Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: House Suspends Jibrin For 181 Legislative Days Over Budget-Padding Allegations

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

House Suspends Jibrin For 181 Legislative Days Over Budget-Padding Allegations

The house of representatives has suspended Abdulmumin Jibrin, former chairman of the appropriations committee, over an alleged breach of legislators’ privileges.

The breach in question were the budget-‎padding allegations he levelled against Yakubu Dogara, the speaker, four other principal officers and other lawmakers.
Jibrin, who failed to show up at the ethics and ‎privileges committee to defend himself, was suspended following the report and recommendations laid before the house by the committee after the conclusion of its hearing.

The lawmaker was suspended for 180 legislative days, which is approximately one year, after the house considered the ‎recommendations of the ethics committee.

Apart from raising budget padding allegations, Jibrin had also ‎said some lawmakers were not “worthy” to belong to the house.

Femi Falana, counsel to the former appropriations chairman, had urged the speaker to suspend the probe, saying it was a contravention of Order 9 rule 5 of the house standing rules.

According to the House calendar, one legislative year comprises 181 days.

The Cable reportage

24 comments:

1. Hmmmmmmm I don't know who to believe again. What a pity

2. All of them in that house, they don't know they are doing there.

3. Just 181 ??????? That guy should leave that house biko

4. Hahahaha! Naija na so we see am. 1 year suspension wetin con remain? Him see him life on the outside? Whistleblowers have no place in that god forsaken country.

5. A man that had the guts and sincerity of heart to reveal deep irregularities and dishonesty ongoing among house leaders that where voted to serve the people is wrongly suspended for the selfish and greedy wimps and caprice of our political elite. The change we seek in this country is only an illusion and a mirage.

1. They all benefited from the padding hence the sack. House of thieves.

6. Am so disappointed in d house most especially Dogara!! Later hed be forming a good christian attending winners... God will disgrace u all pretty soon.

7. After his famzing?? Chei ya...
    Kikikikikikikikikiki

8. Suspension?....he should be dismissed already.

9. Stella any news about Edo election. I don't want to watch telemundo. I watched it in the office this afternoon

10. I tot dis administration is bent on eliminating corruption in its totality..... What a shame to our elected reps. Nigeria, which is d way?

11. Stella it is 180 days. How are you darling and your boys?

12. This suspension looks padded too 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

13. Mtcheeeeeeew
    Problems you face when standing alone, most times the truth

14. Jibrin probably thought speaking up at this time will produce results because of the Anti-corruption drive of this Government. He would not have dared to reveal all of this allegations during the past administration as it would have been too easy to put him down but the same thing is happening now.

I cant believe all that is happening with this expose.

15. what happened to Jubril is what the Bini people reffer to as "I do man do body" reply if u can relate ********************************* ANON