Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Economic Hardship Leads To Rise In Suicide Rate In Nigeria

Thursday, September 22, 2016

Economic Hardship Leads To Rise In Suicide Rate In Nigeria

In the past few months, there have been six reported cases of Nigerians committing suicide, and two attempts. This trend is troubling many in a country where suicide rates are usually low.

Some Nigerians seem to have resigned themselves to fate, believing there was no option to hold on to, to keep afloat. A member of a family living in Akwa Ibom State killed himself recently. His body was found hanging from a rope tied to the ceiling of his bedroom.

When the man's younger brother, David (shown above), hadn't seen him for a while, he became very worried.

"When I didn't see him for three days, I sent a small boy to look around for him. The boy found his door locked and saw him through the door hanging," he said.

Relatives and friends of the victim believe that it is the poor economic situation in the country that drove him to suicide.

Many asking 'why?'
There are disagreements in the local community as to whether the man left a suicide note. One camp argued that he wrote about economic challenges caused by President Muhammadu Buhari's administration as reasons for his suicide. Another camp said that there was, in fact, no suicide note at all.

"Two people broke the door and didn't find any note. Now you hear wrong stories everywhere, saying that man left a note, saying he killed himself because of the bad situation in this country," said Oturu Odaibo, a local youth leader.

Before he ended his life, the man sold local wine and cigarettes in his community. A local chief, Edet Asoquor Iyang, said that he knew why the man decided to kill himself.

"He hanged himself and broke his neck because things are difficult in Nigeria today. No job, no money, nothing. Nigeria has turned upside down and everybody is a beggar," he said.

Whether the man committed suicide to escape his difficulties is still unclear. What is clear, however, is the increasing number of suicide deaths in the country. In the past month alone, there are reports of five people who have committed suicide due to economic hardship.

According to a 2012 report from the World Health Organization, an estimated 6.5 people kill themselves each year in Nigeria per 100,000 people compared to 9.1 in Germany, 12.1 in the US and 19.5 in Uganda.

Everyday hardship
The current economic crisis in Nigeria has forced businesses to close. Many blame the government's policy to ration foreign currencies for the recession. This crisis has now trickled down to the ordinary man and woman. Many are now living below the poverty line which leads to anxiety, depression and frustration.

Emmabong Eme Effiong, a local farmer in Akwa Ibom State, said she hasn't experienced this level of difficulties in her entire life.
"I am a farmer and I if I do not farm, I won't eat. I want the government to help us live because this is too difficult for us. Just two cups of rice costs over 100 naira (29 dollar cents or 32 euro cents). I want the government to make the price of rice go down," said Effiong.

Maru Godwin Worlu, an economist and lecturer at the Port Harcourt Polytechnic in Rivers State said the difficulties are being felt in every corner of the country.
"For you to really understand if the government is doing well or not, just look at the ordinary people on the street," said Worlu.

He went on to recount the story of a woman with three children who was forced to beg for money to feed them. One day she had had enough and went and bought sleeping pills and gave them to the children.

"All three children died in their sleep. They just died," he said.

Culled m.dw.com 

58 comments:

1. Those that voted Buhari in may they live to see no good, the days of Gej was the best,you see before the election I made it clear that if Buhari wins, money won't circulate,some people thought I was joking,the hardship is too much.there is no money,hunger in the land.

1. My sister that went under the rain to vote for buhari is now regretting..... 😂

2. The curse is yours and yours alone because the lord has decree it that those who curse me shall be curse. Back to sender loruko Jesu.

3. As in ehen, one young guy died in the street next to mine today. The first child of the family and an undergraduate. He hanged himself this morning all Cuz of a phone and left a note stating that he stole a phone in school and his mum should take the phone from where he put it and return it to the owner.

Such a sad story

4. Hhhnnmmmm Stella the situation is actually worse than this. As in things are baaaaaadddddd. Cost of feeding now is terribly high. It will take the grace of God for some people not to involve themselves in worse things just to stay alive.

5. The people commiting sucide shd help me kill bubu before dying atleast we that choose to be alive can be free.

6. Lizzy T.. that guy was cursed by the phone owner. I always tell pple dat curses are real

2. See what Vuharia is causing...
    I have said it before and I'm still saying it again that God is using Vuharia to punish us!...
    We can't continue like this...the senates should do the needful mbok!...
    What happened in 80's is repeating itself!...it's obvious the dullard knows nothing about governance...

3. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

1. I will never regret voting GEJ out of office. NEVER!!! If only you knew a tiny bit about macro economics you will keep your trap shut and bow your head in shame. A country of circa 170 million people and we cannot grow food to sustain ourselves. Import rice. Import tin tomatoes. Everyone and his dog wants to work in oil companies and banks. We fear hard work pass anything. Sanusi predicted these times we are in. So did he have the foresight that Buhari would be president come 2016? No! It's simple economics.

Keep on perishing for lack of knowledge. Don't get up and get busy. Be waiting for money to circulate. Na so e dey circulate for Europe and the US, abi?

2. Kai! 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019. It is still far oh. These yoruba demons eh.

3. Is it today the yorubas are conniving, backstabbing and two faced bastards? They are the cause of our problems, but as God will have it, the suicide rate is higher among them. Yorubas ehn....useless maggots. Descendants of Judas Iscariot. If you yarabas like you can come and shit and eat it under my comment....as the pigs dat you is na.

4. Is it today the yorubas are conniving, backstabbing and two faced bastards? They are the cause of our problems, but as God will have it, the suicide rate is higher among them. Yorubas ehn....useless maggots. Descendants of Judas Iscariot. If you yarabas like you can come and shit and eat it under my comment....as the pigs dat you is na.

5. I'm happy two out of the three who commented first did so under the disguise anonymous. Did I hear you say money flowed during the time of gej? If dull people like you exist we will always go thru this circle of progression and retrogresion. Dumb people like you won't stop comparing a regime that looted us blind with one obviously trying not to go the same way. As reasonable people the best we can do is to put this current government on their toes, make them cut down on excesses and waste that has characterise previous government. I pray we don't experience the kind of waste and looting we sacked .

6. My dear and the never wanted to endure in Gejs time.

7. Peters use your brain.. the same tin that made his brother overthrow him is happening again. Nigeria is not his family its a country. He shd do the needful.

4. I and hubby have decided that I take our 2 kids to my parents house until things settle..at least my parents are doing well..we'll be able to eat at least. If Na school,that chapter is closed till they decide to pay my husband his over 5 months salary..

5. Hmm, i think about 'sucide'all the time. The situation is over whelming. God help me not to execute this thought!

1. Oya kill yourself. Land brekete.

6. Yoruba people that voted Buhari into power I hope you are all happy at what is going on in this country.

7. Suicide is for cowards abeg..Honestly speaking,I'm considering leaving my husband o..instead of me to commit suicide.the suffering too much..30k salary for a graduate,to pay is a problem..i help someone sell shoes..any small 500 or 1k gain goes into feeding. People see me outside and think I'm living the life,but who no go no know. Beauty nothing to show for it. I just fine trowey for nothing.searched all over for teaching jobs,no way..tried to see if I can model small (even with 2 kids,I'm still a size 10,very flat tummy,still standing very tall),no one wants a married model. I meet all the requirements,but when they see married,cancelled ni yen.

1. So u want to leave your Husband and go and start doing runs for money?

8. where are all those who supported Buhari during the election? Na God go punish them. I know it was going to be like this. Like they say the devil you know is better than the angel you don't know. Funny thing is Goodluck wasn't even a devil but world people won't let him be. Now everyone is missing

9. Chai...things are not easy at all,but who suicide epp?

10. Vuhari is a dullard, the hardship is too much even okpo are complaining

11. The truth is Nigeria thrives on corruption. Africans are not wired to be responsible in government. We need a corrupt leader to stabilize this economy.

12. Is it only suicide? Crime rate has tripled. It is so alarming. People will be jogging and kidnappers will come from no where and kidnap them. Whether they think its only the rich that jog. Well those that sold their mandate for Buhari will reap it. Most of the people that voted him are really regretting it. As for me and my household...

13. And this two shall pass. God save your people.

14. And this two shall pass. God save your people.

15. This is just so terrible.

Lord we need you more now than ever.

16. Where is "Default Smile"? I haven't seen her comments in a while. I pray she's fine.

17. This is just the beginning. People go begin chop grass when time reach. Una never halla. Who ever said the devil you know is far better than the Angel you don't know. Him sabi body. This APCshit government is clueless and sendless.

18. This is just the beginning. People go begin chop grass when time reach. Una never halla. Who ever said the devil you know is far better than the Angel you don't know. Him sabi body. This APCshit government is clueless and sendless.

19. I swear, 2019 seems too far right now. God help Nigerians

20. Hmmm! Na wah Oh! Suddenly. Please abeg na today suffer dey this country? Lazy ass people who cant even save themselves even if you give them 10million.

21. OMG! Can a Miracle just happen?

22. I predicted this and i never voted buhari. Those that voted him should be the ones suffering it alone.

23. There is so much poverty in the land, I weep for our dear nation. All will be well.

24. Fuck off u PDP apologists,nma ow market na?

25. sai buhari, sai baba, sai grandpa
    Joefirst says all is well with Nigeria.
    Alizwell
    #JOeFIRSt

26. This country is fucked.
    Stella love, time don go o, past 12am Naija time. Don't tell me you are in bed already. How's Oga Korkus? Please tell me you are busy with.....
    A)
    B)
    C)
    D) All of the above
    E) None of the above.
    Hahahahahahaha. Now you know!! ****wink**** Am bad like that.

27. 2019 is really really far. People are suffering. People in the north, are they feeling the suffering???

28. Nigeria should start giving out social security money to its citizens. No matter how small maybe like £200 a month, many will appreciate it. Not only that, it would be a way of instilling some dignity to the lives of the unemployed. We all know that Nigerians are not lazy and would work their butts off to feed their families but with the economy being in tatters, I strongly believe it is the right thing to do. Tell Buhari. So sad this man killed himself, he had other options and could have spoken to someone. Really sad.

1. Where will govt get that kind of money to pay individuals and family monthly? U no hear say national treasury is empty and nigeria is broke? Do you realize that nigeria has over 170m people? How will it suggestion be possibly feasible ... Even the govt is going through hard times not just the citizens

29. Sometimes I get flashes of how suicide could be an option but hey! Life is sweet even though hardship is so clear in my life I have hope it shall be fine some day. I need a job, somebody please help me

30. I love Buhari. Nigerians are lazy and want free money. The oil welfare system has come to an end. To live, you must earn a living through hard work. Not running to Abuja to grab free money, throw it around and pretend that everything is well. Thanks to Buhari. Let's return to the basics. Only lazy and moochie people are complaining

1. How many cows do you have?

2. Wicked Nigerians esp.northerners, why can't these wicked, backward, overselfish, ever clueless, backward etc hausa/ Fulani do what even Gadaffi did for Libyans with oil money all this while.
      WASTERS who began and are all responsible for this great mess yet still refuse progress tii date! BOKO HARAM, DEVELOPMENT HARAM!

31. My heart really goes out to those affected in this hardship. These are the moments I wish I had super powers to help out...sending prayers up to heaven. Lord please do what only YOU can do. Remove shame and reproach from Nigeria ijn. We pray for restoration. Amen!!

32. Sad to say, but naija is worse than a third world country now. May God step in and restore ijn. Amen.

33. My heart really goes out to those affected in this hardship. These are the moments I wish I had super powers to help out...sending prayers up to heaven. Lord please do what only YOU can do. Remove shame and reproach from Nigeria ijn. We pray for restoration. Amen!!

34. Quirky PillowQueen23 September 2016 at 09:06

The situation of the economy has led many to take drastic measures,haba,but taking one's own life really isn't the solution. Why suffer here on earth and go over to the other side to voluntarily suffer an even worse fate ?

35. The thunder that will finish this govt is still doing morning drill in Guantanamo bay. My kids are not in school now but looking at the bright side my daughter has started reading in less than a WK of practice. All of them are corrupt both PDP, APC, Apga etc. Awon onidokudo leaders ko da fun iyalaya yin. Abeg Bar, pls post this because na as e dey pain me na so I dey type