muhammadu Buhari from the case involving a man who named his pet dog ‘Buhari.’

The police, in a statement made available to the Lagos Metro and signed by the zonal Public Relations Officer, Muyiwa Adejobi, said the ‘Buhari’ in question was not President Buhari .

According to the police, a son to the Alhaji Buhari had reported the case to the police claiming that the arrested Igbo man was referring to his father.

Adejobi, in the statement, said “The attention of the Assistant Inspector-General of Police in charge of Zone 2 Command, Lagos, AIG Abdulmajid Ali, has been drawn to series of uncomplimentary comments and publications in respect of the case of a man, Joe Chinakwe, who was arrested and charged to court by the Ogun State police command for naming his dog “Buhari” and wishes to state categorically that the matter was grossly misconstrued.”
The police image maker added that “the zonal command wishes to clarify and set the records straight that the case, as it was erroneously perceived, has nothing to do with the president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, President Muhammadu Buhari, but with one Alhaji Buhari, the biological father of the complainant, Alhaji Halilu Umar, all of Ketere Area, Sango Otta in Ado-Odo Otta Local Government Area of Ogun State.”

He continued: “Also, it’s fundamental to state that the man was not charged to court for christening his dog ‘Buhari’, but for the behaviour of the suspect and circumstances surrounding the matter when Mr Joe, who had been having conflicts with his neighbour (complainant) named his dog, Buhari, his neighbour’s father’s name inscribed Buhari on both sides of the said dog, and started parading the dog with swagger amongst his neighbours and/ traders who are mostly Northerners.”

The pokice also stated that “The said Joe was actually attacked by the people around for his action before he was rescued by the police. The timely intervention of the police prevented a crisis or inter-tribal crisis in the area.

“The zonal command, therefore, seeks the understanding of members of the public on the action of the man,which was capable of causing breach of public peace, an offence the man, Joe Chinakwe, was actually charged for under Section 249(d) of the Criminal Code.

“The Assistant Inspector-General of Police in charge of Zone 2 Lagos, AIG Absulmajid Ali, appeals to the general public to understand the action of the police in the matter, which is in consonance with the primary duties of the Nigeria Police as enshrined in the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, and accept it as a professional way of preventing total breakdown of law and order.”

Tribune

*Did anybody say it had anything to do with the president?This police people sef!

If i am this man eh,i will start a Tee shirt line tagged ''Arrested for naming my dog Buhari''..lol

25 comments:

1. I know about a man in my village that named his dog Gilbert , the name of his enemy.This action caused enmity among their children.

This particular man should be sent to jail to set a precedent that it will no longer be tolerated in the society.
    Naming a dog after a human being is callous and demeaning.

1. Fool! Give us a name for dogs

2. So the police are still on the issue. Height of joblessness

1. I don tire for the issue.

Lol@ Parading the dog with swagger.

3. Not only tshirt sef. Start a hashtag that will go viral. Supid law enforcement people. It's obvious the current economic issues and other important issues we have in this country are not being given the attention they needed. It's useless issues like this that they will jump around like a fowl that has lost its head. Smh #PrayForNigeria

4. Because people begin to talk ,Nigerian police is never your friend ,public enemy

5. Those people saying what they don't know all the while saying he named the dog after the president just to cause havoc, can you see, most of you are dumb.he had no right to be arrested

6. Am tellung you stella, they waited this long to respond in order to look for what to say, Nigerian police never disappoints nonsense, trust igbos the T shirt will come out soon.

7. Am tellung you stella, they waited this long to respond in order to look for what to say, Nigerian police never disappoints nonsense, trust igbos the T shirt will come out soon.

8. OlaGold (add up 58BF8F56 for 18-24k raw gold dust and bar)30 August 2016 at 09:14

Are we still on this buhari dog matter? Is the man still in cell? Oga enjoy ur fame

9. They should allow this case rest nah and die in peace guess the man has learnt his lessons.

10. This comment has been removed by the author.

11. "Arrested Igbo man" speaks volumes

12. stella but dis ya joke no deserve 'lol' na,maybe 'L' but definitely not 'lol'

13. I heard they killed the poor dog.

1 minute silence for the departure of the most famous dog in Nigeria.

14. Police coming up with different stories every now and then. Now it's no longer that the neighbor reported but that he was attacked and rescued???

If that's the case, there was no need to arrest the attackers? They keep shooting themselves in the foot. Smh

15. Tired of hearing this story. At least the man is free now.

16. Law enforcement agencies trying to Islamize the whole southern Nigeria. You arrested the man 👨 because of the Hausa community. Nonsense statement from deputy inspector general of police. Ethnic cleansing or tribal prejudice. I think it's time to raise arm against these Muslims encroachers.

17. Look, this man was setting his community up for bloodshed. We seem to forget about these clashes that take place btw Hausas and other ethnic groups. Remember the one at mile 12 that occurred recently?

You don't live in a community where these pple live and start stirring up drama. I have no doubt that this would have ended up in a communal bloodbath, they had already started attacking the man yet he didn't relent. Truth? They would have ended up killing him and then everybody comes out with their cutlasses and machetes and the body count statts to rise. You don't live in a black community in the US and walk around in a KKK costume. You're stirring up shit and that's what this man was doing. From their press release, the police saved his life.

1. Stopeeeeeeet! Just stop. Go back to the US and stay with ur undiscerning self.

The arrest was clearly politically motivated.

This "shitty" press release na medicine after death

2. The man obviously deserves whatever comes to him. Naming a dog whatever is cool and all but writing the name on the dog? Who does that? He's lucky he wasn't lynched. would anyone dare to do this in Abacha's regime?

18. Nigerians we're always biased In our judgement when other tribes are involved, I'm Igbo but I'm not in support of what this man did, first of all right from day one I knew this dog saga wasn't about Buhari but someone else whose father bore the same name and his neighbour named his dog Buhari and paraded the dog around the neighbourhood to slight him, he's lucky he was reported to the police and arrested and not lynched to death, and let's assume it was even president Buhari involved, and an Igbo man did such in an Hausa community, what is he trying to make, bloodshed? Let's be honest in our judgment, if an Hausa man inscribed the name Ojukwu or nnamdi Kalu on his dog and paraded it in an Igbo community like onitsha main market or aba, that Hausa man will be lynched to death too. Let's stop inciting unnecessary ethnic and religious violence, Nigeria already has enough problems to contend with, let's not add to it