Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former First Lady Patience Jonathan Tells Court $31.4 million Frozen In Bank Accounts Belongs To Her

Saturday, September 10, 2016

Former First Lady Patience Jonathan Tells Court $31.4 million Frozen In Bank Accounts Belongs To Her

Former First Lady, Dame Patience Jonathan, is claiming ownership of the $31.4 million involved in an alleged fraud case before a Federal High Court in Lagos.

Counsel to the first defendant in charge, with case number FHC/337C/16, Mr. Gboyega Oduwole, informed the court that Mrs. Jonathan filed a fundamental application against the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), claiming ownership of the money.

The EFCC had taken former presidential aide, Amajuoyi Azubike Briggs, former Skye Bank official, Damola Bolodeoku, Pluto Property and Investment Company Limited and Avalon Global Property Development Company Limited to court in an alleged $31.4 million fraud involving the companies without addresses.

Others also charged include Seagate Property Development and Investment Company Limited; Trans Ocean Property and Investment Company Limited, Avalon Global Property Development Company Limited and Globus Integrated Services Limited.

According to an application filed on September 6, this year, with file number FHC/L/C5/1233/16, Mrs. Jonathan is asking the court to make an order for the enforcement of her fundamental rights, in terms of reliefs she sought, and naming as defendants, the EFCC and Skye Bank Plc.

The former first lady asked the court to make a declaration that the fund standing to the credit of four of the companies and an account in her own name in Skye Bank belonged to her.

She also asked the court to declare that the action of the respondents in placing a No Debit/Freezing Order on the said accounts without any order of a competent court of law or prior notice to her, to be in breach of her fundamental rights as contained in the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
Guardian

*Jesus,I seem to be seeing dollar sign near the said amount......is that dollar or naira sign?

Does it mean the courts have no right to freeze an account belonging to her?I dont understand this story at all....*side eyes*

73 comments:

1. Jesu mimo

Stella I saw the headline without opening the post and first said Jesus....

Omg patience Derris God oooo

1. Can't that amount build all the whole roads in Nigeria??

Imagine ego otu onye si na ya nwe...

Mehn;i no even get strength to talk again!!

What does she do for a living again please??? Cos it seems I am missing something!

@MARTINS ABOY

2. How did she come about that amount of money? What does she do again? Bloody illiterate.

3. Latest promixing training,organic materials,all your 100% skin care products BBM 2B97FEAA Whatsapp 0816084536010 September 2016 at 19:04

OMG so much moni,Nd Nigerians are suffering frm hunga God help us.

4. Well well, if she can prove where the monies came from then she has a right to own that much. Ordinary business people who work legitimately have such amount and they can account for it.

On the other hand, if this money is traced to be part of the federal government 'largesse' that she enjoyed as the first lady, then her lawyer must have advised her to openly claim the money without fear. As it is, she and her husband are enjoying some sort of "silent immunity'.

Biko don't ask me what it means. Lol

5. Sisi Eko, this woman can't prove nada.

A former teacher? She should tell us the source of her sudden wealth.

6. Lol. Benefit of the doubt @Whirlwind. I just shudder

2. Buhari should start freezing bank account of all the northerners that has been ruling and looting the country since independence.Enough of this abuse of power and political victimization. Our woes as a country has nothing to do with GEJ or his wife.

1. James u need help I swear down must u comment on this one if u don't have any reasonable thing to say u no go close ur mouth

2. Is there a brain in your skull or is this shamble you wrote here an extension of the echoing sound in your head which you imagine are voice? I doubt you and the accomplice saying "thank you James" read the news. The account wasn't frozen based in her but an on going investigation but she has come our to say the funds investigated belong to her and that the court should unfreeze it. Chai! We need a common sense post in this blog.

3. James and this so called queen, you two have a lot in common. Imbeciles with indomie for brains.

4. James you no go die better for this comment, a lot of people are dying of hunger and she is claiming stolen tax payers money, better to eat afternoon food and make sure you tell your mama thank you... bastard retard.. in fact you and buhari na the same...

5. Dominic you should say "we need common sense..." not "we need a common sense"

6. James is brain-dead na. His comments don't shock me anymore. You are the most tribalistic being ever. Retarded asshole

7. James is right Buhari fight against corruption is one sided. This corruption that has eaten deep in Nigeria started frm IBB's time as the head of state. After him we've had other northerners that ave ruled and ave looted the National treasury. Why is IBB and others still walking freely like they never looted our treasury. unless u all want to tell me that no northern leader has ever looted the National treasury. Since they can dig the records of looters in PDP why can't they imploy the same skills to track out looters in APC. It's always good to be sincere and straight forward in all that you do. If u ave chosen a path follow it wt all sincerity and do away wt any form of sentiments.

3. I carry yansh for this woman oh....how much was her salary as the first lady...zero.

What biz was she involved in that brought her that much money? Yeesuus...Do you know how much that money is in naira, esp. Now that naira is over 400naira...I carry yansh for Dame patience oh.....hahahaha...Abeg, Stella, can a 30yr old be adopted? Anyway, whoever can connect me to Dame shpuld do so quickly..
    Lol

1. She get mega marts around d country! N she owns market square.

2. This woman owns majority of the properties in abuja. I'm talking about estates that run into billions. Her wealth didn't start at the federal level, she started accruing it from being Bayelsa state first lady. You wan try? This money even small sef. Go and ask one of her aids madame Shagaya. Ehehe

4. $31.4 is a chicken change to northerners like Abachas and Babangidas and the Indimis

5. She's a thief. The court should ask her What job did she do to get that amount of money.

6. Dey sha just want to drag Jonathan one way or the other ...... U guys continue with ur witch hunting

7. Theres a process in freezing an account and efcc doeant follow the process. They just do whatever they like. You can just freeze an acct, you need a court order to do that and you have to provide reason to do so.

8. They must look for a way to mention Jonathan or his wife to this their rubbish!...

1. To think u never chop...slave in her fada's compound

2. Can we comment on issues without personalizing it? The question is, has she truly filed a case of breach of fundamental rights on the frozen account? If so, what has been her total emoluments since her first employment and the tax paid to confirm such income? Please let's be rational instead of jumping on the bandwagon.

3. Correct question anonymous 16:21.

4. Queen how far na? Lolllll

9. 12.56 billion if you do the math. Nawaoo

10. But all that money belongs to her? Where did she got that huge sum from? Even if she was earning monthly salary in one or two million Naira during the period her husband was a vice president and president, that will not even come closed to the money mentioned up there.

This woman is worse than her husband.
    That money belongs to Nigerians. Where are the people complaining about the recession in Nigeria? Start pointing accusing fingers toward Patience Jonathan.

1. God bless you, Mrs Romas! Don't mind them. They are so brainwashed that they cannot identify the real culprits that wreaked this country.

#stopblamingBuhari!!

11. May God help us in this Country only one person, we need a revolution in this Country. How can only one person steal such amount of money and you expect crime rate to reduce. When some people don't even know where the next meal will come from. I weep for my Country.God you know my heart desire touch the heart of a good Samaritan to lend I and hubby the amount we need for our business to kick start.

12. Efcc has no right to freeze her account without a court order. Why would the bank obey efcc anyway?

13. I wonder why this woman was never probed. She stole more money than her husband did

1. Have you been probed yourself? All sectors in this country is corrupt. We all are in this together, lets fight it from the scratch, the egg you fail to kill today will metamorphosize into a giant grasshoper tomorrow.

14. Queen Bee(The real one)10 September 2016 at 14:34

Na dollar sign u dey see oo Stells!she sha get guts to come out and lay claim to such money.who tf does she think she is btw?some untouchable huh?*rme
    There is no job or bizness that could have raised her such an amount aside from looting the treasury!
    But then,do you blame her?she knows if d chips are down,a particular section of the country will raise hell for her sake,not minding what she did.
    Ethnicity and religion: The downfall of our beloved country!

15. She have no shame, if she does, she won't come out openly to claim such huge amount as hers. She can't defend such figure. How can someone open a company without address and same company was approved by the authorities.
    Naija done finish. Just imagine people looting our common wealth with impunity meanwhile the poorest among us still support them.
    What business did she do to earn such amount if not looting business?
    Did she earn the money as a teacher in Rivers state or as a civil servant in Bayelsa or as wife of former president?
    The people that said their "Hero" did not loot can imagine the amount that passed through his wife just in one transaction alone. After all their looting, they could not install common drinking water for their people.

1. Jay Moore, which your common wealth? Are in the country? Do you dey pay tax in Nigeria ? Do you give Patience Jonathan any money to keep for you?

2. Jay none is a hero including the present administration, Nigeria is dooomed and until we stop this attitude of recycling, things wont get better.

3. Kwakwakwakwa...
      This post has brought Jaymoore out but we won't see him when Nigerians are complaining about this Vuharia hardship regime...lmao
      Jona and his wife will not be the first nor the last to eat from the national cake!...

4. @Li-Li, Please being the first or last to loot is not the issue but it's time we criticise people without being sentimental. When i told most of you that PMB will win election here, most of you abused me but today you guys are groaning. I saw it coming because Nigerians were already tired of Jonathan reason they wanted change. If PMB fail as well, Nigerians will take him out. Do you know what $31M can change in a community or state?
      Listen, even if PMB is not in power and an Hausa man is ruling, we igbos will still have problem with it because we hate anyone that is not ours, put our house in order we can't. We are not even united as a tribe.
      Tell me what GEJ did for his people or our so called tribe? Please don't tell me appointed Igbo's in power or River Niger bridge issue. Tell me what we benefited personally from his presidency apart from bearing "Azikwe" so he is ours. Meaning we must die on top of his matter, we can't question his past. Such reasoning is myopic.
      The only thing we benefited during his time was corruption and few politicians being billionaires during his looting spree. What we are facing now Emir Sanusi predicted it 3Years ago at TEDEX.

Please watch the YouTube link below.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=IjViGLJIU9g

I don't comment because i saw political post about anyone in particular but i do when there's need for me to express myself.
      Whether you like it on not, if PMB did not win election, Nigeria will be in a worst state going by the amount stolen by your former "Hero". PMB, might not be the messiah we need but i prefer him to your looting "Hero".
      Just imagine Nigeria not having a new leader last year, all those figures being mentioned daily will disappear before next election.

5. Saboteur Jay Moore shut up U traitor. How many billions of dollars did Babangida alone steal in the Gulf War Oil Windfall? U will not say anything about that one bcos he is from the untouchable region. Keep making a fool of yourself.

6. Anonymous 20.15 & 14.57, I guess both of you have some special form of stupidity.
      Just read your comments, go check meaning of saboteur ( I didn't commit any form of sabotage) Traitor (Because i choose not to be daft like you).

Your "Hero" had the opportunity to go after IBB and others but he was too afraid to even go after them. So blame your "Hero" not present regime.
      Untouchable region but Dasuki,Mrs Usman and others are being prosecuted in the past year i guess they are from your region.
      Ode anonymous 14.57, I pay Taxes in Nigeria and outside Nigeria. 0.5% of the above mentioned sum will take you out of your miserable life. When you guys want to support your politician use your brain not your anus.

7. I have always say this, the woman is more power drunk and corrupt than her husband and to crown it all she got no shame to come out in the open to say she is a thief.

8. I have always say this, the woman is more power drunk and corrupt than her husband and to crown it all she got no shame to come out in the open to say she is a thief.

9. Ah aha Jaymoore well said.

16. I swear I thought it was a naira sign at first. So what business did she do that made her acquire that amount of money? We are so fucking screwed in the country.

17. And yet the James and Linda Ezes of this blog will come and open their big gobs to say Jonathan didn't wreck this country!! Hian!

1. Is not as if the wrecking have stopped, its even worse.

2. The people that wrecked Nigeria are their past rulers!...
      They stole so what's the fuss about Jona's own?...

3. My friend pls shut ur trap!!! Wretched thing like u still desperately defending the looting of the previous administration. Which looting is taking place under Buhari? ? Where is ur proof?? Idiots like u just open ur stinking mouth and start spewing baseless and unfounded allegations. Better thank ur God that it's Buhari in power and not ur greedy hero...u for Don dey beg for road. Mtchew!!

4. Anoy 15:25 wa ri ke. The truth is bitter but we must say it, even a daft person knows Jona ruin and brought this on the nation but with a focus President we shall overcome.

18. Jehovah when some people in this country are dieing of hunger and this kind of money belongs to one person! You people should remember there is God

19. Jehovah when some people in this country are dieing of hunger and this kind of money belongs to one person! You people should remember there is God

20. Anonymous said...
    I wonder why this woman was never probed. She stole more money than her husband did. GBAM!!!

21. I am speechless as well!

22. She made her first million dollars at the age of 18. She's a business woman, with many offices with no location. *Yimu*
    Her day go soon break.

23. Go take from Mariam Abacha, Babangida's, Abdulsalam's, Yaraduah's wife, before una go collect from anty Patience. Na her own go come different?

Buhari move on and stop taking us back.

24. One thing is this there re people who are not in government that have more than that in their accounts some are illiterate and they are doing legit business so and again is not compulsory that all those who re in government and out o government that d money they have in their accounts wer stolen!! This woman had money b4 she even came into government. Dangote have more than this amount in his account and he is not into government did he do all the bad Roads in Nigeria? No!!!

25. Thanks @ JayMoore for stating the facts.... It irks me when people are so sentimental that they are blinded to the realities. People always forget that when a stone is thrown into a pond, there are ripples. It is high time as an individual, sentiments, bigotry, tribalism are done away with.

26. That is 1 year salary of. 61, 000 minimum wage employees. So keep making excuses for them. That amoumt will clear 6 months salary in arrears of 122,000 minimum wage employees. Keep supporting your oppressors. How about the accounts not located yet?