Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Jide Omokore Allegedly Returns N200m To Govt

Sunday, September 18, 2016

Jide Omokore Allegedly Returns N200m To Govt

The Chairman of Atlantic Energy Drilling Concept Nigeria Limited, Mr. Jide Omokore, has returned N200m to the Federal Government, Sunday PUNCH has learnt.

It was learnt that the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has also traced and frozen eight bank accounts allegedly belonging to Omokore.
Reliable sources in the commission told Punch that the eight accounts were opened at different branches of Skye Bank Plc.

Omokore, who is an ally of the immediate past Minister of Petroleum Resources, Diezani Alison-Madueke, among five others, are currently standing trial before a Federal High Court for an alleged $800m (N247bn at an exchange rate of N309/$1) fraud.

A top source at the commission said, “During investigations, we traced about eight accounts to Omokore in Skye Bank. Most of the accounts are company accounts. Some were domiciled in Marina, Adeola Hopewell and some other branches on the (Lagos) Island.

“We were able to identify about N200m. He raised some bank drafts in the name of the Federal Government and the money has been deposited into the Federal Government account while investigations continue.”

The commission had on Monday, July 4, 2016, arraigned Omokore, and five other individuals and firms, before Justice Binta Nyako of the Federal High Court, Abuja on nine counts bordering on money laundering and procurement fraud.

Those arraigned with him were a former Managing Director of Nigerian Petroleum Development Company Limited, Victor Briggs; a former Group Executive Director, Exploration and Production of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, Abiye Membere; a former Manager, Planning and Commercial of the NNPC, David Mbanefo ; Atlantic Energy Brass Development Limited and Atlantic Energy Drilling Concepts Limited.

Omokore was alleged to have used the Strategic Alliance Agreement signed between the NPDC and Atlantic Energy Drilling Concept Limited to swindle the NPDC and the Nigerian government of billions of naira through the lifting of crude oil from some oil wells between March 2013 and May 2014.

The other accused persons, who were senior management employees of the NNPC, were accused of conspiracy in inducing the NPDC to facilitate the lifting of crude by Omokore, Atlantic Energy Brass Development Limited and Atlantic Energy Drilling Concept Limited.

They were equally charged with receiving car gifts from Omokore, Atlantic Energy Brass Development Limited and Atlantic Energy Drilling Concept Limited.
The charge read in part, “That you, Olajide Omokore, Atlantic Energy Brass Development Ltd, Atlantic Energy Drilling Concept Ltd and Kolawole Akanni Aluko (now at large) between May 2013 and March 2014 within the jurisdiction of this honourable court obtained by false pretences and with intent to defraud, 7,551,867 barrels of crude oil (Brass blend) valued at the sum of $823,75,189.95 from NPDC, NNPC and the Federal Government of Nigeria on the false pretences that you had funds (both local and foreign) necessary to support the NPDC in petroleum operation for the OML 60,61, 62 and 63 and you thereby committed an offence contrary to Section 1(a) of the Advance Fee Fraud and Other Fraud Related Offences Act Cap. A6, 2010, Laws of the Federation of Nigeria and punishable under Section 1(3) of the same Act.”

The defendants pleaded not guilty to the charges when they were read to them.

34 comments:

1. Na wa is this man the only one that tiff..everyday his matter

1. Did you say 200 million Naira? That is like a chop money for Jide Omokore. Perhaps it might make a little sense if it is 200 million dollars. Are we talking about Jide Omokore that has 2 private jets? That buys Rolls Royce for his girlfriends like is a toy. Who is kidding who? Screwed up dysfunctional system

2. Did you say 200 million Naira? That is like a chop money for Jide Omokore. Perhaps it might make a little sense if it is 200 million dollars. Are we talking about Jide Omokore that has 2 private jets? That buys Rolls Royce for his girlfriends like is a toy. Who is kidding who? Screwed up dysfunctional system

3. Hmmmmm see something.

If this man's allegation of 'looting' is linked to Dezeani, and he has returned part of the money, it only goes to prove that indeed they all took part in the loot. How can Omokore admit to it by returning funds, and yet others like Dezeani are still claiming innocence?

He has inadvertently contradicted their unofficial plea of being innocent..in my opinion. Let's wait and see though.

2. how have returning 200m, helped our economy ,Buharinus please concentrate on the economy oooh sef I don tire ohhh.
    ..miss hottie

1. Are you blind or what? Do.you see the value of what was stolen an you're saying buhari should concentrate, on what Abeg?? How can one individual take so much and you expect the government to turn a blind eye??!!! Haba!!

3. Joker. Just 200 million naira compared to the billions of dollars he stole?

1. At anon. 20.33 I wonder o! What a joke. One of his private plan cost millions of dollars. Shame on the government for celebrating him returning a token N200 million. What a shameful govermemt

2. I guess the 'unspoken deal' from the onset with these corruption charges is that, any individual that is caught in the Web is free to return the loots and they'd 'pardon' such a person. Or at least give minimal punishment, if any.

Same with Olisa Metuh. Ever since his release and promise to refund, nothing has been heard of his case. He's gone quiet Infact.

4. Anyone that has cut part of the National cake should return before EFCC fish them out and also that buhari can move forward..

1. That's the bank they all used since kola aluko put his brother kunle on d board for money laundering reasons.Damola bolodeoku's their childhood friend,mind u they still took unserviced loan facilities from d bank despite using it to launder.That's why kola n kunle've both disappeared.Shameless family of thieves

2. That's the bank they all used since kola aluko put his brother kunle on d board for money laundering reasons.Damola bolodeoku's their childhood friend,mind u they still took unserviced loan facilities from d bank despite using it to launder money.That's why kola n kunle've both disappeared.Shameless family of thieves

6. Hahahaha,thieves,they don't think of the aftermath of their actions.

7. Replies
    1. At anon. 20.33 I wonder o! What a joke. One of his private plan cost millions of dollars. Shame on the government for celebrating him returning a token N200 million. What a shameful govermemt

8. These guys are not serious at all. What is 200million? Please they should stop insulting Nigerians and collect the real sauce from him. What rubbish. This guy is very very rich. What is 200million. Anyways he has implicated himself by paying the money after pleading not guilty!

1. Your last sentence is the crux of the matter. Eheh

9. For someone who stole billions, this is a joke. They need to seize all his assets. Mscheww!

10. All the ones others have returned, where are they?

1. They are in your fathers 1k balance account with ariaria community bank.

11. Return my ass....
    Why did he??
    When Nigeria has so much money?
    That its his national cake abeg!!
    If my dad tries such nonsense ehh
    I will disown him.

1. You are as worse as he is. That is why your so called dad will continue to wallow in poverty. Read what the bible says about ill gotten wealth.

12. Mr jide weldone jaree,thank you sir. We are happy to expect more sir. And please remember to ask madam,if you ever ask her to keep some for you,huum biko.thank you sir. Please don't mention. Heeeeeee

13. PDP and it's supporters come out and talk your rubbish awon ole, ole, ole. Now let's put the money to good use for the people. creating jobs, building low cost houses, subsidising education, repairing roads, and making electricity stable. Therefore pump some of these money collected in to the right places. Show the PDP thieves how to rule a country by taking care of it's people.

1. Anon5:32 When will Jagaban and his likes return theirs? Abi their own na their father property?

14. @anon, here's the board. Where's Kunle's name?

https://www.skyebankng.com/about-skye/management-and-board/board-of-directors

Kola helped who? No one. Kunle embezzled money from Dasuki and that's why he's on the run.

1. He was an alternate non executive director so his name might not appear on the list.Operative word being he 'was'