Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Confessions Of A Fraudster On How They Steal Money From People's Bank Account.

Sunday, September 18, 2016

Confessions Of A Fraudster On How They Steal Money From People's Bank Account.

THIRTY-EIGHT-YEAR-OLD Adegboyega Michael, the leader of the fraud syndicate which was allegedly involved in the transfer of money from bank customer’s account in a first generation bank (name withheld) through the connivance of a bank staff member, has been arrested by the Lagos State Police Command.

Michael (38) was arrested on August 26, four months after the police had been looking for him.

Crime Reports learnt that a female banker (names withheld) whose password was used to access a bank customer’s account details lodged a complaint with the Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni, that she was falsely accused of fraud in her office. 

The owner of the account who was based in London had lodged a complaint with the bank when he discovered that money in his account had depleted.

The police commissioner reportedly forwarded the petition to the Rapid Response Squad on April 19 and by the following day, four suspects were arrested. Those nabbed included Ezurike Peter (35) who was a staff member of the bank in which the account of the victim was domiciled, Ayo Olalekan (32), Ochenehi Israel (31) and the gang leader’s wife.

A manhunt was also launched for the syndicate leader, Michael.

The syndicate’s modus operandi, according to police sources, was to increase the limit of a bank customer’s account after Peter, who was an insider, would have got the customer’s details and phone number by using his colleague’s password to access it. The phone number of the account holder would also be blocked temporarily from receiving debit alert while the limit of his/her financial transaction would be upped to N200,000.
To achieve this, a syndicate member, Israel, would go to the bank where the targeted account was domiciled to fill a form to increase the daily limit on the account. He would not wait but would drop the form, saying he would be back. 

Once the name and phone number tallied, the bank would act, not knowing that the account details had been compromised by their staff.

To ensure that the owner of the account did not suspect anything, the syndicate would have held the line of the owner so that he or she would not have network on his phone to receive debit alert.

Israel was said to be very skilled in his role and the members were getting N200,000 daily which was usually shared equally, with each syndicate member getting N50,000.
They were said to have taken N600,000 from an account in three days and N2 million from another in 10 days.

Michael, also reportedly used his wife’s account into which his own share was transferred. The syndicate leader who had been on the run was eventually arrested on August 26 and transferred to the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS), Lagos State, for further investigation.

In an interview with Crime Reports, Michael confessed to committing the crime but gave reason for his action. According to the suspect, “it is true I was arrested in connection with fraud. I joined the syndicate after I was also defrauded to the tune of N4.7 million. Some people approached my auto shop and said they wanted to buy a car. They paid me with fake dollar notes. Later they told me they were a syndicate and what they did was a game.”

When asked whether he was collecting dollars as payment for cars purchased from him, Michael replied that he wanted to help the ‘customers’ change the money to naira. “I also got bank alerts that indicated payment of cash into my account in addition to the dollars. I believed that the transaction was successful so I handed the car over to them. It was when I got to the bank that I was told that the dollar notes were counterfeit.

“I had nothing again. Along the way, I saw a friend called Harrison and he brought me into the (fraud) business. He said that if I would follow him, I would see how the business was being done. We did the business on mobile phones by transferring money from an account in a bank to another. It was usually achieved through an insider, a friend of mine, Peter who worked in that bank. I told him and he said we should go ahead. I have now learnt my lesson,” Michael spoke further.

When contacted, the police image maker in Lagos State, SP Dolapo Badmus, confirmed the arrest and said that the suspect would be charged to court at the completion of investigations.
Tribune 

*Banks should really be careful on the kind of people they employ ooooh..hmm!!!

57 comments:

1. Wetin money go cause ,money seff no go get strength carry am
    Somebody's sweat being lavished away!

1. Jail is around the corner

2. I lost 185k due to Bank fraud.....na English end am. If not for the grace of God. I for Don craze, I was just a student saving up for after school life, ND it was all stolen.

I'm grateful for life my sweet sweet Lord.

3. And why are they covering his face? If you know how it feels to be duped, why do same to someone else? Very dumb man.

2. Unfortunately a lot of bankers are thieves,this is what they do.They steal customer's money,just few are nice,There are so many thieves in disguise in Nigeria just like what the quincy cake girl did,the reason I hardly help,so many thieves roaming around.

1. Harrison again???this guy was in EFCC net for fraud related case he's at it again.. That Afikpo Akwa Ibom Jehovah witness criminal specialized in fraud , and also uses fake AMERICAN ACCENT to deceive women married single. One even fell victim on SDK yeahhh one Nma lol.. EFCC if you are reading he has changed his Facebook name to Harrison Isiukwu after we called him out here.. That guy should be behind bars...

2. How come, Afikpo is now in Akwa Ibom. Wonders shall never end.

3. Surprised d teethilicious nma is not on dis post alleging all sorts of fabricated lies

4. Calling Out Diamond Bank PLC
    Two months ago, my diamond mobile app was hacked by a customer of Diamond Bank. Till now, they have refused to recover the stolen funds of over 100k from him. Their security is compromised and people are being hacked on the daily. People please remove your monies from Diamond Bank because they are as insensitive as can be imagined. Customer relations with such issues is so poor as they are very insensitive. How do you know a customer who is carrying out fraud in your bank yet you leave him to continue? Diamond Bank Plc is dead beat. Don't patronize them!

1. My money ooo😦
      That's the acct we use in paying school fees ooo
      Chaaaaaiii

2. Get a lawyer and write to them

3. Enter your reply...@ibukun, u attend Tasued?

4. Hmmm that was how I got a credit alert saying that my subscription to their monthly whatever for 27k had been deducted from my acct. I was shocked because I didn't subscribe to any service. Yet I got an alert for a deduction.

So I called my account officer who instantly told me to disregard the alert email because it was a fake. True to it I scrutinized the alert and saw that they didn't publish my account balance, as it should normally show when money is deducted after any transaction. Also, I noticed that they didn't include the last 4 digit of my account number in the alert. They now put a red alert asking me to unsubscribe to the obscure service if I didn't want to continue with it.

My account officer explained that I shouldn't click the red alert because that was the SCAM. Once u go through the process of trying to unsubscribe they'd ask for personal details and that's how they'll access ur account for real. Thank God I didn't click anything before speaking to my account officer. Bloody rogues

And this happened with Diamond bank. I've never had issues with them though.

5. Same here.. Diamond bank too But mine was an Email.

5. Na wa oo. All these insiders in the banks. May God help us

6. Many are jobless seeking for job in these hard times, while those who have are toying with theirs.

7. So now keeping money in banks is no longer safe.

8. There are so many fraudsters as bankers this days, God have mercy. So bank isn't a save place anymore

9. Port Harcourt's Finest18 September 2016 at 17:50

Organize crime in the banking sector has always and will continue to exist because financial institutions thrive on greed and avarice.

10. Why are you hiding the idiot's face? So cos someone conned you, you decided to con someone else that doesn't have anything to do with it? Who collects dollars in cash for a car? I don't believe his sob story. The banker is an idiot.There are people looking for job up and down you have one and you allowed greed mess it all up. And he wanted to say up the poor girl. I hope they all rot in jail.

1. Why hiding his face.. They are many like that.he should rot in jail

2. He is definitely lying about him defrauded just a bad excuse.

3. Don't mind the rogue.
      They always have a reason, if it is not sick mom, it is pregnant wife, Lazy bunch.

4. Exactly. Like we all don't have reasons to "steal" as well. I have no pity for their ilks cos they cause their victims a lot of pain and suffering

11. Everyday for the thief, one day for the owner
    Good riddance to bad rubbish

12. Exactly what happened to my friend and he was defrauded over 9m! He lost weight in 24hrs. These bankers r crooks well some!

13. Thieves everywhere. Thank God he was caught.

God Bless Everyone.

14. Everyday for the thief one day for the owner of the house. Kirikiri loading....

15. Most bank staff are rogues. Infact the good ones put together in all the banks are not up to 25%.

16. See his kpomo mouth.Thief!!! They will always have a reason to be greedy when caught.

17. So many have lost huge amount to this thieves in device manner. They should be made to return the money they have taken and jail. Awon ole oloju kokoro.

18. For this hard times, this people wicked no be small

19. All banks have one or two staffs doing this,am so matching to my sister's bank tomorrow for something like this and if they don't give me the money,I will write to their head office,copy CBN and any other person worth copying. This has to stop,Nigerians are keeping quit for them so they get away with it. Good one the man reported 👍

20. Small small fear is catching me one kain

21. Most bank staffs are thieves,this is a lesson to them. He will rot in jail.

22. Most bank staffs are thieves,this is a lesson to them. He will rot in jail.

23. Most of these bank staffs are thieves, greedy people.

24. i dey talk am,all these bankers are not pure,i dont trust them at all

www.bolatitoblog.com

25. Na wao with all these stories one will be afraid to put money in the bank, Lord help us

26. Wow! This is not good at all..
    Banks should tighten thier security, especially with their workers. No one is to be trusted.

27. There will always be a Judas in banking sector.

28. Diamond bank na wa o. All the fraudstars on Instagaram use a diamond bank account to defraud people.