Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Understanding Postnatal Depression - Part 2

Saturday, August 13, 2016

Understanding Postnatal Depression - Part 2

Postnatal depression (postpartum depression) should be treated like every other illness or disease. Knowing or recognising the symptoms of postnatal depression (postpartum depression) might help you avoid depression after childbirth and then you will be able to get help. 

Women get all kinds of different symptoms and it can sometimes be really scary.

Irrational fear 
A lot of times you get scared or you panic for no good reason. Fear creeps into every situation or interaction you have. You fear to be around people. You fear to be alone.You are afraid for your baby. You always want to hide. You get persistent and intruding thoughts that you aren’t okay, that your baby is not okay, and that you aren’t going to make it.

Obsessive thinking
Obsessive thought about yourself, your infant . You try to put everything in schedules as you will normally do but it just isn't working as would do. Your head and begins to race 100 miles an hour and you just want to get your head out of your body. You cannot just function as normal. You do obsessive cleaning , you are ashamed  or thinking you have let everyone down. You are anxious or worried for no good reason. Things begin to get on top of you. You constantly have memory problems, you have trouble focusing or making decisions.

Suicidal feeling
The thought of harming yourself has occurred to you frequently. It might feel like you are unable to cope with the difficulty you are experiencing. Sometimes you feel less like you want to die and more like you cannot go on living the life you have. These feelings may build over time or might fluctuate from time to time. It's common to not understand why you feel this way.  Everyone's experience of suicidal feelings is unique to them.

Losing interest or pleasure in activities you used to enjoy
You find out that you have lost interest or pleasure in activities you used to enjoy. You are not able to laugh and see the funny side of things. You do not look forward with enjoyment to things. You constantly feel sad, miserable, restless or moody. 

Fluctuating appetite.
You are either eating little or too much, sleeping little or too much.Sometimes you have infants or kids that sleep for long periods or waking up every hour, then your sleep pattern is not consistent  You might then begin to worry.  

If you have ticked all the symptoms on a list then and they are persistent, it could be postnatal depression definitely need to speak to your doctor and get help. You might be at risk of postnatal depression (postpartum depression). Some women don’t recognise they have postnatal depression (postpartum depression), or they choose to ignore their symptoms because they’re afraid of being seen as a bad mother.

It is important to point that you should not compare yourself to other mothers after childbirth.We’re normally comparing ourselves to what we assume about other people and that get us more depressed. I think the social media like Facebook has a lot to answer for; we don’t share average photos of average days, we share beautiful, radiant, filtered photos of us looking blissfully happy, but nobody is like that all the time. You really shouldn’t feel guilty. You’ve done an amazing job bringing a baby into the world and that little bundle of joy is all you need to concentrate on. 

Don’t complain about your looks. You should be happy and proud that for 9 months your body provided food for your child. Those hips and rippled belly was home to your infant for 9 months So your body might not be the best sight, your stretch mark, your tummy might not be sexy but here is proof (you infant) that you’ve done something amazing.

Fathers you had 9 months to prepare for at least 2 weeks time off to take care of your wife the newborn and other children after childbirth. You as the father is also vulnerable to postnatal depression (postpartum depression).

For questions and enquires email: Omobolanle.omisade@gmail.com

Use #‎abovePND to raise awareness of postnatal depression in Nigeria. #endstigma
#supportPostanalDepression.

13 comments:

1. It is well. God heal anybody going through this

1. This is so true. I just had my second baby and I experienced some of the symptoms. Thank God for people around me. Kept on thinking about the safety of my child, will not sleep all through the day including night and when I finally manage to get 30 minutes of sleep I usually blank out and sometime scream thinking someone was coming to harm my baby. I started to say different things and could not even remember if I already used my drugs or not. My husband noticed early and was able to get family members around me. The only thing I was made to do was express my milk , watch TV and go to bed. In less than a week I came back to reality. Mine was minor I wonder what the major ones look like. It was sorta close to madness. Stella thanks for posting.

2. I'm here to read and learn.
    Abeg who get popcorn?

3. Circumstances sorrounding the pregnancy duration also adds to PD. It's always good to have positive and helpful people around.
    I pray those mothers going through postnatal depression get the much needed help and eventually experience the joy of motherhood

4. I remember so vividly of some of these symptons, thank God for people around me. Right from d hosp I felt sm people will come nd steal my baby while I was asleep. Its always good to hv people around to feel less depression.

Gudday blessed pple, pls pardon me for derailing. Pls I nid ur financial assistance of 40k. I'm a single mother of a 22month old toddler, I jst lost my job nd scheduled to resume anoda work in a sch by sept. Pls good pple help me nd my daughter. God bless u all IJN, Amen!

*God bless dat person who sent us 5k, He will neva disappoint u nd ur family IJN, Amen!!*

Esther Orhoro. GTB 0013079434

5. Mo se ope temi.

Jesus is Lord.

6. Its a bad feeling really. Experienced the mild one. Thank God for my hubby cos family members are far.

7. Thank God for healing.

8. I have my 2nd kid now and my husband abandoned me and my 2 babies for 3 days. He beat me when I was pregnant with the first and also dragged me in the car with my legs dangling out of the car when I was pregnant with the second. He constantly wants to harm me when I am most vulnerable and to think he's a pastor is baffling. My days in this marriage are numbered. Since I was discharged from the hospital, he's never asked me how I'm doing. Only God has kept me this far. I would have been dead by now. Ladies, please look very well before you say I do. I'm married but I know many single mothers that are better than me. I live in a hell-hole and I have to get out of it and be strong for my children

9. I have my 2nd kid now and my husband abandoned me and my 2 babies for 3 days. He beat me when I was pregnant with the first and also dragged me in the car with my legs dangling out of the car when I was pregnant with the second. He constantly wants to harm me when I am most vulnerable and to think he's a pastor is baffling. My days in this marriage are numbered. Since I was discharged from the hospital, he's never asked me how I'm doing. Only God has kept me this far. I would have been dead by now. Ladies, please look very well before you say I do. I'm married but I know many single mothers that are better than me. I live in a hell-hole and I have to get out of it and be strong for my children

10. #sips Zobo. #supportpostnataldepression