Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Rio Olympics: Nigeria’s Quadri Bows

Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Rio Olympics: Nigeria’s Quadri Bows

The giant-killing run of Nigeria’s Aruna Quadri in the Men’s Singles table tennis event was halted early Wednesday by the world’s number one player, Ma Long.

Having created upsets in the early rounds, Quadri was hoping he could give his Chinese opponent a scare, but that was not to be as Long blew away the last African standing in four straight sets.

The world number one was ruthless in his approach winning the four sets; 11-4, 11-2, 11-6 and 11-7.

Despite the bridge to the semi-final being too “Long” for Quadri to cross, the Nigerian star and indeed table tennis fans across the world would be proud of the heroics of the 28-year-old who on Monday became the first African ever to reach the quarter final of the Men’s Single event in an Olympic Games.

Quadri was a quarter-finalist at the Liebherr 2014 Men’s World Cup in the German city of Düsseldorf.

Culled: PremiumTimes

CHAI!!!...The gap was too much meeeen!!!
Well done Quadri!!! *clap*

18 comments:

1. Kai. Na wa. Quadri next time you will win.

1. Still, I say kudos to Quadri!

2. Have you seen Ma Long play? That guy is faster than lightning! Quadri is very good but can't be compared to Ma long. That guy is super fast! No wonder he's world no 1.

2. He tried. Finally I can comment o. Una no dey allow person see space sef. Network own too worse. How are you guys doing? This blog makes me laugh so much. Welldone Stella and bvs. But some bvs sef choi...

1. You are welcome on board with your ID.

2. Talk Wetin you wan talk make we hear word, later now if you gain ground here we no go fit control you again. Ofenmanu

3. Well done! U tried but God knows d best.

4. Aiyaaa e try
    Make e come back

5. He lost to a better side.
    GOD BLESS NIGERIAN.

6. Eyaaaa the man tried though!

Vote SDK for Best Blogger of the Year!

http://www.podiumawards.org/VOTENOW-PAGE/

7. He tried, there's always other time.

8. Anonymous I guess you didn't read d ihn don't judge a book. You just feel you can type comments besides am not new here some peez are blessed with languages ok.

9. He tried and we are proud of him.

10. UNLIMITED ENTERTAINMENT11 August 2016 at 16:13

A good player and a very intelligent one at that