Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Hijab: Muslims Warn Lagos Schools To Obey Court Order

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Hijab: Muslims Warn Lagos Schools To Obey Court Order

As Lagos schools resumed yesterday, the Lagos State Area Unit of Muslim Students’ Society of Nigeria, MSSN, has warned Tutor-Generals/Permanent Secretaries, principals and teachers, to adhere to the Appeal Court judgement granting the right to wear hijab in public schools in the state.

This came two months after the Court of Appeal granted the right to wear hijab in all public primary and secondary schools in Lagos State, interpreting that sections 38 and 42 of the 1999 Constitution of Nigeria (as amended) guarantees the fundamental human right of wearing hijab. 

Also, the All Nigeria Conference of Principals of Secondary Schools, ANCOPSS, has asked members not to direct students to remove or seize hijab. Amir of the MSSN, Lagos State, Mr. Saheed Ashafa, who gave the warning on Sunday in a statement, insisted that students should neither be punished, harassed nor victimised for wearing hijab within and outside the school premises.

He stated that: “Though, we do not expect any teacher to act to the contrary, if they do, we urge our members to ensure that they resist removing the hijab with their own hands. They should ensure that the teacher or overzealous principal do it themselves. And after any of the education stakeholders does that, he or she should be prepared for legal and mass actions.” 

Reminding the stakeholders that the right to wear hijab has been granted in Lagos State-owned public schools, Ashafa said: “It will not be fair for any tutor-general, principal or teacher to order any student to remove their hijab; such action amount to committing contempt of court. The statement read: “A situation where a principal or teacher will be seen punishing, threatening, assaulting or harassing a student for wearing hijab, after the judiciary has granted it, will amount to not only contempt of court but a betrayal of literacy, ridiculing of education and an abuse of reasoning.

“We plead that all the stakeholders in education should be law abiding and practicalise what they have been teaching us as students. We commend our teachers for their efforts from inception and hope that as students’ resume, they will not demonstrate to us how to disobey the constitution and judiciary.” 

edited from Vanguard

52 comments:

1. Good for them but why is Islam such a stressful religion? Imo to le indeed!

1. Stressful religion.... have the Muslims make any attempt to impose their believe on non Muslims..... think before you comment...

2. Intelligentsia Princess loves sdk20 September 2016 at 09:52

Islamazation in the making.what sort of bull crap is this? So,Deeper life pupil should start tying turban to class or Catholic wearing scapula to school..mtcheeeew.

3. Too stressful.

4. Anon9.37, see why ONLY THE TRUTH(JESUS),can set us free?

Forcing, killing, burning, destroying, bombing and all forms of violence including raping women to accept Islam is not stressful?

No. It's ONLY satanic for Jesus Himself said
      "the devil ONLY comes to steal, kill & destroy"

Islam is NOT EVEN A WAY FOR MEEK JESUS*

5. Intelligenista they never said non Muslims should wear hijab, rather they said Muslims should be allowed to wear hijab in public schools

2. Stella change the 'R'to 'T'.
    They should better adhere o cos na their papa be presidi.

1. Your big mouth.....Do you even know the meaning of inferiority complex??? Muslims....inferiority complex???Are you okay?

2. Muslims, inferiority complex????

Coz they prefer to cover up properly, dress decently rather than expose their bodies seeking men's attention and validation like you do? Amazing...

3. Their inferiority complex is out of this world.

4. Sick religion.

5. Yes they have inferiority complex that is why they prefer to attack and be violent, that's d only way they express their feelings

6. Eesah obvious a muslim, if it's something about a pastor.. U would start ranting

7. Eesah the bloody fanatic have come again

4. But I honestly don't see anything wrong with students wearing hijabs to school
    It's actually unislamic for a Muslim lady to go out without covering her hair
    But then , can't these schools propose different uniforms for its students
    The Muslims with kaftans and scarfs or hijabs
    Then the Christians skirt and top with beret
    No big deal

1. So that they can target Christians easily and kill them, they are trying to identify their own. Islam is a violent religion! They have too much trouble. No peace at all. This is a school, not a mosque.
      Before u know it now they'll carry bomb on their head. Everyone beware!
      Muslims are coming for Christians
      Esp in lagos.
      Don't say u weren't told.

2. Anon 09:26,u r just a paranoid schizophrenic.

3. Anon9:26, your head is there...
      That's their plan.

4. This is a school not a mosque.

5. Anon, you talking from your anus sha. How many Christian students who don't wear Hijab you don hear say them kill for North? If Islam is a violent religion like the media (controlled by oyinbos who introduced the white mans thrash called Christianity) paints it to be, I'm sure you won't be amongst the living right now since you meet Muslims every day and 60% of Nigerians are Muslims..

6. They use it to smuggle in expo during exam.

7. I disagree with your point
      Why would they target Christians and want to kill them
      Please think and write constructively

8. Sunni you dare call Christ( Christianity), trash by white men so is Mohammad and Arabs who also brought Islam to Africa now black?

Imagine why your lies can only bind you forever and ever and ever and ever

5. Or what will happen? They will start killing as usual? Rubbish. More hijabs more terrorism. Lagos state be wise.

6. See as dem be sef for this protest.

7. I bet if the xtians were to start wearing their choir garment to school these trouble makers will still take offence.

1. Very daft statement but it's expected. It's somehow escaped your mind that Muslims have been wearing hijabs to school and in public from time immemorial and the fuss is due to the fact that it's about to be banned all of a sudden.

If you also want to be wearing your church garment to school and all over then please indulge yourself. Why should anyone take offence to any other persons dress code in the first place as far as they're not naked?

8. Wearing of hijab and they do worst things. Wetin concern me for their matter self

9. The students wearing different colours of Hijab will make the school uniform untidy, I think Hijabs shld be sewn with the schs material/colour for muslim students. It makes sense wearing a particular colour

1. Caps and berets are included as uniforms in most schools,they can wear a scarf covering their hair and put a beret on it,no need to wear hijab when it is not a Muslim school.some churches are against women wearing trousers but they comply with nysc uniform.

2. U said all Islam is a very selfish and terrible religion some churches is against women wearing trousers but did Nigeria consider them in Nysc is all about them yet they are so hrt harden & mean. Religion of destruction and pedophilia.

3. Thank you!!! Why didn't they allow deeper life corpses wear something else? Because Christians are the ones that are the mumus and have no choice than to accept things.

10. They should wear hijab so suicide bombers can hide their explosives inside it.

1. Lol. So long as they hide it and detonate it in their own midst. They will just use these kids to carry out their wicked plans. So long as they do the killing amongst themselves. Violent religion.

2. Mumulicious,Men carry bombs and they don't wear hijab. *tongue click*

11. They will start hiding bombs inside their hijab

12. When the president is a muslim,anything can happen,not surprised dou.

13. Even at dat it won't stop them from gbenshing under dat there hideouts called hijab! veri useless set of pple
    mechiwwwwww

#Enter your comment...

14. You are right, we can't expect less from the president

15. Why can't they just stick to wearing the schools beret, after all that's what most of my Muslim secondary school mates did.

16. Why can't they just stick to wearing the schools beret, after all that's what most of my Muslim secondary school mates did.

17. Please what uniform will they propose fir sango and amadioha worshippers?

18. I have nothing against Muslims but I think this is a very stupid and unnecessary decision! It's a school for God's sake! They can go to only Muslim schools if they so wish to be all covered up! Why change or alter the uniform for some people? Do they wear hijabs to law dinners and call to bar? Do they wear hijabs in the military? What about the athletes? Why try to islamize a state? No one is forcing anyone to go to a school that the uniform doesn't confirm to their religion please.

19. is it by force? they should take their wards to muslim schools then abi?

make person come tell DEEPER LIFE INT SCHS that they should allow their "muslim wards" wear Hijabs na