Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Presidency Says Buhari Will Be One Of Nigeria’s Best Presidents

Monday, August 15, 2016

Presidency Says Buhari Will Be One Of Nigeria’s Best Presidents

The Senior Special Assistant to President Muhammadu Buhari on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, on Sunday said President would be one of Nigeria’s best presidents even as he described the last couple of weeks as those the president witnessed the heaviest public criticism since he assumed office on May 29, 2015.

Shehu said much of the criticism which he (Shehu) described as unfair had been on account of the unresolved social and economic problems facing the country.
Shehu said this in an opinion article he made available to journalists.

He said, “The currency liberalisation and the deregulation of the petroleum products sale will make President Buhari one of the best presidents till date. “The removal of subsidies on the petrol products has saved the government more than N2tn annual expenditure in this respect.

“President Buhari’s foreign trips have brought many things to the country. He has energised our foreign policy. Beyond the enormous goodwill reaped from “resetting” age-old but damaged relations with neighbours and distant partners and friends, the President has attracted foreign development assistance and direct investments. 

It is generally accepted that good foreign relations bring foreign direct investment. So much is currently being done one year into the administration. This is in spite of the world economy being sluggish and recession-stricken.”
He said the criticism, especially on the increase in prices of foodstuff, needed to be challenged before it overshadowed the President’s achievement in the anti-terrorism and anti-corruption wars.
Shehu said contrary to what obtained in the local media, Buhari got lavish praise abroad for his efforts at repositioning the country.

He said the Boko Haram leader, Shekau,  or the pipeline vandal from the Niger Delta region was more likely to get newspaper front pages today than the Minister of Labour, Senator Chris Ngige, or the Finance Minister, Kemi Adeosun, talking about jobs creation or the economy.

He said, “I don’t say that media criticism is not reflective of the feeling of the citizens. President Buhari has himself on numerous occasions admitted that the change mantra has brought with it pain and suffering which he likened to the pains of labour. It is a passing phase.

“When they ask the question, is this the change we voted for, the critic forgets how far we have come from the scam-tainted years of the PDP (Peoples Democratic Party) rule. How many people have given a thought to the possibility of Nigeria doing something that the combined strength of Europe and America have failed to do?

“There are many today who take for granted the declared victory over the Boko Haram terrorists, forgetting the reign of the bomber who made it almost impossible for regular attendance in churches and mosques in many of our cities, including the Federal Capital City, Abuja.
“Victory over Boko Haram has brought peace not only to Nigeria but to the countries in the Lake Chad region.

“The world leaders are still at work trying to contain the Islamic State in Syria and Iraq, ISIS, which threat sadly continues to become more potent.

“Everyone living in Nigeria knows that there is a major movement against corruption as part of the ongoing change. This war has forced the return to the treasury of billions of Naira and millions of Dollars stolen by past officials.”

punch reportage

45 comments:

1. We never can tell, 4years is ticking on the clock, if he is not impeached before then

1. Yeah is very correct, buhari will be the best president of Nigeria, but for shehu garba own Nigeria and not ours.How won't he say so when him dey inside the port they wak so teh him bele done big

2. Make una keep chasing corruption till hunger finish people!!! What happened to using d recovered loots to start something in naija????
      Great president my butt!!!!

3. Dis people should allow their work speaks for them

Dey should stop talking

4. Impeached kwa? You must be living in Mars to think it's possible to impeach a man of pedigree and integrity as PMB, at least not when APC is the majority in red chamber.
      PMB, is what we need. Vision, consistency, dedication, trustworthy..... The list is endless!
      GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

1. Lol... Awon were....let me concentrate more on the parts that affect me personally..
      1. Currency exchange: I was very much OK when $1=165 and even 220 was manageable for me... Now my customers don't even want to understand what I mean when I say dollar is high. They want great quality yet cheapest prices... And me I want to sell to even..imagine making 1000naira gain for items worth 20k...make e be say I sell...if Buhari can make $1=200 again. Then he will pass as best presido ever sef.
      2.He said travelling has helped better our relationship with our neighbors : what about those countries sending Nigerians to death? Killing ur citizens,maltreating them.. Making them suffer.. What have you done about that? Can u sentence and American or mumu pakistans to death? Or restrict them from coming to your country to get the best jobs here while the citizens are at the mercy of foreigners? It's not possible in their country but it's a thing in ur own country... If u can treat that issue then I will support your constant travels and u will pass as best presido ever.
      3. Simple issue... Fuel: all those stories you people are saying that you saved how many trillions from removal of subsidy.. Who una epp? Where the money dey go? Biko bring back the subsidy and let Nigerians enjoy their natural resources and then u would pass for best presido..

2. Before nko, who will condemn his mum soup. Ndiala Ogbete.

3. Saved Saved Saved...... that's all they keep saying they have done. Mr man pump the money into this dying economy instead of using it to buy fx for your frivolous trips.
    Enough with the saving!!!! You are not Jesus......only Jesus can save.

1. Be there deceiving yourself

2. Wow...
      You made me laugh so hard this morning..
      Bless you!

3. Lidl @ only Jesus can save. Una no go kill person 😃

4. ...And I agree wholeheartedly. Seriously who are we comparing him to? Past presidents the likes of OBJ, GEJ. Yep, my PMB will surpass them by far.

I have ZERO regrets in campaigning to vote PMB in. If goodluck had remained Nigeria would have been wiped clean and sold to the highest bidder.

1. Your talking of IF? Well IF goodluck had won the election Nigeria would have been 2 largest economy next to china and dollars would have remained 197 or even 150

5. Can u ppl just talking ffs, and just work. Just do something. The hardship isn't just funny anymore. We now opt for half bag of rice since full bag is no longer readily affordable. Lots and lots of people I know that have never been owed salary haven't been paid for over 8 months, thanks to d fact that money isn't circulating anymore
    Just fucking work and not every time, praising ur dull president

1. The rice I had since last Christmas recently finished. And I went to the market to buy Since I needed to cook. Only to get there and a cup is now sold for 100 naira. I became weak. My craving vanished automatically.

Which way Buhari? We cannot continue this way o

2. Only #100..... A cup is sold for #150 in ordinary Nsukka

3. Only #100..... A cup is sold for #150 in ordinary Nsukka

6. Hahahaha hahaha hohoho It seems there is a secret school for liars all politicians must attend. Boko haram has been contained? Trillions returned to the treasury? why is the common man suffering then, what did they do with the returned loot?

7. How did this man feel saying what he said? That's all I want to know.

8. 1year of untold hardship. Garri is now 800.00/paint container

9. bunch of liars. we have been fed with plenty lies which has put us in a confused state.
    how do Nigerians believe the presidency again.

10. We don hear na. It's not in the talking, it's in the doing.

11. Teacher; School Life, what class of tense is this?

School Life; Future Impossible Tense Sir.

12. PMB will be far greater than all the others,including GEJ.QUOTE ME ANYWHERE!

13. What else does anybody expect to hear from him. He is paid to lie and mislead the masses if the necessary

14. Please work and keep shut!
    Everytime all u pple knw how to do is praise your president even when everything is glaring...
    The country is hard, very hard!!!
    Its gradually getting to some of us, and i pray we will overcome.

15. Chai i was thinking a paint is N700.00. Shame on APC. Scammers everywhere.

They made too much noise and now the noise is affecting them. They dont hear any criticism again.

Shame

16. Please work on the economy and make the prices of foodstuff come down,make Nigerians happy with that,things just dey go up everyday.

17. Seriously in this present Naija and u are still saying this, OK ohhhh

18. How does this man sleep at night?//

19. Everyday new article of how President is feeling the sufferings and pains but the pain/suffering never gets to him as he's always drinking his fura da nono. Show us your certificate Ajala...

20. Nigerians have amnesia. Before election dollars was 320. State govt were owing 8 months salary. The signs were there. Fuel queues were everywhere. 500b debt were left. These signs of a falling country was visible but we chose to forget and remember the good old days when dollar was 140

1. U are d 1 suffering from amnesia... Which Nigeria are u talking about...before election I changed dollar 190 naira ode