Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari reportedly receives evidence showing Chief of Staff, Kyari took N500m bribe from MTN

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Buhari reportedly receives evidence showing Chief of Staff, Kyari took N500m bribe from MTN

There are indications that President Muhammad Buhari has received evidence linking his Chief of Staff, CoS, Abba Kyari to a N500m bribe from the telecommunications giant, MTN Nigeria.

The alleged bribe was aimed at softening the heavy fine the Federal Government had imposed on the telecommunication giant, says SaharaReporters.

The Federal Government through the Nigerian Communication Commission, NCC, had in October 2015 slammed MTN with a fine of N1.04 trillion.

The sanction was due to its refusal to comply with a directive to disconnect 5.1 million improperly registered lines before the deadline given to telecoms operators in the country.

Although the fine was subsequently reduced by 25 per cent to N780 billion, MTN Nigeria failed to pay the penalty.
The telecom giant in June 2016, however agreed to pay a fine of N333bn to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

Chairman of the group, Phuthuma Nhleko, who retired in the heat of the crisis, led the negotiation process.

Nhleko in his resignation letter had said, “The relationship between MTN, the Nigerian government and the Nigerian Communications Commission has been restored and strengthened.”

However, the new report said the evidence was presented to President Buhari several times including during the Sallah holiday.

But Kyari allegedly replied that he was helping the All Progressives Congress, APC, raise funds for the gubernatorial election in Bayelsa State.

Kyari reportedly claimed that President Muhammadu Buhari was aware of his involvement in the election, saying the President even asked him if he was the party Chairman, though did not relieve him of his post.

dailypost

30 comments:

1. So. What will Bubu do to him, ehe?

1. See how they try to tarnish the image of the presidency with their greed.

How can? Did he think he'll get away with this? Old man like this meddling with his integrity. Na wa

2. "But Kyari allegedly replied that he was helping the All Progressives Congress, APC, raise funds for the gubernatorial election in Bayelsa State" Saturday laughs came early.

3. Opera Winfrey once said every Nigerian is corrupt regardless of their status and education.This is another proof. This country is filled with jokers as leaders lol

4. Can you imagine?...
    Vuharia is a hypocrite!...
    Where are all his supporters who claimed he is a saint?...
    And they are claiming Nigeria is broke!...
    APC has killed this country...

1. @Lin Lin, i am here @Buhari Supporter. By the way GEJ never punished any of our looters even when he knew they were looting compare to our action President. Don't worry too much PMB will surely sack him in the coming days and ask him to return the money if the report is true.
      😃😃😃 so you are upset someone took $1.2M as bribe from a foreign company but not upset "Madam Peace" stole more than $20M of our own commonwealth?
      Haba Lin Lin you are not being fair to us.

2. Hahahahaha...
      Jaymoore,atleast GEJ didn't claim to be a saint like your president....
      He is fighting corruption yet all his cabinets are full of corrupt people...
      Watch how they will sweep this under the carpet like the way they did to Amaechi's case when Wike wanted to probe him...
      "He who comes into equity must come with clean hands."...
      Mama Peace will not be the first nor the last to steal from the national cake!...
      I will start taking your president's corruption fight serious when he stop mingling with thieves!...
      Kedu ije gi mehn?...

3. Hahahahahah crazy you. I am fine my sister, ibu onye nkem. I dey enjoy your crazy comments.

5. All these politicians with million this and that...meanwhile people are suffering some can't even have one good meal a day..some can't take their sick child to the hospital... Am just

6. Inordinate ambitions everywhere, let him give us the breakdown of how he disbursed the N500m for the lost election @ Bayelsa. There must be always the bad egg in every set-up. With the president's anti-corruption posture, whoever would think this kind of person will be in this government. Na wah.

1. What breakdown? Is he even meant to collect money on behalf of anyone?
      That is a corrupt practise and he should be arrested

7. Stupid man! Was it not here I made mention of how this same man asked my dad and others for 60 - 150 thousand dollars (depending on the post) for fed appointments(my dad was short listed). U need to see the arrogance and confidence he told my dad, either the money or nothing. He even boasted that others are paying and my dad is joking, that what if it was ambassadorial appointment my dad ws shortlisted for,what would he say, because those ones are paying as high as 300,000 dollars! My dad said he only wished buhari will open his eyes to the vultures he has surrounded himself with! .

1. I believe you. This man is very corrupt. He does not joke with bribe. Buhari cannot open his eyes and support it with walking stick. He's very much aware but power has been hijacked from the old man. A man of his age should be resting.
      The man for don go long time ago but politics of tribe and religion won't allow it.

2. Sorry to say this, your dad is one of them. So he's willing to pay such amount of money, does it mean he's not qualified or capable of handling such position; cos that's the only reason to bribe for an appointment, abi he's a potential time bomb trying to bribe his way in

8. Let's wait and see what he'll do him.

9. A lot of thieves funded the apc campaign with stolen money during the past election. It was a do or die affair. I'll only believe the war against corruption is real when i see those rogues behind bars.

10. This is just a way to escrow the presidency, I don't believe this article

1. Escrow? Autocorrect, how ad when did I learn this word. Na destroy I been want write biko

11. @Rob. This is a mere allegation. Let him confess/effcc investigates him before you condemn him.

12. @Rob. This is a mere allegation. Let him confess/effcc investigates him before you condemn him.

13. The presidency is aware of how corrupt Abba kyari is. There was a time the president wanted to fire him but the Northern Christian said that PMB wants to remove the only northern Christian in his cabinet and replace him with another Muslim. Abba kyari collects bribe from even people that wants to meet with the president. He collected money from Akpabio and that is why EFCC is letting akpabio rest. When I heard of his dealing with akpabio was when it downed on me that this fight against corruption is dead on arrival. If Mr Abbah can still be in the presidency after all the bribery and corruption surrounding him then I'm wondering who the President will use as a scapegoat.I also heard that the president is considering BabaGana; another ancestor for the position. I tire for this country.
    God help Nigeria.

1. Hahaha @another ancestor,babe u r funny but right at same time.No one is to be trusted in Naija as long as politicians are concerned.Their only mindset is to go in there and squander ad much as they can.

2. U seem to hear a lot of things,u sound like u've spent too long a time in beer parlors.

14. And EFCC is chasing patience Jonathan and Tompolo. Thunder fire Buhari and apc. Amen

15. lets see what they will do since they have bn probing people.tschewwwwwwwwww

16. I thought PMB had an ALL-SAINT cabinet...#SMH

17. Nigeria with its endless dreamer